Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Hopper Clock Messed Up?


  • Please log in to reply
32 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   Arya Stark

Arya Stark

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 32 posts
Joined: Mar 17, 2012

Posted 15 August 2012 - 06:01 AM

Is it possible for the Hopper's clock to get messed up? My timers default is set to add 3 minutes at the end of every recording so I don't miss anything. And up until yesterday, I never have. But I missed the last minute or so of all 5 shows I recorded yesterday! Surely that can't be coincidence, right? I realize I could add more time to the end of all my timers, but I shouldn't have to do that when it's never been a problem before (and if it is just a temporary problem).

Anyone else experiencing this, and if so...what did you do?

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   RasputinAXP

RasputinAXP

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,135 posts
Joined: Jan 23, 2008

Posted 15 August 2012 - 08:09 AM

Clock doesn't get messed up, but networks have been known to jockey their clocks to mess with DVRs.

"Belligerent and numerous."

Sometimes I update the Dish Network FAQ

AT200, Hopper & 360 via HDMI to Onkyo 505 to basement 42" Westy, Hopper via Comp-over-Cat5 to living room 42" Vizio with a Roku 3, Joey to Toshiba 32" LCD with a Logitech Revue. You want fries with that? Pull up to the 2nd window.


#3 OFFLINE   patmurphey

patmurphey

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 521 posts
Joined: Dec 21, 2006

Posted 15 August 2012 - 09:28 AM

If the offending recordings were on PTAT channels, you'll find the missing pieces on the next show at the beginning. The next show will be there for 8 days on the PTAT list. If you are using PTAT and want to assure that the 3 minutes extra is part of the permanent recording (i.e. if you want to save it on an EHD) you can set a regular timer, but you have to unskip it and it will use another tuner - a good option if you aren't creating a conflict.

BTW, with a PTAT recording, if you play it from the PTAT list, it will play into the next show (except at 11).

#4 OFFLINE   Stewart Vernon

Stewart Vernon

    Excellent Adventurer

  • Moderators
  • 19,528 posts
  • LocationKittrell, NC
Joined: Jan 07, 2005

Posted 15 August 2012 - 03:01 PM

Clock doesn't get messed up, but networks have been known to jockey their clocks to mess with DVRs.


I have noticed USA doing this lately... Covert Affairs and Suits have been regularly going until 2 minutes past the hour and messing me up at time in being able to switch over and watch the Daily Show at 11pm... so I've had to start recording some shows that I otherwise would have been there to watch live.

-- I like to go fast (not really)


#5 OFFLINE   garys

garys

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,164 posts
Joined: Nov 04, 2005

Posted 15 August 2012 - 04:21 PM

I have noticed USA doing this lately... Covert Affairs and Suits have been regularly going until 2 minutes past the hour and messing me up at time in being able to switch over and watch the Daily Show at 11pm... so I've had to start recording some shows that I otherwise would have been there to watch live.


I haven't seen this if recording during prime time, but I do see it if recording after midnight.

#6 OFFLINE   Marlin Guy

Marlin Guy

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,120 posts
Joined: Apr 08, 2009

Posted 15 August 2012 - 11:30 PM

I nearly always get this when I also record the following program.
It's annoying.
I've also had a basic cable feed going in one room and Dish in another, and the Dish latency is pretty severe. I'd have to repeat the setup to time it, but I could see it messing up some programming as well. Especially if you don't set the timers to go over by 3 minutes or so.
Team Mexico Pork Cloud

#7 OFFLINE   Stewart Vernon

Stewart Vernon

    Excellent Adventurer

  • Moderators
  • 19,528 posts
  • LocationKittrell, NC
Joined: Jan 07, 2005

Posted 16 August 2012 - 03:18 AM

I haven't seen this if recording during prime time, but I do see it if recording after midnight.


I see it routinely.

I DVR Covert Affairs because I have been watching Franklin & Bash at the same time... but sometimes I'm watching F&B delayed because of a bathroom break or snack run... so I'm not done at 11pm in time to make the switch to Comedy Central for the Daily Show.

So... I try switching to the Covert Affairs tuner (put the TV on mute so I don't get spoiled too much) and the plan was to stop the timer at the end of the show instead of allowing my +3 minute padding, then switch channels and pause to go back and finish watching F&B.

Except... I find that Cover Affairs is still going until about 11:02... so by the time the show is over and credits start to roll, I've already missed the start of the Daily Show and then have to DVR the later showing to watch the next day.

-- I like to go fast (not really)


#8 OFFLINE   4HiMarks

4HiMarks

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,310 posts
  • LocationLaurel, MD
Joined: Jan 21, 2004

Posted 16 August 2012 - 06:40 AM

We record Suits, Covert Affairs, Franklin and Bash, and The Daily Show, too, but almost never watch anything on the same day and have had no problems. I have run into issues with Burn Notice running over into the first minute of Suits, though.
Dish subscriber since 2000, HD since 2004.

#9 OFFLINE   Marlin Guy

Marlin Guy

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,120 posts
Joined: Apr 08, 2009

Posted 16 August 2012 - 09:01 AM

I record The Daily Show +3 minutes, but I get the moment of zen on the front side of the Colbert Report recording every time.
Team Mexico Pork Cloud

#10 OFFLINE   Stewart Vernon

Stewart Vernon

    Excellent Adventurer

  • Moderators
  • 19,528 posts
  • LocationKittrell, NC
Joined: Jan 07, 2005

Posted 16 August 2012 - 01:55 PM

We record Suits, Covert Affairs, Franklin and Bash, and The Daily Show, too, but almost never watch anything on the same day and have had no problems. I have run into issues with Burn Notice running over into the first minute of Suits, though.


If you record and pad the end times you won't see the issue unless you watch the clock.

That's why I ended up DVRing Covert Affairs and often Daily Show on those nights as well when I'm watching Bash on delay... Bash will end on time to switch the channel... but Covert Affairs doesn't. At least not for several weeks when I wanted it to!

-- I like to go fast (not really)


#11 OFFLINE   n-spring

n-spring

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 221 posts
Joined: Mar 05, 2007

Posted 21 August 2012 - 07:31 AM

I've bitched a couple of times about truncated recordings. I can't tell if the recording itself is short, or playback terminates prematurely. It's annoying as hell.

#12 OFFLINE   Arya Stark

Arya Stark

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 32 posts
Joined: Mar 17, 2012

Posted 29 August 2012 - 12:39 AM

I still feel like my clock is messed up or something. I've added 5 minutes to all my shows and most still get cut off. That NEVER used to happen! I feel like I'm wasting the Hopper's three-tuner potential by adding so many extra minutes after shows.

#13 OFFLINE   Stewart Vernon

Stewart Vernon

    Excellent Adventurer

  • Moderators
  • 19,528 posts
  • LocationKittrell, NC
Joined: Jan 07, 2005

Posted 29 August 2012 - 01:41 AM

I still feel like my clock is messed up or something. I've added 5 minutes to all my shows and most still get cut off. That NEVER used to happen! I feel like I'm wasting the Hopper's three-tuner potential by adding so many extra minutes after shows.


What shows is this happening with? It would be helpful to know, to see if others are having similar issues with those shows or channels.

-- I like to go fast (not really)


#14 OFFLINE   Bill L

Bill L

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 43 posts
Joined: May 05, 2008

Posted 29 August 2012 - 06:19 AM

EVERYONE that I know with a Dish is having this problem with non prime time shows. TNT, USA and other independents are the problem areas.

I have Royal Pains as #1 in priority and programed with 2 minutes over and do not get the end of the show. You have to remember what comes next and watch it on the end on the next show.

My son recently switched from DTV to Dish and said he did not have this problem with DTV.

I running one Hopper and one Joey. This problem existed on my 922 and 722 and is not new.

#15 OFFLINE   broeddog

broeddog

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 86 posts
Joined: Sep 11, 2009

Posted 29 August 2012 - 07:13 AM

I moved from Directv to dish back in April and am happy being with dish, except for this issue. I never had this problem at D and have not read anything about this being an issue in the D threads. My son in law works as a supervisor in one of the call centers at Charter and I asked him about this. He reports not receiving one call from a customer about this issue. He has Comcast because he doesn't live in a Charter area and he records some of the same shows I have problems with and he denies having any issues getting complete recordings. Some of the shows that don't record to the end are Pawn Stars, Storage Wars, Baggage Wars, Counting Cars, Hardcore Pawn, Burn Notice, Covert Affairs and the list goes on. My question is, if others on other providers are not having problems why are we at Dish? I can't remember this being an issue for the first month or two with Dish but it has been an issue since they initiated the auto hop feature. I know the auto hop feature only works with network stations, which by the way start and end on time resulting in complete recordings. Does this happen on other DVR that Dish have or is it specific to just the hopper. I have set my timers in every possible configuration and like others I don't get complete recordings, so what is the problem. I would assume that Dish and Directv receive there signals pretty much the same way so why is there a problem at one and not the other. I don't know the answer but someone does, I just wish the problem would get fixed and quickly.

#16 OFFLINE   Bill L

Bill L

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 43 posts
Joined: May 05, 2008

Posted 29 August 2012 - 11:33 AM

This is been a problem since before the installation of all Autohop.

#17 OFFLINE   Stewart Vernon

Stewart Vernon

    Excellent Adventurer

  • Moderators
  • 19,528 posts
  • LocationKittrell, NC
Joined: Jan 07, 2005

Posted 29 August 2012 - 03:13 PM

I've said before... if you watch your clock and your programming... some shows are going past the top of the hour even though the EPG doesn't indicate that there will.

This isn't a failure of the clock or DVR... some networks are trying to get you to stop DVRing their programs by running them long without advertising so.

I routinely see that Covert Affairs goes several minutes past 11pm on Tuesday night and it causes me to not be able to watch the start of another show on time.

It isn't Dish... it is the channels playing with the schedule and sticking in a few extra commercials to run long and retrain you not to DVR their channel.

Fortunately all channels don't do it... but some definitely do... and USA has been one of the worst "offenders" for me lately.

-- I like to go fast (not really)


#18 OFFLINE   Bill L

Bill L

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 43 posts
Joined: May 05, 2008

Posted 29 August 2012 - 03:31 PM

Why is it not happening on DTV or cable?

#19 OFFLINE   n-spring

n-spring

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 221 posts
Joined: Mar 05, 2007

Posted 29 August 2012 - 03:50 PM

I've said before... if you watch your clock and your programming... some shows are going past the top of the hour even though the EPG doesn't indicate that there will.

This isn't a failure of the clock or DVR... some networks are trying to get you to stop DVRing their programs by running them long without advertising so.


I respectfully disagree. I NEVER had an issue with DirecTV DVRs. Truncated recordings routinely happen with the Hopper.
DISH subscriber since March 2012
1000.2 HD dish antenna with Solo Node
Living room: XiP813 Hopper (S238) to Visio XVT553SV via HDMI; connected to 100Base-TX LAN
Home theatre: XiP110 Joey (S286) to Anthem Statement D2 via HDMI, then to Panasonic TC-P65VT50 via HDMI
Bedroom: XiP110 Joey (S286) to Sony KDL-26M3000 via HDMI
Internet access: Comcast 10Mb/s; Dynamic IP; NAT on Linksys E3200 router

#20 OFFLINE   Stewart Vernon

Stewart Vernon

    Excellent Adventurer

  • Moderators
  • 19,528 posts
  • LocationKittrell, NC
Joined: Jan 07, 2005

Posted 29 August 2012 - 04:49 PM

Why is it not happening on DTV or cable?


Do you know for a fact that it isn't?

I respectfully disagree. I NEVER had an issue with DirecTV DVRs. Truncated recordings routinely happen with the Hopper.


You're talking about two different things, though... I've seen glitches sometimes where recordings are truncated or corrupted. Those are issues Dish needs to address.

But when a show runs longer than it is scheduled to run in the EPG... not much Dish or anyone can do about that.

That's why I asked for specific show examples... and I have given one of my own.

Every single week I see that Covert Affairs starts at 10pm on USA, but doesn't end until 11:02 or 11:03pm... meanwhile, shows on other channels are still starting at 11pm... so I would miss the beginning of the Daily Show if I didn't set it to record while I was watching Covert Affairs.

I'm sure there are other examples with other shows...

Also... IF I set a timer for Covert Affairs, and used the default 3min padding, sometimes the very end of the show would get cutoff... not because the DVR did something wrong but because USA was airing more commercials and extending the run-time of the show by several minutes.

-- I like to go fast (not really)





spam firewall