Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

Dish has more FTA than Directv


  • Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   GiantsFan383

GiantsFan383

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 135 posts
Joined: Jul 28, 2011

Posted 16 August 2012 - 10:45 AM

I was wondering why dish has more fta than Directv. Directv has none, and some of the fta on dish is good programming. Is it a different receiving system?
dish network AT250

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   Marlin Guy

Marlin Guy

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,121 posts
Joined: Apr 08, 2009

Posted 16 August 2012 - 11:37 AM

What's an fta? :confused:
Team Mexico Pork Cloud

#3 OFFLINE   garys

garys

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,164 posts
Joined: Nov 04, 2005

Posted 16 August 2012 - 11:40 AM

FTA, Free To Air.

#4 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,895 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 16 August 2012 - 11:56 AM

I was wondering why dish has more fta than Directv. Directv has none, and some of the fta on dish is good programming. Is it a different receiving system?

Yes.

Just curious what FTA channels you're counting ? ChXXXX ?

Edited by P Smith, 16 August 2012 - 02:47 PM.


#5 OFFLINE   GiantsFan383

GiantsFan383

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 135 posts
Joined: Jul 28, 2011

Posted 16 August 2012 - 12:51 PM

Yeah around that area
dish network AT250

#6 OFFLINE   CCarncross

CCarncross

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 7,058 posts
  • LocationJackson
Joined: Jul 19, 2005

Posted 16 August 2012 - 01:57 PM

Technically neither provider offers FTA.....But there may be a few un-encrypted channels here and there. But since you pointed it out, there's a good chance someone from each provider may see this and they'll close that loophole too.

#7 OFFLINE   harsh

harsh

    Beware the Attack Basset

  • Registered
  • 18,819 posts
  • LocationSalem, OR
Joined: Jun 14, 2003

Posted 16 August 2012 - 02:12 PM

More likely it will change modulation and/or compression schemes and become unavailable to many FTA rigs.

Too often we enjoy the comfort of opinion without the discomfort of thought. -- JFK


#8 OFFLINE   maxbowe

maxbowe

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 1 posts
Joined: Aug 25, 2012

Posted 29 August 2012 - 01:24 AM

I am contemplating getting a FTA system. The problem I face is whether to get a motorized or stationary dish. Also I want to know which satellite provides good programming in English. It seems as though satellite 97 West offers quite a bit.

Suggestions are most welcome!!

#9 OFFLINE   Shades228

Shades228

    Hall Of Fame

  • Banned User
  • 5,914 posts
Joined: Mar 18, 2008

Posted 29 August 2012 - 01:43 AM

I am contemplating getting a FTA system. The problem I face is whether to get a motorized or stationary dish. Also I want to know which satellite provides good programming in English. It seems as though satellite 97 West offers quite a bit.

Suggestions are most welcome!!


Perhaps the FTA section will be more helpful to you:

http://www.dbstalk.c...isplay.php?f=67

:welcome_s:
All comments are my own. Unless specifically stated, my views do NOT represent the views of DIRECTV

#10 OFFLINE   Michael P

Michael P

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,931 posts
Joined: Oct 27, 2004

Posted 29 August 2012 - 03:55 PM

AFAIK the only unencrypted channels are on 119: Ch 101, NASA and Angel 1. The reason they are receivable on FTA tuners is because E* uses standard DVB standards. DirecTV uses a non-standard modulation, that in and of itself would prevent FTA receivers form seeing anything.

#11 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,895 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 29 August 2012 - 06:15 PM

NASA is in clear ? It was; when you check it last time ?




Protected By... spam firewall...And...