Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

failure of home dock


  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   wxguy

wxguy

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 89 posts
Joined: Feb 17, 2008

Posted 16 August 2012 - 04:24 PM

I've used a home dock for my Stiletto for a number of years patched into my house intercom. A couple months ago the radio started reporting "antenna not detected" but if I took the radio out to the car and plugged it into the auto dock it works. Bring the auto dock inside and it works fine.

So I got my daughter's home dock that she doesn't use and things were fine. Now that one has failed the same way. I suspect lightning is inducing the failure from the outside antenna. Replacing the antenna changed nothing.

1. Is there something that can be done to prevent this type failure? I'd hate to fry the auto dock that I'm using now to make the system work.

2. Are the SLH1 home docks repairable? I've found nothing googling and thought our forum community may have some suggestions.

I took one apart and it has two boards. It is possible the antenna input is amplified so probably needs the board to work. I don't know why the antenna isn't a straight feed thru but this doesn't seem to be the case.

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   I WANT MORE

I WANT MORE

    CowboySooner

  • Registered
  • 1,158 posts
  • LocationNorthern plains
Joined: Oct 03, 2006

Posted 11 September 2013 - 05:44 AM

The OP did not receive an answer on this and now I am experiencing the same issue. Antennae not detected. It is happening on the same radio, Sportster 5 I think.

I replaced the outdoor antennae and checked all of the cabling.

This just started happening all of the sudden. Fine one day, not working the next.

Any ideas?


Perhaps I Misremembered.

#3 OFFLINE   flaktastic

flaktastic

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 39 posts
Joined: Oct 13, 2012

Posted 11 September 2013 - 04:42 PM

I had a Starmate 4 that started doing this. Fortunately it worked for 5+ years first, so I got good use out of it. It has to do with the antenna jack connection to the circuit board:

http://community.cru...na-not-detected

I replaced mine so I haven't tried soldering it, but might give it a go if I have time. The link doesn't provide instructions but it should be easy to find the connection spot if you open it up.

Edited by flaktastic, 11 September 2013 - 04:42 PM.


#4 OFFLINE   I WANT MORE

I WANT MORE

    CowboySooner

  • Registered
  • 1,158 posts
  • LocationNorthern plains
Joined: Oct 03, 2006

Posted 12 September 2013 - 06:05 AM

Thanks for the info. I will probably contact Sirius and see about replacing the radio and transferring my sub to the new one. Thanks again for the reply.


Perhaps I Misremembered.

#5 OFFLINE   I WANT MORE

I WANT MORE

    CowboySooner

  • Registered
  • 1,158 posts
  • LocationNorthern plains
Joined: Oct 03, 2006

Posted 12 September 2013 - 02:23 PM

Tried a different radio and dock in this location and it won't work either. It isn't the radio. Then I dug out an old antennae and hooked it up temporarily and it works perfectly. Has to be somewhere in the wiring. Can a splitter go bad? The cabling and connectors seem fine. It is an outdoor antennae that splits to two radios. It has worked for years. 


Perhaps I Misremembered.

#6 OFFLINE   I WANT MORE

I WANT MORE

    CowboySooner

  • Registered
  • 1,158 posts
  • LocationNorthern plains
Joined: Oct 03, 2006

Posted 12 September 2013 - 03:20 PM

I'll just converse with myself for a while. !rolling Yes, splitters can go bad. I had a spare splitter so I replaced it and I am back in business. 


Perhaps I Misremembered.

#7 OFFLINE   James Long

James Long

    Ready for Uplink!

  • Super Moderators
  • 40,095 posts
Joined: Apr 17, 2003

Posted 12 September 2013 - 03:41 PM

I'm glad you found the right person to help you. :)
  • I WANT MORE likes this
Welcome to DBS Talk - Let's talk about DBS! (The Digital Bit Stream)
DISH Network vs DirecTV: HD Channel List - DISH Network HD Capacity, HD Conversion and more.
DISH Network complete channel lists and lists by satellite location are in The Uplink Activity Center.
Unless otherwise noted, I speak for myself. Content is not controlled by DISH Network, DirecTV or any other company.

#8 OFFLINE   flaktastic

flaktastic

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 39 posts
Joined: Oct 13, 2012

Posted 12 September 2013 - 05:43 PM

My new radio has issues one in a while with my car dock, but is fine on a boombox dock connected to an outdoor home antenna. I think the docks can have a similar issue to the antenna connection in the radio. The one I'm using came with my current radio so should be fine but...

Glad a new splitter helped. I wish Sirius offered better equipment for dock and plays, but they seem more interested in permanent vehicle radios now. Probably so they can hit you for more than one subscription.

Edited by flaktastic, 12 September 2013 - 05:46 PM.





Protected By... spam firewall...And...