Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Closed captioning in one step


  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   knealy

knealy

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 120 posts
Joined: Jul 05, 2002

Posted 16 August 2012 - 10:52 PM

It takes about 20 clicks to turn on closed captioning on the 922. Where can I suggest that Dish assign one of the colored programmable buttons on the remote to turn it on and off in one click? It's a real pain to turn it on and off. Of course if actors didn't mumble, it wouldn't be an issue.

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,891 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 16 August 2012 - 10:56 PM

In ViP922 forum.

#3 OFFLINE   Stewart Vernon

Stewart Vernon

    Excellent Adventurer

  • Moderators
  • 19,617 posts
  • LocationKittrell, NC
Joined: Jan 07, 2005

Posted 17 August 2012 - 12:26 AM

It takes about 20 clicks to turn on closed captioning on the 922. Where can I suggest that Dish assign one of the colored programmable buttons on the remote to turn it on and off in one click? It's a real pain to turn it on and off. Of course if actors didn't mumble, it wouldn't be an issue.


I don't know how much Dish weighs suggestions... but you can PM one of the DIRT representatives that are members here and tell them your suggestion OR you can consider calling Dish.

Moving thread to the 922 support forum for better attention.

-- Respect the S.H.I.E.L.D.


#4 OFFLINE   Jhon69

Jhon69

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,637 posts
Joined: Mar 27, 2006

Posted 17 August 2012 - 04:34 PM

It takes about 20 clicks to turn on closed captioning on the 922. Where can I suggest that Dish assign one of the colored programmable buttons on the remote to turn it on and off in one click? It's a real pain to turn it on and off. Of course if actors didn't mumble, it wouldn't be an issue.


With your 32.0 remote control,press the yellow button, number 7, arrow down to select On,arrow up to select Save,press the Live TV button and your done.;)


I'm sure there are others who have found even a faster way.:)

#5 OFFLINE   knealy

knealy

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 120 posts
Joined: Jul 05, 2002

Posted 16 September 2012 - 03:29 PM

If someone had a quicker way, I'm ready to hear it. Thanks for this shortcut. You've reduced the number of steps from 20 to 10. That's an improvement.

But why can't Dish program one of the colored buttons to simply turn it on and off with one click. Many basic remotes have this dedicated key. My wife and I are constantly having to turn it on because of foreign accents or mumbling actors or poor sound mixes. But I don't want to leave it on because it's distracting if it's not needed.

#6 OFFLINE   Jhon69

Jhon69

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,637 posts
Joined: Mar 27, 2006

Posted 18 September 2012 - 12:23 AM

If someone had a quicker way, I'm ready to hear it. Thanks for this shortcut. You've reduced the number of steps from 20 to 10. That's an improvement.

But why can't Dish program one of the colored buttons to simply turn it on and off with one click. Many basic remotes have this dedicated key. My wife and I are constantly having to turn it on because of foreign accents or mumbling actors or poor sound mixes. But I don't want to leave it on because it's distracting if it's not needed.


Your Welcome.:)

You might try to change the text size or color ect. to make it less distracting.The 922 does that very good.

The only other way is to get a remote that does macros(where you can assign several button presses to the buttons) most of the ones I know that do that are IR signal(the cheap ones) so you would need to activate the IR signal acceptor in the Remote Manager in Settings.

I have no idea why DISH does this that way so I just live with it.:confused:

Thought I would tell you my preferences with CC.I like the text small,the text itself,white,background black and solid(This is on a 55" HDTV).;)

For all the things that people feel DISH does wrong the new format on the VIP922 and Hopper with the Channel Logos HD EPG is nothing short of awesome!.:D

Edited by Jhon69, 18 September 2012 - 10:33 PM.





Protected By... spam firewall...And...