Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

Bay Area KQED HD


  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 ONLINE   quizzer

quizzer

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 734 posts
Joined: Aug 29, 2006

Posted 18 August 2012 - 07:30 PM

I'm not seeing KQED in HD these days. It always changes to the SD version.

There are no issues in the locals and national HD channels.

Pls advise.

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   Laxguy

Laxguy

    Fortuna! Fameux des Halles

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 11,646 posts
  • LocationWinters, California
Joined: Dec 02, 2010

Posted 18 August 2012 - 08:37 PM

I'm not seeing KQED in HD these days. It always changes to the SD version.

There are no issues in the locals and national HD channels.

Pls advise.


Do you have OTA and can get 9 and its subs?
"Laxguy" means a guy who loves lacrosse.

#3 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,752 posts
  • LocationBay Area
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 18 August 2012 - 09:53 PM

In a guide I see two lines: 009-00 HD and 009-00, both are KQED. Selecting first one giving HD picture.
No issues in Bay Area.

#4 ONLINE   quizzer

quizzer

    Icon

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 734 posts
Joined: Aug 29, 2006

Posted 18 August 2012 - 10:55 PM

Do you have OTA and can get 9 and its subs?


I dont have OTA.

I get the message "complete signal loss, turning to SD version".

My question is why only for this one channel, i have issues?

#5 OFFLINE   phrelin

phrelin

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 13,321 posts
  • LocationNorthern California Redwoods
Joined: Jan 18, 2007

Posted 18 August 2012 - 11:03 PM

I haven't been watching much on KQED recently but right at this moment the "Leonard Cohen Live in London" is normal on the HD feed but it is 4:3.

"In a hundred years there'll be a whole new set of people."
"Always poke the bears. They sleep too much for their own good."

"If you're good enough, they'll talk about you." - Tom Harmon
A GEEZER who remembers watching TV in 1951 and was an Echostar customer from 1988 to 2008, now a Dish Network customer.
My AV Setup
My Slingbox Pro HD Experience
My Blog: The Redwood Guardian


#6 OFFLINE   James Long

James Long

    Ready for Uplink!

  • Super Moderators
  • 39,359 posts
Joined: Apr 17, 2003

Posted 18 August 2012 - 11:08 PM

HD for 9-00 KQED PBS is carried by DISH on 129 TP 1 (spotbeam 16). 22-00 KRCB PBS, 44-00 KBCW CW, 48-00 KSTS Telemundo and 60-00 KCSM PBS are also carried on this transponder.

The other local HD channels are carried on 119 TP 4 (spotbeam A02).

Check the signal strength on 129 TP 1 and the other channels listed.

#7 OFFLINE   phrelin

phrelin

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 13,321 posts
  • LocationNorthern California Redwoods
Joined: Jan 18, 2007

Posted 18 August 2012 - 11:19 PM

quizzer FYI I'm only getting a signal strength on 129 TP 1 of 30 while I get 40+ on 119 TP 4. I never had a signal loss, but if my dish were off a bit or one of our trees grew....

"In a hundred years there'll be a whole new set of people."
"Always poke the bears. They sleep too much for their own good."

"If you're good enough, they'll talk about you." - Tom Harmon
A GEEZER who remembers watching TV in 1951 and was an Echostar customer from 1988 to 2008, now a Dish Network customer.
My AV Setup
My Slingbox Pro HD Experience
My Blog: The Redwood Guardian


#8 OFFLINE   Jhon69

Jhon69

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,637 posts
Joined: Mar 27, 2006

Posted 21 August 2012 - 09:05 AM

I dont have OTA.

I get the message "complete signal loss, turning to SD version".

My question is why only for this one channel, i have issues?



Have you heard about the benefits of OTA?.How digital OTA stations not only have their main channel but some also offer several subchannels.

Here's just a sample of what I receive for free OTA in my area:

1.The Create channel, a PBS subchannel with cooking shows,travel shows ect.

2.THiS Network, a comercial supported movie channel with older movies.

3.Antenna TV,commercial supported channel with older series like Adam12 and Dragnet ect.

4.MeTV,commercial supported network with older series like Gunsmoke,Bonanza,Big Valley and on the weekends Star Trek,Lost in Space,Batman and Voyage to the Bottom of the Sea ect.

The HD channels on OTA have a better quality HD picture.When I first got my HDTV I sat in front of it watching a cooking show,and I don't like to cook,but the picture was nothing short of awesome,so I watched it.;):D




spam firewall