Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Using esata drive...seeing old recordings on internal!?


  • Please log in to reply
40 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   grecorj

grecorj

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 131 posts
Joined: Jan 20, 2008

Posted 18 August 2012 - 09:00 PM

Ok this is weird.

About a month ago I added a 2TB drive to my HR24. Great.

Tonight I'm looking thru my playlist...and I see TWO folders of shows that had been recorded to the DVR back in May...months BEFORE I was using the external.

HOW IS THIS EVEN POSSIBLE?!?

I see recordings from the external (playable) and the internal (playable) on the same playlist!
HR34-700 --> HDMI --> Sony KDL-46EX501
HR24-500 --> HDMI --> Sony KDL-32EX401
HR24-500 --> HDMI --> Samsung LN19A450C1D (only 1 tuner active)

DIRECTV customer since Feb 2002
HD, WHDVR and ICK since Aug 2010
P.I.T.A. since birth :)

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   grecorj

grecorj

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 131 posts
Joined: Jan 20, 2008

Posted 18 August 2012 - 09:18 PM

Disregard!


External was shut off by accident, DVR rebooted into internal! Made a few recordings past few days so looked like old and new combined! Duh!

Edited by grecorj, 18 August 2012 - 09:26 PM.

HR34-700 --> HDMI --> Sony KDL-46EX501
HR24-500 --> HDMI --> Sony KDL-32EX401
HR24-500 --> HDMI --> Samsung LN19A450C1D (only 1 tuner active)

DIRECTV customer since Feb 2002
HD, WHDVR and ICK since Aug 2010
P.I.T.A. since birth :)

#3 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,761 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 18 August 2012 - 09:33 PM

Good to know ...

And ummm, it's eSATA.

#4 OFFLINE   wco81

wco81

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 203 posts
Joined: Feb 23, 2008

Posted 19 August 2012 - 01:46 PM

Quick questions about connecting an eSata drive:

1. Can you toggle back and forth between the internal and external eSata drive? Matter of rebooting with the eSata drive connected or not? Or will it try to reformat the eSata drive if you try to switch back to it after switching to the internal to watch some recordings?

2. Any way to transfer internal recordings to the eSata drive?

#5 OFFLINE   CCarncross

CCarncross

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 7,058 posts
  • LocationJackson
Joined: Jul 19, 2005

Posted 19 August 2012 - 02:10 PM

1. Just restart receiver and disconnect external to get back to internal. and vice versa. It should retain all recordings on each drive when switching aback and forth.

2. Not really. Although using the drive copy method outlined in the tips forum. you could combine recordings from 2 different drives but you cant pick and choose the recordings, its all or nothing.

#6 OFFLINE   wco81

wco81

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 203 posts
Joined: Feb 23, 2008

Posted 19 August 2012 - 02:16 PM

Just looked quickly at the tips forum.

By drive copy, you're talking about opening the DVR, removing the internal and cloning it somehow?

Or is there a way to dump the contents of the internal to the eSata drive, through the eSata port?

#7 ONLINE   dpeters11

dpeters11

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 12,713 posts
  • LocationCincinnati
Joined: May 30, 2007

Posted 19 August 2012 - 02:35 PM

Just looked quickly at the tips forum.

By drive copy, you're talking about opening the DVR, removing the internal and cloning it somehow?

Or is there a way to dump the contents of the internal to the eSata drive, through the eSata port?


It requires opening the DVR, which DirecTV doesn't allow on leased units.

#8 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,761 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 19 August 2012 - 02:46 PM

Just looked quickly at the tips forum.

By drive copy, you're talking about opening the DVR, removing the internal and cloning it somehow?

Or is there a way to dump the contents of the internal to the eSata drive, through the eSata port?


Yes, there is other way - ask DTV to develop such function or do that by yourself if DTV will release a source code of the DVR.

#9 OFFLINE   Laxguy

Laxguy

    Fortuna! Fameux des Halles

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 11,941 posts
  • LocationWinters, California
Joined: Dec 02, 2010

Posted 19 August 2012 - 03:12 PM

Yet I am pretty sure "the way" is something the questioner had in mind for now, not next quarter, or next year, nor relying on DIRECTV® changing its m.o..
"Laxguy" means a guy who loves lacrosse.

#10 OFFLINE   jdspencer

jdspencer

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 6,565 posts
Joined: Nov 07, 2003

Posted 19 August 2012 - 03:38 PM

Other than creating work for the CSRs, I don't know why DirecTV doesn't offer a method to transfer recordings. Of course, it would mean that both the internal and external drives be recognized by the DVR.

One reason I haven't gone with the external is that if the DVR should die, you can't just put the drive on another DVR. DirecTV should allow the swapping of external drives between DVRs on the same account.
DirecTV since '96, Waivers for ABC, CBS, NBC, & Fox, HR23-700 & HR24-500/AM21, using ethernet based MRV.

#11 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,761 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 19 August 2012 - 03:39 PM

As dish allow with its USB EHD.

#12 OFFLINE   LameLefty

LameLefty

    I used to be a rocket scientist

  • Registered
  • 12,048 posts
  • LocationMiddle Tennessee
Joined: Sep 28, 2006

Posted 19 August 2012 - 03:46 PM

As dish allow with its USB EHD.


Which is irrelevant to this thread. :rolleyes:

"Human sacrifice, dogs and cats living together... mass hysteria!"
Directv since 1997
Will Work for Beer


#13 OFFLINE   Laxguy

Laxguy

    Fortuna! Fameux des Halles

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 11,941 posts
  • LocationWinters, California
Joined: Dec 02, 2010

Posted 19 August 2012 - 03:54 PM

Which is irrelevant to this thread. :rolleyes:


And grammar-impaired...:eek2:
"Laxguy" means a guy who loves lacrosse.

#14 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,761 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 19 August 2012 - 03:58 PM

Show me what's wrong in that phrase.

It's pretty stupid to post off-topic and whining about someone's grammar error and didn't help .

#15 OFFLINE   Laxguy

Laxguy

    Fortuna! Fameux des Halles

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 11,941 posts
  • LocationWinters, California
Joined: Dec 02, 2010

Posted 19 August 2012 - 04:02 PM

"As dish allow with its USB EHD."

Should be:

"As Dish allows with its USB EHD."
"Laxguy" means a guy who loves lacrosse.

#16 OFFLINE   Laxguy

Laxguy

    Fortuna! Fameux des Halles

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 11,941 posts
  • LocationWinters, California
Joined: Dec 02, 2010

Posted 19 August 2012 - 04:04 PM

It's pretty stupid to post off-topic and whining about someone's grammar error and didn't help .


So, now you get the point that others have made about correcting the syntax of "eSata" when it's clear in context what is being referred to??
Is learning really fun for you?
"Laxguy" means a guy who loves lacrosse.

#17 OFFLINE   LameLefty

LameLefty

    I used to be a rocket scientist

  • Registered
  • 12,048 posts
  • LocationMiddle Tennessee
Joined: Sep 28, 2006

Posted 19 August 2012 - 04:05 PM

Show me what's wrong in that phrase.

It's pretty stupid to post off-topic and whining about someone's grammar error and didn't help .


Just like it's stupid to post an off-topic "correction" for eSATA when it adds nothing of substance to the discussion. Everyone knew exactly that the poster meant when he wrote "esata." Your correction was merely that of a pedant attempting to demonstrate some imagined superiority.

"Human sacrifice, dogs and cats living together... mass hysteria!"
Directv since 1997
Will Work for Beer


#18 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,761 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 19 August 2012 - 04:11 PM

So, now you get the point that others have made about correcting the syntax of "eSata" when it's clear in context what is being referred to??
Is learning really fun for you?


Yes, please don't give up on my mistakes. :)

@LL, please don't bother to read my posts and post off-topic. I'm already aware about your superiority and did decide do not communicate with you personally. :(

#19 OFFLINE   Scott Kocourek

Scott Kocourek

    On the edge

  • Super Moderators
  • 9,059 posts
  • LocationWisconsin
Joined: Jun 13, 2009

Posted 19 August 2012 - 04:24 PM

Please discuss the topic and not each other.

Opinions expressed by me are my own and do not necessarily reflect
those of DBSTalk.com, DIRECTV, Dish Network, or any other company.
Become a DBSTalk.com member or join the CE program HERE


#20 OFFLINE   wco81

wco81

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 203 posts
Joined: Feb 23, 2008

Posted 19 August 2012 - 07:22 PM

OK, I hooked an eSata drive up.

Has anyone noticed video and audio skipping?

Could it be the drive or the eSata interface isn't fast enough?

Skipping like crazy on True Blood on 501 at 9 PM EST viewing.

Also annoyed that all the settings have to be done over again. It would be one thing if you can transfer those at least.




spam firewall