Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Connecting two HR24's?


  • Please log in to reply
30 replies to this topic

#21 OFFLINE   Rich

Rich

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 20,089 posts
  • LocationPiscataway, NJ
Joined: Feb 22, 2007

Posted 19 August 2012 - 12:17 PM

VOS, thanks for this info. Does the setup I suggested suffice - when it's working?


You'd be much better off using hardwired Ethernet if you don't want to get the Whole Home setup. That does work, but not as well as a DECA setup.

Rich

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#22 OFFLINE   MattN03

MattN03

    Mentor

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 38 posts
Joined: Jan 09, 2007

Posted 19 August 2012 - 01:04 PM

I called into DTV & setup installation for the HR34, HR24, AM21 combination. The sales person said they'd install a 2nd dish for the AM21. Is this the case or would I need to provide an antenna?

#23 OFFLINE   WhiteMask

WhiteMask

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 23 posts
Joined: Jan 23, 2008

Posted 19 August 2012 - 01:12 PM

ok, I'm thinking you meant to start a new thread since it's off topic of the thread I created here?

Begging your pardon, Matt
Planned Obsolescence . . humans, too??

#24 OFFLINE   MattN03

MattN03

    Mentor

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 38 posts
Joined: Jan 09, 2007

Posted 19 August 2012 - 01:16 PM

Begging your pardon, Matt


np, just figured you meant to start a new thread. I've done the same ;)

#25 OFFLINE   WhiteMask

WhiteMask

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 23 posts
Joined: Jan 23, 2008

Posted 19 August 2012 - 01:38 PM

Matt, I'm embarrassed to say I don't know how to start a new thread. Might you point me accordingly

Thxs
Planned Obsolescence . . humans, too??

#26 OFFLINE   dpeters11

dpeters11

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 12,348 posts
  • LocationCincinnati
Joined: May 30, 2007

Posted 19 August 2012 - 01:45 PM

Matt, I'm embarrassed to say I don't know how to start a new thread. Might you point me accordingly

Thxs


There's a New Thread button up above the thread list area in a particular forum, on the left side.

#27 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,615 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 19 August 2012 - 01:46 PM

I called into DTV & setup installation for the HR34, HR24, AM21 combination. The sales person said they'd install a 2nd dish for the AM21. Is this the case or would I need to provide an antenna?

You'll need to have your own OTA antenna for the AM21.
It sounds like the "sales person" was a bit (:lol:) lost.
A.K.A VOS

#28 OFFLINE   MattN03

MattN03

    Mentor

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 38 posts
Joined: Jan 09, 2007

Posted 19 August 2012 - 04:45 PM

You'll need to have your own OTA antenna for the AM21.
It sounds like the "sales person" was a bit (:lol:) lost.


Yep, when i was transferred to schedule installation, that person said the AM21 was only for people who couldn't get their local channels. Not exactly a positive first experience....

#29 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,615 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 19 August 2012 - 05:05 PM

Yep, when i was transferred to schedule installation, that person said the AM21 was only for people who couldn't get their local channels. Not exactly a positive first experience....

Another wrong answer. They cost $50 and are owned accessories.
You can get them from DirecTV or places like www.solidsignal.com
Installers don't normally have them in their trucks.
A.K.A VOS

#30 OFFLINE   dpeters11

dpeters11

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 12,348 posts
  • LocationCincinnati
Joined: May 30, 2007

Posted 19 August 2012 - 05:21 PM

I'd just get it in your own, and install it yourself. It's as easy as plugging in a power and USB cable. The hard part is getting the antenna right.

I believe antennaweb.com can give some recommendations on the right antenna for your area.

#31 OFFLINE   CCarncross

CCarncross

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 7,058 posts
  • LocationJackson
Joined: Jul 19, 2005

Posted 19 August 2012 - 07:52 PM

Sin e I live in the Lansing MI DMA, I have to use OTA currently to receive my locals in HD, I have an AM21 on each of my HR22's and at least for my situation they work great. OTA provides the best PQ you can get for television shows in the home unless you buy them on BD after the season is over. Better than any provider delivers.




spam firewall