Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

CCK can't connect to my comcast router


  • Please log in to reply
232 replies to this topic

#51 OFFLINE   doolittle.dtv.iss

doolittle.dtv.iss

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 18 posts
Joined: Aug 19, 2012

Posted 19 August 2012 - 04:07 PM

so would this not be this issue? http://www.dbstalk.c...ad.php?t=160811
doolittle

...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#52 OFFLINE   Kaiser Bob

Kaiser Bob

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 45 posts
Joined: Aug 17, 2012

Posted 19 August 2012 - 04:07 PM

2Wire from AT&T shouldn't be on your list. It was used during field testing and the firmware was written so it would work with the 2Wire. Oh by the way, that is exactly what I've been using with the WCCK for several years with zero problems.


The 2Wire 310 and 2701HG-D are listed as possibly problematic. Which gateway are you using out of curiosity?

#53 OFFLINE   banditt76

banditt76

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 266 posts
Joined: Jul 17, 2012

Posted 19 August 2012 - 04:08 PM

I get the paying part, but since I have a WCCK, I don't the "less stable" part.


Wireless dropouts and such. And also interference with my Cisco router. Lack of range probably on some receivers depending on distance from the WCCK.

These were all points brought up by the guy I just talked to at DirecTV.
LG 47" 1080p LCD--DirecTV HR24-200 HD DVR--Magnavox Blu-Ray--JVC 5.1 DTS Surround Sound
I have never worked for DirecTV, but have learned many things over the years since being a customer from 2002-Today, except for my stint with DISH.

#54 OFFLINE   doolittle.dtv.iss

doolittle.dtv.iss

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 18 posts
Joined: Aug 19, 2012

Posted 19 August 2012 - 04:09 PM

its not unstable. ports 1701, 8080, and8843 have to be open for inbound and outbound traffic. i assume we use these ports due to the amount of traffic we create. and other than 1701 the other 2 are not as commonly open
doolittle

#55 OFFLINE   countrytime

countrytime

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 2 posts
Joined: Aug 19, 2012

Posted 19 August 2012 - 04:10 PM

ok so i have 4 receivers. 2 stay connected all the time and 2 drop out constantly from connecting? why? and giving error 86-*** with (22)

#56 OFFLINE   banditt76

banditt76

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 266 posts
Joined: Jul 17, 2012

Posted 19 August 2012 - 04:10 PM

so would this not be this issue? http://www.dbstalk.c...ad.php?t=160811


Thats what I'm trying to figure out here. Do the TV Apps work for the OP on his DVR?
LG 47" 1080p LCD--DirecTV HR24-200 HD DVR--Magnavox Blu-Ray--JVC 5.1 DTS Surround Sound
I have never worked for DirecTV, but have learned many things over the years since being a customer from 2002-Today, except for my stint with DISH.

#57 OFFLINE   Kaiser Bob

Kaiser Bob

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 45 posts
Joined: Aug 17, 2012

Posted 19 August 2012 - 04:10 PM

I get the paying part, but since I have a WCCK, I don't the "less stable" part.


'Less stable' is simplified way of saying 'It may not work with your setup, depending on your router' methinks.

#58 OFFLINE   banditt76

banditt76

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 266 posts
Joined: Jul 17, 2012

Posted 19 August 2012 - 04:11 PM

The stability issue is in terms of wireless signal quality and range, not the actual device itself.
LG 47" 1080p LCD--DirecTV HR24-200 HD DVR--Magnavox Blu-Ray--JVC 5.1 DTS Surround Sound
I have never worked for DirecTV, but have learned many things over the years since being a customer from 2002-Today, except for my stint with DISH.

#59 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 42,155 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 19 August 2012 - 04:12 PM

so would this not be this issue? http://www.dbstalk.c...ad.php?t=160811

After 3 years, I'm not sure how much is still relevant.

I keep both my receivers and router is defaults, and everything here works fine. This is sort of why I question a complaint about 2Wire.
ZERO ports forward, and DHCP for everything.
Network services never have anything but the <202> error, and in fact that means things are working.

Someone else with another type of router, may need to do some of those [these] things, so it's a YMMV.
A.K.A VOS

#60 OFFLINE   Kaiser Bob

Kaiser Bob

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 45 posts
Joined: Aug 17, 2012

Posted 19 August 2012 - 04:14 PM

ok so i have 4 receivers. 2 stay connected all the time and 2 drop out constantly from connecting? why? and giving error 86-*** with (22)


Maybe you should start a new thread for your issue? 22 subcode is a DNS error FWIW...

#61 OFFLINE   banditt76

banditt76

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 266 posts
Joined: Jul 17, 2012

Posted 19 August 2012 - 04:15 PM

After 3 years, I'm not sure how much is still relevant.

I keep both my receivers and router is defaults, and everything here works fine. This is sort of why I question a complaint about 2Wire.
ZERO ports forward, and DHCP for everything.
Network services never have anything but the <202> error, and in fact that means things are working.

Someone else with another type of router, may need to do some of those [these] things, so it's a YMMV.


All I know is it was required when I had either a DLink router 4 years ago and on my Cisco router just recently.

I get a connection on Network Services but it says test failed. Everything has always worked regardless.
LG 47" 1080p LCD--DirecTV HR24-200 HD DVR--Magnavox Blu-Ray--JVC 5.1 DTS Surround Sound
I have never worked for DirecTV, but have learned many things over the years since being a customer from 2002-Today, except for my stint with DISH.

#62 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 42,155 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 19 August 2012 - 04:17 PM

The 2Wire 310 and 2701HG-D are listed as possibly problematic. Which gateway are you using out of curiosity?

Started with the 2Wire wireless for DSL [forgot the model] and now use the U-who 3600 [and have used 3800] HGV.
A.K.A VOS

#63 OFFLINE   banditt76

banditt76

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 266 posts
Joined: Jul 17, 2012

Posted 19 August 2012 - 04:18 PM

I think we need to let the OP reply now and go from there. We are just confusing him more and not really helping resolve the original problem.
LG 47" 1080p LCD--DirecTV HR24-200 HD DVR--Magnavox Blu-Ray--JVC 5.1 DTS Surround Sound
I have never worked for DirecTV, but have learned many things over the years since being a customer from 2002-Today, except for my stint with DISH.

#64 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 42,155 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 19 August 2012 - 04:20 PM

Wireless dropouts and such. And also interference with my Cisco router. Lack of range probably on some receivers depending on distance from the WCCK.

These were all points brought up by the guy I just talked to at DirecTV.

First thing I did with wireless was to download the inSSIDer app to do a site survey and select a channel I could use, that was free.
A.K.A VOS

#65 OFFLINE   banditt76

banditt76

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 266 posts
Joined: Jul 17, 2012

Posted 19 August 2012 - 04:22 PM

First thing I did with wireless was to download the inSSIDer app to do a site survey and select a channel I could use, that was free.


Not sure why you're trying to help me. I have no issues here...the OP needs the help.

And isn't that the whole point of auto channel selection or does the WCCK not have that?
LG 47" 1080p LCD--DirecTV HR24-200 HD DVR--Magnavox Blu-Ray--JVC 5.1 DTS Surround Sound
I have never worked for DirecTV, but have learned many things over the years since being a customer from 2002-Today, except for my stint with DISH.

#66 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 42,155 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 19 August 2012 - 04:24 PM

'Less stable' is simplified way of saying 'It may not work with your setup, depending on your router' methinks.


The stability issue is in terms of wireless signal quality and range, not the actual device itself.

"Yep", you need to setup your WiFi for good signal strength and a clear channel.
The 2Wires here in this complex all seem to use channel 11. :lol:
A.K.A VOS

#67 OFFLINE   banditt76

banditt76

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 266 posts
Joined: Jul 17, 2012

Posted 19 August 2012 - 04:26 PM

"Yep", you need to setup your WiFi for good signal strength and a clear channel.
The 2Wires here in this complex all seem to use channel 11. :lol:


It's usually pretty easy to get into some free wi-fi in apartment complexes, even with WPA2 on when they leave the guest account open.

That is in no way an admission to guilt of said offense :P
LG 47" 1080p LCD--DirecTV HR24-200 HD DVR--Magnavox Blu-Ray--JVC 5.1 DTS Surround Sound
I have never worked for DirecTV, but have learned many things over the years since being a customer from 2002-Today, except for my stint with DISH.

#68 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 42,155 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 19 August 2012 - 04:27 PM

Not sure why you're trying to help me. I have no issues here...the OP needs the help.

And isn't that the whole point of auto channel selection or does the WCCK not have that?

I was merely trying to give you some feedback about the WCCK, which you didn't have and I do.
A.K.A VOS

#69 OFFLINE   banditt76

banditt76

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 266 posts
Joined: Jul 17, 2012

Posted 19 August 2012 - 04:28 PM

I was merely trying to give you some feedback about the WCCK, which you didn't have and I do.


Ok I figured. Didn't mean to come off as so rude. My apologies.
LG 47" 1080p LCD--DirecTV HR24-200 HD DVR--Magnavox Blu-Ray--JVC 5.1 DTS Surround Sound
I have never worked for DirecTV, but have learned many things over the years since being a customer from 2002-Today, except for my stint with DISH.

#70 OFFLINE   banditt76

banditt76

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 266 posts
Joined: Jul 17, 2012

Posted 19 August 2012 - 04:29 PM

Is the OP even still with us or did we make him go buy a 75ft ethernet cable? LOL

I actually had a 50 ft one at one point. You can tuck them away pretty good without needing to drill into walls.
LG 47" 1080p LCD--DirecTV HR24-200 HD DVR--Magnavox Blu-Ray--JVC 5.1 DTS Surround Sound
I have never worked for DirecTV, but have learned many things over the years since being a customer from 2002-Today, except for my stint with DISH.

#71 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 42,155 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 19 August 2012 - 04:34 PM

Ok I figured. Didn't mean to come off as so rude. My apologies.

We cut the newbies some slack. :lol:
I've had a 50' cable running down the hall for a few years before the DECA and WCCK came out for testing.
A.K.A VOS

#72 OFFLINE   tomasmk2003

tomasmk2003

    Mentor

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 32 posts
Joined: Aug 19, 2012

Posted 19 August 2012 - 04:35 PM

Alright sorry for the delay. Had a few things had to take care of. I'm back now. Read over the posts and not really sure what to make of them.

IP address 10.0.0.10 Ok
subnet mask 255.255.255.o OK
default gateway 10.0.0.1 OK
DNS 75.75.76.76 OK
Network Connected
Internet Not Connected
(22)

Result code 86-276

#73 OFFLINE   banditt76

banditt76

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 266 posts
Joined: Jul 17, 2012

Posted 19 August 2012 - 04:35 PM

We cut the newbies some slack. :lol:
I've had a 50' cable running down the hall for a few years before the DECA and WCCK came out for testing.


I'm only a newbie here, not in networking. :D
LG 47" 1080p LCD--DirecTV HR24-200 HD DVR--Magnavox Blu-Ray--JVC 5.1 DTS Surround Sound
I have never worked for DirecTV, but have learned many things over the years since being a customer from 2002-Today, except for my stint with DISH.

#74 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 42,155 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 19 August 2012 - 04:36 PM

I'm only a newbie here, not in networking.

My networking is all "plug & play" [where I plug it in and play until it works] :lol:
Now if you want to talk RF, well.....
A.K.A VOS

#75 OFFLINE   banditt76

banditt76

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 266 posts
Joined: Jul 17, 2012

Posted 19 August 2012 - 04:37 PM

My networking is all "plug & play" [where I plug it in and play until it works] :lol:
Now if you want to talk RF, well.....


RF huh? Sounds nauseating. :P
LG 47" 1080p LCD--DirecTV HR24-200 HD DVR--Magnavox Blu-Ray--JVC 5.1 DTS Surround Sound
I have never worked for DirecTV, but have learned many things over the years since being a customer from 2002-Today, except for my stint with DISH.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...