Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

CCK can't connect to my comcast router


  • Please log in to reply
232 replies to this topic

#201 OFFLINE   banditt76

banditt76

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 266 posts
Joined: Jul 17, 2012

Posted 20 August 2012 - 11:02 AM

I really have no idea of why this WCCK has a different secondary IP, or whether it affects anything.
It is merely something "strange" on a WCCK that can't get internet access from the router that it is connected to through WiFi.
Are the two related? :shrug:


Great question and would be nice to know the answer to it once everything is resolved.
LG 47" 1080p LCD--DirecTV HR24-200 HD DVR--Magnavox Blu-Ray--JVC 5.1 DTS Surround Sound
I have never worked for DirecTV, but have learned many things over the years since being a customer from 2002-Today, except for my stint with DISH.

...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#202 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 42,158 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 20 August 2012 - 11:05 AM

Great question and would be nice to know the answer to it once everything is resolved.

The OP is planning to have DirecTV run a coax near the router and go with a BB DECA, so we may never know.
A.K.A VOS

#203 OFFLINE   banditt76

banditt76

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 266 posts
Joined: Jul 17, 2012

Posted 20 August 2012 - 11:08 AM

The OP is planning to have DirecTV run a coax near the router and go with a BB DECA, so we may never know.


Oh well. As long as he gets fixed up that's all that really matters for the purposes of this thread.
LG 47" 1080p LCD--DirecTV HR24-200 HD DVR--Magnavox Blu-Ray--JVC 5.1 DTS Surround Sound
I have never worked for DirecTV, but have learned many things over the years since being a customer from 2002-Today, except for my stint with DISH.

#204 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 42,158 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 20 August 2012 - 11:28 AM

Being basically clueless about all the features & functions in a router, this may be completely off the wall, "but" instead of trying to open a port in the router, "I wonder" if there is a protocol or feature that should be turned off?
Could there be something in the default settings that the WCCK doesn't like?
Could this be why the secondary IP is being set to one from the router?

:shrug:
A.K.A VOS

#205 OFFLINE   banditt76

banditt76

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 266 posts
Joined: Jul 17, 2012

Posted 20 August 2012 - 11:40 AM

Being basically clueless about all the features & functions in a router, this may be completely off the wall, "but" instead of trying to open a port in the router, "I wonder" if there is a protocol or feature that should be turned off?
Could there be something in the default settings that the WCCK doesn't like?
Could this be why the secondary IP is being set to one from the router?

:shrug:


That's why I recommended DMZ zone. It is a totally wide open connection to that port it is applied on.
LG 47" 1080p LCD--DirecTV HR24-200 HD DVR--Magnavox Blu-Ray--JVC 5.1 DTS Surround Sound
I have never worked for DirecTV, but have learned many things over the years since being a customer from 2002-Today, except for my stint with DISH.

#206 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 42,158 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 20 August 2012 - 11:46 AM

That's why I recommended DMZ zone. It is a totally wide open connection to that port it is applied on.

"But what if" it isn't a port that is blocking/closed, but instead a port open/feature enabled, that causes the problem?
I'm just wondering if we've been looking at this backwards. :shrug:
A.K.A VOS

#207 OFFLINE   banditt76

banditt76

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 266 posts
Joined: Jul 17, 2012

Posted 20 August 2012 - 12:00 PM

"But what if" it isn't a port that is blocking/closed, but instead a port open/feature enabled, that causes the problem?
I'm just wondering if we've been looking at this backwards. :shrug:


My actual suggestion would be to setup port forwarding, but that is nothing I want to tackle over the phone.

A feature of the router conflicting with the WCCK is a possibility too. Would have to know what advanced features the router has first.
LG 47" 1080p LCD--DirecTV HR24-200 HD DVR--Magnavox Blu-Ray--JVC 5.1 DTS Surround Sound
I have never worked for DirecTV, but have learned many things over the years since being a customer from 2002-Today, except for my stint with DISH.

#208 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 42,158 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 20 August 2012 - 12:18 PM

My actual suggestion would be to setup port forwarding, but that is nothing I want to tackle over the phone.

A feature of the router conflicting with the WCCK is a possibility too. Would have to know what advanced features the router has first.

Here's where there is a link to the comcast user's manual:
http://www.wikidevi....D3GNV_(Comcast)

After looking through all 54 pages:


  • I'm not sure the router had a factory reset last night. [since the laptop WiFi wasn't lost]
  • There's a whole section for parental controls and I have no idea of what the defaults are.

A.K.A VOS

#209 OFFLINE   Kaiser Bob

Kaiser Bob

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 45 posts
Joined: Aug 17, 2012

Posted 20 August 2012 - 01:24 PM

What I don't like about the whole thing is it seems the router grants the CCKW an IP address via DHCP like it should but then appears to refuse to forward traffic back and forth... It would be nice to know what the CCKW is doing differently then the receiver plugged direct to router.
All comments are my own. Unless specifically stated, my views do NOT represent the views of DIRECTV

#210 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 42,158 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 20 August 2012 - 01:28 PM

What I don't like about the whole thing is it seems the router grants the CCKW an IP address via DHCP like it should but then appears to refuse to forward traffic back and forth... It would be nice to know what the CCKW is doing differently then the receiver plugged direct to router.

And to put a slightly sharper point on this:
What is the router doing/not doing over WiFi that isn't a problem with the BB DECA [HR21 to DECA to BB DECA to ethernet port on router], that was connected and worked?
A.K.A VOS

#211 OFFLINE   banditt76

banditt76

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 266 posts
Joined: Jul 17, 2012

Posted 20 August 2012 - 01:37 PM

And to put a slightly sharper point on this:
What is the router doing/not doing over WiFi that isn't a problem with the BB DECA [HR21 to DECA to BB DECA to ethernet port on router], that was connected and worked?


Another thing could be the type of wireless signal being used. Is it A,B,G or N and what is the WCCK using in that regards? The router might be on wireless B or N and the WCCK needs wireless G. There are just way to many variables to go through without having access to both devices simultaneously.
LG 47" 1080p LCD--DirecTV HR24-200 HD DVR--Magnavox Blu-Ray--JVC 5.1 DTS Surround Sound
I have never worked for DirecTV, but have learned many things over the years since being a customer from 2002-Today, except for my stint with DISH.

#212 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 42,158 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 20 August 2012 - 01:40 PM

Another thing could be the type of wireless signal being used. Is it A,B,G or N and what is the WCCK using in that regards? The router might be on wireless B or N and the WCCK needs wireless G. There are just way to many variables to go through without having access to both devices simultaneously.

The WCCK will connect to both G & N routers.
Now "if there was" a problem, wouldn't it show up trying to log into the WCCK over the WiFi connection, which worked fine?
A.K.A VOS

#213 OFFLINE   banditt76

banditt76

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 266 posts
Joined: Jul 17, 2012

Posted 20 August 2012 - 01:45 PM

The WCCK will connect to both G & N routers.
Now "if there was" a problem, wouldn't it show up trying to log into the WCCK over the WiFi connection, which worked fine?


I was just giving it as an example of a simple thing that it could be. My brain hurts trying to remember everything from this thread. :P
LG 47" 1080p LCD--DirecTV HR24-200 HD DVR--Magnavox Blu-Ray--JVC 5.1 DTS Surround Sound
I have never worked for DirecTV, but have learned many things over the years since being a customer from 2002-Today, except for my stint with DISH.

#214 OFFLINE   banditt76

banditt76

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 266 posts
Joined: Jul 17, 2012

Posted 20 August 2012 - 01:47 PM

I would say if the problem is with the Comcast router itself with HDCP protocol not giving out proper IP addresses it may just be simply defective. Maybe a firmware reset or upgrade would resolve the issue.
LG 47" 1080p LCD--DirecTV HR24-200 HD DVR--Magnavox Blu-Ray--JVC 5.1 DTS Surround Sound
I have never worked for DirecTV, but have learned many things over the years since being a customer from 2002-Today, except for my stint with DISH.

#215 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 42,158 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 20 August 2012 - 01:58 PM

I would say if the problem is with the Comcast router itself with HDCP protocol not giving out proper IP addresses it may just be simply defective. Maybe a firmware reset or upgrade would resolve the issue.

"You know you're getting tried when"....
an HDMI protocol is mixed up with a router's. :lol:

The DHCP seemed to have been passing out a "reasonable" IP address, subnet, and gateway/DNS. Everything within the LAN reacted to requests from other devices. The router simply wouldn't let the WCCK have access to the internet, which didn't matter if it was from a DVR or a laptop connected to the WCCK.
A.K.A VOS

#216 OFFLINE   banditt76

banditt76

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 266 posts
Joined: Jul 17, 2012

Posted 20 August 2012 - 02:00 PM

"You know you're getting tried when"....
an HDMI protocol is mixed up with a router's. :lol:

The DHCP seemed to have been passing out a "reasonable" IP address, subnet, and gateway/DNS. Everything within the LAN reacted to requests from other devices. The router simply wouldn't let the WCCK have access to the internet, which didn't matter if it was from a DVR or a laptop connected to the WCCK.


Lol sorry DHCP. My fingers have dyslexia. :P Dynamic Host Connection Protocol ;)
LG 47" 1080p LCD--DirecTV HR24-200 HD DVR--Magnavox Blu-Ray--JVC 5.1 DTS Surround Sound
I have never worked for DirecTV, but have learned many things over the years since being a customer from 2002-Today, except for my stint with DISH.

#217 OFFLINE   banditt76

banditt76

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 266 posts
Joined: Jul 17, 2012

Posted 20 August 2012 - 02:04 PM

"You know you're getting tried when"....
an HDMI protocol is mixed up with a router's. :lol:

The DHCP seemed to have been passing out a "reasonable" IP address, subnet, and gateway/DNS. Everything within the LAN reacted to requests from other devices. The router simply wouldn't let the WCCK have access to the internet, which didn't matter if it was from a DVR or a laptop connected to the WCCK.


What happened when you tried to ping the unknown device's IP address? I'm sure you answered this already but I really don't want to go back through the thread to find it.
LG 47" 1080p LCD--DirecTV HR24-200 HD DVR--Magnavox Blu-Ray--JVC 5.1 DTS Surround Sound
I have never worked for DirecTV, but have learned many things over the years since being a customer from 2002-Today, except for my stint with DISH.

#218 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 42,158 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 20 August 2012 - 02:12 PM

What happened when you tried to ping the unknown device's IP address? I'm sure you answered this already but I really don't want to go back through the thread to find it.

Actually "pinging" was never tried, nor thought would be needed, as logging into the WCCK's GUI was done a few times to test/proved connectivity.

I have a couple/few unknown on my router and one is this:

http://www.dbstalk.c...=1&d=1345493747

Attached Thumbnails

  • 1-1.PNG

A.K.A VOS

#219 OFFLINE   rmmccann

rmmccann

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 263 posts
  • LocationND, USA
Joined: Apr 16, 2012

Posted 20 August 2012 - 02:12 PM

If he has an 802.11n capable router/gateway, might be worth looking to see if WMM is enabled or disabled. I've seen strange things happen with WMM disabled, especially on 5GHz wireless devices.
If you judge a fish on its ability to climb a tree, you will live your whole life believing it is stupid.

#220 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 42,158 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 20 August 2012 - 02:19 PM

If he has an 802.11n capable router/gateway, might be worth looking to see if WMM is enabled or disabled. I've seen strange things happen with WMM disabled, especially on 5GHz wireless devices.

It has b/N capabilities, but looks to be a 2.4 GHz only WiFi.
A.K.A VOS

#221 OFFLINE   banditt76

banditt76

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 266 posts
Joined: Jul 17, 2012

Posted 20 August 2012 - 02:30 PM

I really hope I get to use my Cisco router in the networking class I will need to take for my degree. So far I have taught myself on my own for the most part except for the bit I learned about basic networking at my community college. I don't think I want to be Cisco certified because there is too much upkeep on certifications and such, but would really like to learn what each and every setting and section of my router settings controls.

This thread has been great practice for me at least in testing my memory and troubleshooting skills. ;)
LG 47" 1080p LCD--DirecTV HR24-200 HD DVR--Magnavox Blu-Ray--JVC 5.1 DTS Surround Sound
I have never worked for DirecTV, but have learned many things over the years since being a customer from 2002-Today, except for my stint with DISH.

#222 OFFLINE   Shades228

Shades228

    DaBears

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 6,006 posts
Joined: Mar 18, 2008

Posted 20 August 2012 - 03:05 PM

I skipped about 4 pages of this thread and since it appears to be just an educational thread now, as per VOS stating the OP is going to get a wired CCK installed, here's the best places to start.

Router Manufacturer and Model number.

IP, Gateway, and DNS address of a wired computer or item that is working properly
IP, Gateway, and DNS address of a wireless device that is working properly
IP, Gateway, and DNS address of item not working properly (in this case the IP of the WCCK and the DVR would be needed)

Confirm in the router that there is not a duplicate mac address for any connected device. (extremely rare and should technically never happen but I've seen it bring down the largest networks)

If all of these are correct then the problem is with device or the router. Rebooting the device is the first step. After that you have to look at wireless settings in the router itself. Today every software is designed to be "Plug n Play" which can actually make it harder to find out what the issues are because by default things can be setup that can cause issues.

Ping the non working device from a working device to ensure connectivity and routing. (This is a high level test you can do things like getting a port scanner and listen for the ports you want if you're so inclined but that's putting a 350 in a Chevette at this point)

If ping works then the router is routing properly to the devices. Now it's a matter of what settings the router has setup for wireless that wouldn't allow it outside of the network or that it isn't allowing the device to get that's needed.

A current trend is now having wireless network "guest areas" setup by default in routers so that when people come over they can connect to the internet without you giving your password out. They do limit internal networking functions. If this is on it can cause issues if the CCK is hitting that. If UPNP is on see what sessions are active. If there's an option of release or reset sessions on request do so.

Mostly if you get to the last step it's going to be finding out what software options exist and what is stopping it by default. Usually a quick google search will resolve this if you make your situation generic such as "New wireless device will connect to network but can't get to internet on WD 4300N".

I also didn't read if the OP had a WPS button or not and used that or if he manually inputted his settings.

In a nutshell at this point you either need to do 2 things with new routers. Leave them alone other than putting in a name and password for them or blast out every setting and set them up how you want them.

Oh also ask if there are kids or anyone in the house who like to download things a lot. If you have an avid torrent person they have probably setup rules in the router to streamline their setup for that and it can cause conflicts with other things.

Static IP's, Static port forwarding on a DHCP system without reservations can cause havoc if people aren't watching them and trying to setup new devices. Setting up a DMZ should really never be something that a home user wants to do unless they like to wear tinfoil hats as well. It can cause more issues than fix.

Edited by Shades228, 20 August 2012 - 04:00 PM.


#223 OFFLINE   banditt76

banditt76

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 266 posts
Joined: Jul 17, 2012

Posted 20 August 2012 - 03:36 PM

Thanks Shades. Great step by step guide for troubleshooting steps.
LG 47" 1080p LCD--DirecTV HR24-200 HD DVR--Magnavox Blu-Ray--JVC 5.1 DTS Surround Sound
I have never worked for DirecTV, but have learned many things over the years since being a customer from 2002-Today, except for my stint with DISH.

#224 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 42,158 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 20 August 2012 - 03:42 PM

I also didn't read if the OP had a WPA button or not and used that or if he manually inputted his settings.

He did but I didn't have him use it and followed my own "tried and true" steps to set it up.
A.K.A VOS

#225 OFFLINE   banditt76

banditt76

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 266 posts
Joined: Jul 17, 2012

Posted 20 August 2012 - 03:54 PM

I just gave myself a self-tutorial on my Cisco Valet M10 router. Went through each screen and setting one by one and looked at some of the help. Don't disable WMM on the router. I couldn't get back into mine until I did a reset and had to setup everything again. That was fun. :nono2:
LG 47" 1080p LCD--DirecTV HR24-200 HD DVR--Magnavox Blu-Ray--JVC 5.1 DTS Surround Sound
I have never worked for DirecTV, but have learned many things over the years since being a customer from 2002-Today, except for my stint with DISH.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...