Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk, like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community, but don't worry this is a simple free process that requires minimal information for you to signup. Be a part of DBSTalk by signing in or creating an account.
  • Start new topics and reply to others
  • Subscribe to topics and forums to get email updates
  • Get your own profile page and make new friends
  • Send personal messages to other members.
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

771A error message help!


  • Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   Mister Fusion

Mister Fusion

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 1 posts
Joined: Aug 20, 2012

Posted 20 August 2012 - 02:47 PM

I have the whole home setup with the HR20 in one room and HR21 in the other. Recently, I disconnected the receiver in my bedroom where the swm and network adapter are located. When I reconnected everything in the bedroom, I got the 771A error so I checked the connections again and everything seemed to work without changing anything.
A few days later, I'm getting the 771A error again on both TVs. I called Dtv and they walked me through powering everything down by unplugging and we couldn't get it fixed. The swm does have a solid green light on it. The white "deca" box in the bedroom does not have any lights on it but they come on briefly when I unplug the receiver and plug it back in but they go out again.
I've tried power cycling the swm, then the network adapter (or whatever it's called) then the receiver but that didn't work. I've tried combinations of power cycling different components. I tried bypassing the network adapter thing (for the VoD) and that didn't work either.
Still 771a on both TVs and I only have the local playlist for each DVR.

They cannot send a tech out until Saturday, 6 days from when I called. I am disappointed to say the least that it is going to take so long to restore service and would welcome any suggestions for something I could possible do to fix the issue.

Thanks in advance.

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,391 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 20 August 2012 - 03:04 PM

Recently, I disconnected the receiver in my bedroom where the swm and network adapter are located. When I reconnected everything in the bedroom, I got the 771A error so I checked the connections again and everything seemed to work without changing anything.
A few days later, I'm getting the 771A error again on both TVs.

There more than likely is a bad cable/connection in the bedroom.

The SWiM PI having a green light only means it's getting power.
The lack of lit LEDs on the DECA, suggests there is a cable problem also.
A.K.A VOS

#3 OFFLINE   Drucifer

Drucifer

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 7,420 posts
  • LocationNY Hudson Valley
Joined: Feb 12, 2009

Posted 21 August 2012 - 12:16 AM

I have the whole home setup with the HR20 in one room and HR21 in the other. Recently, I disconnected the receiver in my bedroom where the swm and network adapter are located. When I reconnected everything in the bedroom, I got the 771A . . . . .

Did you also move the Power Inserter?

Drew
Do it Right, Do it Once
LR:HR34-7, Dn:HR24-1, MB:HR24-5, Bm:HR21-2, Kt:H25-5
PrimeStar '95, DirecTV '00





spam firewall