Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

722 hook up diagram


  • Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   722921

722921

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 233 posts
Joined: Jan 03, 2008

Posted 22 August 2012 - 01:45 PM

My 722 rf output that feeds another tv used to be combined somehow so that OTA would also go with it. Ch 60 got me dish channels while OTA would be available by tuning that tv to those channels also.
One day about a month or more ago, this stopped working, ch 60 was very fuzzy. Suspecting my OTA 1 to 4 amp went bad, I removed the OTA option and recently bought another amp. It made no difference and now I'm stuck. I've tried various splitters, combiners, etc, but OTA is no longer available and ch 60 is very fuzzy unless I feed it directly to the other tv.
1. Did dish make the 722 like the 622 where only dish channels can be sent to tv2?
2. If not, why can't I see both anymore?:confused:
Hopper feeds the 73" Mitz WD-73640 3D DLP/1080p (and 19" Polaroid LCD/720p via RF)
Joey 1 feeds the 62" Mitz WD-62628 DLP/1080P (and 16" Polaroid LCD/720p via RF)
Joey 2 feeds the new 40" Specter LCD black friday special
Dish America Pkg

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   722921

722921

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 233 posts
Joined: Jan 03, 2008

Posted 29 August 2012 - 08:49 AM

228 views and not one hint?
Shirley this is not a unique problem...;)
Hopper feeds the 73" Mitz WD-73640 3D DLP/1080p (and 19" Polaroid LCD/720p via RF)
Joey 1 feeds the 62" Mitz WD-62628 DLP/1080P (and 16" Polaroid LCD/720p via RF)
Joey 2 feeds the new 40" Specter LCD black friday special
Dish America Pkg

#3 OFFLINE   722921

722921

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 233 posts
Joined: Jan 03, 2008

Posted 06 September 2012 - 11:28 AM

400+ views now. Is my question so far off that it is undecipherable?
Hopper feeds the 73" Mitz WD-73640 3D DLP/1080p (and 19" Polaroid LCD/720p via RF)
Joey 1 feeds the 62" Mitz WD-62628 DLP/1080P (and 16" Polaroid LCD/720p via RF)
Joey 2 feeds the new 40" Specter LCD black friday special
Dish America Pkg

#4 OFFLINE   Jim5506

Jim5506

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,481 posts
Joined: Jun 07, 2004

Posted 06 September 2012 - 05:14 PM

If the direct connection gives you a clear picture, then there is a problem in one of your cables or splitters/diplexers.

Go forth and troubleshoot.
Tuners: Hopper 2000; Hopper w/Sling; 3 Joeys; Samsung SIR-T351; Accurian 6000;2 X HD TiVo; 2 X TiVo Series 2 Stand alone; Panasonic Showstopper 2000
Dish 1000.2 @ 110, 119, 129; dish 500 @ 61.5
Antennas - CM4228; RS U75-R; coathanger; Funke PSP.1922 (stillin the box); paperclip
Displays: Sony VPH D50Q with HD Fury HDMI input; Hitachi 57F59; Sony Bravia LCD;Sanyo 32" LCD; Panasonic 42" plasma
Sony 80GB PS3; Toshiba HD-DVD

Give me a Finco colinear array and I'll rule the world - HA-HA-HA-HA!

#5 OFFLINE   harsh

harsh

    Beware the Attack Basset

  • Registered
  • 18,977 posts
  • LocationSalem, OR
Joined: Jun 14, 2003

Posted 06 September 2012 - 06:10 PM

Have you had a service call from DISH or your broadband Internet provider recently?

Is there anyone that may have tried to "enhance" or "extend" your setup?

Have you verified that all of the cabling is undamaged and the connectors are appropriately tight?

When you say you "removed the OTA option", what did you yank?

Are there any diplexers in your system?

Is the power LED on your distribution amp lit (it is truly impressive how many of these end up being plugged in to a switched outlet)?

I don't think your OP was incomprehensible -- it simply raised more questions than it answered.

Too often we enjoy the comfort of opinion without the discomfort of thought. -- JFK


#6 OFFLINE   Orion9

Orion9

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 201 posts
Joined: Jan 31, 2011

Posted 06 September 2012 - 08:04 PM

I started to get lost at "combined somehow" and then the "unless I feed it directly to the other tv" at the end made me think that all the problems are downstream of the 722, which seems to be the "somehow" that I got lost at in the first sentence. So... I just hoped someone else could come up with a good guess.

#7 OFFLINE   722921

722921

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 233 posts
Joined: Jan 03, 2008

Posted 07 September 2012 - 03:11 PM

If the direct connection gives you a clear picture, then there is a problem in one of your cables or splitters/diplexers.

Go forth and troubleshoot.

I've tried several splitters to the same effect. The fact that it just happened one day out of the blue led me to think the amp failed after years of operation. But replacing it brought no change.
Hopper feeds the 73" Mitz WD-73640 3D DLP/1080p (and 19" Polaroid LCD/720p via RF)
Joey 1 feeds the 62" Mitz WD-62628 DLP/1080P (and 16" Polaroid LCD/720p via RF)
Joey 2 feeds the new 40" Specter LCD black friday special
Dish America Pkg

#8 OFFLINE   722921

722921

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 233 posts
Joined: Jan 03, 2008

Posted 07 September 2012 - 03:15 PM

Have you had a service call from DISH or your broadband Internet provider recently?

Is there anyone that may have tried to "enhance" or "extend" your setup?

Have you verified that all of the cabling is undamaged and the connectors are appropriately tight?

When you say you "removed the OTA option", what did you yank?

Are there any diplexers in your system?

Is the power LED on your distribution amp lit (it is truly impressive how many of these end up being plugged in to a switched outlet)?

I don't think your OP was incomprehensible -- it simply raised more questions than it answered.

Here are my answers;
No
No
Yes
The existing 'splitter'
I don't think so
Neither amp had an led, but were plugged in fully
Thanks
Hopper feeds the 73" Mitz WD-73640 3D DLP/1080p (and 19" Polaroid LCD/720p via RF)
Joey 1 feeds the 62" Mitz WD-62628 DLP/1080P (and 16" Polaroid LCD/720p via RF)
Joey 2 feeds the new 40" Specter LCD black friday special
Dish America Pkg

#9 OFFLINE   harsh

harsh

    Beware the Attack Basset

  • Registered
  • 18,977 posts
  • LocationSalem, OR
Joined: Jun 14, 2003

Posted 07 September 2012 - 04:18 PM

Sounds like your splitter is toast, but I'd need authoritative answers to my questions to know for sure.

The presence of diplexers isn't all that uncommon in such a configuration and if you're confusing a splitter and a diplexer, there's your sign. Unless you carefully read the label on the device, a diplexer looks exactly like a splitter. They are NOT interchangeable and there is the potential to do serious damage to TV2 if you substitute a splitter for a diplexer or inadvertently swap the outputs.

Too often we enjoy the comfort of opinion without the discomfort of thought. -- JFK


#10 OFFLINE   722921

722921

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 233 posts
Joined: Jan 03, 2008

Posted 11 September 2012 - 11:53 AM

Well that gets to the root of my problem harsh, thanks.
So the rf output of the 722 and the roof antena should be diplexed to the input of tv2?
Hopper feeds the 73" Mitz WD-73640 3D DLP/1080p (and 19" Polaroid LCD/720p via RF)
Joey 1 feeds the 62" Mitz WD-62628 DLP/1080P (and 16" Polaroid LCD/720p via RF)
Joey 2 feeds the new 40" Specter LCD black friday special
Dish America Pkg

#11 OFFLINE   harsh

harsh

    Beware the Attack Basset

  • Registered
  • 18,977 posts
  • LocationSalem, OR
Joined: Jun 14, 2003

Posted 13 September 2012 - 08:13 AM

Well that gets to the root of my problem harsh, thanks.
So the rf output of the 722 and the roof antena should be diplexed to the input of tv2?

If "backfeeding" along the satellite cable isn't being used, you need a splitter(combiner). If backfeeding is being used, the order in which the splitter and diplexer are connected is important. A diplexer will effectively kill one of the signals if used in place of a splitter.

Too often we enjoy the comfort of opinion without the discomfort of thought. -- JFK


#12 OFFLINE   722921

722921

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 233 posts
Joined: Jan 03, 2008

Posted 13 September 2012 - 12:21 PM

Thanks again.
I think that is where a diagram would help, because I don't know if backfeeding is being used or not.
Hopper feeds the 73" Mitz WD-73640 3D DLP/1080p (and 19" Polaroid LCD/720p via RF)
Joey 1 feeds the 62" Mitz WD-62628 DLP/1080P (and 16" Polaroid LCD/720p via RF)
Joey 2 feeds the new 40" Specter LCD black friday special
Dish America Pkg

#13 OFFLINE   shadough

shadough

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 671 posts
Joined: Dec 31, 2006

Posted 13 September 2012 - 10:16 PM

Typically Dish installers will use diplexers to 'backfeed' the TV2 signal to, tv2. Meaning, they are piggybacking on the same cable that brings the sat signal from the dish in order to route the TV2 signal elsewhere in the home. Sometimes these diplexers fail, and it could affect either your SAT signal or the TV2 signal. If a diplexer is used, you should find one behind your 722 receiver. You'll need to find the other one, diplexers work in pairs, perhaps trying to combine the ANT at the further location might create better results, or replacing both diplexers. Assuming of course your installation has diplexers to begin with. It could also be something as simple as the setting in your receiver being changed from "Home Distribution" to "Direct connection". And if it is set for "Home Distribution", check to see if an 'attenuator' is being used behind the 722 (a lil adapter on the coax connected to TV2 out), if there is one, remove it.

http://shad.is.dream...fl/collect.html 1000 AFL games and counting......





Protected By... spam firewall...And...