Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Moving external hard drives?


  • Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   topgun80

topgun80

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 103 posts
Joined: Oct 06, 2008

Posted 22 August 2012 - 03:59 PM

Hello all, I was just poking around in the Dish forum. It appears that Dish users can move external drives from receiver to receiver! Why can't we do that? And is it ever going to happen for DTV users? My greatest concern is that my receiver is going to die and I'll have a 2T hard drive that is full and can't be used.

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   dennisj00

dennisj00

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 8,646 posts
  • LocationLake Norman, NC
Joined: Sep 27, 2007

Posted 22 August 2012 - 04:38 PM

Can't move at this time.

Currently if you move it, it will get reformatted.

Spending to stimulate the economy as fast as the credit cards will allow!

My Setup / Weather at Lake Norman!/ Boathouse BEES
DLB, MRV, nomad, HDGUI are HERE! . . . We're DONE!


#3 OFFLINE   CCarncross

CCarncross

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 7,058 posts
  • LocationJackson
Joined: Jul 19, 2005

Posted 22 August 2012 - 06:03 PM

Can't move at this time.

Currently if you move it, it will get reformatted.


They don't get re-formatted in my experience. They have all the shows, and the series manager is fully intact, just none of the recordings are playable unless they were OTA from an H/HR20 or an AM21-equipped other model. I've done it many times in the last several years.

#4 OFFLINE   dpeters11

dpeters11

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 13,115 posts
  • LocationCincinnati
Joined: May 30, 2007

Posted 22 August 2012 - 06:24 PM

Hello all, I was just poking around in the Dish forum. It appears that Dish users can move external drives from receiver to receiver! Why can't we do that? And is it ever going to happen for DTV users? My greatest concern is that my receiver is going to die and I'll have a 2T hard drive that is full and can't be used.


Will it ever happen? It certainly is possible, but no one here would be able to tell you if it will, or when. It is certainly a feature that is in a lot of demand on here. That and backing up at least series links.

I think technically external drives are considered unsupported.

#5 OFFLINE   topgun80

topgun80

    AllStar

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 103 posts
Joined: Oct 06, 2008

Posted 22 August 2012 - 10:10 PM

I read about the copyright issues but I guess I don't understand why moving your recordings to another receiver if the old one dies is a problem, legal or otherwise. It doesn't seem to bother Dish, they let their customers do it.

#6 OFFLINE   makaiguy

makaiguy

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 630 posts
  • LocationAiken, SC
Joined: Sep 24, 2007

Posted 23 August 2012 - 06:29 AM

I read about the copyright issues but I guess I don't understand why moving your recordings to another receiver if the old one dies is a problem, legal or otherwise.

I don't see why they do it this way, either, but they do. Your recordings are encoded with the receiver number so that only that unit can play them back. Many of us for years have been pleading to have them encode to your account rather than your receiver, which would still meet all copyright issues but allow more flexibility. So far it just falls on deaf ears.
DirecTV customer since 1997
HR24-500, HR22-100
I don't do buddy/friends lists, don't ask.

#7 OFFLINE   JonW

JonW

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 526 posts
Joined: Dec 21, 2006

Posted 23 August 2012 - 09:20 AM

No doubt because they fear people would exploit the ability to pirate movies.

From the POV of someone who pays for what I watch many times over, though, I find it ridiculous.

#8 OFFLINE   topgun80

topgun80

    AllStar

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 103 posts
Joined: Oct 06, 2008

Posted 23 August 2012 - 09:30 AM

I don't know all that much about the digital world but how would moving my external hard drive to a new or another box on my account allow me to pirate movies? I'm not talking about connecting it to my computer.

#9 OFFLINE   Rich

Rich

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 20,884 posts
  • LocationPiscataway, NJ
Joined: Feb 22, 2007

Posted 23 August 2012 - 10:17 AM

They don't get re-formatted in my experience. They have all the shows, and the series manager is fully intact, just none of the recordings are playable unless they were OTA from an H/HR20 or an AM21-equipped other model. I've done it many times in the last several years.


I've moved a lot of large HDDs due to HRs failing and I've never had one reformatted. Just moved three of them in the last month.

Rich

#10 OFFLINE   Rich

Rich

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 20,884 posts
  • LocationPiscataway, NJ
Joined: Feb 22, 2007

Posted 23 August 2012 - 10:19 AM

I read about the copyright issues but I guess I don't understand why moving your recordings to another receiver if the old one dies is a problem, legal or otherwise. It doesn't seem to bother Dish, they let their customers do it.


We've been trying for years to allow all HDDs to be read by all HRs within an account and it seems futile. You'd be better off developing a backup plan than waiting for D* to allow us to freely swap HDDs within an account.

Rich

#11 OFFLINE   Rich

Rich

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 20,884 posts
  • LocationPiscataway, NJ
Joined: Feb 22, 2007

Posted 23 August 2012 - 10:21 AM

I don't know all that much about the digital world but how would moving my external hard drive to a new or another box on my account allow me to pirate movies? I'm not talking about connecting it to my computer.


Trust me, you're not the only one puzzled by this.

Rich




Protected By... spam firewall...And...