Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

Antenna Question...hooking up two Antenna's


  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   bungi43

bungi43

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 57 posts
Joined: Jan 17, 2011

Posted 23 August 2012 - 11:07 AM

I live in zip code 47946. I can pick up stations out of South Bend very easily. I have two old Batwing RCA antenna's. My neighbor can pick up Chicago with his old set of rabbit ears.

My question is: Is there a simple way (not involving a rotor) that I can point one of these towards chicago, one towards south bend and get both sets of stations?

I've searched google and see stuff on couplers, splitters, etc...but I was wondering if any of you had tried this or the best way for it to work.

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   dettxw

dettxw

    MRVing

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,025 posts
  • LocationChoctaw, OK
Joined: Nov 21, 2007

Posted 23 August 2012 - 01:31 PM

Hmm... You're only talking about a difference of 65-70 degrees. So you have to pick one or the other?
Try combining them with a simple cheap splitter and see if it works, should be okay for broadcast TV frequencies. There are more specialized devices called combiners but I've not sure what's inside, maybe something used for higher frequencies, though I'm sure that there are folks on here who know for sure.

-Steve- Subscriber since Sept 1998  My Complete Setup 

SWM16 / HR44-500 (2TB & AM21) / HR34-700 (3TB & AM21) / HR24-500 (2TB eSATA) / C31 via WCCK / C41 x2 / C41W / H25-700


#3 OFFLINE   PrinceLH

PrinceLH

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 473 posts
Joined: Feb 18, 2003

Posted 31 August 2012 - 10:27 PM

So how far are the stations from your sight, over the air?

#4 OFFLINE   jimmie57

jimmie57

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,480 posts
  • LocationTexas City, TX
Joined: Jun 26, 2010

Posted 01 September 2012 - 02:19 PM

Check with Radio Shack and see if an RF modulater would work for you.
By this i am thinking that you hook one antenna to the RF connection of the TV.
The second antenna would hook to the RF modulator and then you could use the red white and yellow connection to go to the TV.
This would keep the signals separate as I feel that combining the signals might make a mess of them all.
This would require you to switch Inputs on the TV when you changed from the antenna to the modulator.

http://www.radioshac...oductId=2103095

DirecTV customer since 1996 - Current :Slimline 3 SWM,   HR24-100 HDMI to 32" Sharp LED,
HR24-100 Component cables to 46" Samsung LCD & Optical Cable to Yamaha AVR, H21-200 HDMI to Yamaha AVR & HDMI to 52" Mitsubishi LCD


#5 OFFLINE   CCarncross

CCarncross

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 7,058 posts
  • LocationJackson
Joined: Jul 19, 2005

Posted 01 September 2012 - 07:53 PM

There is an item called a jointenna or something like that, as long as the 2 directions dont have stations with overlapping frequencies I think that would solve your problem. Check Solid Signal.

#6 OFFLINE   Davenlr

Davenlr

    Geek til I die

  • Registered
  • 9,090 posts
Joined: Sep 16, 2006

Posted 01 September 2012 - 08:04 PM

Jointenna would work for a single channel. Most all but 2 Chicago stations are UHF. It would (should) be possible to aim a yagi UHF antenna at 39 degrees for SouthBend, and a yagi hi-VHF/UHF antenna at Chicago 239 degrees, and join them with a splitter/combiner. Since each antenna is pointing in a different direction, and both cities are far enough distant to not have a very strong signal there, it should work.

Another option would be just to use two separate tuners hooked to separate antennas, and select the city you want with the input on the TV.

Tivo Premier XL4, Tivo Premier, Tivo HD whole home on Xfinity HD, DirecTv Whole Home with 39" high gain KaKu dish, Roku3,SageTv 8 TB Win8 Server -> DVDO Edge-> Denon AVR, Klipsch KB15's/Panasonic 55ST60 plasma"


#7 OFFLINE   jimmie57

jimmie57

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,480 posts
  • LocationTexas City, TX
Joined: Jun 26, 2010

Posted 01 September 2012 - 08:52 PM

Based on the 2 previous posts I found this at Amazon.
http://www.amazon.co...A/ref=pd_cp_e_0

DirecTV customer since 1996 - Current :Slimline 3 SWM,   HR24-100 HDMI to 32" Sharp LED,
HR24-100 Component cables to 46" Samsung LCD & Optical Cable to Yamaha AVR, H21-200 HDMI to Yamaha AVR & HDMI to 52" Mitsubishi LCD


#8 OFFLINE   dettxw

dettxw

    MRVing

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,025 posts
  • LocationChoctaw, OK
Joined: Nov 21, 2007

Posted 01 September 2012 - 09:45 PM

Try the $0.50 splitter first.

-Steve- Subscriber since Sept 1998  My Complete Setup 

SWM16 / HR44-500 (2TB & AM21) / HR34-700 (3TB & AM21) / HR24-500 (2TB eSATA) / C31 via WCCK / C41 x2 / C41W / H25-700





Protected By... spam firewall...And...