Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

DIRECTV First Look: C31-700 Home Media Center RVU Client


  • Please log in to reply
502 replies to this topic

#201 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,860 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 01 September 2012 - 12:20 PM

I asked about how the billing process will happen, not how you add or remove a client.

I seem to recall that removing clients (or moving them between HMCs) isn't all that ironed out yet.

"You seem to recall" a lot of bad information.
"I seem to recall" someone pointing out a post from someone named "Harshness" posting the BS on another forum, who'd have had their butt kicked if they'd posted it.

As to "how the billing process will happen", I answered. You add a RVU client and it costs you $6/month.
You want to remove a client? You call and get it removed. "Seems ironed out" to me.
Since more than one HR34 isn't supported, I don't think too many users are having to deal with it yet.
A.K.A VOS

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#202 OFFLINE   harsh

harsh

    Beware the Attack Basset

  • Registered
  • 18,985 posts
  • LocationSalem, OR
Joined: Jun 14, 2003

Posted 01 September 2012 - 01:14 PM

Since more than one HR34 isn't supported, I don't think too many users are having to deal with it yet.

This along with whether there is a fee involved would seem to be open questions. Obviously because they don't apply to you personally, they're immaterial. :(

Too often we enjoy the comfort of opinion without the discomfort of thought. -- JFK


#203 OFFLINE   ndole

ndole

    Problem Solver

  • Registered
  • 1,898 posts
Joined: Aug 26, 2009

Posted 01 September 2012 - 01:17 PM

This along with whether there is a fee involved would seem to be open questions. Obviously because they don't apply to you personally, they're immaterial. :(


Read that last sentence back to yourself very slowly. It might take a couple of tries.
"He that is good for making excuses is seldom good for anything else."

#204 OFFLINE   hdtvfan0001

hdtvfan0001

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 31,818 posts
Joined: Jul 28, 2004

Posted 01 September 2012 - 01:55 PM

Read that last sentence back to yourself very slowly. It might take a couple of tries.

Yeah....unfortunately I don't have an English translator nearby...

Even with that resource...it wouldn't make much sense.
DBSTalk CHAT ROOM MODERATOR
DirecTV Customer Since 1996

#205 OFFLINE   LameLefty

LameLefty

    I used to be a rocket scientist

  • Registered
  • 12,103 posts
  • LocationMiddle Tennessee
Joined: Sep 28, 2006

Posted 01 September 2012 - 01:58 PM

This along with whether there is a fee involved would seem to be open questions.


"A fee involved" for what? Removal of the client? Why on earth would there be? And why would a hypothetical client removal fee be material to you?

"Human sacrifice, dogs and cats living together... mass hysteria!"
Directv since 1997
Will Work for Beer


#206 OFFLINE   hdtvfan0001

hdtvfan0001

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 31,818 posts
Joined: Jul 28, 2004

Posted 01 September 2012 - 02:00 PM

"A fee involved" for what? Removal of the client? Why on earth would there be? And why would a hypothetical client removal fee be material to you?

Based on the original post you referenced...perhaps we need a sign "Beware of Dish Fishing". :D
DBSTalk CHAT ROOM MODERATOR
DirecTV Customer Since 1996

#207 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,860 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 01 September 2012 - 05:21 PM

Obviously because they don't apply to you personally, they're immaterial. :(

Believe me, since I have the hardware AND DirecTV, they apply a hell of a lot more to me than to you, until you become a DirecTV customer.
A.K.A VOS

#208 OFFLINE   viclovr

viclovr

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 65 posts
Joined: Aug 14, 2012

Posted 01 September 2012 - 06:17 PM

since the hr34 can stream 3 recordings at a time to other receivers via mrv. if its using all 3 to say 3-h25's can the c31 pull a recording?
just curious since c31 basically isnt a receiver by itself so i dont think mrv applies to it.

#209 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,860 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 01 September 2012 - 06:21 PM

since the hr34 can stream 3 recordings at a time to other receivers via mrv. if its using all 3 to say 3-h25's can the c31 pull a recording?
just curious since c31 basically isnt a receiver by itself so i dont think mrv applies to it.

Three streams is the limit.
"Maybe" it would help to not call it MRV, but coax networking or DECA, as this is how it's done and the limiting issue.
A.K.A VOS

#210 OFFLINE   viclovr

viclovr

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 65 posts
Joined: Aug 14, 2012

Posted 01 September 2012 - 06:28 PM

so then if 3 c31's is pulling live tv then the h25 cant pull the recording?
sorry im a bit confused. i thought that the c31 basically took over one of the hr34s tuners and ive read that even if the hr34 is recording on all 5 that it can still stream 3 recordings via mrv. sorry i still prefer calling it mrv.

#211 OFFLINE   RAD

RAD

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 16,028 posts
  • LocationDripping Springs, TX
Joined: Aug 05, 2002

Posted 01 September 2012 - 06:29 PM

so then if 3 c31's is pulling live tv then the h25 cant pull the recording?
sorry im a bit confused. i thought that the c31 basically took over one of the hr34s tuners and ive read that even if the hr34 is recording on all 5 that it can still stream 3 recordings via mrv. sorry i still prefer calling it mrv.

Think of it this way, the HR34 can send out three streams to other devices, be them RVC clients or WHDVR clients, period.

See post My Setup for configuration info.


#212 OFFLINE   Stuart Sweet

Stuart Sweet

    The Shadow Knows!

  • Super Moderators
  • 36,876 posts
Joined: Jun 18, 2006

Posted 01 September 2012 - 06:31 PM

Yes, that's the same information I've seen posted elsewhere.
Opinions expressed by me are my own and do not necessarily reflect
those of DBSTalk.com, DIRECTV, DISH, The Signal Group, or any other company.

#213 OFFLINE   viclovr

viclovr

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 65 posts
Joined: Aug 14, 2012

Posted 01 September 2012 - 06:44 PM

Yes, that's the same information I've seen posted elsewhere.


ya i posted the question on another forum already. but i prefer getting second opinions.

no offence, i just like to confirm info i receive that i cant verify myself.

#214 OFFLINE   LameLefty

LameLefty

    I used to be a rocket scientist

  • Registered
  • 12,103 posts
  • LocationMiddle Tennessee
Joined: Sep 28, 2006

Posted 01 September 2012 - 06:49 PM

ya i posted the question on another forum already. but i prefer getting second opinions.

no offence, i just like to confirm info i receive that i cant verify myself.


Consider it confirmed. I have an HR34 and 3 clients. When all three of them are active, no other receivers on the LAN can stream a recording from the HR34.

"Human sacrifice, dogs and cats living together... mass hysteria!"
Directv since 1997
Will Work for Beer


#215 OFFLINE   viclovr

viclovr

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 65 posts
Joined: Aug 14, 2012

Posted 01 September 2012 - 07:16 PM

but must say it would be a big plus if and when the c31 can see the playlist from other hdvrs.

how heavy is it? is it light enough that i can adhere it to the back of the tv?
I may not know as much as the experts but neither did the experts when they themselves were novices.

#216 OFFLINE   RAD

RAD

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 16,028 posts
  • LocationDripping Springs, TX
Joined: Aug 05, 2002

Posted 01 September 2012 - 07:24 PM

but must say it would be a big plus if and when the c31 can see the playlist from other hdvrs.

how heavy is it? is it light enough that i can adhere it to the back of the tv?


Don't know any exact amount but it feels about the same as my iPhone.

See post My Setup for configuration info.


#217 OFFLINE   LameLefty

LameLefty

    I used to be a rocket scientist

  • Registered
  • 12,103 posts
  • LocationMiddle Tennessee
Joined: Sep 28, 2006

Posted 01 September 2012 - 07:36 PM

how heavy is it? is it light enough that i can adhere it to the back of the tv?


Strong velcro would probably work. It really is very light.

"Human sacrifice, dogs and cats living together... mass hysteria!"
Directv since 1997
Will Work for Beer


#218 OFFLINE   cypherx

cypherx

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,853 posts
  • LocationPA - Berks County
Joined: Aug 27, 2010

Posted 01 September 2012 - 07:43 PM

That's cool, you could theoretically attach it to the back of the TV and use an RF remote and then it wouldn't look like you had any set top box.

- > Link to my setup thread< -

My  DirecTV HD WISHLIST:  NickJR, Nicktoons, Revolt.TV, FXM, We, Oxygen, The Hub, Fuse, GSN, Sprout, GAC, Esquire, MTV2, BBC World News, Sundance, Up, Music Choice Play HD (formerly SWRV), Al Jazeera America, Military Channel, NASA

My DirecTV SD WISHLIST: MTV Hits, MTV Jams, Music Choice, Youtoo TV

 

---

HR44-500
HR24-200

 


#219 OFFLINE   viclovr

viclovr

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 65 posts
Joined: Aug 14, 2012

Posted 01 September 2012 - 07:54 PM

is there air vents on the bottom?

any word on mounting brackets for the unit?
I may not know as much as the experts but neither did the experts when they themselves were novices.

#220 OFFLINE   RAD

RAD

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 16,028 posts
  • LocationDripping Springs, TX
Joined: Aug 05, 2002

Posted 01 September 2012 - 08:14 PM

is there air vents on the bottom?

any word on mounting brackets for the unit?

Air vents are on the bottom and sides, I heard a rumor that a mounting unit is in the works but no timeframe. Don't forget you also need to account for the power brick.

See post My Setup for configuration info.





Protected By... spam firewall...And...