Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

DIRECTV First Look: C31-700 Home Media Center RVU Client


  • Please log in to reply
502 replies to this topic

#426 OFFLINE   dmark1867

dmark1867

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 11 posts
Joined: Sep 03, 2012

Posted 12 October 2012 - 10:48 AM

Any news on the RCA dongle for the C31? Seems like they are still very hard to find.

...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#427 OFFLINE   SolidSignal

SolidSignal

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 42 posts
Joined: Oct 02, 2007

Posted 13 October 2012 - 11:10 AM

I think we will have these in the next few days, hopefully.

#428 OFFLINE   harperhometheater

harperhometheater

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 181 posts
Joined: Aug 30, 2012

Posted 13 October 2012 - 03:20 PM

I think we will have these in the next few days, hopefully.


Any way you can sell just the C31 without the remote and HDMI cable?
HarperVision, LLC
ISF Calibrations, Installations,
Repairs & Consultations

#429 OFFLINE   Craig540

Craig540

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 2 posts
Joined: Sep 01, 2006

Posted 14 October 2012 - 11:52 AM

Is there a DVR charge for this like any other DVR?

#430 OFFLINE   harperhometheater

harperhometheater

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 181 posts
Joined: Aug 30, 2012

Posted 14 October 2012 - 11:56 AM

No just an extra receiver fee of $6
HarperVision, LLC
ISF Calibrations, Installations,
Repairs & Consultations

#431 OFFLINE   harsh

harsh

    Beware the Attack Basset

  • Registered
  • 19,987 posts
  • LocationSalem, OR
Joined: Jun 14, 2003

Posted 15 October 2012 - 07:47 AM

Is there a DVR charge for this like any other DVR?

The DVR fees are a once per household arrangement. As you must also have an Advanced HD DVR to use the C31, you'll be paying a single DVR fee.

Too often we enjoy the comfort of opinion without the discomfort of thought. -- JFK


#432 OFFLINE   paragon

paragon

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 354 posts
Joined: Nov 15, 2007

Posted 15 October 2012 - 10:37 AM

I think we will have these in the next few days, hopefully.


Do you guys have an estimate for when the C31 wall mount will be available?

#433 OFFLINE   inkahauts

inkahauts

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 16,835 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2006

Posted 15 October 2012 - 11:32 AM

Do you guys have an estimate for when the C31 wall mount will be available?


Not sure about that, but saw they have The composite adapter in at the moment.

#434 OFFLINE   dishrich

dishrich

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,541 posts
Joined: Apr 22, 2002

Posted 15 October 2012 - 03:36 PM

Am I correct, that currently if you have an HR34, & other HR2x DVR's connected w/MRV, the C31 can ONLY play recordings from the HR34???

#435 OFFLINE   RAD

RAD

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 16,157 posts
  • LocationDripping Springs, TX
Joined: Aug 05, 2002

Posted 15 October 2012 - 03:46 PM

Am I correct, that currently if you have an HR34, & other HR2x DVR's connected w/MRV, the C31 can ONLY play recordings from the HR34???


If it doesn't with the currently release national software it will be able to play from HR2X's with a future release.

See post My Setup for configuration info.


#436 OFFLINE   skemp

skemp

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 3 posts
Joined: Oct 16, 2012

Posted 16 October 2012 - 08:54 AM

I just switched from Dish 922 to the "Genie" HR34 and 3 C31s. I really like it. This is the perfect platform for home entertainment of the future.

I do have one axe to grind though. I was thrilled to read in the dealer install manual for the C31 that you can register up to 8 RVUs to the HMC but only 3 will play at a time. Since my setup came with service for 4 TVs I wanted to buy 2 more C31s so that I could have TV ready to go at all 6 tvs in my house (since sharing seems to be a challenge with Directv unlike Dish). Anyway, my gripe is that Directv wants to charge me the $6 fee for the 5th and 6th TV even though I can only be watching a total of 4 at a time. Not cool.

dtvu.satinstalltraining.com/C31/C31_RVU_FG_FINAL.pdf (page 15)

#437 OFFLINE   RAD

RAD

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 16,157 posts
  • LocationDripping Springs, TX
Joined: Aug 05, 2002

Posted 16 October 2012 - 09:02 AM

I just switched from Dish 922 to the "Genie" HR34 and 3 C31s. I really like it. This is the perfect platform for home entertainment of the future.

I do have one axe to grind though. I was thrilled to read in the dealer install manual for the C31 that you can register up to 8 RVUs to the HMC but only 3 will play at a time. Since my setup came with service for 4 TVs I wanted to buy 2 more C31s so that I could have TV ready to go at all 6 tvs in my house (since sharing seems to be a challenge with Directv unlike Dish). Anyway, my gripe is that Directv wants to charge me the $6 fee for the 5th and 6th TV even though I can only be watching a total of 4 at a time. Not cool.

dtvu.satinstalltraining.com/C31/C31_RVU_FG_FINAL.pdf (page 15)


Totally agree with you on the pricing for the additional clients. DIRECTV IMHO really needs to step up to the plate on this and reevaluate this pricing.

See post My Setup for configuration info.


#438 OFFLINE   Laxguy

Laxguy

    Never say 'never'.

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,127 posts
  • LocationWinters, CA, between Napa and Sacramento
Joined: Dec 02, 2010

Posted 16 October 2012 - 09:57 AM

Totally agree with you on the pricing for the additional clients. DIRECTV IMHO really needs to step up to the plate on this and reevaluate this pricing.


+1.

And welcome to the forum! :welcome_s
"Laxguy" means a guy who loves lacrosse.

#439 OFFLINE   skemp

skemp

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 3 posts
Joined: Oct 16, 2012

Posted 16 October 2012 - 10:21 AM

+1.

And welcome to the forum! :welcome_s


Thanks!

Maybe I'm in left-field but I actually believe they will be more profitable in the end if they adjust the per receiver model for Genie setups. Because right now I can't bring myself to buying 2 more C31s at $100 per pop and then be charged another $6 a month for tv #5 and beyond. I would stomach the cost of the C31s alone, though.

#440 OFFLINE   Beerstalker

Beerstalker

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,117 posts
Joined: Feb 09, 2009

Posted 16 October 2012 - 10:49 AM

I've been saying that they shouldn't be charging anything for C31s past the first three for months now since we first heard they would be. I certainly hope that DirecTV listens and changes their mind, but I doubt they will (look at how many complained about charging for Whole Home DVR, DirecTV never went back on that decision either).
Sometimes when I reflect back on all the beer I drink I feel ashamed. Then I look into the glass and think about the workers in the brewery and all of their hopes and dreams. If I didn’t drink this beer, they might be out of work and their dreams would be shattered. Then I say to myself, "It is better that I drink this beer and let their dreams come true than be selfish and worry about my liver."
-by Jack Handy

#441 OFFLINE   inkahauts

inkahauts

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 16,835 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2006

Posted 16 October 2012 - 10:59 AM

I agree, charging for more than the right now is very annoying. Id never even consider having more than three clients right now. However, I have to wonder if in part they are (in addition to the obvious reason of gaining income from it) doing it the way they are because of consistency, and also because at some point, we will see people with multiple c31s and HR34s, and at that point, how do you start working the numbers in the system? Could it be done, sure, but at what cost to their backed, and knowing that I doubt very manny of their installs are for more than four tvs anyway...

#442 OFFLINE   dishrich

dishrich

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,541 posts
Joined: Apr 22, 2002

Posted 16 October 2012 - 10:59 AM

Just yet another reason why I'd just as soon go with full (non-DVR) receivers at the remote-viewing locations, instead of thin-clients.
Rather loose live trick play functions, but still have a separate (remote) tuner, for when there are NO RVU sessions &/or live tuners available, out of the HR34.

#443 OFFLINE   inkahauts

inkahauts

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 16,835 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2006

Posted 16 October 2012 - 11:01 AM

Just yet another reason why I'd just as soon go with full (non-DVR) receivers at the remote-viewing locations, instead of thin-clients.
Rather loose live trick play functions, but still have a separate (remote) tuner, for when there are NO RVU sessions &/or live tuners available, out of the HR34.


After using the HR34 with clients, after always having DVRs at every TV before, I can say while I used to think just like what your saying, I've changed my mind. I
Love the clients. I'd just never have more than three, so I never run into the situation of not being able to watch something.

#444 OFFLINE   skemp

skemp

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 3 posts
Joined: Oct 16, 2012

Posted 16 October 2012 - 01:38 PM

I agree, charging for more than the right now is very annoying. Id never even consider having more than three clients right now. However, I have to wonder if in part they are (in addition to the obvious reason of gaining income from it) doing it the way they are because of consistency, and also because at some point, we will see people with multiple c31s and HR34s, and at that point, how do you start working the numbers in the system? Could it be done, sure, but at what cost to their backed, and knowing that I doubt very manny of their installs are for more than four tvs anyway...


exactly

#445 OFFLINE   Hotelone

Hotelone

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 56 posts
  • LocationCentral Sierra Mountains
Joined: Feb 18, 2008

Posted 16 October 2012 - 10:00 PM

FWIW, I've been with D* forever and I haven't asked Customer Retention for anything for a long time. My SDTV in my playroom died last month and I bought a 60" Panny to replace it and when I called and asked CR they sent me an HR34 for free w/free installation and the contract extension. I was pleased enough with that. After reading this thread I stated thinking about my small kitchen flat panel that was connected with RCA's and after calling CR again today they scheduled me for this Saturday for a free install of a C31 for the kitchen panel for the $6.00 per month with no contract extension. I've been with D* for almost 15 years so YMMV but it might be worth a call to Customer Retention to see what they'll cough up.

Vince
Mariposa, CA

#446 OFFLINE   BenJF3

BenJF3

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 308 posts
Joined: Sep 12, 2008

Posted 17 October 2012 - 11:06 PM

C31 FAQs


Q. Does the AM21 work with the C31?
A. No, but if an AM21 is connected to the HR34, the C31 can play or schedule OTA recordings utilizing that AM21.


According to posters at Solid Signal the C31 can stream LIVE TV. The user claims to have confirmed it. If this is the case, I'm sold.

From Solid Signal:


Originally Posted by SS@SolidSignal

Live OTA, yes. That's what I've been told. VOS, can you confirm?
It works, I just tried it.

My next question is if I have another HD-DVR on this (HR24, etc), will it act as a client? I know it will share it's recorded content. However, will it share it's schedule with the HR34 so everyone can see ALL scheduled recordings? The major problem I have with my Time Warner Whole Home (beside the crap software) is that I always end up with duplicate recording of the same show because my wife will schedule a show in one room and then be in another where she see it is not schedules, therefore she sets it again. I'd like to have the dedicated tuners because I would have up to 4 C31's (if I outfitted every outlet in the home/ 6 total).

This may be my tipping point to pull the trigger and switch, especially since the OTA is streaming because D* won't provide me with all my locals.

I like what I see with D* even though they lack much of the HD that my current Time Warner lineup has. I know they will continue to add the HD.

My only real negatives are no G4 (even SD) and the new guide lacks channel logos in the grid. Logos make for much easier guide scrolling/searching/finding. I really like the Dish GUI for that and think D* should really add it. It's also my understanding that D* has an extensive line of VOD available.

Since I don't yet have it and have been on the fence for awhile sweating out this garbage TWC DVR I'd take any input or comments. I'm especially concerned about the OTA streaming. Thanks

PS: The only other con I see is banging you $6 extra for having the C31 connected since it doesn't have it's own card. It's using the HR-34, but it's still way cheaper than having a DVR on the extra outlet.

ADD ON QUESTIONS: Since the OTA would be recording alot of my items, wouldn't that free up a sat tuner? So, if I'm recording multiple primetime shows, I should be able to still stream the 5 tuners? Could I di-plex my OTA onto the SWiM line?

Edited by BenJF3, 18 October 2012 - 12:11 AM.
Additional Question

BAN the FCC!

#447 OFFLINE   dmark1867

dmark1867

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 11 posts
Joined: Sep 03, 2012

Posted 18 October 2012 - 08:01 AM

I think we will have these in the next few days, hopefully.


Ordered a couple yesterday, thanks!

#448 OFFLINE   Smuuth

Smuuth

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 2,310 posts
Joined: Oct 04, 2005

Posted 18 October 2012 - 08:53 AM

According to posters at Solid Signal the C31 can stream LIVE TV. The user claims to have confirmed it. If this is the case, I'm sold.

From Solid Signal:


Originally Posted by SS@SolidSignal

Live OTA, yes. That's what I've been told. VOS, can you confirm?
It works, I just tried it.

My next question is if I have another HD-DVR on this (HR24, etc), will it act as a client? I know it will share it's recorded content. However, will it share it's schedule with the HR34 so everyone can see ALL scheduled recordings? The major problem I have with my Time Warner Whole Home (beside the crap software) is that I always end up with duplicate recording of the same show because my wife will schedule a show in one room and then be in another where she see it is not schedules, therefore she sets it again. I'd like to have the dedicated tuners because I would have up to 4 C31's (if I outfitted every outlet in the home/ 6 total).

This may be my tipping point to pull the trigger and switch, especially since the OTA is streaming because D* won't provide me with all my locals.

I like what I see with D* even though they lack much of the HD that my current Time Warner lineup has. I know they will continue to add the HD.

My only real negatives are no G4 (even SD) and the new guide lacks channel logos in the grid. Logos make for much easier guide scrolling/searching/finding. I really like the Dish GUI for that and think D* should really add it. It's also my understanding that D* has an extensive line of VOD available.

Since I don't yet have it and have been on the fence for awhile sweating out this garbage TWC DVR I'd take any input or comments. I'm especially concerned about the OTA streaming. Thanks

PS: The only other con I see is banging you $6 extra for having the C31 connected since it doesn't have it's own card. It's using the HR-34, but it's still way cheaper than having a DVR on the extra outlet.

ADD ON QUESTIONS: Since the OTA would be recording alot of my items, wouldn't that free up a sat tuner? So, if I'm recording multiple primetime shows, I should be able to still stream the 5 tuners? Could I di-plex my OTA onto the SWiM line?


1. The C31 will stream live OTA only if an AM21 is hooked up to the HR34.

2. Future scheduled recordings on another DVR are not visible to the HR34 or the C31.

3. The maximum simultaneous streams from the HR34 is 3, which can be any combination of live OTA, Satellite, and previously-recorded content. A 4th television can be watched if it is connected directly to the output of the HR34.

4. OTA cannot be diplexed into the SWiM line, the AM21 Off-Air Tuner requires a separate Coax feed from the OTA antenna.

Edited by Smuuth, 18 October 2012 - 09:03 AM.

Eschew Obfuscation!


Patriot Guard Riders

#449 OFFLINE   BenJF3

BenJF3

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 308 posts
Joined: Sep 12, 2008

Posted 18 October 2012 - 08:56 AM

Thanks for the info! Anyone have any insight if they will add the ability for other units to behave the same as the C31 in relation to scheduled recordings?

On that note, one wonders why they didn't just make an HR-34 that supports 8 tuners to take full advantage of a single SWiM feed. That would have made more sense. Then again so would having the add on OTA module just be a dongle or insertable module like how Dish is doing it. The AM21N is huge in comparison to the new hardware coming out.

I do love the fact that clients can stream OTA!

Also, can anyone comment on if D* might add channel logos to the grid? Is there a contact to submit ideas? I know D* pays attention to these forums. Thanks all for the great info. I see a switch soon!

ADD ON: Can anyone confirm how VOD works via the C31?

Edited by BenJF3, 18 October 2012 - 05:40 PM.

BAN the FCC!

#450 OFFLINE   denpri

denpri

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 88 posts
Joined: Aug 08, 2009

Posted 20 October 2012 - 01:52 PM

As to your VOD question, just checked and VOD works fine on my C31!




Protected By... spam firewall...And...