Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk, like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community, but don't worry this is a simple free process that requires minimal information for you to signup. Be a part of DBSTalk by signing in or creating an account.
  • Start new topics and reply to others
  • Subscribe to topics and forums to get email updates
  • Get your own profile page and make new friends
  • Send personal messages to other members.
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

DIRECTV First Look: C31-700 Home Media Center RVU Client


  • Please log in to reply
502 replies to this topic

#401 OFFLINE   hdtvfan0001

hdtvfan0001

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 31,525 posts
Joined: Jul 28, 2004

Posted 21 September 2012 - 11:12 AM

nice :) is that lease or purchase though, don;t recall a answer on it

I'm pretty sure they only offer it as a purchase...but I'll double check.

Now there's a rare switch; :confused:

A third party seller, though granted a major one, beating out DIRECTV's own current equipment pricing.

I'll usually take a deal wherever I can get it - this one's all the better coming from a seller many of us already do business with for some time. The price is a steal.
DBSTalk CHAT ROOM MODERATOR
DirecTV Customer Since 1996

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#402 OFFLINE   Stuart Sweet

Stuart Sweet

    The Shadow Knows!

  • Super Moderators
  • 36,642 posts
Joined: Jun 18, 2006

Posted 21 September 2012 - 11:14 AM

Actually I am 100% sure they are leased. I had heard earlier they may be purchases but they are leased.
Opinions expressed by me are my own and do not necessarily reflect
those of DBSTalk.com, DIRECTV, DISH, The Signal Group, or any other company.

#403 OFFLINE   hdtvfan0001

hdtvfan0001

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 31,525 posts
Joined: Jul 28, 2004

Posted 21 September 2012 - 11:16 AM

Actually I am 100% sure they are leased. I had heard earlier they may be purchases but they are leased.

Gotcha.

Thanks for the clarification.

Still quite the deal @ < 1/2 retail price.
DBSTalk CHAT ROOM MODERATOR
DirecTV Customer Since 1996

#404 OFFLINE   carl6

carl6

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 10,659 posts
  • LocationSeattle, WA
Joined: Nov 15, 2005

Posted 21 September 2012 - 03:51 PM

Still quite the deal @ < 1/2 retail price.


And, just in case there is an error in pricing, if you are interested I would jump on a pre-order as soon as possible and lock in that price.

#405 OFFLINE   LoweBoy

LoweBoy

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 109 posts
Joined: Sep 15, 2006

Posted 21 September 2012 - 08:41 PM

But are you sure what D* is going to charge? SS is the only place that I seen any type of pricing aside from speculation. I recently learned to not speculate on here.

It makes you look foolish.
LoweBoy
1 HR34-700 -- Pioneer VSX-1021 -- Samsung 55" B8k
1 HR24-500 -- Samsung 46" C8k
1 HR20-100 -- Vizio 32"
1 H25-700-- Vizio 32"
1 H25-500-- Samsung 40"

nomad & MRV all self installed
iPads & iPhones & AppleTV

#406 OFFLINE   viclovr

viclovr

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 65 posts
Joined: Aug 14, 2012

Posted 21 September 2012 - 08:53 PM

if u look on directv.com on the DIRECTV Equipment Lease Addendum
it lists the nrf for the hmc client for 125$
I may not know as much as the experts but neither did the experts when they themselves were novices.

#407 OFFLINE   wingrider01

wingrider01

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,749 posts
Joined: Sep 09, 2005

Posted 22 September 2012 - 07:06 AM

And, just in case there is an error in pricing, if you are interested I would jump on a pre-order as soon as possible and lock in that price.


Just ordered one at the 39 dollar price, it told ne shiipping in 7 to 10 days, interesting

#408 OFFLINE   hdtvfan0001

hdtvfan0001

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 31,525 posts
Joined: Jul 28, 2004

Posted 22 September 2012 - 07:08 AM

Just ordered one at the 39 dollar price, it told ne shiipping in 7 to 10 days, interesting

I suspect that's because it's actually a pre-order - stock scheduled to arrive this coming week. That's likely the motivation to offer the major discount. :shrug:
DBSTalk CHAT ROOM MODERATOR
DirecTV Customer Since 1996

#409 OFFLINE   MrLatte

MrLatte

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 206 posts
Joined: Aug 18, 2007

Posted 22 September 2012 - 08:26 AM

I see mention that since this is a leased unit I'd have to activate it within 30 days of getting it? Does SS tell DirecTV when people buy these things? I'd like to buy one of these but I might not hook it up right away. How would DTV know I have it if I don't activate it?

#410 OFFLINE   wingrider01

wingrider01

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,749 posts
Joined: Sep 09, 2005

Posted 22 September 2012 - 01:00 PM

I suspect that's because it's actually a pre-order - stock scheduled to arrive this coming week. That's likely the motivation to offer the major discount. :shrug:


first time I looked when it was posted the text stated was not available, when I got around to ordering it the text ow states deliever in 7 to 10 days. Oh well, not a big deal, not like it is a iphone 5 :rolleyes:

#411 OFFLINE   inkahauts

inkahauts

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 13,980 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2006

Posted 22 September 2012 - 02:44 PM

if u look on directv.com on the DIRECTV Equipment Lease Addendum
it lists the nrf for the hmc client for 125$


That doesn't tell you how much they will charge for a client.

#412 OFFLINE   funnyfarm299

funnyfarm299

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 90 posts
Joined: Mar 03, 2012

Posted 24 September 2012 - 08:36 AM

I see mention that since this is a leased unit I'd have to activate it within 30 days of getting it? Does SS tell DirecTV when people buy these things? I'd like to buy one of these but I might not hook it up right away. How would DTV know I have it if I don't activate it?


More like D* doesn't pay SS for the value of the reciever if you don't activate it.
LR: 50" Samsung plasma, Samsung bluray, HR24, H25, Roku, Denon AVR-1912, URC MX-450 with RF.

BR1: 32" Sony LCD, H25, SnapAV HDMI balun.

BR2: 32" Acer LCD, H25, Xbox 360.

Bonus: 73" mitsubishi 73742, HR24, SnapAV HDMI balun

#413 ONLINE   lzhj9k

lzhj9k

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 155 posts
Joined: Mar 14, 2009

Posted 25 September 2012 - 12:34 PM

And, just in case there is an error in pricing, if you are interested I would jump on a pre-order as soon as possible and lock in that price.


Turns out Solid Signal is NOT going to honor the PreOrder Special Pricing for the C31's

Orders are in the process of being cancelled and credits processed.....

Mike

Mike

 

HR-34  HR-23  H25  2-C31 Clients and 1 C41 Client


#414 OFFLINE   wingrider01

wingrider01

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,749 posts
Joined: Sep 09, 2005

Posted 25 September 2012 - 04:39 PM

Turns out Solid Signal is NOT going to honor the PreOrder Special Pricing for the C31's

Orders are in the process of being cancelled and credits processed.....

Mike


yup just got mine, although they claim no credits are required sicne nothing was charged. Claimed it was a "system glitch"

#415 OFFLINE   steelerfanmike

steelerfanmike

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 218 posts
  • LocationNj/pa border
Joined: Jun 18, 2007

Posted 02 October 2012 - 07:31 PM

I was wondering if anyone knows how to hook this box up to another TV to view the same picture on both TV's?
I'm currently using the hdmi on the TV that the box is hooked to. I have a spare coaxial wire just lying there collecting
dust,and it ends in the basement where I have a spare old TV with no hdmi input, just coaxial and red white yellow jacks.
thought about using the DIRECTV H2510PIN 10 Pin to Component Dongle (H2510PIN) 18-94A1CS-008-01
but that won't work. Looked into using a rf modular but the c31 don't have the red white yellow plugs?
any help with pictures would be helpful. I can switch the current setup to use the dongle instead and free up the hdmi input if that helps you help me... LOL
HR34-700 with a AM 21 OTA Tuner Hooked to a Sony HD3D 60" TV ( KDL-60EX720)
With 3 C31 Clients an using a Cisco E4200 V2 wireless router for APPS and Youtube
Hooked to a OTA Channel Master Roof mount 100 mile range antenna with a rotor.
To watch (Philly @ WilkesBarre PA. Locals)
Directv locals are NYC

#416 OFFLINE   inkahauts

inkahauts

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 13,980 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2006

Posted 02 October 2012 - 09:02 PM

I was wondering if anyone knows how to hook this box up to another TV to view the same picture on both TV's?
I'm currently using the hdmi on the TV that the box is hooked to. I have a spare coaxial wire just lying there collecting
dust,and it ends in the basement where I have a spare old TV with no hdmi input, just coaxial and red white yellow jacks.
thought about using the DIRECTV H2510PIN 10 Pin to Component Dongle (H2510PIN) 18-94A1CS-008-01
but that won't work. Looked into using a rf modular but the c31 don't have the red white yellow plugs?
any help with pictures would be helpful. I can switch the current setup to use the dongle instead and free up the hdmi input if that helps you help me... LOL


You need a composite dongle, not component. And then realize you will have to watch both tvs in sd any time you are trying to watch the tv in the basement.

#417 OFFLINE   mattgt

mattgt

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 4 posts
Joined: Sep 28, 2012

Posted 03 October 2012 - 01:10 AM

Hello all,

I've been fighting an issue with my HR34 + C31s. Previously I had RVU Samsung TV Clients... They were sluggish, etc. I chose to move to the C31 due to how speedy they were.

My issue is, once the tech and I pair the C31 with the HR34 it wants to do a software update. It basically ends up forcing the update. Prior to the update it all works perfectly. After the Update the C31 cannot find the "server" (HR34). Has anyone had this issue? This has now happened on all 4 C31's I have. RVU on the Samsung TV still works flawlessly besides the sluggishness.

I am able to do a factory reset on it (which reverts to the previous software) and it will see the HR34. But minutes later it will want to do the update again.

Thanks for any input. :)

#418 OFFLINE   steelerfanmike

steelerfanmike

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 218 posts
  • LocationNj/pa border
Joined: Jun 18, 2007

Posted 03 October 2012 - 06:40 AM

there is no composite hookup on the C31. I would watch one tv at a time anyway, Want to bring the fr remote down the basement to change channels.

#419 OFFLINE   Supramom2000

Supramom2000

    In Loving Memory of Onyx-2/23/09

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 3,063 posts
  • LocationSpokane, WA
Joined: Jun 20, 2007

Posted 03 October 2012 - 12:25 PM

Hello all,

I've been fighting an issue with my HR34 + C31s. Previously I had RVU Samsung TV Clients... They were sluggish, etc. I chose to move to the C31 due to how speedy they were.

My issue is, once the tech and I pair the C31 with the HR34 it wants to do a software update. It basically ends up forcing the update. Prior to the update it all works perfectly. After the Update the C31 cannot find the "server" (HR34). Has anyone had this issue? This has now happened on all 4 C31's I have. RVU on the Samsung TV still works flawlessly besides the sluggishness.

I am able to do a factory reset on it (which reverts to the previous software) and it will see the HR34. But minutes later it will want to do the update again.

Thanks for any input. :)


After the 31 updates, have you tried rebooting the 34?

"But the freedom that they fought for, and the country grand they wrought for, is their monument today, and for aye." "This nation will remain the land of the free only so long as it is the home of the brave."

My Setup


#420 OFFLINE   Smuuth

Smuuth

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 2,204 posts
Joined: Oct 04, 2005

Posted 03 October 2012 - 12:27 PM

there is no composite hookup on the C31. I would watch one tv at a time anyway, Want to bring the fr remote down the basement to change channels.


There is a 10 pin to composite dongle, however, I do not know if it is available from DIRECTV yet.
Eschew Obfuscation!


Patriot Guard Riders




spam firewall