Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

DIRECTV First Look: C31-700 Home Media Center RVU Client


  • Please log in to reply
502 replies to this topic

#126 OFFLINE   LameLefty

LameLefty

    I used to be a rocket scientist

  • Registered
  • 12,181 posts
  • LocationMiddle Tennessee
Joined: Sep 28, 2006

Posted 30 August 2012 - 07:22 PM

But if you can get them from a third party at some point (purchase, assuming owned), and put 10 in various rooms, you don't think you'd be able to activate 2-3 at a time? Disconnect one, get code for another?


I don't know if you'd actually have to even "disconnect" one. Assuming you could even obtain that many, turning on a 4th client should simply prompt you that you have too many clients and tell you to turn off one of the others.

On the other hand, the authorization process used by Directv's back-end servers may tell the HR34 simply not to allow connection of any more than three, ever. In which case, you would have to actual go through the disconnection process.

Since none of us have more than 3 clients at this point, I don't know if we can expect a definitive answer quite yet.

EDIT: RAD was posting his response; in light of his info, I guess that's the answer. Thanks, RAD!

"Human sacrifice, dogs and cats living together... mass hysteria!"
Directv since 1997
Will Work for Beer


...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#127 OFFLINE   TBlazer07

TBlazer07

    Grumpy Grampy

  • Registered
  • 4,777 posts
Joined: Feb 05, 2009

Posted 30 August 2012 - 07:52 PM

Has anyone tried using these with two HR34s?


Yes

#128 OFFLINE   inkahauts

inkahauts

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 17,547 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2006

Posted 30 August 2012 - 07:55 PM

I'm guessing not.

You'd have a limit on how many could be added (the # you're paying for) and it's not easy to swap them.


I thought it was initially said ages ago that there would be a maximum of 8 clients that could be tied to any hmc at one time, with only three being active. Of course, we have no way to check as of this moment....

#129 OFFLINE   Sixto

Sixto

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 12,214 posts
Joined: Nov 17, 2005

Posted 30 August 2012 - 08:03 PM

I thought it was initially said ages ago that there would be a maximum of 8 clients that could be tied to any hmc at one time, with only three being active. Of course, we have no way to check as of this moment....

Whether it's 6 or 8 or whatever, you'd be paying for each one, with "active" just being the number of active streams, unless I'm misunderstanding the billing aspects of this.

And it does not appear simple to add/delete them, simple to add but may require a call to delete, thus wouldn't expect you'd want to do this on a regular basis.
DirecTV: Genie HR44, H25, CCK, GenioGo, SWiM-16 & SWiM-8, DECA to Gigabit Switch with FiOS (75/75)
FiOS: Roamio Pro's (2), Roamio Plus, Mini's (4) with Ultimate HD (My Roamio Thoughts)

#130 OFFLINE   HarryWild

HarryWild

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 1 posts
Joined: Aug 31, 2012

Posted 31 August 2012 - 01:36 AM

I am going to buy two C31s and a HR34 together. Don't want the contract of two years!

#131 OFFLINE   Shades228

Shades228

    DaBears

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 6,005 posts
Joined: Mar 18, 2008

Posted 31 August 2012 - 01:40 AM

I am going to buy two C31s and a HR34 together. Don't want the contract of two years!


You can't purchased a HMC only lease.


I thought it was initially said ages ago that there would be a maximum of 8 clients that could be tied to any hmc at one time, with only three being active. Of course, we have no way to check as of this moment....


It can only stream 3 different streams to clients. 8 clients can be registered to it which would be billed $6 each.

Edited by Shades228, 31 August 2012 - 01:45 AM.


#132 OFFLINE   dettxw

dettxw

    MRVing

  • Registered
  • 4,104 posts
  • LocationChoctaw, OK
Joined: Nov 21, 2007

Posted 31 August 2012 - 02:28 AM

Whether it's 6 or 8 or whatever, you'd be paying for each one, with "active" just being the number of active streams, unless I'm misunderstanding the billing aspects of this.

And it does not appear simple to add/delete them, simple to add but may require a call to delete, thus wouldn't expect you'd want to do this on a regular basis.

FWIW a Reset Everything on the HR34 will also delete a particular client(s), maybe something one would do to replace a C31 with an RVU TV, but that's a little severe.
I did it just to get the proper installation sequence down.

-Steve- Subscriber since Sept 1998  My Complete Setup 

SWM16 / HR44-500 (2TB & AM21) / HR34-700 (3TB & AM21) / HR24-500 (2TB eSATA) / C31 via WCCK / C41 x2 / C41W / H25-700


#133 OFFLINE   dpeters11

dpeters11

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,275 posts
  • LocationCincinnati
Joined: May 30, 2007

Posted 31 August 2012 - 05:16 AM

You can't purchased a HMC only lease.

It can only stream 3 different streams to clients. 8 clients can be registered to it which would be billed $6 each.


Jerry says his is owned, and he mentioned he was considering getting rid of it. So there may be one possibility.

#134 OFFLINE   cypherx

cypherx

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,156 posts
  • LocationPA - Berks County
Joined: Aug 27, 2010

Posted 31 August 2012 - 05:24 AM

So when you attach an RVU client like the C31 to the HR34, its really in there for good until you call DirecTV and they send a signal to remove it?

I guess it stores the mac address of the RVU client in the HR34 so say a C31 breaks or you replace it with an RVU TV... even though your # of active TV's is the same, it won't be able to add it without calling in?

Maybe DirecTV will make it possible via your account page on directv.com just to cut back on phone traffic getting into the support line.

- > Link to my setup thread< -

My  DirecTV HD WISHLIST:  NickJR, Nicktoons, Revolt.TV, FXM, We, Oxygen, The Hub, Fuse, GSN, Sprout, GAC, Esquire, BBC World News, Sundance, Up, Music Choice Play HD, Al Jazeera America, Military Channel, NASA

My DirecTV SD WISHLIST: MTV Hits, MTV Jams, Music Choice, Youtoo TV

 

---

HR44-500
HR24-200

 


#135 OFFLINE   Button Pusher

Button Pusher

    Icon

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 971 posts
  • LocationThe Bluegrass State
Joined: Jan 19, 2007

Posted 31 August 2012 - 06:26 AM

Nice job on the first look!
Jeff

My Setup
















#136 OFFLINE   Beerstalker

Beerstalker

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,219 posts
Joined: Feb 09, 2009

Posted 31 August 2012 - 10:09 AM

It can only stream 3 different streams to clients. 8 clients can be registered to it which would be billed $6 each.


That is how I understand it to be also, according to the CSRs I have dealt with over email, and you here on this board.

However, I will once again voice my displeasure in this decision, as I really feel that DirecTV should not be charging any monthly charges for RVU clients 4-8 since you can only use 3 at a time.
Sometimes when I reflect back on all the beer I drink I feel ashamed. Then I look into the glass and think about the workers in the brewery and all of their hopes and dreams. If I didn’t drink this beer, they might be out of work and their dreams would be shattered. Then I say to myself, "It is better that I drink this beer and let their dreams come true than be selfish and worry about my liver."
-by Jack Handy

#137 OFFLINE   harsh

harsh

    Beware the Attack Basset

  • Registered
  • 20,664 posts
  • LocationSalem, OR
Joined: Jun 14, 2003

Posted 31 August 2012 - 10:27 AM

It can only stream 3 different streams to clients. 8 clients can be registered to it which would be billed $6 each.

It seems kind of Micro$oftian to pay for every device that you could possibly use even if you can only use three simultaneously. Makes the RVU client vs H2x argument a lot more difficult to reconcile since you can always use an H2x.

Good information nonetheless.

Too often we enjoy the comfort of opinion without the discomfort of thought. -- JFK


#138 OFFLINE   Stuart Sweet

Stuart Sweet

    The Shadow Knows!

  • Super Moderators
  • 37,027 posts
Joined: Jun 18, 2006

Posted 31 August 2012 - 10:52 AM

I disagree. It's common practice to pay for a cable box or receiver whether or not it's on. The fact that you can only use 3 clients concurrently doesn't mean you can't use 8 clients.

What isn't know yet... is what happens when all the tuners are booked and you turn on a C31. Does it go to the playlist?
Opinions expressed by me are my own and do not necessarily reflect
those of DBSTalk.com, DIRECTV, DISH, The Signal Group, or any other company.

#139 OFFLINE   inkahauts

inkahauts

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 17,547 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2006

Posted 31 August 2012 - 11:05 AM

You can't purchased a HMC only lease.

It can only stream 3 different streams to clients. 8 clients can be registered to it which would be billed $6 each.


I know,that was my point. I was only talking about how many can be registers, not streamed to it.

#140 OFFLINE   inkahauts

inkahauts

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 17,547 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2006

Posted 31 August 2012 - 11:07 AM

I disagree. It's common practice to pay for a cable box or receiver whether or not it's on. The fact that you can only use 3 clients concurrently doesn't mean you can't use 8 clients.

What isn't know yet... is what happens when all the tuners are booked and you turn on a C31. Does it go to the playlist?


But why even take you to a playlist, since you can't watch anything at all. Stewart, why haven't you got Three c31 with your Samsung tv to test this for us? :)

#141 OFFLINE   Stuart Sweet

Stuart Sweet

    The Shadow Knows!

  • Super Moderators
  • 37,027 posts
Joined: Jun 18, 2006

Posted 31 August 2012 - 11:08 AM

Cards on the table, I do not have more than 3 RVU clients at this time :)
Opinions expressed by me are my own and do not necessarily reflect
those of DBSTalk.com, DIRECTV, DISH, The Signal Group, or any other company.

#142 OFFLINE   RAD

RAD

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 16,227 posts
  • LocationDripping Springs, TX
Joined: Aug 05, 2002

Posted 31 August 2012 - 11:15 AM

That is how I understand it to be also, according to the CSRs I have dealt with over email, and you here on this board.

However, I will once again voice my displeasure in this decision, as I really feel that DirecTV should not be charging any monthly charges for RVU clients 4-8 since you can only use 3 at a time.


I disagree. It's common practice to pay for a cable box or receiver whether or not it's on. The fact that you can only use 3 clients concurrently doesn't mean you can't use 8 clients.


Sorry but got to agree wirh Beerstalker on this one, customers shouldn't have to pay, or at least not pay $6/month for clients 4 through 6 IMHO. You cable box argument doesn't really match up because if that 4th through 6th cable boxes were turned on you'd be able to watch whatever cable channel you normally would be able to. Not with the 4th through 6th C31's, maybe you'd be able to watch a recording but I doubt it since you can only have three concurrent output streams from the C31 going at once from what I've seen. If they want to charge for 4 through 6 at least consider a reduced monthly 'accounting' charge for it but not the full $6/month.

See post My Setup for configuration info.


#143 OFFLINE   Alan Gordon

Alan Gordon

    Chancellor

  • Registered
  • 9,062 posts
  • LocationDawson, Georgia
Joined: Jun 07, 2004

Posted 31 August 2012 - 11:30 AM

However, I will once again voice my displeasure in this decision, as I really feel that DirecTV should not be charging any monthly charges for RVU clients 4-8 since you can only use 3 at a time.


It's certainly not as convenient, and it would require making sure certain coax connections are capped whenever it's done, but the good news is that the C31 is so small, it can be moved from room to room easily... :)

~Alan

#144 OFFLINE   cypherx

cypherx

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,156 posts
  • LocationPA - Berks County
Joined: Aug 27, 2010

Posted 31 August 2012 - 11:35 AM

I would of thought if anything you paid for the concurrent licensing model. Since only 3 can concurrently be used at a time, you'd pay no more than 3 charges for each RVU client connected.

Instead it sounds like they might associate a charge with each device ID (MAC address, UID or RID or whatever they are calling it).

Not a big fan of that, though I personally wouldn't need more than 4 rooms anyway.

- > Link to my setup thread< -

My  DirecTV HD WISHLIST:  NickJR, Nicktoons, Revolt.TV, FXM, We, Oxygen, The Hub, Fuse, GSN, Sprout, GAC, Esquire, BBC World News, Sundance, Up, Music Choice Play HD, Al Jazeera America, Military Channel, NASA

My DirecTV SD WISHLIST: MTV Hits, MTV Jams, Music Choice, Youtoo TV

 

---

HR44-500
HR24-200

 


#145 OFFLINE   inkahauts

inkahauts

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 17,547 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2006

Posted 31 August 2012 - 11:36 AM

It's certainly not as convenient, and it would require making sure certain coax connections are capped whenever it's done, but the good news is that the C31 is so small, it can be moved from room to room easily... :)

~Alan


They needed to make a docking station for it... :)

#146 OFFLINE   Vinny

Vinny

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,097 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Sep 01, 2006

Posted 31 August 2012 - 12:27 PM

Another fantastic job with the first look.

I can see that this is the direction I should be going once my good old HR20-700 bites the dust.

I would love to replace my HR22-100 with the HR34 and replace the HR20-700 with a C31. Its exactly what I need. No need to have 2 DVRs with a total of 4 tuners when I can have 1 DVR with 5 tuners.

HR34-700(0x00985)|Networked: Yes via Deca hardwired to Actiontec MI424WR (FiOS)| OTA: No | DOD Enabled: Yes |Mediashare: TVersity |
HDTV: Panasonic Plasma TH-50PZ85U connected via Monster HDMI| Home Theater: Onkyo TX-LR552 connected via coax cable. Whole Home: Yes

HR20-700 (0x07EB)
|Networked: Yes via Deca| OTA: No | HDTV: Hitachi Plasma P42H401 connected via HDMI. Whole Home: Yes

AU9 Slimline | SWM|


#147 OFFLINE   Smuuth

Smuuth

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 2,360 posts
Joined: Oct 04, 2005

Posted 31 August 2012 - 01:08 PM

...What isn't know yet... is what happens when all the tuners are booked and you turn on a C31. Does it go to the playlist?

Actually, I do know. If 5 recordings are in progress and you turn on a C31, it is tuned to one of the channels being recorded. If you then try to tune to a channel not being recorded, you are given an option to stop one of the recordings in progress or cancel the tuning change request. Of course you can go to the playlist and select a recording.
Eschew Obfuscation!


Patriot Guard Riders

#148 OFFLINE   heisman6183

heisman6183

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 91 posts
Joined: Jun 04, 2008

Posted 31 August 2012 - 01:23 PM

A setup with 1 HR34 and 3 C31s would eliminate the need for any DECA connection (DECA connected to your router) right? You can just plug the HR34 into your router via ethernet and the C31s via coax (SWM LNB, 4 or 8 port splitter) and get OnDemand content on the HR34 that can be viewed and served from the C31s. No wireless connection kits, no wired connection kits, pretty simple right?

#149 OFFLINE   LameLefty

LameLefty

    I used to be a rocket scientist

  • Registered
  • 12,181 posts
  • LocationMiddle Tennessee
Joined: Sep 28, 2006

Posted 31 August 2012 - 01:29 PM

A setup with 1 HR34 and 3 C31s would eliminate the need for any DECA connection (DECA connected to your router) right? You can just plug the HR34 into your router via ethernet and the C31s via coax (SWM LNB, 4 or 8 port splitter) and get OnDemand content on the HR34 that can be viewed and served from the C31s. No wireless connection kits, no wired connection kits, pretty simple right?


Right. :)

"Human sacrifice, dogs and cats living together... mass hysteria!"
Directv since 1997
Will Work for Beer


#150 OFFLINE   Beerstalker

Beerstalker

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,219 posts
Joined: Feb 09, 2009

Posted 31 August 2012 - 01:39 PM

I disagree. It's common practice to pay for a cable box or receiver whether or not it's on. The fact that you can only use 3 clients concurrently doesn't mean you can't use 8 clients.

What isn't know yet... is what happens when all the tuners are booked and you turn on a C31. Does it go to the playlist?


Like someone else said, that is nowhere near the same. With 8 cable boxes you could be watching 8 different channels on 8 different TVs at any one time. Just like if you had an HR34 an 8 H25s you could still watch live TV on all 8 H25s at one time if you needed to (while you would still be limited to 3 recordings being streamed. I have no problem with DirecTV charging for all 8 H25s since the programming is still being mirrored to all 8.

With 8 RVU clients you cannot use all 8 at the same time, only 3 at a time. That means you have less functionality, and shouldn't have to pay the same amount.

In my parents case there is absolutely no real advantage to getting the C31 with billing set up this way. They live in an MPEG4 area, so they could get an HR34 and 7 H25s for pretty much the same cost as an HR34 and 7 C31s, and have the same monthly expense with the ability to watch live TV on all 8 TVs (which they don't really need). But it's going to cost DirecTV a lot more money because that means they have to give my parents a SWM 16, H25s instead of C31s, two splitters, different power inserter, more wiring etc instead of a SWM LNB and a normal install. But if it's going to cost my parents the same amount of money an HR34 and 7 H25s makes more sense for them.

If DirecTV only charged $6/month for the first 3 C31s both DirecTV and my parents could save money.
Sometimes when I reflect back on all the beer I drink I feel ashamed. Then I look into the glass and think about the workers in the brewery and all of their hopes and dreams. If I didn’t drink this beer, they might be out of work and their dreams would be shattered. Then I say to myself, "It is better that I drink this beer and let their dreams come true than be selfish and worry about my liver."
-by Jack Handy




Protected By... spam firewall...And...