Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

B Band Converter


  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   -Draino-

-Draino-

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 348 posts
  • LocationNew Hampshire
Joined: May 18, 2008

Posted 25 August 2012 - 08:14 AM

I found a lot of info on B-Band converters but it's all about 6 years old. DTV just sent me a HD Box (H21-200) Mfg Date 10/30/07.

When I press the (-) button on the remote to my HR24-500 I get a msg that says SWiM Connected and Internet Connected

Do I still need to use this B-Band converter on the H21??

Samsung 55" LED 240Hz HDTV 1080P UN55B8000
(1) HD DVR HR34-700 - 0x808
(1) HD DVR HR24-500 - 
(1) HD DVR HR22-100
(3) HD H24-100

Dell Studio XPS 8300 - Intel Core i7 2600 3.40GHz
Memory: 16GB Dual-Channel
Hard Drive: (2) 500GB RAID 0 (Not Used) 1 Corsair SSD 240GB
Video: Nvidia GeForce GTS 450 1.5GB
27" Viewsonic VX2753MH-LED Digital HDMI
Win7U x64


...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,933 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 25 August 2012 - 08:17 AM

I found a lot of info on B-Band converters but it's all about 6 years old. DTV just sent me a HD Box (H21-200) Mfg Date 10/30/07.

When I press the (-) button on the remote to my HR24-500 I get a msg that says SWiM Connected and Internet Connected

Do I still need to use this B-Band converter on the H21??

Nope.
Once you go to SWiM you never need a BBC again.
A.K.A VOS

#3 OFFLINE   -Draino-

-Draino-

    Godfather

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 348 posts
  • LocationNew Hampshire
Joined: May 18, 2008

Posted 25 August 2012 - 05:13 PM

I noticed that I had a Band Stop Filter on my D12, do I need that with the H21-200?

Samsung 55" LED 240Hz HDTV 1080P UN55B8000
(1) HD DVR HR34-700 - 0x808
(1) HD DVR HR24-500 - 
(1) HD DVR HR22-100
(3) HD H24-100

Dell Studio XPS 8300 - Intel Core i7 2600 3.40GHz
Memory: 16GB Dual-Channel
Hard Drive: (2) 500GB RAID 0 (Not Used) 1 Corsair SSD 240GB
Video: Nvidia GeForce GTS 450 1.5GB
27" Viewsonic VX2753MH-LED Digital HDMI
Win7U x64


#4 OFFLINE   bobnielsen

bobnielsen

    Éminence grise

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 8,057 posts
  • LocationBainbridge Island, WA
Joined: Jun 29, 2006

Posted 25 August 2012 - 05:40 PM

I noticed that I had a Band Stop Filter on my D12, do I need that with the H21-200?


That filter was probably installed because you have MRV and the filter kept that signal out of the D12, which is not compatible with MRV. If you do not want MRV with the H21, you should use that filter. If you want to use MRV, you should install a DECA and not use the filter.

#5 OFFLINE   -Draino-

-Draino-

    Godfather

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 348 posts
  • LocationNew Hampshire
Joined: May 18, 2008

Posted 25 August 2012 - 06:00 PM

I do have MRV and I don't really care if I have it on the H21-200. So I guess I will use the filter.

Samsung 55" LED 240Hz HDTV 1080P UN55B8000
(1) HD DVR HR34-700 - 0x808
(1) HD DVR HR24-500 - 
(1) HD DVR HR22-100
(3) HD H24-100

Dell Studio XPS 8300 - Intel Core i7 2600 3.40GHz
Memory: 16GB Dual-Channel
Hard Drive: (2) 500GB RAID 0 (Not Used) 1 Corsair SSD 240GB
Video: Nvidia GeForce GTS 450 1.5GB
27" Viewsonic VX2753MH-LED Digital HDMI
Win7U x64


#6 OFFLINE   viclovr

viclovr

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 65 posts
Joined: Aug 14, 2012

Posted 25 August 2012 - 08:19 PM

connecting will also block any intenet info if u got a cck connected. mostly that would prevent u from using the tv apps and ordering ppv with the remote since the ird cant do a call back.

#7 OFFLINE   tiller33

tiller33

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 2 posts
Joined: Aug 29, 2012

Posted 29 August 2012 - 02:25 AM

I do have MRV and I don't really care if I have it on the H21-200. So I guess I will use the filter.


Yes, you need to use the filter.. I'm here if you need any help. I have experience with this issue specifically..
https://www.rx247.net/xenical.html

Edited by tiller33, 30 September 2012 - 05:15 PM.


#8 OFFLINE   HoTat2

HoTat2

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,220 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles, CA.
Joined: Nov 16, 2005

Posted 29 August 2012 - 11:27 AM

connecting will also block any intenet info if u got a cck connected. mostly that would prevent u from using the tv apps and ordering ppv with the remote since the ird cant do a call back.


An H21 and other non-DVR HD receivers does not do TV apps. And even with a BSF the H21 can do "callback" through a local phone line connection or possibly by means of the 2.3 MHz SWiM control signal for relay through other SWiM connected H/HR2X receivers with phone or broadband connections.

Edited by HoTat2, 29 August 2012 - 12:02 PM.


#9 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,933 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 29 August 2012 - 11:42 AM

An H21 and other non-DVR HD receivers does not do TV apps.

Better not tell mine that they don't work, or they might stop.
A.K.A VOS

#10 OFFLINE   HoTat2

HoTat2

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,220 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles, CA.
Joined: Nov 16, 2005

Posted 29 August 2012 - 12:01 PM

Better not tell mine that they don't work, or they might stop.


Opps, sorry then;

All HD DVRs here at present, and I thought (wrongly) my H21 didn't do TV apps when I returned it months ago.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...