Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk, like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community, but don't worry this is a simple free process that requires minimal information for you to signup. Be a part of DBSTalk by signing in or creating an account.
  • Start new topics and reply to others
  • Subscribe to topics and forums to get email updates
  • Get your own profile page and make new friends
  • Send personal messages to other members.
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

Sacramento, CA Digital viewers question


  • Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   ESA1178

ESA1178

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 51 posts
Joined: Dec 03, 2011

Posted 26 August 2012 - 09:30 PM

For Sacramento, CA viewers:

My Zip is 95831

I have an old 1968 antenna laying down in the attic, from when a previous owner had a new roof put on, and then stashed the antenna.
It's beat up. But I recently replaced the coaxial and also added an amp.
I would like to know that If I replace the antenna with a recent model, would I pull in more channels? Here are those that I currently receive:

3.1-3.2-6.1-6.2-6.3-10.1-10.2-13.1-19.2-29.1-29.2-29.3-31.1-40.1-40.2-58.1 58.2-64.1

Many Thanks!

Mark

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   runner861

runner861

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 859 posts
Joined: Mar 19, 2010

Posted 27 August 2012 - 10:08 AM

For Sacramento, CA viewers:

My Zip is 95831

I have an old 1968 antenna laying down in the attic, from when a previous owner had a new roof put on, and then stashed the antenna.
It's beat up. But I recently replaced the coaxial and also added an amp.
I would like to know that If I replace the antenna with a recent model, would I pull in more channels? Here are those that I currently receive:

3.1-3.2-6.1-6.2-6.3-10.1-10.2-13.1-19.2-29.1-29.2-29.3-31.1-40.1-40.2-58.1 58.2-64.1

Many Thanks!

Mark


No one can answer that question for you. You just have to try. There are so many variables that go into OTA reception. How large is your antenna? What is the length of the elements? How high is it mounted? How is it aimed? What is the terrain you are confronting? What interference is present in your area? How good is the tuner in your TV? Do you need an amp or not? What is the RF (not virtual number) of the channels you are seeking? Do you just want local Sacramento stations, or are you trying to pull in Fresno or San Francisco or elsewhere?

It is very fun to try, but that is what you have to do--try.

You can go to tvfool.com and plug in some data and get some estimates of what your reception could be.

#3 OFFLINE   Jim5506

Jim5506

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,411 posts
Joined: Jun 07, 2004

Posted 27 August 2012 - 09:35 PM

WE cannot know your exact location just from your zip code, but in the sacramento area there are many more channels available than your listed.

Your present antenna will probably receive the rest as it is re-oriented, but you may lose some of the current channels by turning the antenna - maybe put it outside and put a rotator on it.

Those you are not receiving are probably not because of the condition of your antenna, but because of its orientation, since there are signals from almost every direction around you.

Run your www.TVFool.com report and see if there are any channels you are willing to try for.

If you are receiving all the major and even most of the minor networks, I'd say leave well enough alone.
Tuners: Hopper 2000; Hopper w/Sling; 3 Joeys; Samsung SIR-T351; Accurian 6000;2 X HD TiVo; 2 X TiVo Series 2 Stand alone; Panasonic Showstopper 2000
Dish 1000.2 @ 110, 119, 129; dish 500 @ 61.5
Antennas - CM4228; RS U75-R; coathanger; Funke PSP.1922 (stillin the box); paperclip
Displays: Sony VPH D50Q with HD Fury HDMI input; Hitachi 57F59; Sony Bravia LCD;Sanyo 32" LCD; Panasonic 42" plasma
Sony 80GB PS3; Toshiba HD-DVD

Give me a Finco colinear array and I'll rule the world - HA-HA-HA-HA!

#4 OFFLINE   Mark Holtz

Mark Holtz

    Day Sleeper

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 9,748 posts
  • LocationSacramento, CA
Joined: Mar 23, 2002

Posted 28 August 2012 - 12:01 AM

Fortunately, I do live in Sacramento, and can answer the question:

Of the English language stations, only KVIE (PBS) and KXTV (ABC) are on the VHF-Hi band (Analog channels 9 and 10 respectively). All the other major English stations are on UHF band, thus you will need a VHF-Hi/UHF Antenna. Also note that because KOVR (ABC) and KMAX (CW) are CBS owned & operated stations, you will not see any additional subchannels on those two stations per CBS corporate policy.
:sleeping:  I am a day sleeper. I follow a European schedule.
Check out my list of links.




spam firewall