Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Using old old Dell monitor as a TV


  • Please log in to reply
58 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   TBlazer07

TBlazer07

    Grumpy Grampy

  • Registered
  • 4,777 posts
Joined: Feb 05, 2009

Posted 28 August 2012 - 03:24 PM

I want to set up a TV near a treadmill I am purchasing. I don't want to spend $150+ more for a small TV at this time. I have an old Dell 2001FP monitor that only has DVI & VGA in. Would using this cable between an H25 C31 RVU client box component out and the Dell monitor DVI in allow me to watch TV? Audio isn't an issue.

Sorry, at the time of this original post the C31 wasn't public.

Cable: http://www.monoprice...at=1#largeimage

Monitor specs: http://support.dell....fp/EN/specs.htm

Edited by TBlazer07, 31 August 2012 - 04:49 PM.


...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#2 ONLINE   Laxguy

Laxguy

    Never say 'never'.

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 13,347 posts
  • LocationWinters, CA, between Napa and Sacramento
Joined: Dec 02, 2010

Posted 28 August 2012 - 03:40 PM

I want to set up a TV near a treadmill I am purchasing. I don't want to spend $150+ more for a small TV at this time. I have an old Dell 2001FP monitor that only has DVI & VGA in. Would using this cable between an H25 component out and the Dell monitor DVI in allow me to watch TV? Audio isn't an issue.


H25's don't have component out. Requires a special dongle.

I'd go HDMI-> DVI cable.
"Laxguy" means a guy who loves lacrosse.

#3 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,988 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 28 August 2012 - 03:42 PM

I don't see a combination there that will work.
The 25 has a 10 pin DIN which needs a special cable for component.
Might look at a component to composite adapter to then feed the Dell.
A.K.A VOS

#4 OFFLINE   TBlazer07

TBlazer07

    Grumpy Grampy

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 4,777 posts
Joined: Feb 05, 2009

Posted 28 August 2012 - 03:47 PM

H25's don't have component out. Requires a special dongle.

I'd go HDMI-> DVI cable.


I don't see a combination there that will work.
The 25 has a 10 pin DIN which needs a special cable for component.
Might look at a component to composite adapter to then feed the Dell.


I have the component dongle but I never thought of HDMI. Duhhh.
Will that monitor handle the HDMI signal properly (letterboxed of course)?

#5 ONLINE   Laxguy

Laxguy

    Never say 'never'.

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 13,347 posts
  • LocationWinters, CA, between Napa and Sacramento
Joined: Dec 02, 2010

Posted 28 August 2012 - 03:59 PM

I have the component dongle but I never thought of HDMI. Duhhh.
Will that monitor handle the HDMI signal properly (letterboxed of course)?


I used to do that on some monitors I had and don't recall any issue. The monitors were 16:9 or close thereto, though.

The HDMI-DVI should work better than Component-DVI, whatever the outcome.
"Laxguy" means a guy who loves lacrosse.

#6 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,988 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 28 August 2012 - 03:59 PM

I have the component dongle but I never thought of HDMI. Duhhh.
Will that monitor handle the HDMI signal properly (letterboxed of course)?

I think you'll have HDCP issues.
I've got a 2007FP and it works, but the spec sheet also says it supports HDCP too.
A.K.A VOS

#7 OFFLINE   TBlazer07

TBlazer07

    Grumpy Grampy

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 4,777 posts
Joined: Feb 05, 2009

Posted 28 August 2012 - 04:04 PM

I think you'll have HDCP issues.
I've got a 2007FP and it works, but the spec sheet also says it supports HDCP too.


Yep. Fortunately I had an HDMI->DVI cable and as you expected it didn't work for "content protection" reasons.

Would the Component to DVI work? That I would have order.

I guess by the time I do all that I might as well just find an old 23" LCD on eBay or CL. :mad:

#8 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,988 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 28 August 2012 - 04:17 PM

If you break out of the receiver in analog, you "should be good to go".
A.K.A VOS

#9 OFFLINE   TBlazer07

TBlazer07

    Grumpy Grampy

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 4,777 posts
Joined: Feb 05, 2009

Posted 28 August 2012 - 04:36 PM

If you break out of the receiver in analog, you "should be good to go".

So going component out of Hxx to DVI in on the monitor should do it eh?

Edit: seems there is no way to go that way without an expensive converter box.

#10 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,988 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 28 August 2012 - 04:38 PM

So going component out of Hxx to DVI in on the monitor should do it eh?

That's analog, so.....

[if it's like mine, it will look like crap too :lol:]
A.K.A VOS

#11 ONLINE   Laxguy

Laxguy

    Never say 'never'.

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 13,347 posts
  • LocationWinters, CA, between Napa and Sacramento
Joined: Dec 02, 2010

Posted 28 August 2012 - 04:54 PM

As I said, I had no problems with my digital out via HDMI, and in via DVI, but it was a two or three year old stand alone monitor.
Is it just content protected stuff that won't come through, or everything?
What's the resolution of the monitor?
"Laxguy" means a guy who loves lacrosse.

#12 OFFLINE   TBlazer07

TBlazer07

    Grumpy Grampy

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 4,777 posts
Joined: Feb 05, 2009

Posted 28 August 2012 - 05:02 PM

As I said, I had no problems with my digital out via HDMI, and in via DVI, but it was a two or three year old stand alone monitor.
Is it just content protected stuff that won't come through, or everything?
What's the resolution of the monitor?

This monitor has a manufacture date of 1/2003 so it's an oldie. The specs are in the first post. None of the channels work. :( All the the "protection" message.

#13 OFFLINE   evan_s

evan_s

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,136 posts
Joined: Mar 03, 2008

Posted 28 August 2012 - 08:31 PM

You would not be able to use the Monoprice cable you linked to hook anything up to your Dell monitor. It's really designed to be used the other way round. DVI connected to a computer etc and the component connected to a tv/monitor. The DVI port on your monitor clearly says Digital DVI-D which means it only knows how to accept a digital input which I expect to case on almost any monitor. Since the hdmi to dvi doesn't work because of content protection there is not going to be any good way to use that monitor with a h25.

If you really wanted to do it you could use something like the following with the component break out cable for the h25

http://www.meritline...---p-35702.aspx

As just an interesting aside that is actually the same monitor I'm using while typing this message. It's 8 years old at this point but still works well and I haven't felt the need to replace it yet. I could have sworn that I used DirecTV2PC with my monitor with a dvi connection and it worked which would indicate working hdcp but maybe I'm mistaken and it was via VGA.

#14 OFFLINE   TBlazer07

TBlazer07

    Grumpy Grampy

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 4,777 posts
Joined: Feb 05, 2009

Posted 28 August 2012 - 09:02 PM

You would not be able to use the Monoprice cable you linked to hook anything up to your Dell monitor. It's really designed to be used the other way round.

Yea, I realized that a while ago.

If you really wanted to do it you could use something like the following with the component break out cable for the h25

http://www.meritline...---p-35702.aspx

Thanks. That looks interesting but the more I think about it I'm better off buying a cheap or used 23" TV. It would eliminate a rats nest of wires for just 1 HDMI cable. I've seen some "decent" ones on eBay for ~$100.

Are you looking for a matched pair of 2001FPs? :lol:

#15 OFFLINE   ejjames

ejjames

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 896 posts
Joined: Oct 02, 2006

Posted 29 August 2012 - 01:16 AM

You may want to try a component to vga converter to preserve quality.

www.amazon.com/StarTech-com-CPNT2VGAA-Component-Video-Converter/dp/B0014BL9PO
Former USSB uplink operator.

USSB from '95 to '99

DirecTv since '95

#16 OFFLINE   Shades228

Shades228

    Hall Of Fame

  • Banned User
  • 5,914 posts
Joined: Mar 18, 2008

Posted 29 August 2012 - 01:40 AM

Why not just use http://www.monoprice...&seq=1&format=2 and get the component dongle.
All comments are my own. Unless specifically stated, my views do NOT represent the views of DIRECTV

#17 OFFLINE   Rich

Rich

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 21,439 posts
  • LocationPiscataway, NJ
Joined: Feb 22, 2007

Posted 29 August 2012 - 07:26 AM

I want to set up a TV near a treadmill I am purchasing. I don't want to spend $150+ more for a small TV at this time. I have an old Dell 2001FP monitor that only has DVI & VGA in. Would using this cable between an H25 component out and the Dell monitor DVI in allow me to watch TV? Audio isn't an issue.

Cable: http://www.monoprice...at=1#largeimage

Monitor specs: http://support.dell....fp/EN/specs.htm


Did you buy the treadmill yet? I've got one that has about 20 minutes on it that I'd sell for less than you can get one in a store. My son wanted it and never used it.

Rich

#18 OFFLINE   TBlazer07

TBlazer07

    Grumpy Grampy

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 4,777 posts
Joined: Feb 05, 2009

Posted 29 August 2012 - 08:18 AM

You may want to try a component to vga converter to preserve quality.

www.amazon.com/StarTech-com-CPNT2VGAA-Component-Video-Converter/dp/B0014BL9PO

I could buy a used or refurb 23" HD TV for the cost of that plus the other couple cables I'd need. :lol:

#19 OFFLINE   UhClem

UhClem

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 22 posts
Joined: Oct 01, 2009

Posted 29 August 2012 - 08:24 AM

I want to set up a TV near a treadmill I am purchasing. I don't want to spend $150+ more for a small TV at this time. I have an old Dell 2001FP monitor that only has DVI & VGA in.

Are you sure? I have two 2001FP's (vintage '04 & '05) and they both have S-Video & composite also. (which is also listed in the specs you referenced). Sure, it's only StdDef, but you know what they say ... "(1)fast (2)cheap (3)good -- pick any two."

#20 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 20,058 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 29 August 2012 - 08:46 AM

Why not just use http://www.monoprice...&seq=1&format=2 and get the component dongle.


Not this. HDMI-DVI cable from DTV receiver doesn't have analog lines.

It will work on Video card output when DVI connector supply digital AND ANALOG signals.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...