Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

ZEE TV HD


  • Please log in to reply
23 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   desiguy2447

desiguy2447

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 19 posts
Joined: May 27, 2009

Posted 28 August 2012 - 03:34 PM

The national Indian newspaper which is published for the USA has a massive ad for ZEE TV in HD with Dish Network being the first TV service provider to have the HD feed for the USA. since I have the Hindi Package I went into my guide to see if the HD feed was actually live yet on Dish, and only the SD channels shows.

Attached Thumbnails

  • ZEE0001.jpg


...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   MikeL DISH

MikeL DISH

    Cool Member

  • DISH Representative
  • 19 posts
Joined: Dec 28, 2010

Posted 29 August 2012 - 06:30 AM

We don't currently carry the international networks in HD, although we'll be more than happy to get a request to our programming management team to consider!

The national Indian newspaper which is published for the USA has a massive ad for ZEE TV in HD with Dish Network being the first TV service provider to have the HD feed for the USA. since I have the Hindi Package I went into my guide to see if the HD feed was actually live yet on Dish, and only the SD channels shows.



#3 OFFLINE   desiguy2447

desiguy2447

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 19 posts
Joined: May 27, 2009

Posted 29 August 2012 - 06:33 AM

Thanks for the reply..

Dish Network has already uplinked the HD channel for Zee TV which is in hidden mode for testing. This has been confirmed by the uplink activity report a few days back.

here is the uplink info from Dish Network:

9997(19) - ZEETV [MPEG4 HD] added to Anik F3 118.7W TP 32 ConUS beam (Zee TV) (NA)

Also Zee TV would not have taken out a huge AD informing people of the HD Feed if Dish Network wasn't going to provide the channel. I am surprised you didn't do some searching since your from Dish Network?

Edited by desiguy2447, 29 August 2012 - 06:38 AM.


#4 OFFLINE   RasputinAXP

RasputinAXP

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,135 posts
Joined: Jan 23, 2008

Posted 29 August 2012 - 07:43 AM

Zee jumped the gun, that's all.

"Belligerent and numerous."

Sometimes I update the Dish Network FAQ

AT200, Hopper & 360 via HDMI to Onkyo 505 to basement 42" Westy, Hopper via Comp-over-Cat5 to living room 42" Vizio with a Roku 3, Joey to Toshiba 32" LCD with a Logitech Revue. You want fries with that? Pull up to the 2nd window.


#5 OFFLINE   desiguy2447

desiguy2447

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 19 posts
Joined: May 27, 2009

Posted 29 August 2012 - 07:51 AM

That is true the AD should have said coming soon to Dish Network since the channel is not live yet for Dish Customers who have the South Asian package or the two channel South Asian option.

#6 OFFLINE   kskies2

kskies2

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 7 posts
Joined: May 26, 2012

Posted 29 August 2012 - 02:35 PM

This is good news, for sure. But I'd like to see other Indian channels in HD, like Star India Plus, Sony Entertainment Television Asia, and Aapka Colors. I hope they will follow in Zee's lead and launch very soon too. It's great to see that Dish Network is now offering international channels in HD.

#7 OFFLINE   desiguy2447

desiguy2447

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 19 posts
Joined: May 27, 2009

Posted 29 August 2012 - 03:59 PM

Stars has an HD feed in India I think the channel coming to Dish will be matter if Dish has pay extra for the HD feed, and the contract Dish has with the Fox group (Fox News, etc).

I know with Zee TV, Dish struck a land mark deal with the Zee Group a while back and recently renewed the contract as Zee TV is the highest watched International channel and Dish has the most viewers for Zee TV USA beating out the cable operators, and the channel isn't offered on Direct TV giving Dish and advantage to sign up South Asians to Dish.

Sony also has an HD feed live but again depends on the deal with Dish if they will offer it for free or charge a fee. I don't think it would be too hard for Sony & Dish to get the HD feed.

Colors has one as well, but given Viacom being hungry for money I don't think we will see the HD feed on Dish anytime soon as I sense Viacom is going to want charge Dish a fee which going by Viacom's history and battles with everyone will hold Dish from offering it.

Edited by desiguy2447, 29 August 2012 - 04:06 PM.


#8 OFFLINE   James Long

James Long

    Ready for Uplink!

  • Super Moderators
  • 39,571 posts
Joined: Apr 17, 2003

Posted 29 August 2012 - 05:12 PM

We don't currently carry the international networks in HD, although we'll be more than happy to get a request to our programming management team to consider!

TV Japan (Channel 9991) is currently available in HD.

That is true the AD should have said coming soon to Dish Network since the channel is not live yet for Dish Customers who have the South Asian package or the two channel South Asian option.

Uplinks do not always lead to carriage. Perhaps there is a signed deal that the parties should not be talking about ... but it may be just in the "in negotiations" stage.

#9 OFFLINE   rasheed

rasheed

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 296 posts
Joined: Sep 12, 2005

Posted 02 September 2012 - 12:12 AM

I wonder if regular Zee SD is being squished to 4:3 recently from 16:9 by either Asia TV USA directly or during the feed over to the US as part of this change by Zee.

I had thought Star (Hindi) would have the first international HD for Dish in the US, but I guess not.

As soon as Zee goes live with their HD feed, I think Sony and Star (and Viacom 18) will look pretty bad with their picture quality.

Rasheed

#10 OFFLINE   desiguy2447

desiguy2447

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 19 posts
Joined: May 27, 2009

Posted 02 September 2012 - 06:04 AM

I went to the Zee channel last night for five minutes when checking to see if the HD feed was live and out of testing mode by Dish. For Colors I have found there PQ to pretty decent and hopefully the PQ won't down grade once Zee HD goes live.

I would imagine that Stars / Sony will get into talks with Dish to get there HD live going. Usually it takes one channel to go HD, and usually the rest will follow.

#11 OFFLINE   tampa8

tampa8

    Godfather/Supporter

  • Registered
  • 1,807 posts
Joined: Mar 30, 2002

Posted 02 September 2012 - 09:52 AM

We don't currently carry the international networks in HD, although we'll be more than happy to get a request to our programming management team to consider!


Dish does as pointed out by James. And at CES one of the things mentioned for the "New Dish" was International HD. Zee is uplinked and though there are examples of channels being uplinked but not activated I would say it's just a matter of time for this one.

#12 OFFLINE   prashp1

prashp1

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 82 posts
Joined: Jul 31, 2006

Posted 03 September 2012 - 10:00 AM

Everyone - if you want more HD Indian channels on Dish Network then please post which HD Indian channels you want and if more people Likes/Thanks your post then the Dish Internet Team will pass your request. Please go to:

http://www.satellite...-Request-Thread

You can also wish there was HD Indian channels at:

http://www.dbstalk.c...ad.php?t=200634

#13 OFFLINE   Stewart Vernon

Stewart Vernon

    Excellent Adventurer

  • Moderators
  • 19,528 posts
  • LocationKittrell, NC
Joined: Jan 07, 2005

Posted 03 September 2012 - 04:59 PM

Everyone - if you want more HD Indian channels on Dish Network then please post which HD Indian channels you want and if more people Likes/Thanks your post then the Dish Internet Team will pass your request. Please go to:...


OR

Even easier... check out post #2 of this very thread where a DIRT member already replied saying that he was putting in a channel request with Dish.

No other sites, "thanking", or "liking" required... Just post, and the DIRT reps will take your request straight to Dish... no hoop-jumping required!

:)

-- I like to go fast (not really)


#14 OFFLINE   James Long

James Long

    Ready for Uplink!

  • Super Moderators
  • 39,571 posts
Joined: Apr 17, 2003

Posted 05 September 2012 - 03:27 PM

ZeeTV available ... in HD!

9997 ZEETV (787 HD) Zee TV (Hindi) 118° TP 32 HD Hidden - AVAILABLE
592 ZEETE ZEE TV (Telugu) 118° TP 3 SD Hidden - AVAILABLE

#15 OFFLINE   puri

puri

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 23 posts
Joined: Mar 11, 2009

Posted 05 September 2012 - 04:24 PM

Beautiful, watching right now on 787.:)

#16 OFFLINE   Nina

Nina

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 142 posts
Joined: Jan 15, 2008

Posted 05 September 2012 - 05:02 PM

Beautiful, watching right now on 787.:)


It is on channel 9997!!!!

#17 OFFLINE   James Long

James Long

    Ready for Uplink!

  • Super Moderators
  • 39,571 posts
Joined: Apr 17, 2003

Posted 05 September 2012 - 05:06 PM

It is on channel 9997!!!!

It is on both channels on most HD receivers (the Hopper shows mapdowns only so it is only 787 on Hopper/Joey).

#18 OFFLINE   Nina

Nina

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 142 posts
Joined: Jan 15, 2008

Posted 05 September 2012 - 05:41 PM

It is on both channels on most HD receivers (the Hopper shows mapdowns only so it is only 787 on Hopper/Joey).


I'm sorry....

#19 OFFLINE   desiguy2447

desiguy2447

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 19 posts
Joined: May 27, 2009

Posted 06 September 2012 - 07:13 AM

Watched it last night the PQ was amazing very colorful picture and very sharp. A good move by Asia TV to bring the Zee HD feed on Dish Network considering that Zee TV is the most watched international channel Dish offers!

I wonder how long it will take Comcast, Time Warner, and Cox to add the HD feed now that Dish has it live that is in the markets the Cable companies offer the Zee channel.

#20 OFFLINE   rasheed

rasheed

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 296 posts
Joined: Sep 12, 2005

Posted 12 September 2012 - 08:03 PM

If most folks remember when HD first came, we would watch HD no matter what it was showing because it was so different and amazing compared to SD.

This is the feeling I have with the Zee HD curretnly. Zee HD does not have as compelling programs right now compared to the other channels, but the amount of native 16:9 HD stuff they are showing is amazing. It is way better than the transition the major US channels had because the equipment has gotten so much cheaper and the learning curve has mostly passed.

Now, if Zee can just amp up its schedule a bit (so many major shows deals have been going to Viacom/Sony/Star-Fox/Colours), they can get people to see the enhancements. I guess Sa Re Ga Ma Pa is coming back soon.

By the way, Zee TV HD is 100% English subtitles in case anyone is interested in knowing. Most of the movies shown appear to be native letterbox transfer as well (you can flip between the SD and HD versions and see the differences), but I expect more and more will be HD transferred. As far as I can tell, aside from Blu-Ray DVDs, Sony Movie Channel and Zee HD (and Dish recent PPV) are the first Indian HD movies shown in the US market. I think Netflix has a few too.

Rasheed




spam firewall