Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

OTA for Hopper?


  • Please log in to reply
368 replies to this topic

#226 OFFLINE   jeffdb27

jeffdb27

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 99 posts
Joined: Jul 13, 2007

Posted 13 November 2012 - 10:48 AM

Will DIRT Members be able to submit requests to add Guide Data?
What was the procedure for the 722 OTA?


The procedure for the 722 OTA was that if your guide data wasn't there for whatever reason, you were pretty much screwed. I've posted a few times the experience I had with one station. DISH said it was the stations fault and the station said it was DISH's fault. It had been fine for years, then it wasn't there. If it's the same for the Hopper, then we will be really screwed since there are no manual timers.

I just ordered an OTA tuner for my Hopper as well. I wonder how long it will take to get here!

Hopper (owned) + EHD + Sling Adapter + OTA Adapter
AT200 + BB@Home + RSNs + Locals
SATS: 110/119/129
Dish Network Customer since
October 1996


...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#227 OFFLINE   BenJF3

BenJF3

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 308 posts
Joined: Sep 12, 2008

Posted 13 November 2012 - 12:01 PM

Sure about that? Doesn't DirecTV's OTA use the HR34/Genie's tuner count?


When I was researching Genie users claimed that adding an AM-21N allowed for OTA streaming to all clients. I don't see why a separate active tuner would not be included, but it's possible that no one clarified it adding to the overall tuner count. Still, the Genie has 5 active tuners out of the box plus OTA integration. The OTA should at least allow for live viewing if the other 5 are busy. I'll pose that question in the Genie topic unless some here can confirm.

Look, I'm not trying to bash Hopper here. I'm trying to properly vet it so I make sure I know what I'm going to get into for a two year commitment. I really like the unit and can accept having two, IF its going to do what I need it to do in order to work for me.
BAN the FCC!

#228 OFFLINE   jeffdb27

jeffdb27

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 99 posts
Joined: Jul 13, 2007

Posted 13 November 2012 - 12:06 PM

So, I already have two EHDs and Sling Adpater. That's it for USB ports. I have tried using a USB hub with mixed results. Where will i plug in the OTA adapter?

Does anyone know if the latest software updates have enabled the eSata port?

Hopper (owned) + EHD + Sling Adapter + OTA Adapter
AT200 + BB@Home + RSNs + Locals
SATS: 110/119/129
Dish Network Customer since
October 1996


#229 OFFLINE   scottchez

scottchez

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 935 posts
Joined: Feb 04, 2003

Posted 13 November 2012 - 12:30 PM

Was your USB hub owered? I have read others reported it had to be powered.
"We need more power Scotty" Kirk

#230 OFFLINE   PhantomOG

PhantomOG

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 183 posts
Joined: Feb 07, 2007

Posted 13 November 2012 - 12:54 PM

just ordered.

Is this a single or dual tuner? From the description, it sounds like a single tuner.

#231 OFFLINE   Stewart Vernon

Stewart Vernon

    Excellent Adventurer

  • Moderators
  • 20,436 posts
  • LocationKittrell, NC
Joined: Jan 07, 2005

Posted 13 November 2012 - 01:31 PM

So... just checkmarking here...

1. OTA will never come out? Nope... it apparently just came out.
2. Will conflict with PTAT? Will have to wait for people to get theirs, but no indication this was true either.

From where I sit... it looks like the only thing "wrong" is that Dish missed their desired "this summer" release date... but that the other speculation and unfounded rumors about lack of functionality were incorrect.

Interesting.

-- !rotaredoM mA eM

What I do when I'm not here


#232 OFFLINE   bobukcat

bobukcat

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,965 posts
Joined: Dec 20, 2005

Posted 13 November 2012 - 02:01 PM

I just went through an on-line chat to check on pricing for an upgrade but they said the OTA Module is "Unavailable" so I told them nevermind. I was surprised to be told that an upgrade to the Hopper would come with a $95 installation charge - I thought they were doing free installs for upgrades with a new 2 year commitment but I was either wrong or that offer has expired. Anxious to hear about other's experiences with the OTA module.

#233 OFFLINE   thomasjk

thomasjk

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 444 posts
Joined: Jan 10, 2006

Posted 13 November 2012 - 06:15 PM

The OTA module is available for Hopper. I ordered one today. The upgrade charge depends on your account status and whether or not you have the protection plan. Contact one of the DIRT members like Ray C http://www.dbstalk.c...ber.php?u=95802 or RaymondG http://www.dbstalk.c...ber.php?u=98831 for help.

#234 OFFLINE   3HaloODST

3HaloODST

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 472 posts
Joined: Aug 09, 2010

Posted 13 November 2012 - 08:04 PM

Just ordered my OTA tuner!

2 Hoppers w/Sling / 2 Hopper 2000s / 1 Joey

1 ViP722k (separate account)


#235 OFFLINE   billcg

billcg

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 34 posts
Joined: Apr 02, 2006

Posted 13 November 2012 - 10:17 PM

I just successfully ordered one!!! I'll post when (if) it arrives...
1000-2 dish (110 119 129)
2 XIP813 Installed 9/5/1012
Sony 52" LCD (KDL-52WL135) (2008)
Sony 32" LCD (KDL-32S3000) (2007)

#236 OFFLINE   Stewart Vernon

Stewart Vernon

    Excellent Adventurer

  • Moderators
  • 20,436 posts
  • LocationKittrell, NC
Joined: Jan 07, 2005

Posted 13 November 2012 - 10:25 PM

I can't think of any logical reason why a 2-Hopper system couldn't each have an OTA adapter and each one be used to watch/record OTA.

The question I'm REALLY interested in is... if a Hopper can support more than one OTA adapter on the same Hopper.

I haven't heard anything about that. For those who want more tuners, it would be a nice option to have and they could sell you more adapters.

-- !rotaredoM mA eM

What I do when I'm not here


#237 OFFLINE   3HaloODST

3HaloODST

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 472 posts
Joined: Aug 09, 2010

Posted 13 November 2012 - 10:56 PM

I can't think of any logical reason why a 2-Hopper system couldn't each have an OTA adapter and each one be used to watch/record OTA.

The question I'm REALLY interested in is... if a Hopper can support more than one OTA adapter on the same Hopper.

I haven't heard anything about that. For those who want more tuners, it would be a nice option to have and they could sell you more adapters.


Only one OTA adapter per Hopper, it looks like.

2 Hoppers w/Sling / 2 Hopper 2000s / 1 Joey

1 ViP722k (separate account)


#238 OFFLINE   bobukcat

bobukcat

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,965 posts
Joined: Dec 20, 2005

Posted 14 November 2012 - 10:22 AM

For those that ordered the OTA Module, did you receive any kind of shipment notice or tracking number, etc.?

#239 OFFLINE   jeffdb27

jeffdb27

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 99 posts
Joined: Jul 13, 2007

Posted 14 November 2012 - 10:24 AM

I just received a tracking information yesterday evening. It says scheduled delivery is by end of day Thursday. I'm in Kansas and it is shipping from Colorado.

Hopper (owned) + EHD + Sling Adapter + OTA Adapter
AT200 + BB@Home + RSNs + Locals
SATS: 110/119/129
Dish Network Customer since
October 1996


#240 OFFLINE   Jhon69

Jhon69

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,641 posts
Joined: Mar 27, 2006

Posted 14 November 2012 - 10:26 AM

just ordered.

Is this a single or dual tuner? From the description, it sounds like a single tuner.



Single tuner.

#241 OFFLINE   EdBott

EdBott

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 6 posts
Joined: Nov 14, 2012

Posted 14 November 2012 - 10:41 AM

Hello folks!

There is a nice write-up on this device at Engadget. (Sorry I can't post the link)

I currently have directv but am looking at maybe switching to dish network because I am out of contract with directv. Does anyone know how many of these usb tuners you can hook up?

#242 OFFLINE   bobukcat

bobukcat

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,965 posts
Joined: Dec 20, 2005

Posted 14 November 2012 - 10:56 AM

Hello folks!

There is a nice write-up on this device at Engadget. (Sorry I can't post the link)

I currently have directv but am looking at maybe switching to dish network because I am out of contract with directv. Does anyone know how many of these usb tuners you can hook up?


Here is the referenced link but it doesn't really cover much detail on the USB OTA Module: http://www.engadget....oftware-update/

I would send it to the Dish CSRs who continue to tell me that it's not available but I know that its beyond their control and not their fault their systems don't give them more information.

#243 OFFLINE   tomtb

tomtb

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 21 posts
Joined: Jul 14, 2003

Posted 15 November 2012 - 10:07 AM

I just received a tracking information yesterday evening. It says scheduled delivery is by end of day Thursday. I'm in Kansas and it is shipping from Colorado.


Me too! I am in Alabama and it supposed to be delivered Thursday.

#244 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 20,289 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 15 November 2012 - 11:06 AM

If someone ordered two for one H ?

#245 OFFLINE   allenwoodruff

allenwoodruff

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 15 posts
Joined: Feb 03, 2004

Posted 15 November 2012 - 12:14 PM

I have been holding out on upgrading to the hopper until the OTA adapter came out. I ordered 2 yesterday and they are scheduled for delivery tomorrow. Really looking forward to the hopper system. I have installation of 2 hoppers and 3 joeys scheduled for Sunday.

#246 OFFLINE   mdavej

mdavej

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,279 posts
Joined: Jan 30, 2007

Posted 15 November 2012 - 01:52 PM

I heard the s/w to support OTA is still rolling out, so you may not have it by Sunday. Just FYI.

#247 OFFLINE   3HaloODST

3HaloODST

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 472 posts
Joined: Aug 09, 2010

Posted 15 November 2012 - 04:47 PM

Got my adapter today! I don't know if it's just me, but the dongle seems to be more powerful than the MT2 module. Perhaps it's because it's one tuner vs two?

Btw, for those that are wondering, any standard A-B USB cable appears to work with the dongle. I'm using an old printer cable on my dongle and it works great! No short cable here!

2 Hoppers w/Sling / 2 Hopper 2000s / 1 Joey

1 ViP722k (separate account)


#248 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 20,289 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 15 November 2012 - 05:16 PM

to be more powerful

How is that ?
Are you transmitting OTA signal to your winter cabin ? :)

#249 OFFLINE   Joe Spears

Joe Spears

    Duplicate User (Account Closed)

  • Banned User
  • 109 posts
Joined: Dec 23, 2010

Posted 15 November 2012 - 05:42 PM

Here is the referenced link but it doesn't really cover much detail on the USB OTA Module: http://www.engadget....oftware-update/

Scott at SatGuys did a nice 'First Look' of the OTA module here.

#250 OFFLINE   jeffdb27

jeffdb27

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 99 posts
Joined: Jul 13, 2007

Posted 15 November 2012 - 06:05 PM

Got my adapter today! I don't know if it's just me, but the dongle seems to be more powerful than the MT2 module. Perhaps it's because it's one tuner vs two?

Btw, for those that are wondering, any standard A-B USB cable appears to work with the dongle. I'm using an old printer cable on my dongle and it works great! No short cable here!


I got my adapter today, too. Plugged it in and nothing happened. How long did you have to wait before it was detected? What version of software does your Hopper have? I'm at "S222 NACB 10/10/2012, 4:30AM"

Thanks

Hopper (owned) + EHD + Sling Adapter + OTA Adapter
AT200 + BB@Home + RSNs + Locals
SATS: 110/119/129
Dish Network Customer since
October 1996





Protected By... spam firewall...And...