Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

OTA for Hopper?


  • Please log in to reply
368 replies to this topic

#341 OFFLINE   some guy

some guy

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 413 posts
Joined: Oct 26, 2012

Posted 23 December 2012 - 07:59 AM

They are back in stock as of a few days ago.

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#342 OFFLINE   722921

722921

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 233 posts
Joined: Jan 03, 2008

Posted 23 December 2012 - 12:04 PM

Where do you see them available?
They don't show up at all for under mydish/myaccount/orderfromstore
Hopper feeds the 73" Mitz WD-73640 3D DLP/1080p (and 19" Polaroid LCD/720p via RF)
Joey 1 feeds the 62" Mitz WD-62628 DLP/1080P (and 16" Polaroid LCD/720p via RF)
Joey 2 feeds the new 40" Specter LCD black friday special
Dish America Pkg

#343 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,702 posts
  • LocationBay Area
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 23 December 2012 - 01:37 PM

he is special - he has mighty account :)

#344 OFFLINE   some guy

some guy

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 413 posts
Joined: Oct 26, 2012

Posted 23 December 2012 - 10:05 PM

I just checked again and I see it there as an option to order, but it looks like the Add To Cart button isn't working. It looks like it is there and other reported it being there as well a few days ago. Maybe try chatting in and asking a rep if they can manually order one for you.

#345 OFFLINE   thomasjk

thomasjk

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 340 posts
Joined: Jan 10, 2006

Posted 23 December 2012 - 10:13 PM

I just checked again and I see it there as an option to order, but it looks like the Add To Cart button isn't working. It looks like it is there and other reported it being there as well a few days ago. Maybe try chatting in and asking a rep if they can manually order one for you.


The Add to Cart button does work. You have to scroll back up the page to see your cart.

#346 OFFLINE   some guy

some guy

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 413 posts
Joined: Oct 26, 2012

Posted 23 December 2012 - 10:18 PM

I guess its been a long day and my eyes don't work. You are right, so they are in stock and the button is working to add them to the cart.

#347 OFFLINE   722921

722921

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 233 posts
Joined: Jan 03, 2008

Posted 24 December 2012 - 11:54 AM

Do you have to have a hopper on your profile to see it, because I still cannot...
Hopper feeds the 73" Mitz WD-73640 3D DLP/1080p (and 19" Polaroid LCD/720p via RF)
Joey 1 feeds the 62" Mitz WD-62628 DLP/1080P (and 16" Polaroid LCD/720p via RF)
Joey 2 feeds the new 40" Specter LCD black friday special
Dish America Pkg

#348 OFFLINE   thomasjk

thomasjk

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 340 posts
Joined: Jan 10, 2006

Posted 24 December 2012 - 01:48 PM

Do you have to have a hopper on your profile to see it, because I still cannot...


Yes

#349 OFFLINE   722921

722921

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 233 posts
Joined: Jan 03, 2008

Posted 24 December 2012 - 03:09 PM

Kind of a chicken or egg thing...why order a hopper w/o ota ready to hook up for the install?
Do the installers deliver the ota dongle along with the hopper/joeys?
Any DIRTs out there? I'm ready to upgrade...almost.
Hopper feeds the 73" Mitz WD-73640 3D DLP/1080p (and 19" Polaroid LCD/720p via RF)
Joey 1 feeds the 62" Mitz WD-62628 DLP/1080P (and 16" Polaroid LCD/720p via RF)
Joey 2 feeds the new 40" Specter LCD black friday special
Dish America Pkg

#350 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,702 posts
  • LocationBay Area
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 24 December 2012 - 03:31 PM

so far only online order could give you the dongle

#351 OFFLINE   722921

722921

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 233 posts
Joined: Jan 03, 2008

Posted 27 December 2012 - 03:42 PM

Well I'm upgrading soon, order is in. Got the dongle at the same time, which will be shipped in time to have the installer plug and play it while he is at it. I had to keep reminding the chat lady about it throughout the order process...
Hopper feeds the 73" Mitz WD-73640 3D DLP/1080p (and 19" Polaroid LCD/720p via RF)
Joey 1 feeds the 62" Mitz WD-62628 DLP/1080P (and 16" Polaroid LCD/720p via RF)
Joey 2 feeds the new 40" Specter LCD black friday special
Dish America Pkg

#352 OFFLINE   722921

722921

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 233 posts
Joined: Jan 03, 2008

Posted 31 December 2012 - 07:13 PM

H/2J install today took 3 hours, replaced my 722/622.
I have 100% signal on my favorite ota channels but shortly after viewing all of them, they all now show a blank screen. So I double checked...100%.
My antenna has a clear shot to the mountain top transmitters and there is no cause for multipath. The 722 rarely had an interuption.
So what gives and how is this fixed?
DIRT???
Hopper feeds the 73" Mitz WD-73640 3D DLP/1080p (and 19" Polaroid LCD/720p via RF)
Joey 1 feeds the 62" Mitz WD-62628 DLP/1080P (and 16" Polaroid LCD/720p via RF)
Joey 2 feeds the new 40" Specter LCD black friday special
Dish America Pkg

#353 OFFLINE   some guy

some guy

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 413 posts
Joined: Oct 26, 2012

Posted 31 December 2012 - 08:29 PM

Rescan the locals and it should fix the problem.

#354 OFFLINE   722921

722921

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 233 posts
Joined: Jan 03, 2008

Posted 01 January 2013 - 10:19 AM

Did that yesterday. Oddly enough, they are back this morning...?
Hopper feeds the 73" Mitz WD-73640 3D DLP/1080p (and 19" Polaroid LCD/720p via RF)
Joey 1 feeds the 62" Mitz WD-62628 DLP/1080P (and 16" Polaroid LCD/720p via RF)
Joey 2 feeds the new 40" Specter LCD black friday special
Dish America Pkg

#355 OFFLINE   thomasjk

thomasjk

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 340 posts
Joined: Jan 10, 2006

Posted 01 January 2013 - 02:15 PM

Did that yesterday. Oddly enough, they are back this morning...?


The nightly reboot also fixes the problem.

#356 OFFLINE   crabtrp

crabtrp

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 266 posts
Joined: Sep 23, 2006

Posted 01 January 2013 - 07:21 PM

I never depend on making a recording on the OTA since I never know if it is working.

#357 OFFLINE   722921

722921

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 233 posts
Joined: Jan 03, 2008

Posted 02 January 2013 - 03:32 PM

The nightly reboot also fixes the problem.


This is a hopper feature?
As long as it works...
Good advice on depending on recordings from ota.
Hopper feeds the 73" Mitz WD-73640 3D DLP/1080p (and 19" Polaroid LCD/720p via RF)
Joey 1 feeds the 62" Mitz WD-62628 DLP/1080P (and 16" Polaroid LCD/720p via RF)
Joey 2 feeds the new 40" Specter LCD black friday special
Dish America Pkg

#358 OFFLINE   jeffdb27

jeffdb27

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 99 posts
Joined: Jul 13, 2007

Posted 02 January 2013 - 03:47 PM

This is a hopper feature?
As long as it works...


Yes, and it is on the 722 as well. But on the 722 you could tell it what time you would like it to perform the updates. With the Hopper, it starts asking at about 1am (for me) and if I decline it asks again a bit later. This repeats, presumably until it gets the reboot it wants.

I was trying to archive a long program off to the DVD recorder late one night after going to bed, but (even after declining the first system maintenance prompt) it rebooted right during the middle of the recording.

This needs to be addressed. Once you say not to reboot, that should be it for that night. And bring back the option to tell it when to do the "updates". Not everyone has the same schedule!

Hopper (owned) + EHD + Sling Adapter + OTA Adapter
AT200 + BB@Home + RSNs + Locals
SATS: 110/119/129
Dish Network Customer since
October 1996


#359 OFFLINE   fmcomputer

fmcomputer

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 149 posts
  • LocationYpungstown. Ohio
Joined: Oct 14, 2006

Posted 02 January 2013 - 05:51 PM

Having problem with Hopper USB OTA - Have to rescan at least twice a week .

#360 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,702 posts
  • LocationBay Area
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 02 January 2013 - 08:15 PM

Having problem with Hopper USB OTA - Have to rescan at least twice a week .

perhaps better OTA antenna will cure the issue ? or signal booster ?




spam firewall