Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

H20-100 firmware 0x420A update


  • Please log in to reply
24 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   StuartMW

StuartMW

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 29 posts
Joined: Dec 29, 2007

Posted 29 August 2012 - 11:05 AM

I was very surprised to see that my H20-100 (NOT a HR20-100) received a firmware update last night at 2:35am :) I now have 0x420A. The last update must have been about 2 years ago (checked and it was 10/20/2010).

I haven't been through all the menu's yet to see what changed but the System Information menu is different.

Edited by StuartMW, 29 August 2012 - 11:23 AM.

DirecTV H20-100 receiver
Samsung LN40C530 HDTV
Samsung BD-C6800 Blu-ray player
Panasonic DMR-ES15 DVD recorder
Samsung HW-C450 soundbar
Auvio HD AM/FM radio tuner

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   dpeters11

dpeters11

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 13,335 posts
  • LocationCincinnati
Joined: May 30, 2007

Posted 29 August 2012 - 12:13 PM

I'm pretty surprised too. I'm sure Stuart would call it a maintenance release. I know it had been said that it is not possible for it to get the HD GUI, and with it missing a lot of other features and the software developed outside of DirecTV, I wouldn't expect much difference.

#3 OFFLINE   Stuart Sweet

Stuart Sweet

    The Shadow Knows!

  • Super Moderators
  • 36,878 posts
Joined: Jun 18, 2006

Posted 29 August 2012 - 12:21 PM

Yes, I have confirmed that there is nothing new here.
Opinions expressed by me are my own and do not necessarily reflect
those of DBSTalk.com, DIRECTV, DISH, The Signal Group, or any other company.

#4 OFFLINE   RBTO

RBTO

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 168 posts
Joined: Apr 11, 2009

Posted 29 August 2012 - 04:08 PM

Yes, I have confirmed that there is nothing new here.


Hallelujah!!!!

Other than missing the DVR, it's always a pleasure to use my H20. Immediate response to remote button pushes, large type in the menus and lists that you can actually read, and really fast boots if the power goes out. Oh, and no need to push the EXIT button every time you need to change resolutions (gee - there IS NO need to change resolutions on the H20).

Hope they aren't trying to foul up the H20 the way they have all their other machines.

#5 OFFLINE   StuartMW

StuartMW

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 29 posts
Joined: Dec 29, 2007

Posted 29 August 2012 - 05:11 PM

Yes, I have confirmed that there is nothing new here.

I assume that means no new features but bugs have been fixed.

Are there any releases notes anywhere?
DirecTV H20-100 receiver
Samsung LN40C530 HDTV
Samsung BD-C6800 Blu-ray player
Panasonic DMR-ES15 DVD recorder
Samsung HW-C450 soundbar
Auvio HD AM/FM radio tuner

#6 OFFLINE   mforelle

mforelle

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 2 posts
Joined: Sep 03, 2011

Posted 29 August 2012 - 05:15 PM

After downloading this update, my H20-100 can't see the 101 satellite and it won't download the guide data. I was awake and watching this update as it occurred and nothing seemed abnormal until it rebooted and wouldn't download the guide data, stayed at 0%. Already tried all of the resets and re-download of the update. All of my other non H20's work fine. Bummer.

#7 OFFLINE   litzdog911

litzdog911

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 11,688 posts
  • LocationMill Creek, WA
Joined: Jun 23, 2004

Posted 29 August 2012 - 07:54 PM

After downloading this update, my H20-100 can't see the 101 satellite and it won't download the guide data. I was awake and watching this update as it occurred and nothing seemed abnormal until it rebooted and wouldn't download the guide data, stayed at 0%. Already tried all of the resets and re-download of the update. All of my other non H20's work fine. Bummer.


How are your signal readings?
Have you tried pulling the Receiver's AC power? (wait several minutes before repowering)
HD DVRs: HR34-700; HR24-500; (2) HR20-700 + WD eSATA 1TB drive/Antec MX1 case; HR21-700; HR21-200 w/AM21
Receivers: H25-500 HD Receiver; H21-100 HD Receiver
Mobile Devices: Nomad

Additional equipment configuration details

Sun & moon help site your satellite dish


#8 OFFLINE   mforelle

mforelle

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 2 posts
Joined: Sep 03, 2011

Posted 30 August 2012 - 02:02 PM

I tried pulling the power as one of the resets that I tried. Signal levels are erratic on multiple sats. There is no signal on the 101 sat on any transponders. I've swapped room locations with an HR20 that I have and the HR20 works fine. Signal levels are fine and my system is fine. It's definitely the box.

I opened the box and there is a sat tuner module that plugs into the motherboard. It's possible that this module is bad. Also checked voltages at test points on power supply module and they checked OK. Unfortunately, I just sold a pre-leased H20 as parts a couple of weeks ago. Looks like I could have used the parts for my owned unit.

#9 OFFLINE   litzdog911

litzdog911

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 11,688 posts
  • LocationMill Creek, WA
Joined: Jun 23, 2004

Posted 30 August 2012 - 05:15 PM

It's not worth trying to repair. Just call DirecTV and request a replacement Receiver. It's free if you have their Equipment Protection Plan. Otherwise ~$20 for shipping.
HD DVRs: HR34-700; HR24-500; (2) HR20-700 + WD eSATA 1TB drive/Antec MX1 case; HR21-700; HR21-200 w/AM21
Receivers: H25-500 HD Receiver; H21-100 HD Receiver
Mobile Devices: Nomad

Additional equipment configuration details

Sun & moon help site your satellite dish


#10 OFFLINE   JJJBBB

JJJBBB

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 270 posts
Joined: May 26, 2007

Posted 21 September 2012 - 06:21 PM

odd, mine too, was fine but now a test shows errors on several transponders that were fine. This was a great bedroom tuner till now. it's not like my dish could move either, and the living room is "A" plus!

Edited by JJJBBB, 21 September 2012 - 06:23 PM.
spelling

NATIONAL HD... I want it all, I want it now. I've been really patient. (Will dance for more HD :stickman:)

#11 OFFLINE   StuartMW

StuartMW

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 29 posts
Joined: Dec 29, 2007

Posted 23 September 2012 - 11:16 AM

Not sure if this will help others but for about a week after the 0x420A update my H20-100 was rebooting about once a day. I ran a self test and was seeing a Error 45 (Guide data Issue – No guide data received in over 24 hours). I then performed a "Reset Everything" which reset the unit to factory defaults (I'd written down my preferences first).

Since doing that the receiver has been 100% stable.
DirecTV H20-100 receiver
Samsung LN40C530 HDTV
Samsung BD-C6800 Blu-ray player
Panasonic DMR-ES15 DVD recorder
Samsung HW-C450 soundbar
Auvio HD AM/FM radio tuner

#12 OFFLINE   CNC

CNC

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 7 posts
Joined: Nov 18, 2007

Posted 23 September 2012 - 03:00 PM

I am having a similar problem with my H20/100 after update 0x420A, I have lost guide data (only showing "Regular Schedule").
I ran system test and came up with Diagnostic code 12-322 (receiver error detected)?
I have tried system reset everything, unplug over night etc. BTW the guide does come up for about 30min then goes to displaying "Regular schedule" in all guide boxes. Any suggestion appreciated.

#13 OFFLINE   StuartMW

StuartMW

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 29 posts
Joined: Dec 29, 2007

Posted 23 September 2012 - 03:24 PM

In my case the "Reset Everything" did not change the Dish Type (Slimline-3) but that would affect reception if incorrect. Have you tried repeating the Dish Setup (you shouldn't need to actually do anything to the dish)?
DirecTV H20-100 receiver
Samsung LN40C530 HDTV
Samsung BD-C6800 Blu-ray player
Panasonic DMR-ES15 DVD recorder
Samsung HW-C450 soundbar
Auvio HD AM/FM radio tuner

#14 OFFLINE   CNC

CNC

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 7 posts
Joined: Nov 18, 2007

Posted 23 September 2012 - 05:02 PM

I'll try....which transponder is for guide data? what does the 12-322 error mean? I have tried googling it w/no success.

#15 OFFLINE   dielray

dielray

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 234 posts
Joined: Aug 05, 2009

Posted 23 September 2012 - 05:31 PM

I'll try....which transponder is for guide data? what does the 12-322 error mean? I have tried googling it w/no success.


It means no signal on the network tuner(used for guide data).
DirecTV Technician
My thoughts and opinions are my own, and do not necessarily represent those of DirecTV, my HSP, or anyone else.

#16 OFFLINE   StuartMW

StuartMW

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 29 posts
Joined: Dec 29, 2007

Posted 23 September 2012 - 05:32 PM

http://www.dbstalk.c...hlight=error 12
DirecTV H20-100 receiver
Samsung LN40C530 HDTV
Samsung BD-C6800 Blu-ray player
Panasonic DMR-ES15 DVD recorder
Samsung HW-C450 soundbar
Auvio HD AM/FM radio tuner

#17 OFFLINE   CNC

CNC

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 7 posts
Joined: Nov 18, 2007

Posted 24 September 2012 - 07:43 AM

It means no signal on the network tuner(used for guide data).



So I'm to assume the tuner is bad? Sat signal seems good.

#18 OFFLINE   dielray

dielray

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 234 posts
Joined: Aug 05, 2009

Posted 24 September 2012 - 10:43 AM

So I'm to assume the tuner is bad? Sat signal seems good.


It could be. If you tune to a standard definition channel and rerun the system test does the error persist?
DirecTV Technician
My thoughts and opinions are my own, and do not necessarily represent those of DirecTV, my HSP, or anyone else.

#19 OFFLINE   JJJBBB

JJJBBB

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 270 posts
Joined: May 26, 2007

Posted 26 September 2012 - 04:04 AM

If it was working fine like mine, before the update i would wonder if it was not the update. If your other receivers get the same sats the h20-100 claims it can no longer get after the update i would wonder if it's not the update. I think it's the update honestly.
NATIONAL HD... I want it all, I want it now. I've been really patient. (Will dance for more HD :stickman:)

#20 OFFLINE   dielray

dielray

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 234 posts
Joined: Aug 05, 2009

Posted 26 September 2012 - 10:14 AM

If it was working fine like mine, before the update i would wonder if it was not the update. If your other receivers get the same sats the h20-100 claims it can no longer get after the update i would wonder if it's not the update. I think it's the update honestly.


Although possible, the update also introduced some error checking that the H20s didn't have before, mainly the 920 error code and an enhanced system test. While the old software would have ignored the issue, the new software calls it out.
DirecTV Technician
My thoughts and opinions are my own, and do not necessarily represent those of DirecTV, my HSP, or anyone else.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...