Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Earlier Slimline dish + HR22-100, Dish Type?


  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   Ed-Williams

Ed-Williams

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 75 posts
Joined: Sep 08, 2006

Posted 29 August 2012 - 02:49 PM

I have a slimline antenna connected to 4 receivers,
and an older dish connected to a HR22-100.

I unplugged the HR22-100 to move it to the other antenna (to switch receivers), but as I bring it back to the older antenna where it was connected, it does not work now. I am assuming it has to do with an incorrect “dish Type” setting . There are many options in the settings menu, I do not know which is right :rolleyes:

The earlier Slimline dish has 2 separate LNB sections; the HR22-100 is connected directly (no switch, nothing) to the 2 Sat Inputs *WITH* the B-band converters.

I am uploading a picture of my antennas, I appreciate your help identifying dish marked “1”.

Thanks in advance,
Ed

Attached Thumbnails

  • dish.jpg


...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 ONLINE   jimmie57

jimmie57

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,225 posts
  • LocationTexas City, TX
Joined: Jun 26, 2010

Posted 29 August 2012 - 03:19 PM

They are both considered a Slimline 5 in setup.
However, it appears that the dish number 2 might be a SWM model. and dish number 1 is not

Press the dash button on the lower left of your remote on one of the receivers connected to dish 2 and see if it says SWM detected.

DirecTV customer since 1996 - Current :Slimline 3 SWM,   HR24-100 HDMI to 32" Sharp LED,
HR24-100 Component cables to 46" Samsung LCD & Optical Cable to Yamaha AVR, H21-200 HDMI to Yamaha AVR & HDMI to 52" Mitsubishi LCD


#3 OFFLINE   Ed-Williams

Ed-Williams

    AllStar

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 75 posts
Joined: Sep 08, 2006

Posted 29 August 2012 - 09:56 PM

They are both considered a Slimline 5 in setup.
However, it appears that the dish number 2 might be a SWM model. and dish number 1 is not

Press the dash button on the lower left of your remote on one of the receivers connected to dish 2 and see if it says SWM detected.


Thanks for helping me, Jimmie 57

I chose Dish Type: 04: “Slimline-5 and Switch Type: 02 Multiswitch” and I get =* Error found in both tuners * and it shows a red and white cross signaling the 103 on the Even (18v) square, but even so, when I press continue I get channels (although I have not checked all of them yet), and everything seems to be working.

Also, when I perform the overall test I got: *!2 Test Failed: Diagnostic Code: 43-70-625 (Satellite Dish Alignment Problem)* but I wonder if this could be a normal behavior for this model?

Thanks again,
Ed

#4 ONLINE   jimmie57

jimmie57

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,225 posts
  • LocationTexas City, TX
Joined: Jun 26, 2010

Posted 30 August 2012 - 06:47 PM

When you are changing from the SWM dish to the older Legacy type dish as you go thru the satellite set up I have read many times that you have to go past the dish type and choose the multiswitch and then back up to choose the dish and then continue with the process unti it is complete or it will not retain your selection of the dish.

The error telling you it is out of alignement could be true. if the dish is still chosen correctly, what are the signal strengths of the satellites ( 99, 101, 103, 110 and the 119 ) ?

DirecTV customer since 1996 - Current :Slimline 3 SWM,   HR24-100 HDMI to 32" Sharp LED,
HR24-100 Component cables to 46" Samsung LCD & Optical Cable to Yamaha AVR, H21-200 HDMI to Yamaha AVR & HDMI to 52" Mitsubishi LCD


#5 OFFLINE   Ed-Williams

Ed-Williams

    AllStar

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 75 posts
Joined: Sep 08, 2006

Posted 30 August 2012 - 07:09 PM

When you are changing from the SWM dish to the older Legacy type dish as you go thru the satellite set up I have read many times that you have to go past the dish type and choose the multiswitch and then back up to choose the dish and then continue with the process unti it is complete or it will not retain your selection of the dish.

The error telling you it is out of alignement could be true. if the dish is still chosen correctly, what are the signal strengths of the satellites ( 99, 101, 103, 110 and the 119 ) ?


My signals strengths are:

101= 96%
110= 96%
119=90%
99 ©= 76%
99 (s)= 73%
103 (s)=100%
103 (ca)=80%
103 (cb)=82%

Regards,
Ed

#6 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 9,641 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 30 August 2012 - 07:32 PM

those signals are way too low. the red Xs simply means that your signals are not up to DirecTV standards. for a temporary set up, those signals might be OK. for the long term, you must get your dish realigned

#7 ONLINE   jimmie57

jimmie57

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,225 posts
  • LocationTexas City, TX
Joined: Jun 26, 2010

Posted 31 August 2012 - 05:59 AM

Based on those numbers you have chosen the correct dish but you could definitely use a dish adjustment. These numbers will have rain fade a lot sooner than they should.

Notice that the 99c is the lowest one you have. It appears that your dish needs to turn a very small amount to the east and possibly a tiny bit less elevation. This is of course if you do this yourself. I aligned mine twice in the past and got a neighbor on a cell phone to relay me the readings from the screen while I adjusted the dish. They are very touchy and a small move ( the width of a pencil point ) changes the numbers. Wait a few seconds with each move to lock in on the signal.

DirecTV will do this for $50 service call or it is free if you pay the insurance each month.

DirecTV customer since 1996 - Current :Slimline 3 SWM,   HR24-100 HDMI to 32" Sharp LED,
HR24-100 Component cables to 46" Samsung LCD & Optical Cable to Yamaha AVR, H21-200 HDMI to Yamaha AVR & HDMI to 52" Mitsubishi LCD


#8 OFFLINE   caseyf5

caseyf5

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 184 posts
  • LocationBethpage, NY 11714
Joined: Mar 21, 2009

Posted 31 August 2012 - 10:06 AM

:soapbox:

I have a slimline antenna connected to 4 receivers,
and an older dish connected to a HR22-100.

I unplugged the HR22-100 to move it to the other antenna (to switch receivers), but as I bring it back to the older antenna where it was connected, it does not work now. I am assuming it has to do with an incorrect “dish Type” setting . There are many options in the settings menu, I do not know which is right :rolleyes:

The earlier Slimline dish has 2 separate LNB sections; the HR22-100 is connected directly (no switch, nothing) to the 2 Sat Inputs *WITH* the B-band converters.

I am uploading a picture of my antennas, I appreciate your help identifying dish marked “1”.

Thanks in advance,
Ed

Hello Ed-Williams,

I think it is called a "sidecar" since it looks like a sidecar on a motorcycle. As you see part of the LNB is offset from the rest thus giving the appearance of being somewhat detached from the rest of the LNB (LNB = Low Noise Block Downconverter with the D ignored a good portion of the time). :soapbox:
My setup: 1 HR34/700 DVR no external HD, 1 HR24/500 DVR using WD 2TB Green HD and Antec MX-1 enclosure (used for CE) and 3 H24/700 receivers, 1 SL5 Dish (4 cable), 1 SWM16 Multiswitch, 1 Wired CCK. 1 Whole Home with DECA, 1 Sharp LC-37GP1U TV, 1 Sony Home Theater System HT-CT550W (Soundbar), 1 Impact 6x2 Component Video Matrix (Switcher) and 2 Sewell 1x2 HDMI Splitters with Ethernet, 3D Support and 4Kx2K Resolution with multiple hdmi cables with Ethernet.

#9 OFFLINE   jdspencer

jdspencer

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 6,558 posts
Joined: Nov 07, 2003

Posted 31 August 2012 - 05:13 PM

That #1 is an old AT-9 dish. Whereas, the newer Slimline is an AU-9, and in this case has the SL5 LNB. If only one coax from the dish, it's a SWM.
DirecTV since '96, Waivers for ABC, CBS, NBC, & Fox, HR23-700 & HR24-500/AM21, using ethernet based MRV.

#10 ONLINE   harsh

harsh

    Beware the Attack Basset

  • Registered
  • 18,398 posts
  • LocationSalem, OR
Joined: Jun 14, 2003

Posted 31 August 2012 - 05:18 PM

That #1 is an old AT-9 dish. Whereas, the newer Slimline is an AU-9, and in this case has the SL5 LNB. If only one coax from the dish, it's a SWM.

Looking at the photograph, there are at least two lines coming down from both dishes so the indication is that SWiM is not part of the equation.

Too often we enjoy the comfort of opinion without the discomfort of thought. -- JFK





spam firewall