Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk, like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community, but don't worry this is a simple free process that requires minimal information for you to signup. Be a part of DBSTalk by signing in or creating an account.
  • Start new topics and reply to others
  • Subscribe to topics and forums to get email updates
  • Get your own profile page and make new friends
  • Send personal messages to other members.
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

HR20 Not recording Series shows - To Do list = 0


  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   hiker

hiker

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 505 posts
Joined: Mar 01, 2006

Posted 30 August 2012 - 07:21 AM

Tried to view the Today show this morning and discovered it wasn't recorded as usual with this series recording. Looked at To Do list and it's empty! Reset HR20 and waited one hour and To Do list still empty. I have 25 Series and haven't had this problem. Pushed REC button, shows record ok, just series aren't recording.

Tried to add series recording for a new show and when I select Record Series, screen blinks for a sec and briefly displays Please Wait..., same menu returns, but series recording does not get set.

What I've tried:
1. Reset twice in succession to rebuild guide.
2. Checked signal strength, all ok.

Should I try Reset Everything?
DirecTV customer since 1994
DirecTV H23-600 0x462c
DirecTV HR20-100 (qty 4) 0x62c
DirecTV HR20-700 (qty 5) 0x62c
TiVo Series 3 Comcast

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   jimmie57

jimmie57

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,744 posts
  • LocationTexas City, TX
Joined: Jun 26, 2010

Posted 30 August 2012 - 07:45 AM

If you reset everything you will lose any recordings you have and your favorites lists and the series you have set up.
If you decide to do this I would take pictures of the screens for the series so that you can easily rebuild them.

Sometimes uplugging the receiver for 2 minutes and then plugging it back up does more than just the reset.
You might try this first.

DirecTV customer since 1996 - Current :Slimline 3 SWM,   HR24-100 HDMI to 32" Sharp LED,
HR24-100 Component cables to 46" Samsung LCD & Optical Cable to Yamaha AVR, H21-200 HDMI to Yamaha AVR & HDMI to 52" Mitsubishi LCD


#3 OFFLINE   hiker

hiker

    Icon

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 505 posts
Joined: Mar 01, 2006

Posted 30 August 2012 - 08:16 AM

If you reset everything you will lose any recordings you have and your favorites lists and the series you have set up.
If you decide to do this I would take pictures of the screens for the series so that you can easily rebuild them.

Sometimes uplugging the receiver for 2 minutes and then plugging it back up does more than just the reset.
You might try this first.

Thanks. Tried unplugging and waited 5 mins, same result.
DirecTV customer since 1994
DirecTV H23-600 0x462c
DirecTV HR20-100 (qty 4) 0x62c
DirecTV HR20-700 (qty 5) 0x62c
TiVo Series 3 Comcast

#4 OFFLINE   hiker

hiker

    Icon

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 505 posts
Joined: Mar 01, 2006

Posted 30 August 2012 - 10:37 AM

Did a Reset Everything. Rebuilt Series. To Do list is filling up now.
DirecTV customer since 1994
DirecTV H23-600 0x462c
DirecTV HR20-100 (qty 4) 0x62c
DirecTV HR20-700 (qty 5) 0x62c
TiVo Series 3 Comcast

#5 OFFLINE   Scott Kocourek

Scott Kocourek

    On the edge

  • Super Moderators
  • 8,886 posts
  • LocationWisconsin
Joined: Jun 13, 2009

Posted 30 August 2012 - 12:47 PM

Were you using an internal or external drive?

Opinions expressed by me are my own and do not necessarily reflect
those of DBSTalk.com, DIRECTV, Dish Network, or any other company.
Become a DBSTalk.com member or join the CE program HERE


#6 OFFLINE   jimmie57

jimmie57

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,744 posts
  • LocationTexas City, TX
Joined: Jun 26, 2010

Posted 30 August 2012 - 01:08 PM

Did a Reset Everything. Rebuilt Series. To Do list is filling up now.


Excellent. Hopefully that problem does not return for you.

DirecTV customer since 1996 - Current :Slimline 3 SWM,   HR24-100 HDMI to 32" Sharp LED,
HR24-100 Component cables to 46" Samsung LCD & Optical Cable to Yamaha AVR, H21-200 HDMI to Yamaha AVR & HDMI to 52" Mitsubishi LCD


#7 OFFLINE   hiker

hiker

    Icon

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 505 posts
Joined: Mar 01, 2006

Posted 30 August 2012 - 01:45 PM

Were you using an internal or external drive?

Internal stock hard drive for HR20-700 reconditioned replacement under the PP.
DirecTV customer since 1994
DirecTV H23-600 0x462c
DirecTV HR20-100 (qty 4) 0x62c
DirecTV HR20-700 (qty 5) 0x62c
TiVo Series 3 Comcast

#8 OFFLINE   Laxguy

Laxguy

    Hall Of Flame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 10,767 posts
  • LocationWinters, California
Joined: Dec 02, 2010

Posted 30 August 2012 - 03:04 PM

Did you look at the Guide prior to rebooting?

Theory being that if the Guide had been flushed earlier, say in the early morning hours, the To Do list might not have had the Guide to pull from to populate it from the Series Links.

Otoh, that begs the question of what might have flushed the Guide in the first place....
"Laxguy" means a guy who loves lacrosse.

#9 OFFLINE   djmaxwell

djmaxwell

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 14 posts
Joined: Jun 24, 2010

Posted 30 August 2012 - 07:06 PM

Did a Reset Everything. Rebuilt Series. To Do list is filling up now.


I had an HR22 do this to me recently. The Reset Everything was the only thing that worked for me, too.




spam firewall