Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

3D output


  • Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   gregchak

gregchak

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 155 posts
Joined: Jan 08, 2007

Posted 30 August 2012 - 07:53 PM

I have a hr24 and I have just installed s wireless HDMI setup. My 3D through my hardwired HDMI had no issues. But now I'm having issues with my wireless HDMI setup. When using my wireless setup it sends the 3D in a side-by-side display. My TV processes 3D as more of an overlay display on the screen (active shutter glasses). Does my hr24 try to figure out what kind of 3D my TV can handle and send the appropriate signal? Is there any way to force it to transmit the 3D signal in the format I need?

When plugging my HDMI from my hr24 directly into the wireless transmitter it works fine. When I run it through my HDMI switch first and then into he transmitter it sends the signal as side-by-side. When running through the HDMI switch and running through my hardwired HDMI it also works fine. There is something with the combination of my switch and the wireless that makes the 3D signal wrong.

Any ideas? Thanks!

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,761 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 30 August 2012 - 08:52 PM

Doesn't matter what you connected to HDMI output of HR24, signal is still the same if your first target (TV, switch, wireless extender) support 3D.

Your WIFi setup is not provide adequate QoS for such stream. Could be the Wireless HW, could be environment - too much RF noise.

Time to invest into wired extender.

#3 OFFLINE   Beerstalker

Beerstalker

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,986 posts
Joined: Feb 09, 2009

Posted 31 August 2012 - 09:39 AM

Which wireless HDMI extenders are you using? It sounds like they are not properly set up for SBS 3D (which is the only kind of 3D DirecTV can do). Are they 3D compatible at all?
Sometimes when I reflect back on all the beer I drink I feel ashamed. Then I look into the glass and think about the workers in the brewery and all of their hopes and dreams. If I didn’t drink this beer, they might be out of work and their dreams would be shattered. Then I say to myself, "It is better that I drink this beer and let their dreams come true than be selfish and worry about my liver."
-by Jack Handy

#4 OFFLINE   gregchak

gregchak

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 155 posts
Joined: Jan 08, 2007

Posted 03 September 2012 - 05:36 PM

Sorry for the delayed response, I was away this weekend. I think what I was at least trying to ask was what P Smith replied with, with his comments about QoS. In any event, my problem may not actually be a problem after all. I had forgotten that there are some 3D programs that come through on 3net in a side-by-side format and that's how they show up on my screen; meaning there's not a problem with the signal its simply how it is encoded. Apparently when I was doing testing, that was the format being shown on 3net and ESPN3D was offline so I had no other channel to compare it to. Over the weekend ESPN3D has been broadcasting and it sends its 3D in the correct format for my TV. I verified and some of the 3net programming is also in the correct formatting too. I guess I may have jumped the gun having already experienced this same problem with another HDMI wireless setup.

Thanks for all of your help and input. For anyone wondering or reading this later, I am using the IO Gear WHDMI setup.

#5 OFFLINE   Beerstalker

Beerstalker

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,986 posts
Joined: Feb 09, 2009

Posted 04 September 2012 - 11:53 AM

Again, all 3D content shown on DirecTV is done using the Side By Side format (at least as far as I know). So if you are having issues it is not because of the format of one show, it is something else.
Sometimes when I reflect back on all the beer I drink I feel ashamed. Then I look into the glass and think about the workers in the brewery and all of their hopes and dreams. If I didn’t drink this beer, they might be out of work and their dreams would be shattered. Then I say to myself, "It is better that I drink this beer and let their dreams come true than be selfish and worry about my liver."
-by Jack Handy




spam firewall