Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk, like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community, but don't worry this is a simple free process that requires minimal information for you to signup. Be a part of DBSTalk by signing in or creating an account.
  • Start new topics and reply to others
  • Subscribe to topics and forums to get email updates
  • Get your own profile page and make new friends
  • Send personal messages to other members.
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Access to 722 menu without card?


  • Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   34Ford

34Ford

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 96 posts
Joined: Jul 03, 2004

Posted 04 September 2012 - 07:08 AM

Is it possible to get to the menu (point dish) without a sub card?
If I can this saves me from having to tear out my 622 and all the wires to help point a 1000.4 dish.
Dennis

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,357 posts
  • LocationBay Area
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 04 September 2012 - 09:58 AM

Only very old FW allowed do that, try any other card and do intercept at early boot stage - press Menu a few times...

#3 OFFLINE   34Ford

34Ford

    AllStar

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 96 posts
Joined: Jul 03, 2004

Posted 04 September 2012 - 10:31 AM

So my 622 card might work. I want be able to try it untill the end of this week.
Dennis

#4 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,357 posts
  • LocationBay Area
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 04 September 2012 - 04:02 PM

It will complain about incompatible card, but that would give you a chance to invoke Menu.

#5 OFFLINE   harsh

harsh

    Beware the Attack Basset

  • Registered
  • 17,829 posts
  • LocationSalem, OR
Joined: Jun 14, 2003

Posted 04 September 2012 - 04:10 PM

Is it possible to get to the menu (point dish) without a sub card?

Are you getting a warning about a missing card? Some of the later ViP722 models came with a built-in "card".

Too often we enjoy the comfort of opinion without the discomfort of thought. -- JFK


#6 OFFLINE   34Ford

34Ford

    AllStar

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 96 posts
Joined: Jul 03, 2004

Posted 05 September 2012 - 09:40 AM

Oh, let me clarify, I just bought the 722, should be here by the end of the week.
Im replacing my 622 and the two dishes I am currently using and rather than tear out the 622 and wires I hope to use the 722 to help aim the 1000.4, then sell the 622.

I do not lease.
Dennis

#7 OFFLINE   harsh

harsh

    Beware the Attack Basset

  • Registered
  • 17,829 posts
  • LocationSalem, OR
Joined: Jun 14, 2003

Posted 05 September 2012 - 10:19 AM

Oh, let me clarify, I just bought the 722, should be here by the end of the week.

Then you should probably wait to find out whether a card is actually needed.

I do not lease.

To each his own. Ownership arguably has more downsides than leasing unless, in one of a handful of situations, you live in a taxing jurisdiction that makes ownership more attractive.

Too often we enjoy the comfort of opinion without the discomfort of thought. -- JFK


#8 OFFLINE   Stewart Vernon

Stewart Vernon

    Excellent Adventurer

  • Moderators
  • 19,011 posts
  • LocationKittrell, NC
Joined: Jan 07, 2005

Posted 05 September 2012 - 02:21 PM

Oh, let me clarify, I just bought the 722, should be here by the end of the week.
Im replacing my 622 and the two dishes I am currently using and rather than tear out the 622 and wires I hope to use the 722 to help aim the 1000.4, then sell the 622.

I do not lease.


This whole thing became confusing to me...

1. If your 622 is in service right now, why can't you install the Dish right now and point it using existing 622 and wiring?

2. If you don't have the 722 yet, what makes you think it doesn't have an access card? What even prompted that question?

With this additional information, I don't understand where the difficulty or hang up is...

-- My cat's breath smells like cat food.


#9 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,357 posts
  • LocationBay Area
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 05 September 2012 - 03:37 PM

I think he bought used 722 without card and should buy new.

#10 OFFLINE   34Ford

34Ford

    AllStar

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 96 posts
Joined: Jul 03, 2004

Posted 06 September 2012 - 08:15 AM

722 is here.:)
Dennis

#11 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,357 posts
  • LocationBay Area
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 06 September 2012 - 08:42 AM

722 is here.:)

It should have internal card at least (non-functional perhaps, but good enough to make signal check).

#12 OFFLINE   34Ford

34Ford

    AllStar

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 96 posts
Joined: Jul 03, 2004

Posted 07 September 2012 - 06:34 AM

It should have internal card at least (non-functional perhaps, but good enough to make signal check).


Your right, it does. Worked like a charm once I got out the compass and realized I was looking to far to the east.

So did all of the 722's not have a S-video output and a ota antenna input?
Dennis

#13 OFFLINE   Stewart Vernon

Stewart Vernon

    Excellent Adventurer

  • Moderators
  • 19,011 posts
  • LocationKittrell, NC
Joined: Jan 07, 2005

Posted 07 September 2012 - 08:33 AM

That sounds like a 722K instead of a 722.

The 722K has an optional OTA module that provides two OTA tuners... and I can't remember for sure, but I don't think it had an S-video connection.

-- My cat's breath smells like cat food.


#14 OFFLINE   34Ford

34Ford

    AllStar

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 96 posts
Joined: Jul 03, 2004

Posted 07 September 2012 - 08:57 AM

Yep, your right, I just found out myself over on dishuser that its a 722k.

No problem, it has served its purpose as a good dish pointer. Ill just keep my 622.
Dennis

#15 OFFLINE   Stewart Vernon

Stewart Vernon

    Excellent Adventurer

  • Moderators
  • 19,011 posts
  • LocationKittrell, NC
Joined: Jan 07, 2005

Posted 07 September 2012 - 07:58 PM

This just makes me even more confused.

So... why couldn't you use the 622 at a dish pointer? What was the point of buying the 722 when for all intents and purposes, you really didn't need it to do anything the 622 didn't already do?

-- My cat's breath smells like cat food.





spam firewall