Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk, like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community, but don't worry this is a simple free process that requires minimal information for you to signup. Be a part of DBSTalk by signing in or creating an account.
  • Start new topics and reply to others
  • Subscribe to topics and forums to get email updates
  • Get your own profile page and make new friends
  • Send personal messages to other members.
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

Dish would not upgrade my dish to 1000.2?


  • Please log in to reply
21 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   comizzou573

comizzou573

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 224 posts
Joined: Aug 06, 2007

Posted 04 September 2012 - 10:12 PM

Dish network is making it hard for me to upgrade to 1000.2 i have these satellite dishes on my roof since 1999 that are rusting. I bought a dish hopper brand new on ebay. They keep on telling me the only way to upgrade your dish is you have to upgrade your receiver. I told dish I would have gone with upgrade with you if you waived the 100 dollar upgrade and making me sign a new lease deal, so your lose on that half. The represenatives at dish doesnt want to send me a dish 1000.2 cause I am not an authorized dish retailer. Then they schedule for someone come out on such and such day when I didnt even ask for it. I called and cancel the technician appointment that I didnt request for and hopefully whoever they schedule with does get the message that it is cancel. With this type service I see dish going out of business.


If anyone got dish 1000.2 let me know will be glad to buy it from you : )

Edited by comizzou573, 04 September 2012 - 10:17 PM.


...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   VDP07

VDP07

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 481 posts
Joined: Feb 22, 2006

Posted 04 September 2012 - 10:59 PM

Plenty of them available where you bought your Hopper but with Dish going out of business, why bother?

#3 OFFLINE   comizzou573

comizzou573

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 224 posts
Joined: Aug 06, 2007

Posted 04 September 2012 - 11:10 PM

I got mines from ebay

#4 OFFLINE   boba

boba

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,580 posts
Joined: May 23, 2003

Posted 04 September 2012 - 11:55 PM

I got mines from ebay

Are you happy now??:):):)

#5 ONLINE   garys

garys

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,154 posts
Joined: Nov 04, 2005

Posted 05 September 2012 - 04:47 AM

Plenty of them available where you bought your Hopper but with Dish going out of business, why bother?


When is the sale?

#6 OFFLINE   SayWhat?

SayWhat?

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,416 posts
Joined: Jun 06, 2009

Posted 05 September 2012 - 05:15 AM

So, you don't want to buy anything from them and don't want to commit to service, you just want them to send you something you may not even need for free?


Then they schedule for someone come out on such and such day when I didnt even ask for it.

Didja happen to think they just might be having a tech bring you what you want?

i have these satellite dishes on my roof since 1999 that are rusting.

Paint covers rust.
Help stamp out Twits and Twitterers!

HD, SchmacHD!! Just be glad you've got a picture at all.

#7 OFFLINE   puckwithahalo

puckwithahalo

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,286 posts
Joined: Sep 02, 2007

Posted 05 September 2012 - 06:39 AM

Hope he doesn't forget to buy the solo node he'll need too. With the price of that, plus the dish, he may have just been better off paying the $100 for the upgrade.
The postings on this site are my own and don't represent Dish's positions, strategies, or opinions.

-Puck

#8 OFFLINE   comizzou573

comizzou573

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 224 posts
Joined: Aug 06, 2007

Posted 05 September 2012 - 10:45 AM

Hope he doesn't forget to buy the solo node he'll need too. With the price of that, plus the dish, he may have just been better off paying the $100 for the upgrade.


solo node came with the receiver I purchase and its not worth 100 dollars upgrade waiver lease fee when its never possible to own the receiver when you sign the lease contract. i have a dvr 510and my opinion dish lease contract is a scam because technically we own the receiver after we made its full of amount of the receiver value.

Edited by comizzou573, 05 September 2012 - 10:55 AM.


#9 OFFLINE   domingos35

domingos35

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 536 posts
Joined: Jan 11, 2006

Posted 05 September 2012 - 04:25 PM

Plenty of them available where you bought your Hopper but with Dish going out of business, why bother?


u mean directv is going out of business?

#10 OFFLINE   Jim5506

Jim5506

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,411 posts
Joined: Jun 07, 2004

Posted 05 September 2012 - 05:55 PM

Let's not feed the trolls.
Tuners: Hopper 2000; Hopper w/Sling; 3 Joeys; Samsung SIR-T351; Accurian 6000;2 X HD TiVo; 2 X TiVo Series 2 Stand alone; Panasonic Showstopper 2000
Dish 1000.2 @ 110, 119, 129; dish 500 @ 61.5
Antennas - CM4228; RS U75-R; coathanger; Funke PSP.1922 (stillin the box); paperclip
Displays: Sony VPH D50Q with HD Fury HDMI input; Hitachi 57F59; Sony Bravia LCD;Sanyo 32" LCD; Panasonic 42" plasma
Sony 80GB PS3; Toshiba HD-DVD

Give me a Finco colinear array and I'll rule the world - HA-HA-HA-HA!

#11 OFFLINE   Stewart Vernon

Stewart Vernon

    Excellent Adventurer

  • Moderators
  • 19,011 posts
  • LocationKittrell, NC
Joined: Jan 07, 2005

Posted 05 September 2012 - 06:57 PM

Your monthly fees will be the same whether you own the receiver or not... so there is no monthly savings from owning rather than leasing... and it will probably cost you more to buy all the equipment than you would have paid for an upgrade... and I know you paid more to own a Hopper than to lease one.

And why aren't you buying a dish somewhere like you bought the receiver? I'm sure that there are people and companies who will sell that if you really like paying more money.

-- My cat's breath smells like cat food.


#12 OFFLINE   boba

boba

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,580 posts
Joined: May 23, 2003

Posted 05 September 2012 - 09:22 PM

Your monthly fees will be the same whether you own the receiver or not... so there is no monthly savings from owning rather than leasing... and it will probably cost you more to buy all the equipment than you would have paid for an upgrade... and I know you paid more to own a Hopper than to lease one.

And why aren't you buying a dish somewhere like you bought the receiver? I'm sure that there are people and companies who will sell that if you really like paying more money.

From his posts in this thread he did buy the Hopper and 1000.2 from ebay. It is his money so as long as he is happy it dosen't bother my wallet.

#13 OFFLINE   Zero327

Zero327

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 256 posts
Joined: Oct 09, 2006

Posted 05 September 2012 - 10:10 PM

CSRs can't ship installation equipment. They don't have the capability. Customers are supposed to be installed by techs or retailers. Do it yourself'ers aren't common in the DISH subscriber base. Of those that are, 99.9% are techs who have the equipment necessary anyways.
Four universal truthes:
1. All is fair in love and war.
2. Nothing is absolute but death and taxes.
3. "Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity, and I'm not sure about the former." --Albert Einstein

4. If you think the above three things shouldn't apply to you, e-mail CEO@dishnetwork.com.

#14 OFFLINE   Stewart Vernon

Stewart Vernon

    Excellent Adventurer

  • Moderators
  • 19,011 posts
  • LocationKittrell, NC
Joined: Jan 07, 2005

Posted 05 September 2012 - 10:42 PM

From his posts in this thread he did buy the Hopper and 1000.2 from ebay. It is his money so as long as he is happy it dosen't bother my wallet.


Nope... he bought the Hopper from eBay, but wanted Dish to send him a 1000.2 to install. He hasn't posted that he has acquired a 1000.2 from anywhere else at this point.

-- My cat's breath smells like cat food.


#15 OFFLINE   MysteryMan

MysteryMan

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 6,361 posts
  • LocationUSA
Joined: May 17, 2010

Posted 06 September 2012 - 04:49 AM

I got mines from ebay


Are they landmines or ocean mines? :sure:

DirecTV customer since 1995.


#16 OFFLINE   Michael P

Michael P

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,897 posts
Joined: Oct 27, 2004

Posted 07 September 2012 - 03:27 PM

The 1000.2 is obsolete anyway. What you need is a 1000.4 WA (I'm presuming you need western since the old ".2" was a western arc dish.

Dish sent an installer to my home to install a 1000.4 WA for free after I signed up for HD Free for life. My split arc set-up was not receiving all the HD channels I was supposed to receive. I had never had an installer before in my entire history with E*.

#17 OFFLINE   DoyleS

DoyleS

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 971 posts
Joined: Oct 21, 2002

Posted 07 September 2012 - 04:45 PM

I didn't even ask for a 1000.4. I was getting a second 722 and when the installer came he did not want to use the Dish 500 and Dish300 on my roof so he took them down and put up a 1000.4 with the separators. Much cleaner installation than what I had and wife is happy with the cleaner looking roof. It is on a lease so I would guess that makes a difference.
Receivers= 722K, 722, 211K,
Dishes=Dish1000.2
Sling Adapter

#18 OFFLINE   Michael P

Michael P

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,897 posts
Joined: Oct 27, 2004

Posted 10 September 2012 - 03:34 PM

I didn't even ask for a 1000.4. I was getting a second 722 and when the installer came he did not want to use the Dish 500 and Dish300 on my roof so he took them down and put up a 1000.4 with the separators. Much cleaner installation than what I had and wife is happy with the cleaner looking roof. It is on a lease so I would guess that makes a difference.

Well I own my 622 and I still got E* to install a 1000.4 (for free!). I guess it's because I've been a customer continuously since Feb. '97.

#19 OFFLINE   RaymondG@DISH Network

RaymondG@DISH Network

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 263 posts
Joined: Jul 21, 2011

Posted 10 September 2012 - 03:52 PM

The 1000.2 is obsolete anyway. What you need is a 1000.4 WA (I'm presuming you need western since the old ".2" was a western arc dish.


1000.4 WA DISH antenna's are actually obsolete. We currently only use 1000.2 WA DISH antennas for new WA installations/upgrades.

For EA we use the 1000.4 EA DISH antennas for new installations/upgrades.

#20 OFFLINE   Jhon69

Jhon69

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,637 posts
Joined: Mar 27, 2006

Posted 12 September 2012 - 08:35 AM

I know when I bought my VIP622 I had DISH's 500 the 622 would not authorize(it needs to see 129) because I have the Protection Plan DISH sent out a tech to install their 1K.2 Dish.It cost me $15. :)




spam firewall