Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

How long after signing up for service plan before you can make an appt?


  • Please log in to reply
35 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   fudpucker

fudpucker

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 759 posts
  • LocationNW Iowa
Joined: Jul 23, 2007

Posted 05 September 2012 - 07:35 AM

One of my receivers (a 612) started having occasional freezing issues, so I signed up for the service plan a couple of days ago. Last night it was completely frozen, and when I did reboots and unplugged it and plugged it back in, I'd get the update bar but it would sit at the first bar, maybe eventually make it to the second bar, but never actually get reception. Kept trying, and it eventually got reception but then the picture would freeze and never "un-freeze."

So - since I just signed up for the service plan, how long do I have to wait before they will honor it? Do I need to wait for a billing cycle (I haven't yet paid a bill with the new service plan charge on it?))

Thanks

...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#2 OFFLINE   puckwithahalo

puckwithahalo

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,286 posts
Joined: Sep 02, 2007

Posted 05 September 2012 - 07:39 AM

On Dish, the service plan is in effect as soon as you add it. No waiting period.
The postings on this site are my own and don't represent Dish's positions, strategies, or opinions.

-Puck

#3 OFFLINE   Ray C@DISH Network

Ray C@DISH Network

    Icon

  • DISH Representative
  • 914 posts
Joined: Dec 28, 2010

Posted 05 September 2012 - 07:55 AM

Please PM me your account number so I can assist you further. I can send you a replacement receiver or schedule a technician. Please let me know. Thanks.

One of my receivers (a 612) started having occasional freezing issues, so I signed up for the service plan a couple of days ago. Last night it was completely frozen, and when I did reboots and unplugged it and plugged it back in, I'd get the update bar but it would sit at the first bar, maybe eventually make it to the second bar, but never actually get reception. Kept trying, and it eventually got reception but then the picture would freeze and never "un-freeze."

So - since I just signed up for the service plan, how long do I have to wait before they will honor it? Do I need to wait for a billing cycle (I haven't yet paid a bill with the new service plan charge on it?))

Thanks



#4 OFFLINE   fudpucker

fudpucker

    Godfather

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 759 posts
  • LocationNW Iowa
Joined: Jul 23, 2007

Posted 05 September 2012 - 08:30 AM

Please PM me your account number so I can assist you further. I can send you a replacement receiver or schedule a technician. Please let me know. Thanks.


Ray, thanks very much for your proactive offer to help. PMed my info.

#5 OFFLINE   coldsteel

coldsteel

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,984 posts
Joined: Mar 28, 2007

Posted 06 September 2012 - 10:54 AM

Yeah, there's no 'pre-existing condition' clause on the Protection Plan. In fact, you can call in with a problem, add it and get covered to resolve the issue on the same call.
DISH 625 dvr

The opinions posted on this site are my own and do not represent DISH Network's positions, strategies or opinions. Unless I decide to be bad or call out an idiot...

#6 OFFLINE   quizzer

quizzer

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 742 posts
Joined: Aug 29, 2006

Posted 06 September 2012 - 10:16 PM

Yeah, there's no 'pre-existing condition' clause on the Protection Plan. In fact, you can call in with a problem, add it and get covered to resolve the issue on the same call.


Is there a minimum time period to keep the protection plan after you add it during the problem call?

#7 OFFLINE   James Long

James Long

    Ready for Uplink!

  • Super Moderators
  • 42,128 posts
  • LocationMichiana
Joined: Apr 17, 2003

Posted 06 September 2012 - 11:05 PM

Is there a minimum time period to keep the protection plan after you add it during the problem call?

"A programming change fee of $25 is applied when you remove Protection Plan within 5 months of adding to your account."

Remove it at will ... just pay the fine if you don't wait 5 months (@ $7 per month).

#8 OFFLINE   tymekeeper

tymekeeper

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 158 posts
Joined: Jan 11, 2008

Posted 08 September 2012 - 09:25 AM

I think it only costs $15 to have a new receiver shipped and that included return label.

#9 OFFLINE   coldsteel

coldsteel

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,984 posts
Joined: Mar 28, 2007

Posted 08 September 2012 - 04:02 PM

"A programming change fee of $25 is applied when you remove Protection Plan within 5 months of adding to your account."

Remove it at will ... just pay the fine if you don't wait 5 months (@ $7 per month).


4 months, not 5.
DISH 625 dvr

The opinions posted on this site are my own and do not represent DISH Network's positions, strategies or opinions. Unless I decide to be bad or call out an idiot...

#10 OFFLINE   James Long

James Long

    Ready for Uplink!

  • Super Moderators
  • 42,128 posts
  • LocationMichiana
Joined: Apr 17, 2003

Posted 08 September 2012 - 09:54 PM

4 months, not 5.

5 months per DISH's web site.

#11 OFFLINE   boba

boba

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,580 posts
Joined: May 23, 2003

Posted 09 September 2012 - 10:45 AM

5 months per DISH's web site.


I think you are saying the same thing James 5 months including the month you sign up Coldsteel 4 months in the future. Either way 4 mo. at $7/mo. is $28 so the penalty is really cheaper than staying unless you feel you need the service plan active.:):):)

#12 OFFLINE   James Long

James Long

    Ready for Uplink!

  • Super Moderators
  • 42,128 posts
  • LocationMichiana
Joined: Apr 17, 2003

Posted 09 September 2012 - 11:24 AM

When one adds and cancels the Protection Plan is it pro-rated by the number of days in the billing cycle (as programming packages and receivers are pro-rated)? Or is one required to subscribe by the full month for $7?

I am thinking of the person who calls in for repair, adds the service plan on that call. Gets the service. And as soon as the service is billed at the protection plan rate cancels the plan. That may not be a full $7 month. And the way I read the penalty, it is applied if the plan is not kept five months. So if I added it today (September 9th) I would not be able to cancel without penalty until February 9th (or perhaps February 10th if the 9th is counted as being within five months).

#13 OFFLINE   scooper

scooper

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 6,034 posts
  • LocationYoungsville NC
Joined: Apr 22, 2002

Posted 09 September 2012 - 12:09 PM

I do not think there is a proration for the protection plan. I have used it in the past, I'm not currently on it.
You CAN put antennas on your owned and/or controlled property...

http://www.fcc.gov/mb/facts/otard.html

#14 OFFLINE   Jim5506

Jim5506

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,567 posts
Joined: Jun 07, 2004

Posted 09 September 2012 - 06:02 PM

I have used it in the past and immediately cancelled, it was prorated.

Todays policy may differ.
Tuners: Hopper 2000; Hopper w/Sling; 3 Joeys; Samsung SIR-T351; Accurian 6000;2 X HD TiVo; 2 X TiVo Series 2 Stand alone; Panasonic Showstopper 2000
Dish 1000.2 @ 110, 119, 129; dish 500 @ 61.5
Antennas - CM4228; RS U75-R; coathanger; Funke PSP.1922 (stillin the box); paperclip
Displays: Sony VPH D50Q with HD Fury HDMI input; Hitachi 57F59; Sony Bravia LCD;Sanyo 32" LCD; Panasonic 42" plasma
Sony 80GB PS3; Toshiba HD-DVD

Give me a Finco colinear array and I'll rule the world - HA-HA-HA-HA!

#15 OFFLINE   coldsteel

coldsteel

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,984 posts
Joined: Mar 28, 2007

Posted 09 September 2012 - 06:21 PM

Per the information I see on a daily basis, it's 4 months. Also the monthly cost of the Pro Plan IS prorated from the day it is added. Always has. Jim, doing that now will incur a $25 fee.
DISH 625 dvr

The opinions posted on this site are my own and do not represent DISH Network's positions, strategies or opinions. Unless I decide to be bad or call out an idiot...

#16 OFFLINE   James Long

James Long

    Ready for Uplink!

  • Super Moderators
  • 42,128 posts
  • LocationMichiana
Joined: Apr 17, 2003

Posted 09 September 2012 - 08:06 PM

Per the information I see on a daily basis, it's 4 months. Also the monthly cost of the Pro Plan IS prorated from the day it is added. Always has. Jim, doing that now will incur a $25 fee.

So at what point can one cancel without the $25 fee? Five months after signing up (as stated by DISH) or four months after signing up?

If I signed up today (September 9th) could I cancel on January 10th without the penalty or would I have to wait until February 10th? Or another date?

If it is January 10th then one might as well let the protection plan ride in case their are other problems. The savings of paying a pro-rated few days of protection plus $25 for cancelling over paying $28 for four months isn't much. But if one would need to wait until February 10th to avoid penalty then cancelling before some day in October would work out cheaper.

#17 OFFLINE   quizzer

quizzer

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 742 posts
Joined: Aug 29, 2006

Posted 09 September 2012 - 11:42 PM

So at what point can one cancel without the $25 fee? Five months after signing up (as stated by DISH) or four months after signing up?

If I signed up today (September 9th) could I cancel on January 10th without the penalty or would I have to wait until February 10th? Or another date?

If it is January 10th then one might as well let the protection plan ride in case their are other problems. The savings of paying a pro-rated few days of protection plus $25 for cancelling over paying $28 for four months isn't much. But if one would need to wait until February 10th to avoid penalty then cancelling before some day in October would work out cheaper.


Can DIRT clarify?

#18 OFFLINE   RaymondG@DISH Network

RaymondG@DISH Network

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 263 posts
Joined: Jul 21, 2011

Posted 10 September 2012 - 03:38 PM

I am always happy to clear the air.

Customers who remove the Protection Plan within 120 days of adding it will have a $25 Programming Change Fee added to their account.

#19 OFFLINE   CeeWoo

CeeWoo

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 348 posts
Joined: Dec 01, 2008

Posted 17 September 2012 - 02:00 PM

Timely thread for me...I may add it soon, my 722k started locking up last night and has done so 3 times since-a couple times with 'boot recover do not disturb' message

So far it's come back to life each time, but the future may be disturbing LOL

#20 OFFLINE   Jim5506

Jim5506

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,567 posts
Joined: Jun 07, 2004

Posted 18 September 2012 - 11:08 AM

IIRC, exchange for a dead receiver is only $15 shipping for return of old uniot, cgheaper than having to sub to DHA for 4 months.

DHA is only indicated if a $95 tech site visit is needed.
Tuners: Hopper 2000; Hopper w/Sling; 3 Joeys; Samsung SIR-T351; Accurian 6000;2 X HD TiVo; 2 X TiVo Series 2 Stand alone; Panasonic Showstopper 2000
Dish 1000.2 @ 110, 119, 129; dish 500 @ 61.5
Antennas - CM4228; RS U75-R; coathanger; Funke PSP.1922 (stillin the box); paperclip
Displays: Sony VPH D50Q with HD Fury HDMI input; Hitachi 57F59; Sony Bravia LCD;Sanyo 32" LCD; Panasonic 42" plasma
Sony 80GB PS3; Toshiba HD-DVD

Give me a Finco colinear array and I'll rule the world - HA-HA-HA-HA!

#21 OFFLINE   CeeWoo

CeeWoo

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 348 posts
Joined: Dec 01, 2008

Posted 19 September 2012 - 04:58 PM

IIRC, exchange for a dead receiver is only $15 shipping for return of old uniot, cgheaper than having to sub to DHA for 4 months.

DHA is only indicated if a $95 tech site visit is needed.


Thanks-I had assumed (it appears incorrectly) that they would want a tech visit prior to authorizing an exchange.

My receiver went thru 2 days of resetting at least 3 times a day, but hasn't done that for a couple days now. I have my fingers crossed that it was just a transient problem

#22 OFFLINE   CeeWoo

CeeWoo

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 348 posts
Joined: Dec 01, 2008

Posted 21 September 2012 - 09:23 AM

Rats...this morning another message like before

Warning 981
Boot Recovery
Vital program information will now be downloaded
Do not disturb or unplug the receiver until this screen disappears

Well-after 30 minutes or so, the screen changed-receiver started up---and then the message reappeared and it's again downloading vital information

I think I'm gonna cry LOL

Didn't take nearly as long to download...but on restart, it happened again
part way thru the process, the screen went blank. Power light is still on but nothing happening

I believe I'm officially sunk :(

Edited by CeeWoo, 21 September 2012 - 09:36 AM.


#23 OFFLINE   Ray C@DISH Network

Ray C@DISH Network

    Icon

  • DISH Representative
  • 914 posts
Joined: Dec 28, 2010

Posted 21 September 2012 - 09:27 AM

If you have received this message more than once and unplugged the receiver from the electrical outlet for 10 seconds, a replacement receiver may be needed. Please let me know. Thanks.

Rats...this morning another message like before

Warning 981
Boot Recovery
Vital program information will now be downloaded
Do not disturb or unplug the receiver until this screen disappears



#24 OFFLINE   CeeWoo

CeeWoo

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 348 posts
Joined: Dec 01, 2008

Posted 21 September 2012 - 09:48 AM

If you have received this message more than once and unplugged the receiver from the electrical outlet for 10 seconds, a replacement receiver may be needed. Please let me know. Thanks.


Thanks for the reply Ray...got the message 3 times. I did unplug it and now it keeps giving me the Dish network-starting up screen (even that has powered down & restarted a couple times now). Pretty colors though :)

Oh-funny to see you responded so quickly-while you were doing that I was sending you a PM

thanks guy!

#25 OFFLINE   CeeWoo

CeeWoo

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 348 posts
Joined: Dec 01, 2008

Posted 25 September 2012 - 09:16 AM

Arggg-I wrote to RaymondG when I meant to write RayC, and I'm afraid each thinks the other is helping me-

In the meantime, --- neither is, and it's all my fault

Edited by CeeWoo, 25 September 2012 - 09:53 AM.





Protected By... spam firewall...And...