Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

One OTA channel is at 2 frames per second


  • Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   regallow

regallow

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 3 posts
Joined: Sep 03, 2012

Posted 05 September 2012 - 07:56 PM

I have a ViP722 DVR-HD with software L725 connected to a homemade attic antenna for OTA signals and a Sony KDL-40V2500 LCD 1080p capable tv connected to the ViP via HDMI. All VHF and UHF channels, both hidef and standard def, have worked fine for a long time.

Recently a problem arose with one VHF station that broadcasts on RF channel 8. Mapped channel 2.1, which broadcasts in 1080i, has normal audio but the video displays at two frames per second. If I pause the ViP for a few seconds and resume play, the video becomes normal. An audio/video hiccup occurs randomly (from seconds to minutes apart) and over time "eats up" the delay buffer caused by pausing. Then the video goes back to two frames per second until I create a buffered time by pausing a few seconds.

Recorded video from that channel plays normally but the skip forward button sometimes skips up to five minutes instead of 30 seconds. I assume that is due to the random audio/video hiccups recorded.

Mapped channel 2.2 on the same RF channel broadcasts in standard definition and does not have the problem. No other VHF or UHF channels, standard or hidef, have the problem. Signal strength for the offending channel is 96-98% and locked according to the ViP. RF channel 8 is the lowest VHF channel frequency we get, the others being 10 and 11 which work fine. Satellite channels are not affected. We do not subscribe to local channels via satellite.

I've swapped antennas and its cable, reset the ViP via both the front button and power cord, unplugged all nearby electronics except the TV (which is about 4 feet from the ViP) to eliminate possible interference, disconnected the ViP, opened the case and blew out all dust. I've deleted the channel and sub-channel and rescanned locals. Nothing changed.

I don't know how long software L725 has been loaded. I did recently move all of the electronics around the room but believe this problem happened later than the move. I have seen many more instances of "Your receiver is currently off" notices recently when turning the receiver on by remote.

Anyone seen this problem before and know if it is caused by hardware, software, or something else? Thanks for your help.

Edited by regallow, 05 September 2012 - 08:22 PM.


...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 ONLINE   Stewart Vernon

Stewart Vernon

    Excellent Adventurer

  • Moderators
  • 19,526 posts
  • LocationKittrell, NC
Joined: Jan 07, 2005

Posted 05 September 2012 - 09:15 PM

If it is only happening with that channel... I think you may have stumbled on the answer... It may be specific to that OTA channel... and it could mean they are doing something different to their signal that the Dish receiver doesn't know what to do with.

You probably need to speak with an engineer at your local channel and see if anyone else has noticed/reported this... and see if you can get him to talk to Dish and see if it is a repeatable problem with other Dish customers in your area.

Welcome to the forum!

-- I like to go fast (not really)


#3 OFFLINE   regallow

regallow

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 3 posts
Joined: Sep 03, 2012

Posted 06 September 2012 - 07:33 PM

Thanks for the suggestions, Stewart. I will see what I can find out!

#4 OFFLINE   regallow

regallow

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 3 posts
Joined: Sep 03, 2012

Posted 13 September 2012 - 06:53 PM

Perhaps your suggestion to contact the station engineer paid off, Stewart. I sent an email to him late Monday, and by late Wednesday our problem cleared up. I haven't received an email back confirming anything changed on their end, but nothing appears to have changed on ours. Video rate is normal and the signal is rock solid without any hiccups.

Thanks!

#5 ONLINE   Stewart Vernon

Stewart Vernon

    Excellent Adventurer

  • Moderators
  • 19,526 posts
  • LocationKittrell, NC
Joined: Jan 07, 2005

Posted 14 September 2012 - 10:09 AM

Good to hear... I have seen satellite glitches and firmware problems that caused what you describe... but in those cases it was with a satellite channel or a receiver problem that a reset would "Cure"... so I was hoping in your case that it was a local channel issue, as I've seen those before too, that the local engineer could do something about.

-- I like to go fast (not really)





spam firewall