Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

Having signal issues with my Dish, perhaps something is wrong, not sure you decide


  • Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   beakmyn

beakmyn

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 2 posts
Joined: Sep 06, 2012

Posted 06 September 2012 - 05:00 PM

I noticed that on some of the kids stations and on AXS (SD) last night I would have loss of picture. Doing a quick flip around I didn't note any other channels but I didn't search them all. From the looks of it in the forum signal loss events are not uncommon and usually not a problem. However, I saw in my info screen satellite 77 as yellow and in the installation screen that satellite 77 was still green in color but at 25 on the graph.

Now if that DMA spreadsheet means what I think it means then I believe I need this value to be closer to halfway betwen 25 and 50 to have a stable signal.

Is that correct?

Below is a text version of the diagnostics. I have not had issues with the dish in the past except for when strong storms are approaching. But now it seems that even moderate storms give me a complete signal loss message on the T.V.

I did go up and bond the ground better and then ensured I had a good bond to the cold water pipe and verified (low resistance reading on Fluke) it against my service panel ground. It's a better ground than what the installer did.

I suppose I could drive a ground rod but bonding that back to the electrical service ground with would be considerable cost in copper to do it right. Linear feet would be close to 100 feet so I'd have to use 2" strap ($250 .022" thick). A little costly so I'll hope the cold water pipe will work.


System Info One
a Status: Warning! Select "Details"
b 18
  48
c no phone line
d VIP622 DVR-HD
  Software: L711
e R00 7739 2104-21
  S19 2468 6568-73
F HDD green
g Satellite: 77      72     61.5
     Signal: yellow  green  green
h Device: DPP 1K.4, 1K.4(1), 1K.4(2), 1K.4(3)

Status: Warning! Select "Details"
You are currently experiencing signal loss on tuner 1:
Between 3:30pm 9/06 and 6:00pm 9/06 you had 1 signal losses.
Between 9:30am 9/06 and 3:30pm 9/06 you had 1 signal losses.
Between 9:30pm 9/05 and 3:30am 9/06 you had 3 signal losses.
Between 3:30pm 9/05 and 6:00pm 9/05 you had 3 signal losses.
Between 9:30am 9/05 and 3:30pm 9/05 you had 4 signal losses.
Between 9:30pm 9/04 and 3:30am 9/05 you had 5 signal losses.

You are currently experiencing signal loss on tuner 2:
Between 3:30pm 9/06 and 6:00pm 9/06 you had 1 signal losses.
Between 9:30am 9/06 and 3:30pm 9/06 you had 9 signal losses.
Between 3:30am 9/06 and 9:30am 9/06 you had 5 signal losses.
Between 9:30pm 9/05 and 3:30am 9/05 you had 6 signal losses.
Between 3:30pm 9/05 and 9:30pm 9/05 you had 5 signal losses.
Between 9:30am 9/04 and 3:30pm 9/05 you had 5 signal losses.
Between 3:30am 9/05 and 9:30am 9/05 you had 11 signal losses.
Between 9:30pm 9/04 and 3:30am 9/05 you had 7 signal losses.

STB Health Lite
Tuner 0 as of 09/06/12 1:47pm
Orbital: 14  15  16  21
110      0   0   0   0
119      0   0   0   0
129      0   0   0   0

Tuner 1 as of 09/06/12 1:54pm
Orbital: 14  15  16  21
110      0   0   0   0
119      0   0   0   0
129      0   0   0   0

Value 0: 0
Value 1: 0
Value 2: 0
Value 3: 0
Value 4: 1
Value 5: 0
Value 6: 0
Value 7: -2
Value 8: 0
Value 9: 0


Installation Summary
Satellite Input: _______1_________     _______2_________
           Port:  1   2    3     4     1   2    3     4
      Satellite: 77   72   61.5  x     77   72   61.5  x
          Trans: OK   OK   OK    x     OK   OK   OK    x
         Device: 1K.4 1K.4 1K.4  N.C.  1K.4 1K.4 1K.4  N.C.
          Satus: Reception Verified    Reception Verified
         Switch: DPP 1K.4 w/Seperator  DPP 1K.4 w/Seperator
SuperDish (Checked)






So do I need to call Dish because some piece of equipment is failing?

Or

Do I need to tweak my Dish a bit to get a better view of the birds?

Or

Is everything good enough?

BTW, what stations are on satellite 77?

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   garys

garys

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,162 posts
Joined: Nov 04, 2005

Posted 06 September 2012 - 07:04 PM

Sounds more like you have lnb drift, if you do the lnb needs to be replaced. Also, unless you have your locals or international channels on 77, there isn't any reason to have it.

#3 OFFLINE   beakmyn

beakmyn

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 2 posts
Joined: Sep 06, 2012

Posted 07 September 2012 - 02:24 PM

Yes we have locals on 77 although I receive more locals over the air with my homemade antenna in the attic. My wife informed me that it had a "complete loss of signal" event and then said something about switching to SD mode. She was watching local channels. Apparently the receiver reset itself as sat 77 is now showing green and all the diagnostic information is gone. We'll see how things go.

Last year we did have a lightning strike about 25 feet from the dish. It took down a tree and my anonometer. I suppose this could be related.

Edited by beakmyn, 07 September 2012 - 02:32 PM.





spam firewall