Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Sling Adapter Status: Invalid


  • Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   Marlin Guy

Marlin Guy

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,120 posts
Joined: Apr 08, 2009

Posted 07 September 2012 - 03:07 PM

Did my Sling die?
I can't seem to connect to it via PC or Android.
Network is connected, but Sling Adapter Status shows as "Invalid" in the Diagnostics list page 2.
Team Mexico Pork Cloud

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   neeco51

neeco51

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 2 posts
Joined: Sep 06, 2012

Posted 07 September 2012 - 03:44 PM

Check to see if the red LED is lit on the Sling, unplug and replug the USB connection, power cycle the DVR. I had the same thing happen to me and after trying all the above steps the LED was still not lit. Had to send it back to get replaced.
Good luck.

#3 OFFLINE   Marlin Guy

Marlin Guy

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 2,120 posts
Joined: Apr 08, 2009

Posted 08 September 2012 - 08:31 AM

I did all of those things. I don't recall seeing an LED on it all. Where is it?
Is the red dot on the logo supposed to be lit?

Posted Image


I called CS and they walked me through some steps. They seem to think that the Hopper is the problem, because the following steps yielded the same "Invalid" result.

1. Disconnect Sling
2. Disconnect power to Hopper for 10 seconds
3. Re-power Hopper
4. With Sling still disconnected, check status

We also did a factory reset on the Hopper and then did all of the above and got the same results.
I guess he was saying that the system's firmware didn't seem to be capable of knowing whether a Sling was connected or not.
Anyway a new Hopper is on its way to me, so we'll see how that does.
Team Mexico Pork Cloud

#4 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,746 posts
  • LocationBay Area
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 08 September 2012 - 08:58 AM

Did you try all USB slots ?

#5 OFFLINE   Marlin Guy

Marlin Guy

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 2,120 posts
Joined: Apr 08, 2009

Posted 08 September 2012 - 03:30 PM

Yes
Team Mexico Pork Cloud

#6 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,746 posts
  • LocationBay Area
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 08 September 2012 - 04:07 PM

I would try to connect it to PC, use UVCView.x86.exe program to see if the device is working; you should get all info about it regardless if your PC has the drivers or not.

#7 OFFLINE   Marlin Guy

Marlin Guy

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 2,120 posts
Joined: Apr 08, 2009

Posted 08 September 2012 - 04:40 PM

I couldn't find that utility, but I found a similar USB port sniffer on Sourceforge.
Plugged the Sling into the PC and immediately smelled that fried electronics smell.
Team Mexico Pork Cloud

#8 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,746 posts
  • LocationBay Area
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 08 September 2012 - 05:15 PM

Now you know why it doesn't work ;). I'm suspect all three USB ports of that h2k are dead now.

#9 OFFLINE   Marlin Guy

Marlin Guy

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 2,120 posts
Joined: Apr 08, 2009

Posted 11 September 2012 - 09:09 PM

Got the new Hopper today. It works great, just like the old one.
Sling is still junk.
Team Mexico Pork Cloud

#10 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,746 posts
  • LocationBay Area
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 11 September 2012 - 09:23 PM

Would you try the sling again to new h2k ? ;)

#11 OFFLINE   tommiet

tommiet

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 312 posts
Joined: Dec 28, 2005

Posted 12 September 2012 - 04:43 AM

If your using a wireless router, bypass it by connecting your DVR directly to the internet modem. Re-cycle the DVR and check network setting for IP address. Test over your phone for a true external connection.
**** HARDWARE *****
2 Dish Hoppers (Gave up trying to get a Joey to work)
VIZIO 55” and 48" TruLED LCD 3D HDTV with VIZIO
JVC HDI RX-D402B Receiver
2 SLINGBOX PRO'S

#12 OFFLINE   Marlin Guy

Marlin Guy

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 2,120 posts
Joined: Apr 08, 2009

Posted 12 September 2012 - 01:32 PM

DIRT has been very helpful in this matter and a new Sling is on the way.

A side note: The DVR backup and restore feature worked perfectly as I transitioned from the original Hopper to the replacement unit.

If you don't backup your DVR settings and remotes on a regular basis you really should consider doing so.
It's a beautiful thing to not have reprogram all of your timers.
Team Mexico Pork Cloud

#13 OFFLINE   Marlin Guy

Marlin Guy

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 2,120 posts
Joined: Apr 08, 2009

Posted 17 September 2012 - 05:24 PM

Just to update - I received the new Sling adapter today and all is well again.
Thanks Ray!
Team Mexico Pork Cloud




spam firewall