Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Slimline setup problems


  • Please log in to reply
44 replies to this topic

#26 OFFLINE   Davenlr

Davenlr

    Geek til I die

  • Registered
  • 9,090 posts
Joined: Sep 16, 2006

Posted 13 October 2012 - 08:31 AM

You need to realign your dish, using a transponder on 103ca. You are still way off. Use the meter in the receiver set to a single transponder to peak it. Once peaked on 103ca (signals should be no lower than 85), if 99c doesnt come in, its either blocked by a tree, the pole its mounted on is not plumb, the tilt is set wrong, or the lnb is bad.

Tivo Premier XL4, Tivo Premier, Tivo HD whole home on Xfinity HD, DirecTv Whole Home with 39" high gain KaKu dish, Roku3,SageTv 8 TB Win8 Server -> DVDO Edge-> Denon AVR, Klipsch KB15's/Panasonic 55ST60 plasma"


...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#27 OFFLINE   Molerj

Molerj

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 22 posts
Joined: Sep 09, 2012

Posted 13 October 2012 - 08:40 AM

Ok, I will try that. I'll have to wait till later today when I have another person.

#28 OFFLINE   jimmie57

jimmie57

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,780 posts
  • LocationTexas City, TX
Joined: Jun 26, 2010

Posted 13 October 2012 - 08:52 AM

I have been noticing at times the picture breaks up. I tried fine tuning the dish. I adjusted the dish using the bolt on the dial until I lose the pic then go the other way until I lose it and then set it in the middle. Did that on both tilt and azimuth. Also moved it side to side. I had numbers in the 90's on 101 and even some at 100. The picture doesn't go out alot just enough to be annoying. I had that happen on the old dish, but it was alot worse, and it turned out to be the LNB. Any ideas?


Set the Tilt on the dish to what the initial setting numbers tell you and do not mess with that anymore.
Work with the Elevation and Azimuth only. Move it just a tiny bit each move. Give it a few seconds each move to get the signal before moving it again.
Remember, you are aiming at a target that is thousands of miles away and a little bit can be a long way off at the target.

DirecTV customer since 1996 - Current :Slimline 3 SWM, HR24-100 Component cables to 46" Samsung LCD & Optical Cable to Yamaha AVR, H21-200 HDMI to Yamaha AVR & HDMI to 52" Mitsubishi LCD


#29 OFFLINE   Molerj

Molerj

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 22 posts
Joined: Sep 09, 2012

Posted 13 October 2012 - 02:26 PM

ok, i adjusted the azimuth a bit and now i get
99C 82 to 89
103ca 87 to 93
103cb 90-91
SWM 94-100
Maybe that's all that was wrong.

#30 OFFLINE   jimmie57

jimmie57

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,780 posts
  • LocationTexas City, TX
Joined: Jun 26, 2010

Posted 13 October 2012 - 02:29 PM

ok, i adjusted the azimuth a bit and now i get
99C 82 to 89
103ca 87 to 93
103cb 90-91
SWM 94-100
Maybe that's all that was wrong.



That should make a huge difference.
Excellent job.

DirecTV customer since 1996 - Current :Slimline 3 SWM, HR24-100 Component cables to 46" Samsung LCD & Optical Cable to Yamaha AVR, H21-200 HDMI to Yamaha AVR & HDMI to 52" Mitsubishi LCD


#31 OFFLINE   studechip

studechip

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 1,187 posts
Joined: Apr 16, 2012

Posted 13 October 2012 - 07:29 PM

ok, i adjusted the azimuth a bit and now i get
99C 82 to 89
103ca 87 to 93
103cb 90-91
SWM 94-100
Maybe that's all that was wrong.


That's an improvement, but I'll bet you could do better with some more tweaking.

#32 OFFLINE   Davenlr

Davenlr

    Geek til I die

  • Registered
  • 9,090 posts
Joined: Sep 16, 2006

Posted 13 October 2012 - 07:34 PM

That's an improvement, but I'll bet you could do better with some more tweaking.


Yea. that is much better, but as mentioned above, it should be no lower than 85 on any transponder to keep rain fade to a minimum. You should peak AZ, then peak EL, then repeak AZ, then repeak EL until you cannot get the numbers any higher. The numbers you have now will be sufficient for all but the heaviest of rainshowers tho.

Tivo Premier XL4, Tivo Premier, Tivo HD whole home on Xfinity HD, DirecTv Whole Home with 39" high gain KaKu dish, Roku3,SageTv 8 TB Win8 Server -> DVDO Edge-> Denon AVR, Klipsch KB15's/Panasonic 55ST60 plasma"


#33 OFFLINE   BobStokesbary

BobStokesbary

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 220 posts
Joined: Oct 24, 2010

Posted 13 October 2012 - 10:48 PM

Given the numbers you posted before on 101 you should not touch the elevation or azimuth. You should just set the tilt to 112.3 degrees. You can then move a bit above and below that number for the best signal on 99 or 103. But, you should not mess with your elevation or azimuth any more.

#34 OFFLINE   Molerj

Molerj

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 22 posts
Joined: Sep 09, 2012

Posted 20 October 2012 - 07:39 AM

Given the numbers you posted before on 101 you should not touch the elevation or azimuth. You should just set the tilt to 112.3 degrees. You can then move a bit above and below that number for the best signal on 99 or 103. But, you should not mess with your elevation or azimuth any more.

Set the tilt to 112.3? I thought the tilt was supposed to be 60?
Still having some issues, I am going to try adjusting a bit more. If this doesn't solve the problem I may just buy a new LNB. Picture breaks up from time to time. Not a lot but it happens enough to be annoying.

#35 OFFLINE   BobStokesbary

BobStokesbary

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 220 posts
Joined: Oct 24, 2010

Posted 20 October 2012 - 01:43 PM

Set the tilt to 112.3? I thought the tilt was supposed to be 60?
Still having some issues, I am going to try adjusting a bit more. If this doesn't solve the problem I may just buy a new LNB. Picture breaks up from time to time. Not a lot but it happens enough to be annoying.

My bad. But we are both wrong. I just plugged your zip (43943) into my receiver and got the readings of azimuth = 218, elevation 39 and skew 68. I would go with those as my base and tweak from there.

#36 OFFLINE   Molerj

Molerj

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 22 posts
Joined: Sep 09, 2012

Posted 20 October 2012 - 03:02 PM

Not for my setup. It is 35 & 60. I have noticed an improvement. I tweaked 103cb and the weakest transponder. Went from 84 to 90. I'll see how things go.

#37 OFFLINE   jimmie57

jimmie57

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,780 posts
  • LocationTexas City, TX
Joined: Jun 26, 2010

Posted 20 October 2012 - 06:04 PM

Address: 43943
Latitude: 40.2326°
Longitude: -80.7325°

Satellite: DirecTV SL3 (99W, 101W, 103W)
Elevation: 39.0°
Azimuth (magn.): 218.4°
Dish Skew / Twist: 67.7°

This is from Dishpointer dot com.

DirecTV customer since 1996 - Current :Slimline 3 SWM, HR24-100 Component cables to 46" Samsung LCD & Optical Cable to Yamaha AVR, H21-200 HDMI to Yamaha AVR & HDMI to 52" Mitsubishi LCD


#38 OFFLINE   Molerj

Molerj

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 22 posts
Joined: Sep 09, 2012

Posted 21 October 2012 - 07:28 AM

This is what I get when I go to system setup
Dish Type Slimline-3S (SWM)
Switch type 01:SWM
In the black box I get
Dish SL3-S
Azim. 229
Elev. 35
Tilt 60

I had the other settings originally (39 & 67) as I stated in earlier posts and couldn't get anything. SWM is what changes the settings.

#39 OFFLINE   jimmie57

jimmie57

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,780 posts
  • LocationTexas City, TX
Joined: Jun 26, 2010

Posted 21 October 2012 - 07:42 AM

Are the zip codes being used the same as what is in your receiver ?
It is strange that there is so much difference between what you are getting and what dish pointer is showing.

You say SWM is making the difference. If you choose the non SWM dish, the numbers change ?
If yes, that is odd because they use the exact same satellites.

These numbers are for a 3LNB / NOT for a Slimline 3 These match what you are getting from your Black Box..
Address: 43943
Latitude: 40.2326°
Longitude: -80.7325°

Satellite: DirecTV 3 LNB (101W, 110W, 119W)
Elevation: 34.6°
Azimuth (magn.): 229.6°
Dish Skew / Tilt: 60.0°


No matter what the numbers are, they are starting points and once you get a signal and tweak it to it's best you can get, they do not really matter at that point.

Edited by jimmie57, 21 October 2012 - 07:50 AM.

DirecTV customer since 1996 - Current :Slimline 3 SWM, HR24-100 Component cables to 46" Samsung LCD & Optical Cable to Yamaha AVR, H21-200 HDMI to Yamaha AVR & HDMI to 52" Mitsubishi LCD


#40 OFFLINE   Davenlr

Davenlr

    Geek til I die

  • Registered
  • 9,090 posts
Joined: Sep 16, 2006

Posted 21 October 2012 - 09:09 AM

The dishpointer.com site shows Skew (as in LNB skew} not tilt (as in dish tilt).
For my location, it shows 12.5 skew on dishpointer, where my HR34 says 76.
For stationary i.e. not multiple satellite dishes, the dishpointer reading shows how
much to skew the LNB from vertical. It does not accurately tell you how much to
skew a dish. With a 5LNB dish, it was easy to peak 119 to adjust skew. Not so
much now with a SL3.

Also make sure you are selecting the 101W satellite, not 99 or 103 to get your readings.

Edited by Davenlr, 21 October 2012 - 09:14 AM.

Tivo Premier XL4, Tivo Premier, Tivo HD whole home on Xfinity HD, DirecTv Whole Home with 39" high gain KaKu dish, Roku3,SageTv 8 TB Win8 Server -> DVDO Edge-> Denon AVR, Klipsch KB15's/Panasonic 55ST60 plasma"


#41 OFFLINE   cabletech

cabletech

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 263 posts
Joined: Jan 20, 2011

Posted 21 October 2012 - 11:41 AM

Tilt, skew, rotation all equal the same. They all mean how much to ROTATE the dish either clockwise or counter clockwise on the mounting backing plate.

Azimth=rotation east west on the MAST.

Elevition=up down of the main arm.


jimmie yes, some times the settings given by dishpointer will change by one or two numbers for a differant dish and will also be a little differant from readings in the reciever.

#42 OFFLINE   jimmie57

jimmie57

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,780 posts
  • LocationTexas City, TX
Joined: Jun 26, 2010

Posted 21 October 2012 - 11:52 AM

Tilt, skew, rotation all equal the same. They all mean how much to ROTATE the dish either clockwise or counter clockwise on the mounting backing plate.

Azimth=rotation east west on the MAST.

Elevition=up down of the main arm.


jimmie yes, some times the settings given by dishpointer will change by one or two numbers for a differant dish and will also be a little differant from readings in the reciever.


After the last couple of posts I checked the dishpointer and my receiver. The tech did not enter the zip so I had to go back thru the setup and enter it.
The elevation and twist matched within a half a number and the rotation / azimuth varied just 2 numbers between them.

DirecTV customer since 1996 - Current :Slimline 3 SWM, HR24-100 Component cables to 46" Samsung LCD & Optical Cable to Yamaha AVR, H21-200 HDMI to Yamaha AVR & HDMI to 52" Mitsubishi LCD


#43 OFFLINE   Davenlr

Davenlr

    Geek til I die

  • Registered
  • 9,090 posts
Joined: Sep 16, 2006

Posted 21 October 2012 - 11:58 AM

Yea, I had dishpointer set for single dish, not multiple LNB. It closely matches the receiver when set to SL3 on dishpointer.

Tivo Premier XL4, Tivo Premier, Tivo HD whole home on Xfinity HD, DirecTv Whole Home with 39" high gain KaKu dish, Roku3,SageTv 8 TB Win8 Server -> DVDO Edge-> Denon AVR, Klipsch KB15's/Panasonic 55ST60 plasma"


#44 OFFLINE   Molerj

Molerj

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 22 posts
Joined: Sep 09, 2012

Posted 01 November 2012 - 08:07 AM

Installed new LNB and haven't had any problems even with all the bad weather we had.

#45 OFFLINE   highdefjeff

highdefjeff

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 2 posts
Joined: Nov 14, 2012

Posted 16 November 2012 - 07:53 PM

I have been out of the business a while. It caught my eye when you said you were using a 3 lnb multisat with a multiswitch. I think you may have to use a wide band 6X8 switch with a ka/ku dish. you could try to run a cable directly from the dish to the receiver to check the switch and alignment. I am not trying to sound like a know it all. I just know how hard it is to work on something that just keeps giving problems. Jeff




Protected By... spam firewall...And...