Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Slimline setup problems


  • Please log in to reply
44 replies to this topic

#21 OFFLINE   Davenlr

Davenlr

    Geek til I die

  • Registered
  • 9,089 posts
Joined: Sep 16, 2006

Posted 13 September 2012 - 09:52 PM

Yep,,, I agree. I havent run across a bad lnb yet, but guess its possible. Would look more at the coax connections new to the system. Maybe test the voltage at the lnb connector to see if its what the power inserter is supposed to be putting out, then make sure the jumper coax from the power inserter to the receiver does not have a small short. Polorization is tilt. Measured from 0. Directv might label it, or number it differently.

Tivo Premier XL4, Tivo Premier, Tivo HD whole home on Xfinity HD, DirecTv Whole Home with 39" high gain KaKu dish, Roku3,SageTv 8 TB Win8 Server -> DVDO Edge-> Denon AVR, Klipsch KB15's/Panasonic 55ST60 plasma"


...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#22 OFFLINE   Molerj

Molerj

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 22 posts
Joined: Sep 09, 2012

Posted 14 September 2012 - 11:23 AM

Got it figured out. I had the wrong dishtype selected. I had to select Slimline-3S (SWM). Angles changed with that dish type to 35 & 60. Eyeballed the azimuth to copy the oval dish. Went to signal meter and had 50 on a couple transponders on sat 101. Called over my neighbor and fine tuned them the rest of the way. :grin:

#23 OFFLINE   Molerj

Molerj

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 22 posts
Joined: Sep 09, 2012

Posted 13 October 2012 - 07:42 AM

I have been noticing at times the picture breaks up. I tried fine tuning the dish. I adjusted the dish using the bolt on the dial until I lose the pic then go the other way until I lose it and then set it in the middle. Did that on both tilt and azimth. Also moved it side to side. I had numbers in the 90's on 101 and even some at 100. The picture doesn't go out alot just enough to be annoying. I had that happen on the old dish, but it was alot worse, and it turned out to be the LNB. Any ideas?

#24 ONLINE   jimmie57

jimmie57

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,201 posts
  • LocationTexas City, TX
Joined: Jun 26, 2010

Posted 13 October 2012 - 07:53 AM

I have been noticing at times the picture breaks up. I tried fine tuning the dish. I adjusted the dish using the bolt on the dial until I lose the pic then go the other way until I lose it and then set it in the middle. Did that on both tilt and azimth. Also moved it side to side. I had numbers in the 90's on 101 and even some at 100. The picture doesn't go out alot just enough to be annoying. I had that happen on the old dish, but it was alot worse, and it turned out to be the LNB. Any ideas?


Now that you are watching HD, your signals are coming from the 99 and 103 sats. While you are on the signal strength screen, press the select button and the receiver will move to the next sat. What are you getting on the 99c, 103ca and 103cb and the SWM ?
The 99s and 103s are locals and are very irradic in numbers and slow to come to the screen. I always just ignore them for alignment purposes.

DirecTV customer since 1996 - Current :Slimline 3 SWM,   HR24-100 HDMI to 32" Sharp LED,
HR24-100 Component cables to 46" Samsung LCD & Optical Cable to Yamaha AVR, H21-200 HDMI to Yamaha AVR & HDMI to 52" Mitsubishi LCD


#25 OFFLINE   Molerj

Molerj

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 22 posts
Joined: Sep 09, 2012

Posted 13 October 2012 - 08:06 AM

99c 0 on all
103ca 60 57 61 57 30 56 20 54 37 56 51 55 0 0 55 57
103cb 73 60 70 56 72 58 67 57 70 57 66 55 69 57
swm 95 84 83 83 84 83 83 83 83

#26 OFFLINE   Davenlr

Davenlr

    Geek til I die

  • Registered
  • 9,089 posts
Joined: Sep 16, 2006

Posted 13 October 2012 - 08:31 AM

You need to realign your dish, using a transponder on 103ca. You are still way off. Use the meter in the receiver set to a single transponder to peak it. Once peaked on 103ca (signals should be no lower than 85), if 99c doesnt come in, its either blocked by a tree, the pole its mounted on is not plumb, the tilt is set wrong, or the lnb is bad.

Tivo Premier XL4, Tivo Premier, Tivo HD whole home on Xfinity HD, DirecTv Whole Home with 39" high gain KaKu dish, Roku3,SageTv 8 TB Win8 Server -> DVDO Edge-> Denon AVR, Klipsch KB15's/Panasonic 55ST60 plasma"


#27 OFFLINE   Molerj

Molerj

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 22 posts
Joined: Sep 09, 2012

Posted 13 October 2012 - 08:40 AM

Ok, I will try that. I'll have to wait till later today when I have another person.

#28 ONLINE   jimmie57

jimmie57

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,201 posts
  • LocationTexas City, TX
Joined: Jun 26, 2010

Posted 13 October 2012 - 08:52 AM

I have been noticing at times the picture breaks up. I tried fine tuning the dish. I adjusted the dish using the bolt on the dial until I lose the pic then go the other way until I lose it and then set it in the middle. Did that on both tilt and azimuth. Also moved it side to side. I had numbers in the 90's on 101 and even some at 100. The picture doesn't go out alot just enough to be annoying. I had that happen on the old dish, but it was alot worse, and it turned out to be the LNB. Any ideas?


Set the Tilt on the dish to what the initial setting numbers tell you and do not mess with that anymore.
Work with the Elevation and Azimuth only. Move it just a tiny bit each move. Give it a few seconds each move to get the signal before moving it again.
Remember, you are aiming at a target that is thousands of miles away and a little bit can be a long way off at the target.

DirecTV customer since 1996 - Current :Slimline 3 SWM,   HR24-100 HDMI to 32" Sharp LED,
HR24-100 Component cables to 46" Samsung LCD & Optical Cable to Yamaha AVR, H21-200 HDMI to Yamaha AVR & HDMI to 52" Mitsubishi LCD


#29 OFFLINE   Molerj

Molerj

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 22 posts
Joined: Sep 09, 2012

Posted 13 October 2012 - 02:26 PM

ok, i adjusted the azimuth a bit and now i get
99C 82 to 89
103ca 87 to 93
103cb 90-91
SWM 94-100
Maybe that's all that was wrong.

#30 ONLINE   jimmie57

jimmie57

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,201 posts
  • LocationTexas City, TX
Joined: Jun 26, 2010

Posted 13 October 2012 - 02:29 PM

ok, i adjusted the azimuth a bit and now i get
99C 82 to 89
103ca 87 to 93
103cb 90-91
SWM 94-100
Maybe that's all that was wrong.



That should make a huge difference.
Excellent job.

DirecTV customer since 1996 - Current :Slimline 3 SWM,   HR24-100 HDMI to 32" Sharp LED,
HR24-100 Component cables to 46" Samsung LCD & Optical Cable to Yamaha AVR, H21-200 HDMI to Yamaha AVR & HDMI to 52" Mitsubishi LCD


#31 OFFLINE   studechip

studechip

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 939 posts
Joined: Apr 16, 2012

Posted 13 October 2012 - 07:29 PM

ok, i adjusted the azimuth a bit and now i get
99C 82 to 89
103ca 87 to 93
103cb 90-91
SWM 94-100
Maybe that's all that was wrong.


That's an improvement, but I'll bet you could do better with some more tweaking.

#32 OFFLINE   Davenlr

Davenlr

    Geek til I die

  • Registered
  • 9,089 posts
Joined: Sep 16, 2006

Posted 13 October 2012 - 07:34 PM

That's an improvement, but I'll bet you could do better with some more tweaking.


Yea. that is much better, but as mentioned above, it should be no lower than 85 on any transponder to keep rain fade to a minimum. You should peak AZ, then peak EL, then repeak AZ, then repeak EL until you cannot get the numbers any higher. The numbers you have now will be sufficient for all but the heaviest of rainshowers tho.

Tivo Premier XL4, Tivo Premier, Tivo HD whole home on Xfinity HD, DirecTv Whole Home with 39" high gain KaKu dish, Roku3,SageTv 8 TB Win8 Server -> DVDO Edge-> Denon AVR, Klipsch KB15's/Panasonic 55ST60 plasma"


#33 OFFLINE   BobStokesbary

BobStokesbary

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 211 posts
Joined: Oct 24, 2010

Posted 13 October 2012 - 10:48 PM

Given the numbers you posted before on 101 you should not touch the elevation or azimuth. You should just set the tilt to 112.3 degrees. You can then move a bit above and below that number for the best signal on 99 or 103. But, you should not mess with your elevation or azimuth any more.

#34 OFFLINE   Molerj

Molerj

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 22 posts
Joined: Sep 09, 2012

Posted 20 October 2012 - 07:39 AM

Given the numbers you posted before on 101 you should not touch the elevation or azimuth. You should just set the tilt to 112.3 degrees. You can then move a bit above and below that number for the best signal on 99 or 103. But, you should not mess with your elevation or azimuth any more.

Set the tilt to 112.3? I thought the tilt was supposed to be 60?
Still having some issues, I am going to try adjusting a bit more. If this doesn't solve the problem I may just buy a new LNB. Picture breaks up from time to time. Not a lot but it happens enough to be annoying.

#35 OFFLINE   BobStokesbary

BobStokesbary

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 211 posts
Joined: Oct 24, 2010

Posted 20 October 2012 - 01:43 PM

Set the tilt to 112.3? I thought the tilt was supposed to be 60?
Still having some issues, I am going to try adjusting a bit more. If this doesn't solve the problem I may just buy a new LNB. Picture breaks up from time to time. Not a lot but it happens enough to be annoying.

My bad. But we are both wrong. I just plugged your zip (43943) into my receiver and got the readings of azimuth = 218, elevation 39 and skew 68. I would go with those as my base and tweak from there.

#36 OFFLINE   Molerj

Molerj

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 22 posts
Joined: Sep 09, 2012

Posted 20 October 2012 - 03:02 PM

Not for my setup. It is 35 & 60. I have noticed an improvement. I tweaked 103cb and the weakest transponder. Went from 84 to 90. I'll see how things go.

#37 ONLINE   jimmie57

jimmie57

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,201 posts
  • LocationTexas City, TX
Joined: Jun 26, 2010

Posted 20 October 2012 - 06:04 PM

Address: 43943
Latitude: 40.2326°
Longitude: -80.7325°

Satellite: DirecTV SL3 (99W, 101W, 103W)
Elevation: 39.0°
Azimuth (magn.): 218.4°
Dish Skew / Twist: 67.7°

This is from Dishpointer dot com.

DirecTV customer since 1996 - Current :Slimline 3 SWM,   HR24-100 HDMI to 32" Sharp LED,
HR24-100 Component cables to 46" Samsung LCD & Optical Cable to Yamaha AVR, H21-200 HDMI to Yamaha AVR & HDMI to 52" Mitsubishi LCD


#38 OFFLINE   Molerj

Molerj

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 22 posts
Joined: Sep 09, 2012

Posted 21 October 2012 - 07:28 AM

This is what I get when I go to system setup
Dish Type Slimline-3S (SWM)
Switch type 01:SWM
In the black box I get
Dish SL3-S
Azim. 229
Elev. 35
Tilt 60

I had the other settings originally (39 & 67) as I stated in earlier posts and couldn't get anything. SWM is what changes the settings.

#39 ONLINE   jimmie57

jimmie57

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,201 posts
  • LocationTexas City, TX
Joined: Jun 26, 2010

Posted 21 October 2012 - 07:42 AM

Are the zip codes being used the same as what is in your receiver ?
It is strange that there is so much difference between what you are getting and what dish pointer is showing.

You say SWM is making the difference. If you choose the non SWM dish, the numbers change ?
If yes, that is odd because they use the exact same satellites.

These numbers are for a 3LNB / NOT for a Slimline 3 These match what you are getting from your Black Box..
Address: 43943
Latitude: 40.2326°
Longitude: -80.7325°

Satellite: DirecTV 3 LNB (101W, 110W, 119W)
Elevation: 34.6°
Azimuth (magn.): 229.6°
Dish Skew / Tilt: 60.0°


No matter what the numbers are, they are starting points and once you get a signal and tweak it to it's best you can get, they do not really matter at that point.

Edited by jimmie57, 21 October 2012 - 07:50 AM.

DirecTV customer since 1996 - Current :Slimline 3 SWM,   HR24-100 HDMI to 32" Sharp LED,
HR24-100 Component cables to 46" Samsung LCD & Optical Cable to Yamaha AVR, H21-200 HDMI to Yamaha AVR & HDMI to 52" Mitsubishi LCD


#40 OFFLINE   Davenlr

Davenlr

    Geek til I die

  • Registered
  • 9,089 posts
Joined: Sep 16, 2006

Posted 21 October 2012 - 09:09 AM

The dishpointer.com site shows Skew (as in LNB skew} not tilt (as in dish tilt).
For my location, it shows 12.5 skew on dishpointer, where my HR34 says 76.
For stationary i.e. not multiple satellite dishes, the dishpointer reading shows how
much to skew the LNB from vertical. It does not accurately tell you how much to
skew a dish. With a 5LNB dish, it was easy to peak 119 to adjust skew. Not so
much now with a SL3.

Also make sure you are selecting the 101W satellite, not 99 or 103 to get your readings.

Edited by Davenlr, 21 October 2012 - 09:14 AM.

Tivo Premier XL4, Tivo Premier, Tivo HD whole home on Xfinity HD, DirecTv Whole Home with 39" high gain KaKu dish, Roku3,SageTv 8 TB Win8 Server -> DVDO Edge-> Denon AVR, Klipsch KB15's/Panasonic 55ST60 plasma"





spam firewall