Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

How do you get to your Playlist?


  • Please log in to reply
60 replies to this topic

Poll: How do you get to your Playlist? (240 member(s) have cast votes)

How do you get to your Playlist?

  1. "LIST" button on the remote (222 votes [92.50%])

    Percentage of vote: 92.50%

  2. "MENU" > Recordings > My Playlist (12 votes [5.00%])

    Percentage of vote: 5.00%

  3. I use both methods equally (6 votes [2.50%])

    Percentage of vote: 2.50%

Vote Guests cannot vote

#21 OFFLINE   trainman

trainman

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,464 posts
  • LocationSherman Oaks, CA
Joined: Jan 09, 2008

Posted 10 September 2012 - 12:07 PM

I have a universal remote with a macro set up that goes into the playlist when I turn on the system -- so some of the time, I get to the playlist by magic. :D
trainman is Jim Ellwanger

HR34-700 | Linksys WGA-600N | Samsung 46" LCD | Slimline-5 dish

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#22 OFFLINE   mcbeevee

mcbeevee

    97% Complete

  • Registered
  • 1,281 posts
Joined: Sep 18, 2006

Posted 10 September 2012 - 01:03 PM

I use the List button 100% of the time. I always wonder why the Recordings menu has the "My Playlist" icon before the "Manage Recordings" icon, even though "My Playlist" has it's own button. This just creates an extra button press during the long journey to the To Do List!

:confused:

#23 OFFLINE   jimmie57

jimmie57

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,481 posts
  • LocationTexas City, TX
Joined: Jun 26, 2010

Posted 10 September 2012 - 01:09 PM

It's still early and we have only a small number of voters, but we are at 93% using the remote's LIST button.

If nothing else, maybe we can convince DIRECTV to swap the order of "Playlist" and "Manage Recordings" in the menu, as this one use pattern that I'd bet DBSTalk members DO match national use.


I wrote to DirecTV a couple of weeks ago and suggested that they program the Green button on the remote to toggle to the To Do List from the Playlist.
Most of the time if what you want is not on the Playlist, the next thing you do is to check the To Do List. At least for me it is.

DirecTV customer since 1996 - Current :Slimline 3 SWM,   HR24-100 HDMI to 32" Sharp LED,
HR24-100 Component cables to 46" Samsung LCD & Optical Cable to Yamaha AVR, H21-200 HDMI to Yamaha AVR & HDMI to 52" Mitsubishi LCD


#24 OFFLINE   Carl Spock

Carl Spock

    Superfly

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,567 posts
Joined: Sep 03, 2004

Posted 10 September 2012 - 01:23 PM

LIST 100% of the time.

Wow. In this one small way, I'm as cool as Sixto. Made my day.
hangin' with the bros at 40 Eridani A

#25 OFFLINE   FHSPSU67

FHSPSU67

    CE'er & Retired Engineer

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 2,417 posts
  • LocationWindber, PA
Joined: Jan 12, 2007

Posted 10 September 2012 - 01:29 PM

LIST 100%, and I like the idea of swapping Playlist & Manage Recordings.
Fred
DIRECTV since November 1995
"Everything should be made as simple as possible, but not simpler" A.Einstein

#26 OFFLINE   inkahauts

inkahauts

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 15,121 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2006

Posted 10 September 2012 - 10:12 PM

This one simple poll makes me ask one simple question to every universal remote manufacturer.. Where is the hard button for list on your remotes! Anyone with a dvr wants that dedicated button as a hard button, not a soft button!!!

#27 OFFLINE   B Newt

B Newt

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 683 posts
Joined: Aug 12, 2007

Posted 10 September 2012 - 10:42 PM

I'm lazy I use the one push "List" button on my trusty H 880 remote.

HR20-100 s/w version 0x087f
au9 dish NO multiswitch or diplexers.
Internet connection via WIFI.


#28 OFFLINE   Drew2k

Drew2k

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • DBSTalk Club
  • 13,724 posts
Joined: Aug 16, 2006

Posted 11 September 2012 - 06:22 AM

On my Harmony 900 remote I have a rocker button and I use the bottom part of it as the LIST key. It's not labeled, but I know what it is and it's in a handy location so it works perfectly, but for visitors I also have LIST as a soft button so they can see it when they need it. Best of both worlds!

#29 OFFLINE   Rich

Rich

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 20,610 posts
  • LocationPiscataway, NJ
Joined: Feb 22, 2007

Posted 11 September 2012 - 07:44 AM

I always use the List button on the remote. With all my HRs I have to use the To Do list and Series Manager quite a bit and it never ceases to amaze me that the Playlist is on that page. Why? Why is it there?

Rich

#30 OFFLINE   Herdfan

Herdfan

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 5,983 posts
Joined: Mar 18, 2006

Posted 11 September 2012 - 07:48 AM

The second question then is:

Once you are in your playlist, how do you select the show you want?

1) Select>Select

or

2) Play

I personally use Play because on my URC remote, Play is directly below the Down Arrow button. So my thumb falls to it very easily. I can see where on the stock remote, this would not be as convenient.

My Setup

 

Why can I get to the "Adult's Only" area faster than I can get to the "ToDo" List?  DirecTV, that is messed up!!!


#31 OFFLINE   jford951

jford951

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 447 posts
Joined: Oct 06, 2008

Posted 11 September 2012 - 08:04 AM

Always right to the list button
[URL="http://www.dbstalk.com/showthread.php?p=3113347&posted=1#post311334""]My Setup[/URL]

#32 OFFLINE   BAHitman

BAHitman

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 431 posts
  • LocationAustin Texas
Joined: Oct 23, 2007

Posted 11 September 2012 - 08:35 AM

list 99.9999999999999% of the time...

HR34, HR20x3, HR22, HR23, H24, H21

-BAHitman


#33 OFFLINE   TBlazer07

TBlazer07

    Grumpy Grampy

  • Registered
  • 4,777 posts
Joined: Feb 05, 2009

Posted 11 September 2012 - 12:11 PM

List button ...... and I think Drew2K is aching to become DrewPoll2K. :lol: Must be due to the election season.

#34 OFFLINE   CliffV

CliffV

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 254 posts
Joined: Jan 24, 2006

Posted 15 September 2012 - 08:03 PM

I use the List button. My wife goes through the Menu button. (I can't get her to change.)

#35 OFFLINE   damondlt

damondlt

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,182 posts
Joined: Feb 27, 2006

Posted 16 September 2012 - 08:41 AM

List. 100%
Why would I do more steps then a one button push?

 

 

 


#36 OFFLINE   Rich

Rich

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 20,610 posts
  • LocationPiscataway, NJ
Joined: Feb 22, 2007

Posted 16 September 2012 - 09:33 AM

List. 100%
Why would I do more steps then a one button push?


Really makes you wonder what the programmers have been thinking, doesn't it? Your question is pure logic, that's what the programmers seem to lack.

Rich

#37 OFFLINE   Mike Bertelson

Mike Bertelson

    6EQUJ5 WOW!

  • Moderators
  • 13,882 posts
Joined: Jan 24, 2007

Posted 16 September 2012 - 09:37 AM

I use the List button...because that's what it's for. :grin:

Mike

µß
Since it costs 2.4¢ to produce a penny, my 2¢ worth is really 4.8¢ worth.  That 4.8¢ is my own and not the 4.8¢ of DIRECTV, Dish, or anyone else for that matter.


#38 OFFLINE   inkahauts

inkahauts

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 15,121 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2006

Posted 16 September 2012 - 11:57 AM

Really makes you wonder what the programmers have been thinking, doesn't it? Your question is pure logic, that's what the programmers seem to lack.

Rich


Why do you say this? It should absolutely be available both ways.

#39 OFFLINE   tonyd79

tonyd79

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 12,546 posts
  • LocationColumbia, MD
Joined: Jul 24, 2006

Posted 16 September 2012 - 12:02 PM

Why do you say this? It should absolutely be available both ways.


All functions should be available through menus. Those that are easily attainable through button means should not be primary options, however. Playlist should not be default for programs. But, yes, there should be no button only functions if possible (pause, ff, etc are understandable).

Hmm. No way to guide other than button?
LR: HR34-700, H24-200, Fios DVR, BD350 Blu Ray, Roku Netflix Player, Chromecast, Sony 65w850 TV
BR: HR21-200, Viso 32LX, DB350 Blu Ray
Dish: Slimline, SWM8
Other: genieGo

#40 OFFLINE   RACJ2

RACJ2

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,852 posts
Joined: Aug 02, 2008

Posted 16 September 2012 - 06:25 PM

I use the list button 100% of the time, but your poll is missing one choice (and its not OK, OK). Its walk over to your DVR and press the left arrow key. ;) You'll probably get about the same number of response to that, as your getting for the "menu" option.

And while we are on the subject of buttons, can we please have a PIP On/Off button on the remote? OK, I know I'm asking for something unusual and crazy. :rolleyes:
HR34-700, HR22-100




Protected By... spam firewall...And...