Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

How do you get to your Playlist?


  • Please log in to reply
60 replies to this topic

Poll: How do you get to your Playlist? (240 member(s) have cast votes)

How do you get to your Playlist?

  1. "LIST" button on the remote (222 votes [92.50%])

    Percentage of vote: 92.50%

  2. "MENU" > Recordings > My Playlist (12 votes [5.00%])

    Percentage of vote: 5.00%

  3. I use both methods equally (6 votes [2.50%])

    Percentage of vote: 2.50%

Vote Guests cannot vote

#26 OFFLINE   inkahauts

inkahauts

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 17,568 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2006

Posted 10 September 2012 - 10:12 PM

This one simple poll makes me ask one simple question to every universal remote manufacturer.. Where is the hard button for list on your remotes! Anyone with a dvr wants that dedicated button as a hard button, not a soft button!!!

#27 OFFLINE   B Newt

B Newt

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 720 posts
Joined: Aug 12, 2007

Posted 10 September 2012 - 10:42 PM

I'm lazy I use the one push "List" button on my trusty H 880 remote.

HR20-100 s/w version 0x192
au9 dish NO multiswitch or diplexers.
Internet connection via WIFI.


#28 OFFLINE   Drew2k

Drew2k

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,428 posts
Joined: Aug 16, 2006

Posted 11 September 2012 - 06:22 AM

On my Harmony 900 remote I have a rocker button and I use the bottom part of it as the LIST key. It's not labeled, but I know what it is and it's in a handy location so it works perfectly, but for visitors I also have LIST as a soft button so they can see it when they need it. Best of both worlds!

#29 OFFLINE   Rich

Rich

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 22,789 posts
  • LocationPiscataway, NJ
Joined: Feb 22, 2007

Posted 11 September 2012 - 07:44 AM

I always use the List button on the remote. With all my HRs I have to use the To Do list and Series Manager quite a bit and it never ceases to amaze me that the Playlist is on that page. Why? Why is it there?

Rich

#30 OFFLINE   Herdfan

Herdfan

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 6,210 posts
  • LocationTeays Valley, WV
Joined: Mar 18, 2006

Posted 11 September 2012 - 07:48 AM

The second question then is:

Once you are in your playlist, how do you select the show you want?

1) Select>Select

or

2) Play

I personally use Play because on my URC remote, Play is directly below the Down Arrow button. So my thumb falls to it very easily. I can see where on the stock remote, this would not be as convenient.

My Setup

 

 


#31 OFFLINE   jford951

jford951

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 447 posts
Joined: Oct 06, 2008

Posted 11 September 2012 - 08:04 AM

Always right to the list button
[URL="http://www.dbstalk.com/showthread.php?p=3113347&posted=1#post311334""]My Setup[/URL]

#32 OFFLINE   BAHitman

BAHitman

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 432 posts
  • LocationAustin Texas
Joined: Oct 23, 2007

Posted 11 September 2012 - 08:35 AM

list 99.9999999999999% of the time...

HR34, HR20x3, HR22, HR23, H24, H21

-BAHitman


#33 OFFLINE   TBlazer07

TBlazer07

    Grumpy Grampy

  • Registered
  • 4,777 posts
Joined: Feb 05, 2009

Posted 11 September 2012 - 12:11 PM

List button ...... and I think Drew2K is aching to become DrewPoll2K. :lol: Must be due to the election season.

#34 OFFLINE   CliffV

CliffV

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 259 posts
Joined: Jan 24, 2006

Posted 15 September 2012 - 08:03 PM

I use the List button. My wife goes through the Menu button. (I can't get her to change.)

#35 OFFLINE   damondlt

damondlt

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,147 posts
  • LocationNewfoundland, Pa
Joined: Feb 27, 2006

Posted 16 September 2012 - 08:41 AM

List. 100%
Why would I do more steps then a one button push?

Blue Ridge Communticatons

Digital HD Basic Plus, Cinemax,Showtime/TMC,Starz /Encore
Tivo T6 (Roamio Plus) Master Bedroom,Samsung 5300 40 Inch

Tivo Mini Livingroom Vizio M602i-B3 60 Inch

Tivo Mini Bedroom 2  LG 26LE5300 26 Inch
Tivo Mini Bedroom 3  Element ELEFW328 32 Inch
Cisco HD ,Bedroom office 4  Magnavox 32 inch

Arris Touchstone DG1660

Dream 60 Mbps down 3 Mbps up.

 


#36 OFFLINE   Rich

Rich

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 22,789 posts
  • LocationPiscataway, NJ
Joined: Feb 22, 2007

Posted 16 September 2012 - 09:33 AM

List. 100%
Why would I do more steps then a one button push?


Really makes you wonder what the programmers have been thinking, doesn't it? Your question is pure logic, that's what the programmers seem to lack.

Rich

#37 ONLINE   Mike Bertelson

Mike Bertelson

    6EQUJ5 WOW!

  • Moderators
  • 13,991 posts
Joined: Jan 24, 2007

Posted 16 September 2012 - 09:37 AM

I use the List button...because that's what it's for. :grin:

Mike

µß
Since it costs 1.66¢ to produce a penny, my 2¢ worth is really 3.32¢ worth.  That 3.32¢ is my own and not the 3.32¢ of DIRECTV, Dish, or anyone else for that matter.


#38 OFFLINE   inkahauts

inkahauts

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 17,568 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2006

Posted 16 September 2012 - 11:57 AM

Really makes you wonder what the programmers have been thinking, doesn't it? Your question is pure logic, that's what the programmers seem to lack.

Rich


Why do you say this? It should absolutely be available both ways.

#39 OFFLINE   tonyd79

tonyd79

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 12,949 posts
  • LocationColumbia, MD
Joined: Jul 24, 2006

Posted 16 September 2012 - 12:02 PM

Why do you say this? It should absolutely be available both ways.


All functions should be available through menus. Those that are easily attainable through button means should not be primary options, however. Playlist should not be default for programs. But, yes, there should be no button only functions if possible (pause, ff, etc are understandable).

Hmm. No way to guide other than button?
LR: HR34-700, H24-200, Fios DVR, BD350 Blu Ray, Roku Netflix Player, Chromecast, Sony 65w850 TV
BR: HR21-200, Viso 32LX, DB350 Blu Ray
Dish: Slimline, SWM8
Other: genieGo

#40 OFFLINE   RACJ2

RACJ2

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,854 posts
Joined: Aug 02, 2008

Posted 16 September 2012 - 06:25 PM

I use the list button 100% of the time, but your poll is missing one choice (and its not OK, OK). Its walk over to your DVR and press the left arrow key. ;) You'll probably get about the same number of response to that, as your getting for the "menu" option.

And while we are on the subject of buttons, can we please have a PIP On/Off button on the remote? OK, I know I'm asking for something unusual and crazy. :rolleyes:
HR34-700, HR22-100

#41 OFFLINE   Drew2k

Drew2k

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,428 posts
Joined: Aug 16, 2006

Posted 16 September 2012 - 06:58 PM

I use the list button 100% of the time, but your poll is missing one choice (and its not OK, OK). Its walk over to your DVR and press the left arrow key. ;) You'll probably get about the same number of response to that, as your getting for the "menu" option.

The LEFT key is equivalent to BACK, so it will only go to the Playlist if that was the last screen you were using, whether from the remote or the front-panel. Thus not a consistent key for accessing the Playlist and therefore not a poll option.

#42 OFFLINE   RACJ2

RACJ2

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,854 posts
Joined: Aug 02, 2008

Posted 16 September 2012 - 08:07 PM

The LEFT key is equivalent to BACK, so it will only go to the Playlist if that was the last screen you were using, whether from the remote or the front-panel. Thus not a consistent key for accessing the Playlist and therefore not a poll option.

I guess you took me literally. I was just being sarcastic, because I was suggesting what the likelihood was of someone using the menu, etc. when you could use "List". Its about the same as someone walking over to their DVR and having to press a button on it. Well almost.
HR34-700, HR22-100

#43 OFFLINE   RunnerFL

RunnerFL

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 16,252 posts
Joined: Jan 04, 2006

Posted 16 September 2012 - 08:19 PM

I use a Harmony One remote. "List" is a soft button on the screen, and "Menu" is a hard button. I do not like the soft buttons, so use "Menu".

I think the poll is somewhat flawed in that there is no need to navigate to "My Playlist". Just hit "OK" twice on "Recordings".


On my Harmony 900, same layout as Harmony One, I've programmed the down button (of the up down above the 4 way directional) to be "List". Works great.
THIS SPACE FOR RENT

#44 OFFLINE   RunnerFL

RunnerFL

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 16,252 posts
Joined: Jan 04, 2006

Posted 16 September 2012 - 08:19 PM

Nothing but "List"
THIS SPACE FOR RENT

#45 OFFLINE   RunnerFL

RunnerFL

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 16,252 posts
Joined: Jan 04, 2006

Posted 16 September 2012 - 08:20 PM

Is the LIST button on the new remote? Or will it be going away like the Pause button did?


Pause didn't/isn't going away. It's on the same button as play.
THIS SPACE FOR RENT

#46 OFFLINE   RunnerFL

RunnerFL

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 16,252 posts
Joined: Jan 04, 2006

Posted 16 September 2012 - 08:22 PM

On my Harmony 900 remote I have a rocker button and I use the bottom part of it as the LIST key. It's not labeled, but I know what it is and it's in a handy location so it works perfectly, but for visitors I also have LIST as a soft button so they can see it when they need it. Best of both worlds!


Same as I have with one exception. Visitors don't use my remote so there's no soft button "list". :lol:
THIS SPACE FOR RENT

#47 OFFLINE   NR4P

NR4P

    Dad

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 5,608 posts
  • LocationSunny Florida
Joined: Jan 15, 2007

Posted 17 September 2012 - 06:33 AM

List 100% of the time.

And I have a few year old Monster remote that has a soft button for LIST and use that. With 8 soft buttons on the color display, I can do almost anything with one button push other than scroll the lists and guides.

#48 OFFLINE   Rich

Rich

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 22,789 posts
  • LocationPiscataway, NJ
Joined: Feb 22, 2007

Posted 17 September 2012 - 09:30 AM

Why do you say this? It should absolutely be available both ways.


I understand that, but the To Do button would be a better option and then bury the Playlist option in the Manage Recordings menu. The poll numbers show that practically nobody uses the Menu option, we'd be better served with the To Do list in it's place. I think.

Rich

#49 OFFLINE   hdtvfan0001

hdtvfan0001

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 32,410 posts
Joined: Jul 28, 2004

Posted 17 September 2012 - 09:33 AM

The 80/20 rule applies.

80% of the time via LIST.

20% of the time via MENU....mostly bacause I may be in that area for other reasons already.
DBSTalk CHAT ROOM MODERATOR
DirecTV Customer Since 1996

#50 OFFLINE   mrro82

mrro82

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 643 posts
  • LocationThumb web of the mitten :>)
Joined: Sep 11, 2012

Posted 17 September 2012 - 09:47 AM

I've programmed my Harmony Ones + button on the bottom left as my list button. That's how I roll. Or push in this case. :D




Protected By... spam firewall...And...