Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Lifelong cable customer has a DirecTV installation scheduled this Wednesday


  • Please log in to reply
65 replies to this topic

#51 OFFLINE   inkahauts

inkahauts

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 17,548 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2006

Posted 20 September 2012 - 01:55 PM

As long as the cabling between the PI and the dish is RG6, you're golden. For long runs, the RG6 needs to be solid copper as opposed to copper coated steel. Even at that, many installers still use CCS cable and it works.


Uh, can you show me where DirecTV says installers can use ccs for rg6 instead of solid core copper?

...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#52 ONLINE   harsh

harsh

    Beware the Attack Basset

  • Registered
  • 20,670 posts
  • LocationSalem, OR
Joined: Jun 14, 2003

Posted 21 September 2012 - 08:32 AM

Uh, can you show me where DirecTV says installers can use ccs for rg6 instead of solid core copper?

It doesn't say that they can. That doesn't change the fact that some do it anyway.

Too often we enjoy the comfort of opinion without the discomfort of thought. -- JFK


#53 OFFLINE   hdtvfan0001

hdtvfan0001

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 32,406 posts
Joined: Jul 28, 2004

Posted 21 September 2012 - 11:57 AM

Uh, can you show me where DirecTV says installers can use ccs for rg6 instead of solid core copper?

It doesn't say that they can. That doesn't change the fact that some do it anyway.

Inky:

Sheldon will take it from here...

Posted Image
DBSTalk CHAT ROOM MODERATOR
DirecTV Customer Since 1996

#54 OFFLINE   wallfishman

wallfishman

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 509 posts
Joined: Dec 31, 2008

Posted 21 September 2012 - 05:38 PM

haha sheldon is a character...

while I hate to agree with that Dish Network dog, many, many jobs are done with copper clad wire for all the inside wiring. Example brand new homes built today are all wired with all copper clad wiring, an outlet in each room all being fed down to the electric meter. alot of basements are finished. people dont want holes drilled and black wires run all over the outside of their brand new house. And people dont want to spend custom money rewiring their entire house after the drywall is up. Most techs I know will rewire the easy stuff with solid copper. The line from the dish to the splitter solid copper. But rewiring entire prewired houses all over again? I dont know any techs that do that. It is what it is.

#55 ONLINE   harsh

harsh

    Beware the Attack Basset

  • Registered
  • 20,670 posts
  • LocationSalem, OR
Joined: Jun 14, 2003

Posted 24 September 2012 - 08:13 AM

If the issue is whether or not DIRECTV's published installation guidelines are being followed, they are not and that's not something to claim vindication over.

Too often we enjoy the comfort of opinion without the discomfort of thought. -- JFK


#56 OFFLINE   inkahauts

inkahauts

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 17,548 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2006

Posted 24 September 2012 - 12:14 PM

haha sheldon is a character...

while I hate to agree with that Dish Network dog, many, many jobs are done with copper clad wire for all the inside wiring. Example brand new homes built today are all wired with all copper clad wiring, an outlet in each room all being fed down to the electric meter. alot of basements are finished. people dont want holes drilled and black wires run all over the outside of their brand new house. And people dont want to spend custom money rewiring their entire house after the drywall is up. Most techs I know will rewire the easy stuff with solid copper. The line from the dish to the splitter solid copper. But rewiring entire prewired houses all over again? I dont know any techs that do that. It is what it is.


Any wiring done by a DirecTV tech will be with solid copper core. Heck, they have their name on their coax these days that the techs get for their trucks, so there is not even a debate about it. 3rd party companies should be the same, it's the private installer you might run into trouble with.

As for the wiring, of course that is correct. Here is the kicker to all this though, unless the runs are long, it really shouldn't matter. Only in long runs should it cause any real harm, for several reasons. When DirecTV designed swim, one of the benefits is that it doesn't use the same bandwidth as non swim, and was meant to be able to run over existing house wiring, and often times even work with rg59. They'd rather not ever do that, but it can be done, and does work for shorter distances. I know, I have tried it. They just don't want their techs doing that because often times there are other issues that cause bigger problems with existing wiring.

#57 OFFLINE   funnyfarm299

funnyfarm299

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 91 posts
Joined: Mar 03, 2012

Posted 24 September 2012 - 12:20 PM

haha sheldon is a character...

while I hate to agree with that Dish Network dog, many, many jobs are done with copper clad wire for all the inside wiring. Example brand new homes built today are all wired with all copper clad wiring, an outlet in each room all being fed down to the electric meter. alot of basements are finished. people dont want holes drilled and black wires run all over the outside of their brand new house. And people dont want to spend custom money rewiring their entire house after the drywall is up. Most techs I know will rewire the easy stuff with solid copper. The line from the dish to the splitter solid copper. But rewiring entire prewired houses all over again? I dont know any techs that do that. It is what it is.


I prewire houses, and this is not true. All of the installers in my area use quad shield solid copper RG6, but especially us because we also do D* installs.

LR: 50" Samsung plasma, Samsung bluray, HR24, Roku, Denon AVR-1912, URC MX-450 with RF.

BR1: 32" Sony LCD, H25, SnapAV HDMI balun.

BR2: 32" Acer LCD, HR24, Xbox One.

Bonus: 70" Vizio, H25, SnapAV HDMI balun


#58 ONLINE   harsh

harsh

    Beware the Attack Basset

  • Registered
  • 20,670 posts
  • LocationSalem, OR
Joined: Jun 14, 2003

Posted 24 September 2012 - 12:38 PM

3rd party companies should be the same, it's the private installer you might run into trouble with.

Is Mastec considered "in house", 3rd party or private?

Too often we enjoy the comfort of opinion without the discomfort of thought. -- JFK


#59 OFFLINE   inkahauts

inkahauts

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 17,548 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2006

Posted 24 September 2012 - 12:39 PM

I prewire houses, and this is not true. All of the installers in my area use quad shield solid copper RG6, but especially us because we also do D* installs.


That's great in your area, but that's not the case everywhere. Heck, I have seen new homes where they don't even put jacks in places that make sense because it would have taken another 20 feet of coax! Some builders in my area seem to think, just one plug in a room, and then let the people run coax along the baseboard to get it where it needs to go, who cares if its all the way to the other side of the room? Ugh! Sorry, my pet peeve for per wiring houses. Some do great,others, not so much.

#60 OFFLINE   inkahauts

inkahauts

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 17,548 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2006

Posted 24 September 2012 - 12:40 PM

Is Mastec considered "in house", 3rd party or private?


Are they who DirecTV uses to install systems when you order from DirecTV in certain areas?

#61 ONLINE   harsh

harsh

    Beware the Attack Basset

  • Registered
  • 20,670 posts
  • LocationSalem, OR
Joined: Jun 14, 2003

Posted 25 September 2012 - 08:11 AM

Are they who DirecTV uses to install systems when you order from DirecTV in certain areas?

Mastec was, at one time, the largest contractor for DIRECTV.

Too often we enjoy the comfort of opinion without the discomfort of thought. -- JFK


#62 OFFLINE   cabletech

cabletech

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 262 posts
Joined: Jan 20, 2011

Posted 25 September 2012 - 11:38 AM

harsh Mastec maybe the largest contractor now, but until a couple of years ago, Ironwood Communications was the largest, Headquarters was in Denver in the old TCI cable company building.


Employed over 500 hundred people just at that location and only about 80 were installers.

#63 OFFLINE   inkahauts

inkahauts

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 17,548 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2006

Posted 25 September 2012 - 12:39 PM

Mastec was, at one time, the largest contractor for DIRECTV.


Then you should know they are third party shouldn't you?

#64 ONLINE   harsh

harsh

    Beware the Attack Basset

  • Registered
  • 20,670 posts
  • LocationSalem, OR
Joined: Jun 14, 2003

Posted 26 September 2012 - 08:21 AM

Then you should know they are third party shouldn't you?

DIRECTV bought a lot of the Mastec shops and they still seem to be employing a lot of CCS. I'm not sure how that reconciles with what you're insisting.

Too often we enjoy the comfort of opinion without the discomfort of thought. -- JFK


#65 OFFLINE   wallfishman

wallfishman

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 509 posts
Joined: Dec 31, 2008

Posted 26 September 2012 - 08:35 AM

DIRECTV bought a lot of the Mastec shops and they still seem to be employing a lot of CCS. I'm not sure how that reconciles with what you're insisting.


Thats pretty weird, i dont know where you get your info from. Techs that work for Directv O&O , Mastec, and Directsat are all provided their materials for them. They are all provided only solid copper wire. So if one of those 3 come to your house and runs a wire for you it would be solid copper. I highly doubt any of them would go buy their own copper clad wire. Now any of these might choose to use some prewired copper clad wire as I explained earlier.

But hey If you know firsthand of a Mastec shop that their techs are being given copper clad wire to use instead of solid copper, then post the address of that shop . we are all curious as to who is doing this

#66 OFFLINE   cabletech

cabletech

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 262 posts
Joined: Jan 20, 2011

Posted 26 September 2012 - 01:12 PM

Having worked with the DTV order system, unless things have changed in the last 21months, all DTV direct tv employees, Mastec and one or two other BIG contractor recieve there materials thru the DTV supply chain, which, 1) supplies ONLY scc cable, and 2) 99.8% of these materials come from Perferct10.

The ONLY installers that do not normally have all scc is your local store front dealer/installer.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...