Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Hr-24 frustrations.....


  • Please log in to reply
41 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   RGoldman

RGoldman

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 27 posts
Joined: Mar 29, 2007

Posted 11 September 2012 - 10:50 AM

Finally got my Hr-24 replacement after a year of dealing with customer service and not getting anywhere. I was having to reset the receiver once or twice a day as it would freeze up and become completely unresponsive. Activated new reciever last week and everything is good until yesterday. Exact same issue returns. Reset, everything works until turning the reciever on this morning. Frozen once again. Reset.... It seems to me that I should not be having to manually reset every single day. Customer service has moved me up to a new level and they had me cover up the ir port and unplug the off air tuner and are waiting until Friday to see what happens.
Is anyone else having issues with their hr-24's or did I just happen to get 2 defective receivers in a row?

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,614 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 11 September 2012 - 10:58 AM

I've had a couple now and not had any of these issues.

Two bad ones in a row "seems unlikely" [not impossible], so this might suggest something else is causing this.
A.K.A VOS

#3 OFFLINE   lparsons21

lparsons21

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 3,271 posts
  • LocationHerrin, IL
Joined: Mar 04, 2006

Posted 11 September 2012 - 11:06 AM

I agree. I'd be looking at heat and/or power.

Lloyd
Receiver : DirecTV Genie HR44-700, Dish Hopper w/Sling & Super Joey
HDTV : Mitsi WD-73742 73" 3D DLP
Surround: Denon AVR-2113ci 7.1 Setup

 


#4 OFFLINE   Stuart Sweet

Stuart Sweet

    The Shadow Knows!

  • Super Moderators
  • 36,822 posts
Joined: Jun 18, 2006

Posted 11 September 2012 - 11:10 AM

I think unplugging the off-air module is a good diagnostic tool. It might also help us here, if you described the installation a bit, how you have it connected, what sort of networking you're using, etc.
Opinions expressed by me are my own and do not necessarily reflect
those of DBSTalk.com, DIRECTV, DISH, The Signal Group, or any other company.

#5 OFFLINE   jimmie57

jimmie57

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,073 posts
  • LocationTexas City, TX
Joined: Jun 26, 2010

Posted 11 September 2012 - 11:48 AM

Finally got my Hr-24 replacement after a year of dealing with customer service and not getting anywhere. I was having to reset the receiver once or twice a day as it would freeze up and become completely unresponsive. Activated new reciever last week and everything is good until yesterday. Exact same issue returns. Reset, everything works until turning the reciever on this morning. Frozen once again. Reset.... It seems to me that I should not be having to manually reset every single day. Customer service has moved me up to a new level and they had me cover up the ir port and unplug the off air tuner and are waiting until Friday to see what happens.
Is anyone else having issues with their hr-24's or did I just happen to get 2 defective receivers in a row?



Can you set the receiver and remote to operate in RF mode ? If you do not have an RF remote, get them to send you one.
IR interference can cause the unit to freeze up and stop responding.

Press the Info button on the remote and hold it for a few seconds ( with the tape off the sensor eye ) until the system info comes to the screen. Choose more Info. The temperature should be at the bottom of that screen. What is the temp ?

Question for previous posters: If it was heat related or power related wouldn't it probably also be resetting itself.

Thanks

DirecTV customer since 1996 - Current :Slimline 3 SWM,   HR24-100 HDMI to 32" Sharp LED,
HR24-100 Component cables to 46" Samsung LCD & Optical Cable to Yamaha AVR, H21-200 HDMI to Yamaha AVR & HDMI to 52" Mitsubishi LCD


#6 OFFLINE   RGoldman

RGoldman

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 27 posts
Joined: Mar 29, 2007

Posted 11 September 2012 - 02:05 PM

Thanks for the suggestions and I will go check the temperature. I have an RF remote already.
The receiver is connected via hdmi to a Denon A/V receiver. The TV and Denon receiver have been working perfectly for years. Had Dish prior to changing over to Directv last year with the same setup, location, etc, and never had a problem like this.
What's strange is that they tell me they can't help me unless the receiver is frozen when I call them which is really a pain since it's always first thing in the morning when I am trying to get ready for work and don't have time to sit and explain the issues to a person that doesn't understand me for 15 minutes before they will finally transfer me to someone that can help. The first thing that person does is reset my receiver and then go through a bunch of things that are always ok. It's never less than an hour from the time I dial the phone until they tell me to call back next time it happens. It gets to a point where just hitting reset and waiting for it to come back alive is simpler than trying to get them to fix the problem!

#7 OFFLINE   jimmie57

jimmie57

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,073 posts
  • LocationTexas City, TX
Joined: Jun 26, 2010

Posted 11 September 2012 - 02:10 PM

If it always freezes in the morning I have to ask,
Have you gone into Menu, Settings, Power Saving and turned that feature OFF ?

DirecTV customer since 1996 - Current :Slimline 3 SWM,   HR24-100 HDMI to 32" Sharp LED,
HR24-100 Component cables to 46" Samsung LCD & Optical Cable to Yamaha AVR, H21-200 HDMI to Yamaha AVR & HDMI to 52" Mitsubishi LCD


#8 OFFLINE   RGoldman

RGoldman

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 27 posts
Joined: Mar 29, 2007

Posted 11 September 2012 - 02:44 PM

Power saving has always been turned off. Internal temp is 111F.

#9 OFFLINE   pandafish

pandafish

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 20 posts
Joined: Apr 20, 2012

Posted 12 September 2012 - 07:57 PM

When I first ordered Directv I received an HR24 that would constantly freeze. It mostly did it if I hit the skip back or forward more than once. It would also happen if I had it going fast forward and I passed the point I wanted and I would hit back. I had a tech come out and he replaced the lnb saying there was moisture in it. That did not fix the problem. I called tech support again and finally the next tech replaced the DVR. I believe the first one I had was HR24-100. The replacement is an HR24-200 and it hasn't happened since. This was 2 years ago.

#10 OFFLINE   inkahauts

inkahauts

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,653 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2006

Posted 12 September 2012 - 08:27 PM

How many receivers total i your system? How are they all wired? Are you connected to the internet? What Dish do you have? Some more detail may help us suggest a few things to try, to see if you can narrow down where your issues is coming from, if not eliminate it altogether.

#11 OFFLINE   CATCRAW

CATCRAW

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 135 posts
Joined: Mar 27, 2008

Posted 13 September 2012 - 09:16 AM

I've just started having a similar issue with a HR22-100. It has worked perfectly since it was installed, about 3-4 years ago. Now it turns itself off and I have to unplug and wait a few seconds for it to turn back on. Power save is OFF and CS told me the same thing - everything is fine but to call right when it happens. I also have a HR 21-200 and it works fine.

#12 OFFLINE   RGoldman

RGoldman

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 27 posts
Joined: Mar 29, 2007

Posted 13 September 2012 - 09:34 AM

Frozen again this morning. This time the screen was basically a green plaid pattern that was flashing. That is the first time I have seen that. Called and they are sending someone out to replace the receiver on Monday. They wanted to just mail me a new one but I told them that since I am paying for their home prtoection plan they should send someone out this time. Would be nice to actually have some equipment that works.
There are three receivers total. Only one DVR and that is the one that has the problems. They were all installed by Directv so they are wired however they should be. They ran all new cable when they did the installation. No internet connection. Not sure what dish it is but it was brand new and installed with the system last year.
After a week or so of the original installation, the receiver would be frozen first thing in the morning after being off all night. A reset was teh only thing to get it to work. Got to be where it was required once or twice a day before they sent me a new receiver two weeks ago. The new one worked perfectly for about a week before it was frozen first thing in the morning just like the old one. I disconnected the off air tuner and covered the IR port like the tech told me on Tuesday. This morning, green screen and unresponsive to front panel or remote.

#13 OFFLINE   harsh

harsh

    Beware the Attack Basset

  • Registered
  • 18,242 posts
  • LocationSalem, OR
Joined: Jun 14, 2003

Posted 13 September 2012 - 09:50 AM

They wanted to just mail me a new one but I told them that since I am paying for their home prtoection plan they should send someone out this time. Would be nice to actually have some equipment that works.

Here's hoping that if there's an external problem, it manifests itself while the technician is there. It doesn't sound likely from what you've described.

Too often we enjoy the comfort of opinion without the discomfort of thought. -- JFK


#14 OFFLINE   RGoldman

RGoldman

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 27 posts
Joined: Mar 29, 2007

Posted 13 September 2012 - 09:58 AM

I told them the same thing but at least they can replace the receiver and take the old one with them so I don;t have to drive to town and mail another one back. The first one I sent back is still floating around between fedex and USPS and neither of them seems to know who has it at this point.

#15 OFFLINE   RGoldman

RGoldman

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 27 posts
Joined: Mar 29, 2007

Posted 17 September 2012 - 03:40 PM

Tech was here today. Realigned the dish and had me connect the hdmi out of the receiver directly to the TV and then use an optical cable for audio to my a/v receiver. We shall see if that does anything for the problem or not..... Had to reset the receiver yesterday morning with the plaid green flashing screen of death once again.
I am skeptical that this will resolve the situation but it's something new to try this week.

#16 OFFLINE   harsh

harsh

    Beware the Attack Basset

  • Registered
  • 18,242 posts
  • LocationSalem, OR
Joined: Jun 14, 2003

Posted 20 September 2012 - 08:17 AM

Tech was here today. Realigned the dish and had me connect the hdmi out of the receiver directly to the TV and then use an optical cable for audio to my a/v receiver.

You should confirm whether your TV passes surround sound coming in from an HDMI source. Many, if not most, do not.

Too often we enjoy the comfort of opinion without the discomfort of thought. -- JFK


#17 OFFLINE   BuLL

BuLL

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 28 posts
Joined: Apr 18, 2010

Posted 20 September 2012 - 09:26 AM

Check out these threads. Sounds like the same problem.

http://www.dbstalk.c...ad.php?t=208853

http://www.dbstalk.c...ad.php?t=205206

#18 OFFLINE   Shades228

Shades228

    Hall Of Fame

  • Banned User
  • 5,914 posts
Joined: Mar 18, 2008

Posted 20 September 2012 - 11:56 AM

You should confirm whether your TV passes surround sound coming in from an HDMI source. Many, if not most, do not.


What's the point of that unless you're assuming that he has his optical going from an output on his TV to his AVR rather than from the receiver to the AVR. Is that how a DISH installer would do it?
All comments are my own. Unless specifically stated, my views do NOT represent the views of DIRECTV

#19 OFFLINE   smitbret

smitbret

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 130 posts
Joined: Mar 26, 2011

Posted 20 September 2012 - 01:43 PM

Finally got my Hr-24 replacement after a year of dealing with customer service and not getting anywhere. I was having to reset the receiver once or twice a day as it would freeze up and become completely unresponsive. Activated new reciever last week and everything is good until yesterday. Exact same issue returns. Reset, everything works until turning the reciever on this morning. Frozen once again. Reset.... It seems to me that I should not be having to manually reset every single day. Customer service has moved me up to a new level and they had me cover up the ir port and unplug the off air tuner and are waiting until Friday to see what happens.
Is anyone else having issues with their hr-24's or did I just happen to get 2 defective receivers in a row?


This is why it took a year to get one to you. In the end, it's probably not the box that's an issue.

I've had two of them for more than 2 years and a 3rd for 10 months and have not had a lick of trouble. Sounds almost like a signal issue.

#20 OFFLINE   harsh

harsh

    Beware the Attack Basset

  • Registered
  • 18,242 posts
  • LocationSalem, OR
Joined: Jun 14, 2003

Posted 20 September 2012 - 01:45 PM

Tech was here today. Realigned the dish and had me connect the hdmi out of the receiver directly to the TV and then use an optical cable for audio to my a/v receiver.

What's the point of that unless you're assuming that he has his optical going from an output on his TV to his AVR rather than from the receiver to the AVR. Is that how a DISH installer would do it?

It isn't clear whether the optical cable came from the TV or the DVR nor whether the tech indicated one way or the other.

Too often we enjoy the comfort of opinion without the discomfort of thought. -- JFK





spam firewall