Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

The iPhone 5/iOS 6 thread


  • Please log in to reply
347 replies to this topic

#321 OFFLINE   dpeters11

dpeters11

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 12,737 posts
  • LocationCincinnati
Joined: May 30, 2007

Posted 26 September 2012 - 10:24 AM

That is not correct. I have an HTC EVO LTE with Sprint and am perfectly able to do simultaneous voice and data and have been since I got the phone in May.


In terms of iPhone, they are correct. No simultaneous voice and data if wifi isn't used. All other Verizon LTE phones do support it.

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#322 OFFLINE   Lord Vader

Lord Vader

    Special Member

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 8,173 posts
  • LocationGalactic Empire
Joined: Sep 20, 2004

Posted 26 September 2012 - 10:27 AM

I do NOT need WiFi access to do simultaneous voice and data with my Sprint phone. I have been quite able to do both simultaneously since I got the thing in May.

FAITH: I find the lack of it disturbing.

Opinions are my own but should be those of all Americans, who would be much better off intellectually, psychologically, and emotionally if that were the case.


#323 OFFLINE   dpeters11

dpeters11

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 12,737 posts
  • LocationCincinnati
Joined: May 30, 2007

Posted 26 September 2012 - 10:53 AM

I do NOT need WiFi access to do simultaneous voice and data with my Sprint phone. I have been quite able to do both simultaneously since I got the thing in May.


Correct. You have Android, they have the hardware to support simultaneous voice and data. The iPhone 5 does not, it's missing one antenna.

#324 OFFLINE   Lord Vader

Lord Vader

    Special Member

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 8,173 posts
  • LocationGalactic Empire
Joined: Sep 20, 2004

Posted 26 September 2012 - 11:21 AM

:D

FAITH: I find the lack of it disturbing.

Opinions are my own but should be those of all Americans, who would be much better off intellectually, psychologically, and emotionally if that were the case.


#325 OFFLINE   RunnerFL

RunnerFL

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 15,794 posts
Joined: Jan 04, 2006

Posted 26 September 2012 - 12:24 PM

That is not correct. I have an HTC EVO LTE with Sprint and am perfectly able to do simultaneous voice and data and have been since I got the phone in May.


I was responding to someone asking about an iPhone. My statement is 100% correct.
THIS SPACE FOR RENT

#326 OFFLINE   Lord Vader

Lord Vader

    Special Member

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 8,173 posts
  • LocationGalactic Empire
Joined: Sep 20, 2004

Posted 26 September 2012 - 06:12 PM

Then perhaps you should be more grammatically careful. :P

FAITH: I find the lack of it disturbing.

Opinions are my own but should be those of all Americans, who would be much better off intellectually, psychologically, and emotionally if that were the case.


#327 OFFLINE   RunnerFL

RunnerFL

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 15,794 posts
Joined: Jan 04, 2006

Posted 26 September 2012 - 07:01 PM

Then perhaps you should be more grammatically careful. :P


My grammar was just fine as well.
THIS SPACE FOR RENT

#328 OFFLINE   dpeters11

dpeters11

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 12,737 posts
  • LocationCincinnati
Joined: May 30, 2007

Posted 26 September 2012 - 07:35 PM

Two things I learned a long time ago, never disagree with a dark lord of the Sith, or a teacher :)

#329 OFFLINE   Laxguy

Laxguy

    Fortuna! Fameux des Halles

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 11,958 posts
  • LocationWinters, California
Joined: Dec 02, 2010

Posted 26 September 2012 - 08:43 PM

Then perhaps you should be more grammatically careful. :P


??

His grammar was fine; 'twas you who misread his post! So, apology for the dust up when you were wrong, perhaps? Yes?
"Laxguy" means a guy who loves lacrosse.

#330 OFFLINE   Lord Vader

Lord Vader

    Special Member

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 8,173 posts
  • LocationGalactic Empire
Joined: Sep 20, 2004

Posted 26 September 2012 - 10:04 PM

My grammar was just fine as well.


It was not. Thank you for illustrating it twice. ;)

Two things I learned a long time ago, never disagree with a dark lord of the Sith, or a teacher :)


...or an umpire. !Devil_lol

??

His grammar was fine; 'twas you who misread his post! So, apology for the dust up when you were wrong, perhaps? Yes?


Negative

FAITH: I find the lack of it disturbing.

Opinions are my own but should be those of all Americans, who would be much better off intellectually, psychologically, and emotionally if that were the case.


#331 OFFLINE   RunnerFL

RunnerFL

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 15,794 posts
Joined: Jan 04, 2006

Posted 27 September 2012 - 06:53 AM

It was not. Thank you for illustrating it twice. ;)


Put your glasses on. There was absolutely nothing wrong with my post. You either misread my post or didn't bother reading what I quoted.

End of discussion...
THIS SPACE FOR RENT

#332 OFFLINE   raott

raott

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,125 posts
Joined: Nov 23, 2005

Posted 27 September 2012 - 07:18 AM

Two hardware issues so far with my wife's phone.

First was a "No Sim Card" message. Many others have complained about it on the Apple message boards. ATT replaced the Sim card and it is working fine now.

Now the phone is intermittently not charging, despite all connectors being seated. I guess it will be a trip to the Apple store now and hopefully they have replacement phones in stock.
SONY KDS-55A3000 and a couple of Vizios; SWM16; HR34 NR; HR22 NR; HR20-700 NR; H23-600 NR; R22 NR

#333 OFFLINE   Lord Vader

Lord Vader

    Special Member

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 8,173 posts
  • LocationGalactic Empire
Joined: Sep 20, 2004

Posted 27 September 2012 - 11:26 AM

Put your glasses on. There was absolutely nothing wrong with my post. You either misread my post or didn't bother reading what I quoted.

End of discussion...


Actually, there was. Study hard. ;)

FAITH: I find the lack of it disturbing.

Opinions are my own but should be those of all Americans, who would be much better off intellectually, psychologically, and emotionally if that were the case.


#334 OFFLINE   Stewart Vernon

Stewart Vernon

    Excellent Adventurer

  • Moderators
  • 19,531 posts
  • LocationKittrell, NC
Joined: Jan 07, 2005

Posted 27 September 2012 - 01:02 PM

This is an iPhone 5/iOS 6 thread... so until some other manufacturer makes an iPhone OR a phone that runs iOS 6, it should be assumed any statements about what one can or cannot do with AT&T, Sprint, Verizon relates to iPhone 5 and iOS 6...

So, please no more attacking each other instead of the topic.

Thank you!

-- I like to go fast (not really)


#335 OFFLINE   Alan Gordon

Alan Gordon

    Chancellor

  • Registered
  • 8,743 posts
  • LocationDawson, Georgia
Joined: Jun 07, 2004

Posted 27 September 2012 - 01:13 PM

Thanks for the advice, but it didn't fix the problem.

I brought my iPAD to work today, and Location Services is working fine here, so it's apparently not an iOS 6 issue, but most likely related to settings on a new router at home.

I'll do some investigating later this week and see if I can get it working at home again.


I went into my router's setup menu and couldn't find anything that might be the problem and gave up for the day. I was playing with my iPAD later that night and Location Services is now working... :rolleyes:

~Alan

#336 OFFLINE   Shades228

Shades228

    Hall Of Fame

  • Banned User
  • 5,914 posts
Joined: Mar 18, 2008

Posted 27 September 2012 - 02:48 PM

I went into my router's setup menu and couldn't find anything that might be the problem and gave up for the day. I was playing with my iPAD later that night and Location Services is now working... :rolleyes:

~Alan


Maybe Apple maps had your house in space as location services are not supposed to work outside of the atmosphere.
All comments are my own. Unless specifically stated, my views do NOT represent the views of DIRECTV

#337 OFFLINE   RunnerFL

RunnerFL

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 15,794 posts
Joined: Jan 04, 2006

Posted 27 September 2012 - 03:40 PM

Maybe Apple maps had your house in space as location services are not supposed to work outside of the atmosphere.


:lol: Best explanation yet.
THIS SPACE FOR RENT

#338 OFFLINE   Alan Gordon

Alan Gordon

    Chancellor

  • Registered
  • 8,743 posts
  • LocationDawson, Georgia
Joined: Jun 07, 2004

Posted 27 September 2012 - 09:59 PM

Maybe Apple maps had your house in space as location services are not supposed to work outside of the atmosphere.


That would be new...

I still get a kick out of how entering my address in Google Maps has my home two miles North of where I am, but Apple Maps has my home 4-5 miles South of where I am.

Space wouldn't surprise me... :)


~Alan

#339 ONLINE   dennisj00

dennisj00

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 8,390 posts
  • LocationLake Norman, NC
Joined: Sep 27, 2007

Posted 28 September 2012 - 05:41 AM

So the average is pretty close!!

Spending to stimulate the economy as fast as the credit cards will allow!

My Setup / Weather at Lake Norman!/ Boathouse BEES
DLB, MRV, nomad, HDGUI are HERE! . . . We're DONE!


#340 OFFLINE   The Merg

The Merg

    1*

  • Registered
  • 10,253 posts
  • LocationNorthern VA
Joined: Jun 24, 2007

Posted 29 September 2012 - 09:55 AM

Anyone else getting hit with the No SIM Card issue? Had it pop up yesterday once and a reboot of the phone fixed it. Today, it popped up with an Invalid SIM message. A reboot gave me a SIM Failure message. A second reboot had the phone working again. I think I might need to make a trip to a VZW store.

- Merg

Today's problems don't worry me, I haven't solved yesterday's yet.

SlimLine-3 Dish w/ SWM16 (HD Service / WHDVR) / Full Setup
HR34-700 / Panasonic TC-P50G25 HDTV / HDMI / Networked - DECA / Family Room
HR44-700 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom

HR24-100 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom





spam firewall