Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

The iPhone 5/iOS 6 thread


  • Please log in to reply
347 replies to this topic

#341 OFFLINE   Shades228

Shades228

    Hall Of Fame

  • Banned User
  • 5,914 posts
Joined: Mar 18, 2008

Posted 29 September 2012 - 11:48 AM

Anyone else getting hit with the No SIM Card issue? Had it pop up yesterday once and a reboot of the phone fixed it. Today, it popped up with an Invalid SIM message. A reboot gave me a SIM Failure message. A second reboot had the phone working again. I think I might need to make a trip to a VZW store.

- Merg


This issue is all over the net. I think most people just get it replaced.
All comments are my own. Unless specifically stated, my views do NOT represent the views of DIRECTV

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#342 ONLINE   dpeters11

dpeters11

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 13,134 posts
  • LocationCincinnati
Joined: May 30, 2007

Posted 30 September 2012 - 08:41 PM

Verizon iPhone 5 users, be sure to go to Settings/General/About. You should get a carrier update prompt, follow those instructions (select OK, then completely turn off your iPhone, then boot it back up. Apparently there is an issue where it can use Verizon data instead of wifi.

http://www.macrumors...rizon-iphone-5/

#343 OFFLINE   The Merg

The Merg

    1*

  • Registered
  • 10,267 posts
  • LocationNorthern VA
Joined: Jun 24, 2007

Posted 30 September 2012 - 09:52 PM

Good to know they publicized this... :nono:

- Merg

Today's problems don't worry me, I haven't solved yesterday's yet.

SlimLine-3 Dish w/ SWM16 (HD Service / WHDVR) / Full Setup
HR34-700 / Panasonic TC-P50G25 HDTV / HDMI / Networked - DECA / Family Room
HR44-700 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom

HR24-100 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom


#344 ONLINE   dpeters11

dpeters11

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 13,134 posts
  • LocationCincinnati
Joined: May 30, 2007

Posted 01 October 2012 - 04:49 AM

Good to know they publicized this... :nono:

- Merg


It may just require shutting the phone down, but I know people can go quite a while without a full shutdown.

#345 OFFLINE   RunnerFL

RunnerFL

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 15,890 posts
Joined: Jan 04, 2006

Posted 12 October 2012 - 04:13 PM

Has anyone been able to get their hands on a cheapy cable yet to see if they actually work or not?
THIS SPACE FOR RENT

#346 OFFLINE   dmspen

dmspen

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,431 posts
Joined: Dec 01, 2006

Posted 31 October 2012 - 07:57 AM

Got my iPhone 5 yesterday. My wife and daughter drooled over it.

Everything great so far. LTE speeds are fantastic. Last measurment at home was 25M down 19M up! Yippee!

Even in the middle of my work building I'm getting 15M down and 3 up. Can't complain!

Now about that connector...to repeat above...anyone tried the chepie cables yet?

#347 OFFLINE   klang

klang

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,268 posts
  • LocationNear Houston, TX
Joined: Oct 14, 2003

Posted 31 October 2012 - 08:29 AM

I've only bought Apple stuff so far. One thing to watch out for when you buy a case, neither the Lightning Adapter nor the cabled Lightning Adapter would fit through the opening in the first case I bought.

#348 OFFLINE   RunnerFL

RunnerFL

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 15,890 posts
Joined: Jan 04, 2006

Posted 31 October 2012 - 08:47 AM

I gave up waiting on someone to report on cheapy cables and went ahead and bought Apple cables. Apple's site said they would ship in "1 - 2 weeks" but I had them in 2 days from China via FedEx.
THIS SPACE FOR RENT




Protected By... spam firewall...And...