Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Hopper question


  • Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   ally68

ally68

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 58 posts
Joined: May 10, 2005

Posted 12 September 2012 - 05:44 PM

Thinking of ditching 722k for hopper setup
Do all the joeys need to be connected to Internet or just the hopper?

Also my 722 gets real hot have small fan on it is hopper similar?

Thanks

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,758 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 12 September 2012 - 05:53 PM

Very hot. Using Ethernet at home and H2k to router will give Internet on Js. Or they will install HIC box (gateway from MoCA to Internet) one for all boxes. See diagrams at www.dishuser.org/hopper.php

#3 OFFLINE   ally68

ally68

    AllStar

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 58 posts
Joined: May 10, 2005

Posted 12 September 2012 - 06:18 PM

Can I keep it in my cabinet with out it over heating

#4 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,758 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 12 September 2012 - 06:33 PM

you could but better avoid that place - it will freeze sometimes

#5 OFFLINE   ally68

ally68

    AllStar

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 58 posts
Joined: May 10, 2005

Posted 12 September 2012 - 08:38 PM

Let me ask you this. right now I have my home theater setup in my
Living room with my 722 in my cabinet.

If I put the hopper down stairs with other tv and a Joey in cabinet with main setup
Will I lose any sound or picture quality or sacrafice and features in my main setup

#6 OFFLINE   James Long

James Long

    Ready for Uplink!

  • Super Moderators
  • 39,515 posts
Joined: Apr 17, 2003

Posted 12 September 2012 - 09:05 PM

A Hopper has picture in picture, a Joey does not. And there are a couple of apps that I believe work better on the Hopper than the Joey ... but otherwise, placing the Hopper in a cooler location and using the Joey in the main location is workable.

#7 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,758 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 12 September 2012 - 09:34 PM

Or make a cooler for it or see what others did here to cool the "heaters" down. J btw running hot too; I would put it in vertical position as mandatory requirement.

#8 OFFLINE   saberfly

saberfly

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 195 posts
Joined: Apr 04, 2010

Posted 12 September 2012 - 10:34 PM

My hopper dosent get as hot as my 722 did in the same place in the cabinet. The joey on the other hand is on fire.

#9 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,758 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 13 September 2012 - 12:15 AM

My hopper dosent get as hot as my 722 did in the same place in the cabinet. The joey on the other hand is on fire.


Try to move it to the left and touch underlying surface. Also try to touch underneath at its right ... Tell us what you got.

#10 OFFLINE   dmspen

dmspen

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,386 posts
Joined: Dec 01, 2006

Posted 14 September 2012 - 02:31 PM

My joeys are very hot too. The Hopper seems OK.

#11 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,758 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 14 September 2012 - 02:39 PM

My joeys are very hot too. The Hopper seems OK.


Did you try do what I wrote above ?

#12 OFFLINE   uawildcat7

uawildcat7

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 6 posts
Joined: Sep 22, 2012

Posted 23 September 2012 - 08:39 AM

Ally,
Did you go from just 722k to Hopper and if so how are you liking the hopper/Joey? I was thinking of doing the same.

#13 OFFLINE   some guy

some guy

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 413 posts
Joined: Oct 26, 2012

Posted 26 October 2012 - 10:04 PM

The joeys run hot because they don't have a built in fan. They are safe.

#14 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,758 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 27 October 2012 - 12:56 AM

Do you know, the XiP110 device designed with a fan ?




spam firewall