Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

OTA antenna recommendation?


  • Please log in to reply
51 replies to this topic

#26 OFFLINE   jimmie57

jimmie57

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,482 posts
  • LocationTexas City, TX
Joined: Jun 26, 2010

Posted 15 September 2012 - 04:22 PM

I am in Texas City, south of you. I have a small powered antenna on the den wall that is about 6 feet off the ground and I get a ton of channels here.
The 2 that I have a problem with is (Delete PBS), channel (Delete 8) channel 11 CBS and 13, ABC.
Channels 2, (Delete 13, ABC), 20, 26 and 39 come in fine. There are several Spanish channels that I don't watch because I do not speak the Spanish, but they come in also.

You are a lot closer than me and way higher off the ground. I would think most anything would work fine for you, provided there is nothing between you and the towers.

Edited to fix channels.

Edited by jimmie57, 15 September 2012 - 06:32 PM.

DirecTV customer since 1996 - Current :Slimline 3 SWM, HR24-100 Component cables to 46" Samsung LCD & Optical Cable to Yamaha AVR, H21-200 HDMI to Yamaha AVR & HDMI to 52" Mitsubishi LCD


...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#27 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 42,142 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 15 September 2012 - 04:43 PM

Sounds good. I had looked at it earlier & will give it a shot. After all, it can't hurt to try.

"mine" and this is on the south [wall too] end of the complex and all the towers are to the north.
I need/use "real" channels 7 & 11

http://forums.solids...11&d=1346782770
A.K.A VOS

#28 OFFLINE   Lord Vader

Lord Vader

    Supreme Member

  • Topic Starter
  • DBSTalk Club
  • 8,430 posts
  • LocationGalactic Empire
Joined: Sep 20, 2004

Posted 15 September 2012 - 04:46 PM

I am in Texas City, south of you. I have a small powered antenna on the den wall that is about 6 feet off the ground and I get a ton of channels here.
The 2 that I have a problem with is PBS, channel 8 and CBS, channel 11.
Channels 2, 13, 20, 26 and 39 come in fine. There are several Spanish channels that I don't watch because I do not speak the Spanish, but they come in also.

You are a lot closer than me and way higher off the ground. I would think most anything would work fine for you, provided there is nothing between you and the towers.


CBS, huh? Funny, but that's the same network/channel with which I have problems in my primary residence in suburban Chicago. In all the years of living 30 miles west/southwest of Chicago, I was never able to tune in WBBM CBS Channel 2. Never. No matter what I tried.


"mine" and this is on the south [wall too] end of the complex and all the towers are to the north.

http://forums.solids...11&d=1346782770


Almost looks like a big nocotine patch on the wall. :P

BTW, that's such a tiny TV! :D

FAITH: I find the lack of it disturbing.

 


#29 OFFLINE   Davenlr

Davenlr

    Geek til I die

  • Registered
  • 9,090 posts
Joined: Sep 16, 2006

Posted 15 September 2012 - 04:52 PM

In all the years of living 30 miles west/southwest of Chicago, I was never able to tune in WBBM CBS Channel 2. Never. No matter what I tried.


That is funny, because I lived 25 miles southwest of Milwaukee, and I got WBBS real good. Almost as good as I got WLS and WGN.

Tivo Premier XL4, Tivo Premier, Tivo HD whole home on Xfinity HD, DirecTv Whole Home with 39" high gain KaKu dish, Roku3,SageTv 8 TB Win8 Server -> DVDO Edge-> Denon AVR, Klipsch KB15's/Panasonic 55ST60 plasma"


#30 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 42,142 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 15 September 2012 - 04:55 PM

Almost looks like a big nocotine patch on the wall. :P

BTW, that's such a tiny TV! :D

yeah a 46" 1080p from 6' is all I could fit.

BTW it's "up there" because multipath was a problem in all other locations and other indoor antennas.

I don't have multipath issues anymore :D
A.K.A VOS

#31 OFFLINE   Lord Vader

Lord Vader

    Supreme Member

  • Topic Starter
  • DBSTalk Club
  • 8,430 posts
  • LocationGalactic Empire
Joined: Sep 20, 2004

Posted 15 September 2012 - 05:29 PM

Well, I'm going to test it out on my bedroom HR24/AM21 first. If it works well there. I'll order another to connect to an HR20-700 in the living room.

FAITH: I find the lack of it disturbing.

 


#32 OFFLINE   jimmie57

jimmie57

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,482 posts
  • LocationTexas City, TX
Joined: Jun 26, 2010

Posted 15 September 2012 - 06:27 PM

Actually I made an error in my previous post.
The channels I have problems with are 11, CBS and 13 , ABC.
If you go to this site I think I found the problem. This little powered antenna does not get the VHF stations and 11 and 13 are VHF. All the ones I get are UHF.
http://www.antennaweb.org/Address.aspx

I just tested with a very old set of rabbit ears and I can get 11 and 13 with those.

Edited by jimmie57, 15 September 2012 - 06:33 PM.

DirecTV customer since 1996 - Current :Slimline 3 SWM, HR24-100 Component cables to 46" Samsung LCD & Optical Cable to Yamaha AVR, H21-200 HDMI to Yamaha AVR & HDMI to 52" Mitsubishi LCD


#33 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 42,142 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 15 September 2012 - 06:37 PM

Well, I'm going to test it out on my bedroom HR24/AM21 first. If it works well there. I'll order another to connect to an HR20-700 in the living room.

"Smart"

You'll be surprised at how many different directions/ways it works.

Vertical and laying it down flat.
A.K.A VOS

#34 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 42,142 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 15 September 2012 - 06:39 PM

Actually I made an error in my previous post.
The channels I have problems with are 11, CBS and 13 , ABC.
If you go to this site I think I found the problem. This little powered antenna does not get the VHF stations and 11 and 13 are VHF. All the ones I get are UHF.
http://www.antennaweb.org/Address.aspx

I just tested with a very old set of rabbit ears and I can get 11 and 13 with those.

I did my best to do an apples to apples between my rabbit ears and this HD blade, here:
http://forums.solids...ool-rabbit-ears
A.K.A VOS

#35 OFFLINE   Lord Vader

Lord Vader

    Supreme Member

  • Topic Starter
  • DBSTalk Club
  • 8,430 posts
  • LocationGalactic Empire
Joined: Sep 20, 2004

Posted 15 September 2012 - 06:40 PM

"Smart"

You'll be surprised at how many different directions/ways it works.

Vertical and laying it down flat.


Sounds good. BTW, for my bedroom, I do have the ability to mount it outside, because one of the entrances to my balcony is through the master BR.

FAITH: I find the lack of it disturbing.

 


#36 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 42,142 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 15 September 2012 - 07:03 PM

Sounds good. BTW, for my bedroom, I do have the ability to mount it outside, because one of the entrances to my balcony is through the master BR.

I played with my rabbit ears in every location I could think of, and found what I thought was my "sweet spot".
A/B'd the antennas in this location.
Since the blade does have more [measured] gain, I went with it, but would still get some multipath [not real bad but enough to piss me off :lol:].
Then I got the idea to "go high" as pictured. "Done".
A.K.A VOS

#37 OFFLINE   Lord Vader

Lord Vader

    Supreme Member

  • Topic Starter
  • DBSTalk Club
  • 8,430 posts
  • LocationGalactic Empire
Joined: Sep 20, 2004

Posted 15 September 2012 - 07:05 PM

Hmmm. Maybe I should run it through my ceiling, up through the unit directly above me, and onto the roof. Screw the people upstairs. This is OTA I'm talking about!

FAITH: I find the lack of it disturbing.

 


#38 OFFLINE   jimmie57

jimmie57

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,482 posts
  • LocationTexas City, TX
Joined: Jun 26, 2010

Posted 15 September 2012 - 07:59 PM

I did my best to do an apples to apples between my rabbit ears and this HD blade, here:
http://forums.solids...ool-rabbit-ears


That is very good work.
Thanks

What is weird is that my antenna says it gets VHF and UHF.
I searched to web and found that 11 is 31 ?? and 13 is 32 ??. I do not know if that is correct.

I wiped out my channel list and had it rescan and it does not get 11, 13, 31 or 32.
It is no biggie because I would only use it if the satellite is out for some reason and I needed to know about bad weather or similar and one of the other channels will have that information.

DirecTV customer since 1996 - Current :Slimline 3 SWM, HR24-100 Component cables to 46" Samsung LCD & Optical Cable to Yamaha AVR, H21-200 HDMI to Yamaha AVR & HDMI to 52" Mitsubishi LCD


#39 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 42,142 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 15 September 2012 - 08:07 PM

That is very good work.
Thanks

What is weird is that my antenna says it gets VHF and UHF.
I searched to web and found that 11 is 31 ?? and 13 is 32 ??. I do not know if that is correct.

I wiped out my channel list and had it rescan and it does not get 11, 13, 31 or 32.
It is no biggie because I would only use it if the satellite is out for some reason and I needed to know about bad weather or similar and one of the other channels will have that information.

What model antenna was this?
TVFool shows:
KHOU CBS as 11.1 which is "really" 11
KTRK ABC as "really" 13
KUHT PBS as "really" 8

So your antenna does need VHF-Hi + UHF
A.K.A VOS

#40 OFFLINE   jimmie57

jimmie57

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,482 posts
  • LocationTexas City, TX
Joined: Jun 26, 2010

Posted 15 September 2012 - 10:16 PM

This is the one I have. The signal strength on a 1 to 10 scale is an average of 7 on all the other channels that I do get and no signal at all on 11 and 13.

http://www.monoprice...3#specification

DirecTV customer since 1996 - Current :Slimline 3 SWM, HR24-100 Component cables to 46" Samsung LCD & Optical Cable to Yamaha AVR, H21-200 HDMI to Yamaha AVR & HDMI to 52" Mitsubishi LCD


#41 OFFLINE   Davenlr

Davenlr

    Geek til I die

  • Registered
  • 9,090 posts
Joined: Sep 16, 2006

Posted 15 September 2012 - 10:23 PM

This is the one I have. The signal strength on a 1 to 10 scale is an average of 7 on all the other channels that I do get and no signal at all on 11 and 13.

http://www.monoprice...3#specification


That is an amplified fractal panel antenna. Its a scaled up version of the antenna inside smartphones. They work fairly well for gain with their built in amp, but are utterly terrible for multipath.

Tivo Premier XL4, Tivo Premier, Tivo HD whole home on Xfinity HD, DirecTv Whole Home with 39" high gain KaKu dish, Roku3,SageTv 8 TB Win8 Server -> DVDO Edge-> Denon AVR, Klipsch KB15's/Panasonic 55ST60 plasma"


#42 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 42,142 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 15 September 2012 - 11:04 PM

This is the one I have. The signal strength on a 1 to 10 scale is an average of 7 on all the other channels that I do get and no signal at all on 11 and 13.

http://www.monoprice...3#specification


Like so many "amplified" antennas, the gain listed is about 75% [or more] from the amp, and not the antenna itself.

The size is limiting its "low end". The blade measures over a foot in each direction, so the internal elements are longer than in "that antenna".

Your "1 to 10", would be what my TV shows as 0-100, but it also shows signal to noise [ratio] in dB, which were the numbers in the article.
"Figure" noise is the constant, so signal to noise ratio is a sign of how much gain the antenna has.

Amps are good for cable loss from the antenna to the TV, but if the signal doesn't get picked up by the antenna itself, you can't amplify it and "magically" get it, since the signal and the noise both get amplified.
A.K.A VOS

#43 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 42,142 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 15 September 2012 - 11:07 PM

That is an amplified fractal panel antenna. Its a scaled up version of the antenna inside smartphones. They work fairly well for gain with their built in amp, but are utterly terrible for multipath.

What I'd say, you're saying is an eighth wave antenna with an amp, may work, but a quarter wave antenna may not need the amp. ;)
A.K.A VOS

#44 OFFLINE   Davenlr

Davenlr

    Geek til I die

  • Registered
  • 9,090 posts
Joined: Sep 16, 2006

Posted 15 September 2012 - 11:23 PM

What I'd say, you're saying is an eighth wave antenna with an amp, may work, but a quarter wave antenna may not need the amp. ;)


A 1/4 wave without amp is always going to outperform any other smaller antenna with an amp, since the amp cannot amp unless the signal is there in the first place, as you know. The benefit of the fractal panels (I used the word gain, when I should have used the word broadband) is that they have a wide frequency bandwidth, and can cover the entire UHF band at once with < 3:1 SWR, whereas a 1/4 wave would only be accurate on one or two channels, and then SWR will rapidly rise. The bow tie is an excellent cross between the two, and for an indoor antenna, would be my antenna of choice. Your bow-tie between plastic sheets being a good example of max gain for size and wide enough bandwidth to be effective.

Tivo Premier XL4, Tivo Premier, Tivo HD whole home on Xfinity HD, DirecTv Whole Home with 39" high gain KaKu dish, Roku3,SageTv 8 TB Win8 Server -> DVDO Edge-> Denon AVR, Klipsch KB15's/Panasonic 55ST60 plasma"


#45 OFFLINE   Lord Vader

Lord Vader

    Supreme Member

  • Topic Starter
  • DBSTalk Club
  • 8,430 posts
  • LocationGalactic Empire
Joined: Sep 20, 2004

Posted 22 September 2012 - 12:00 AM

"mine" and this is on the south [wall too] end of the complex and all the towers are to the north.
I need/use "real" channels 7 & 11

http://forums.solids...11&d=1346782770


Just got the "HD Blade" in today and put it up when I got home a few minutes ago. I've been toying with it to see how it performs. Question--is a glass window worse than a wall when it comes to multipath issues? I ask because I have the ability to affix it to a window that is permanently closed, but I couldn't remember if glass causes problems for such signals like it does for DBS signals.

FAITH: I find the lack of it disturbing.

 


#46 OFFLINE   Lord Vader

Lord Vader

    Supreme Member

  • Topic Starter
  • DBSTalk Club
  • 8,430 posts
  • LocationGalactic Empire
Joined: Sep 20, 2004

Posted 22 September 2012 - 12:26 AM

Addendum: Got it up high on the wall in the master BR. It appears to be working VERY well. I can get all the subchannels available, including CBS, which has always been a problem.

My next question--I'm going to order one of these for the living room. It will be connected to an HR20-700. However, I have two HR20-700s in the living room and was wondering if I'd need 2 HD Blades, or if I can go with only 1 and use an OTA splitter.

FAITH: I find the lack of it disturbing.

 


#47 OFFLINE   coolman302003

coolman302003

    2014 NBA CHAMPIONS!

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,631 posts
  • LocationSoutheast
Joined: Jun 01, 2008

Posted 22 September 2012 - 03:16 AM

My next question--I'm going to order one of these for the living room. It will be connected to an HR20-700. However, I have two HR20-700s in the living room and was wondering if I'd need 2 HD Blades, or if I can go with only 1 and use an OTA splitter.

All you will need is a good splitter. :)

List of networks with HD VOD content available on DIRECTV  DIRECTV Customer Service Live Online Chat (available from 7am-12:30am ET)  DIRECTV Regional Sports Network (RSN) fee lookup tool (zip code required)

DIRECTV Premium Channel Pricing: 1=$13.99 ($17.99 for HBO) | 2=$25.99 ($30.99 with HBO) | 3=$36.99 ($41.99 with HBO) | 4=$45.99 ($50.99 with HBO) | All 5=$57.99 per month

My Setup: 5-LNB SlimLine with SWM-16 | HR44-700 w/AM-21N | HR24-200 | H25-100 | H25-100 | C41-500


#48 OFFLINE   Lord Vader

Lord Vader

    Supreme Member

  • Topic Starter
  • DBSTalk Club
  • 8,430 posts
  • LocationGalactic Empire
Joined: Sep 20, 2004

Posted 22 September 2012 - 03:28 AM

No amplifier needed? I know there a ton of splitters from which to choose on Solid Signal's site alone.

FAITH: I find the lack of it disturbing.

 


#49 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 42,142 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 22 September 2012 - 06:32 AM

No amplifier needed? I know there a ton of splitters from which to choose on Solid Signal's site alone.

I use my HD blade to feed my TV & my AM21, so I use a splitter, but I also use/need an amp.
You might try just the splitter and then add an amp if you need.
A.K.A VOS

#50 OFFLINE   trh

trh

    This Space for Sale

  • Registered
  • 3,600 posts
  • LocationNE FL
Joined: Nov 02, 2007

Posted 22 September 2012 - 06:46 AM

Question--is a glass window worse than a wall when it comes to multipath issues? I ask because I have the ability to affix it to a window that is permanently closed, but I couldn't remember if glass causes problems for such signals like it does for DBS signals.

Your Blade is small enough, move it around and try both locations. Some glass (LowE), has a metalic reflective coating, so that could possibly impact your signal strength. But there are house wraps and radiant barrier roof sheathings that also use a metallic layer that could do the same. But it sounds like you've already found a very good location.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...