Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Any way to tell what tuner is in use?


  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   usnret

usnret

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 567 posts
Joined: Jan 16, 2009

Posted 15 September 2012 - 06:05 AM

Is there any way to tell which tuner is in use, i.e. if I am watching ESPN, is there some magical way to tell what tuner it's using?
Tks
Life isn't about waiting for the storm to pass. It's about learning to dance in the rain.

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   Diana C

Diana C

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,768 posts
  • LocationNew Jersey
Joined: Mar 30, 2007

Posted 15 September 2012 - 06:09 AM

Why does it matter?

Dish Network Customer from 9/1998-11/2001
DirecTV Customer 10/2001 - 7/2014

FiOS TV/TiVo Customer since 6/2014
Moderator, DBSDish.com 1999-2000
Co-Founder and Administrator, DBSForums.com 2000-2006

Current setup:
DirecTV: HR34-700 (1TB) / HR24-100 (1TB) / HR24-500 (1TB) / HR21-700 (320GB) / HR21-100 (1TB) / 2 H25s / C41-500 / SWiM16 / Nomad / CCK

FiOS: 2 Tivo Roamio Pros (6 TB total) / 5 Tivo Minis attached via MOCA


#3 OFFLINE   carl6

carl6

    Hall Of Fame

  • Moderators
  • 10,812 posts
  • LocationSeattle, WA
Joined: Nov 15, 2005

Posted 15 September 2012 - 07:56 AM

No, there is no way.

#4 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 9,515 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 15 September 2012 - 03:36 PM

if you disconnect the cable from tuner one and the picture goes away, then you just found out!:lol: this only applies to non-SWM system......

but again, why you need to find out???

#5 OFFLINE   dielray

dielray

    Legend

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 234 posts
Joined: Aug 05, 2009

Posted 15 September 2012 - 05:41 PM

Yes. If your DVR is connected to your home network you can use SHEF to process a serial command.

Enter into your web browser:
[ip of your dvr]:8080/serial/processCommand?cmd=FA8B01
to see what is on tuner 1
[ip of your dvr]:8080/serial/processCommand?cmd=FA8B02
to see what is on tuner 2

Results are in hex, just convert the first two bytes to decimal.
  • mjh8154 likes this
DirecTV Technician
My thoughts and opinions are my own, and do not necessarily represent those of DirecTV, my HSP, or anyone else.

#6 OFFLINE   usnret

usnret

    Icon

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 567 posts
Joined: Jan 16, 2009

Posted 15 September 2012 - 08:29 PM

Tks dielray
Life isn't about waiting for the storm to pass. It's about learning to dance in the rain.

#7 OFFLINE   Laxguy

Laxguy

    Fortuna! Fameux des Halles

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 11,575 posts
  • LocationWinters, California
Joined: Dec 02, 2010

Posted 15 September 2012 - 11:09 PM

Could you please answer the question as to why you needed or wanted to know?
"Laxguy" means a guy who loves lacrosse.

#8 OFFLINE   usnret

usnret

    Icon

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 567 posts
Joined: Jan 16, 2009

Posted 16 September 2012 - 07:16 AM

While watching various programs (meaning different channels) I get pixulation once in awhile. No specific channel or program, just random channels. I thought perhaps it might be a specific tuner, so thought that, if there was a way to check the tuner that I am using, and the pix starts, I could check the tuner in use and perhaps that might be the problem.
Life isn't about waiting for the storm to pass. It's about learning to dance in the rain.




spam firewall