Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

How to type an "&" in advanced search


  • Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   photojon

photojon

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 13 posts
Joined: Dec 11, 2006

Posted 15 September 2012 - 07:09 PM

I have seen may nice posts on entering "Advanced Keyword Searches" on directv receivers, including my HR24. I tried entering it from the onscreen keyboard but I can't figure out how to type an "&". While researching, I noticed some people recommended using the directv app on the iPad which I tried. I could find the "&" key there but even a "Basic" (advanced search) didn't return any results. So to recap my 2 questions:

1) how to enter an & from the onscreen keyboard
2)should I be able to do an "Advanced search" via the ipad app?

Thanks

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,653 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 15 September 2012 - 07:24 PM

try the - button on the remote. It has a few special characters.
A.K.A VOS

#3 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 9,620 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 15 September 2012 - 09:12 PM

or the number 1 button

#4 OFFLINE   Doug Brott

Doug Brott

    Lifetime Achiever

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 28,913 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles
Joined: Jul 12, 2006

Posted 15 September 2012 - 09:33 PM

An ampersand can be safely omitted from any search strings.
DIRECTV Firmware Monitor - iPhone - Android - HTML5

DIRECTV employee since August 2011.
All comments are my own. Unless specifically stated, my views do NOT represent the views of DIRECTV

#5 OFFLINE   photojon

photojon

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 13 posts
Joined: Dec 11, 2006

Posted 15 September 2012 - 10:11 PM

Thanks for the replies. I tried the Hyphen and that did not work.

I entered the following keyword search but it is not yielding any results even though I know there are shows in the guide that should match it. I am trying to record all shows of the SF Giants baseball team on channels 2,11,696

AALL GIANTS EVENTS CCHANS 2 11 696 SPORTS BASEBALL

Thanks
Jon

#6 OFFLINE   hdtvfan0001

hdtvfan0001

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 31,623 posts
Joined: Jul 28, 2004

Posted 16 September 2012 - 06:12 AM

An ampersand can be safely omitted from any search strings.

Thanks for the replies. I tried the Hyphen and that did not work.

I entered the following keyword search but it is not yielding any results even though I know there are shows in the guide that should match it. I am trying to record all shows of the SF Giants baseball team on channels 2,11,696

AALL GIANTS EVENTS CCHANS 2 11 696 SPORTS BASEBALL

Thanks
Jon

Useful tidbits of knowledge! ;)
DBSTalk CHAT ROOM MODERATOR
DirecTV Customer Since 1996

#7 OFFLINE   Drucifer

Drucifer

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 7,760 posts
  • LocationNY Hudson Valley
Joined: Feb 12, 2009

Posted 16 September 2012 - 01:54 PM

Thanks for the replies. I tried the Hyphen and that did not work.

I entered the following keyword search but it is not yielding any results even though I know there are shows in the guide that should match it. I am trying to record all shows of the SF Giants baseball team on channels 2,11,696

AALL GIANTS EVENTS CCHANS 2 11 696 SPORTS BASEBALL

Thanks
Jon

That wont work. It either a single channel or a span of channels (2 696). To limit to your three channels, you'll need three Searches.

DREW

Do it Right, Do it Once
LR: HR34-7, Den: HR24-1, MB: HR24-5, Bsm: HR21-2, Kit: H25-5
PrimeStar '95, DirecTV  '00


#8 OFFLINE   photojon

photojon

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 13 posts
Joined: Dec 11, 2006

Posted 16 September 2012 - 03:04 PM

That wont work. It either a single channel or a span of channels (2 696). To limit to your three channels, you'll need three Searches.


Thanks. That is interesting because that does not agree with the FAQ on this board: http://hr20.dbstalk.... Search FAQ.pdf

which is what I have been following. Are their other items here that are not correct?

#9 OFFLINE   Drucifer

Drucifer

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 7,760 posts
  • LocationNY Hudson Valley
Joined: Feb 12, 2009

Posted 16 September 2012 - 04:59 PM

Thanks. That is interesting because that does not agree with the FAQ on this board: http://hr20.dbstalk.... Search FAQ.pdf

which is what I have been following. Are their other items here that are not correct?


CCHANS => Limits the search to only the specified channel range (example CCHANS 500 510, or CCHANS 500 for a single channel)


Advance Searches PDF

DREW

Do it Right, Do it Once
LR: HR34-7, Den: HR24-1, MB: HR24-5, Bsm: HR21-2, Kit: H25-5
PrimeStar '95, DirecTV  '00


#10 OFFLINE   dpeters11

dpeters11

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 12,492 posts
  • LocationCincinnati
Joined: May 30, 2007

Posted 16 September 2012 - 04:59 PM

All the examples there are ranges, though some are really big ones like all channels from 2-799.

#11 OFFLINE   Drucifer

Drucifer

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 7,760 posts
  • LocationNY Hudson Valley
Joined: Feb 12, 2009

Posted 16 September 2012 - 05:07 PM

The '&' text portion are the category and sub-category you can select. You don't enter &.

DREW

Do it Right, Do it Once
LR: HR34-7, Den: HR24-1, MB: HR24-5, Bsm: HR21-2, Kit: H25-5
PrimeStar '95, DirecTV  '00


#12 OFFLINE   Scott Kocourek

Scott Kocourek

    On the edge

  • Super Moderators
  • 9,024 posts
  • LocationWisconsin
Joined: Jun 13, 2009

Posted 16 September 2012 - 05:10 PM

Looks like we may need to clean those up to remove the ampersand.

Opinions expressed by me are my own and do not necessarily reflect
those of DBSTalk.com, DIRECTV, Dish Network, or any other company.
Become a DBSTalk.com member or join the CE program HERE


#13 OFFLINE   photojon

photojon

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 13 posts
Joined: Dec 11, 2006

Posted 17 September 2012 - 11:08 PM

Thank you to everyone for all the helpful advice. Now one last question. With all this typing, is there a way to use a bluetooth or USB wireless keyboard with and HR24-200?

Thanks again. Much appreciated!

#14 OFFLINE   carl6

carl6

    Hall Of Fame

  • Moderators
  • 10,815 posts
  • LocationSeattle, WA
Joined: Nov 15, 2005

Posted 18 September 2012 - 08:34 AM

No, sorry. No such capability.

#15 OFFLINE   inkahauts

inkahauts

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,789 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2006

Posted 18 September 2012 - 02:09 PM

Looks like we may need to clean those up to remove the ampersand.


I'll look at it later, it really needs the & to set it apart. I thought that I had put in there that was what the & was for...




spam firewall