Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

Guide info transponders


  • Please log in to reply
18 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   Lowry666

Lowry666

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 89 posts
Joined: Sep 24, 2006

Posted 15 September 2012 - 07:14 PM

Hi,
I've been trying to find this info everywhere and so far no luck. Can anyone tell me which transponders carry guide data? I have found that 110 and 119 carry guide data, but I need to know which transponders they are on. I am having an issue and I want to make sure I have good signal on those transponders before I start suspecting my dish.

Thanks in advance,
Lowry
Apopka, FL

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   jdspencer

jdspencer

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 6,566 posts
Joined: Nov 07, 2003

Posted 15 September 2012 - 07:39 PM

Please explain the issues you are having.

You should have good signal strengths on ALL transponders on ALL satellites.
Except for the spot beams, some of which will be zero or low.
List you signal strengths here.

What dish do you have? I'll assume a Slimline SL5 since you mentioned 110 and 119.
But, you could have the older Phase III dish.

Depending on dish, the guide data could be on 119 or 101.
DirecTV since '96, Waivers for ABC, CBS, NBC, & Fox, HR23-700 & HR24-500/AM21, using ethernet based MRV.

#3 OFFLINE   jimmie57

jimmie57

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,474 posts
  • LocationTexas City, TX
Joined: Jun 26, 2010

Posted 15 September 2012 - 07:40 PM

Which dish do you have ?
From what I read it depends a lot on what you happen to be watching. Guide data can come from the 99, 101 or 119 saellites. I have seen spread sheets showing what satellite and tp a particular channel is on, but so far I have not found the exact information you are seeking.
Basically you should have good reading on the satellites that you receive and the Guide data would be good also.

Go to the satellite signal strength screens ( several of them ) and list the signals that you are currently getting and post them for us.
Thanks.

DirecTV customer since 1996 - Current :Slimline 3 SWM,   HR24-100 HDMI to 32" Sharp LED,
HR24-100 Component cables to 46" Samsung LCD & Optical Cable to Yamaha AVR, H21-200 HDMI to Yamaha AVR & HDMI to 52" Mitsubishi LCD


#4 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    ๐Ÿ™ˆ๐Ÿ™‰๐Ÿ™Š๐Ÿ“ก

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 10,662 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 15 September 2012 - 08:05 PM

a properly aligned dish carries all transponders that you need. you do not aligned just to get one transponder, that's not how it works. you do need to make sure that you have the right dish type under your satellite settings => dish type

#5 OFFLINE   Lowry666

Lowry666

    AllStar

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 89 posts
Joined: Sep 24, 2006

Posted 15 September 2012 - 08:21 PM

I'll go through my signal strengths tomorrow and list them. I have a unique situation, I have a Slimline with the sidecar and it is in the solarium of my apartment and I get my signals through the window. So no, I don't all of the transponders. I only watch HD programming, SD looks like garbage on a 65 inch. The last week or so all of my dvrs are popping up with guide data not received errors. I have an HR24-200 and 2 HR20-700s.
I'll check signals in the morning, off to bed now.

Thanks and good night,
Lowry

#6 OFFLINE   ndole

ndole

    Problem Solver

  • Registered
  • 1,894 posts
Joined: Aug 26, 2009

Posted 15 September 2012 - 08:33 PM

If you don't have a line of sight issue to the 119W bird, you probably (and most likely) have a problem with your AT9's integrated multiswitch. In other words, your lnb is shot. Since you can't get new one, its time for a slimline :lol:

Edited by ndole, 16 September 2012 - 06:11 PM.

"He that is good for making excuses is seldom good for anything else."

#7 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    ๐Ÿ™ˆ๐Ÿ™‰๐Ÿ™Š๐Ÿ“ก

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 10,662 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 15 September 2012 - 08:38 PM

II have a Slimline with the sidecar


impossible to have both in one.....:lol:

#8 OFFLINE   jdspencer

jdspencer

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 6,566 posts
Joined: Nov 07, 2003

Posted 16 September 2012 - 06:02 PM

Time to upgrade the dish to an AU9.
And if you don't need the 119 satellite, get it with the SL3 LNB assembly.
DirecTV since '96, Waivers for ABC, CBS, NBC, & Fox, HR23-700 & HR24-500/AM21, using ethernet based MRV.

#9 OFFLINE   Gary Toma

Gary Toma

    UNIX

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,859 posts
Joined: Mar 22, 2006

Posted 19 September 2012 - 09:38 PM

Hi,
I've been trying to find this info everywhere and so far no luck. Can anyone tell me which transponders carry guide data? I have found that 110 and 119 carry guide data, but I need to know which transponders they are on. I am having an issue and I want to make sure I have good signal on those transponders before I start suspecting my dish.


Your Guide Data is from:

101W|TPN 2|for Network 0
101W|TPN 31|for Networks 10, 11, 14, 15
95W|TPN 1|for Network 1
119W|TPN 26|for Network 3


For Networks 512 through 724, it is a range of TPNs at 101W.

D5 @110W is spending all it's time transmitting test channels to Puerto Rico, so you don't need to worry about it...

Edited by gct, 19 September 2012 - 09:53 PM.



#10 OFFLINE   studechip

studechip

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 1,015 posts
Joined: Apr 16, 2012

Posted 19 September 2012 - 10:14 PM

Since the op is in the Orlando dma, he only needs the sl3.

#11 OFFLINE   Gary Toma

Gary Toma

    UNIX

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,859 posts
Joined: Mar 22, 2006

Posted 19 September 2012 - 10:18 PM

Since the op is in the Orlando dma, he only needs the sl3.


You are absolutely right, if the OP does not subscribe to International Programming on the 95W.


#12 OFFLINE   HoTat2

HoTat2

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,021 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles, CA.
Joined: Nov 16, 2005

Posted 21 September 2012 - 04:07 PM

Your Guide Data is from:

101W|TPN 2|for Network 0
101W|TPN 31|for Networks 10, 11, 14, 15
95W|TPN 1|for Network 1
119W|TPN 26|for Network 3


For Networks 512 through 724, it is a range of TPNs at 101W.

D5 @110W is spending all it's time transmitting test channels to Puerto Rico, so you don't need to worry about it...


Thanks for the PM info. on this gct;

I stand quite corrected and have deleted my previous post.

I wonder though how the network tuners of receivers on legacy (voltage/tone LNB or switch control) installs are able to acquire guide data if one or both (for a DVR) tuners are viewing programing for any extended period of time on the same channel set?

For instance if one or both tuners happen to be receiving the odd channel set how does the NT gather guide data from even tpn. 2 for Net 0 or vice-versa for Nets 10, 11, 14, and 15 from odd tpn. 31 if the tuner(s) are on the even tpn. channel set?

#13 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,843 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 21 September 2012 - 05:58 PM

HD receivers or DVRs had second/third tuner* (legacy) dedicated to a process of gathering system tables (EPG is part of it). I did wrote about it when got H20 in my hands first time many years ago.

* - aka "network tuner"

Edited by P Smith, 24 September 2012 - 01:05 PM.


#14 OFFLINE   HoTat2

HoTat2

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,021 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles, CA.
Joined: Nov 16, 2005

Posted 21 September 2012 - 07:17 PM

HD receivers or DVRs had second/third tuner (legacy) dedicated to a process of gathering system tables (EPG is part of it). I did wrote about it when got H20 in my hands first time many years ago.


OK lets try and simplify this P. Smith so I can grasp it better; :)

If say an HD receiver (non-DVR) in a legacy install (non-SWiM) is viewing a program on the odd transponder set for a long time. How then can the network tuner acquire guide data for Net 0 on the even transponder 2?

#15 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,843 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 21 September 2012 - 07:39 PM

wanna probe me ? hehe ... APG is using not just odd but some even tpn too, like #2 #6 or #10
also, there is another teaser for you now: a "carousel" ...



As someone wrote into all (millions) dish' DVR's drives: "Die Miserable Dishplayer! Die!" :) (well, exclude 922 and 813, duh !)

#16 OFFLINE   HoTat2

HoTat2

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,021 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles, CA.
Joined: Nov 16, 2005

Posted 21 September 2012 - 09:17 PM

wanna probe me ? hehe ... APG is using not just odd but some even tpn too, like #2 #6 or #10
also, there is another teaser for you now: a "carousel" ...



As someone wrote into all (millions) dish' DVR's drives: "Die Miserable Dishplayer! Die!" :) (well, exclude 922 and 813, duh !)


But in my hypothetical example the question is how can the receiver network tuner access even transponders like 2, 6, and 10 if the customer is viewing a channel which request the odd transponder set from the LNB or switch?

And I give up, whats a carousel?

#17 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,843 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 22 September 2012 - 12:04 AM

Then hidden tuner will select any odd tpns from any odd number, legacy LNBF/switch provide all odd/even tpn together according selected polarity. "Carousel" is method of getting EPG data from any non dedicated tpn.

#18 OFFLINE   HoTat2

HoTat2

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,021 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles, CA.
Joined: Nov 16, 2005

Posted 23 September 2012 - 04:50 PM

Then hidden tuner will select any odd tpns from any odd number, legacy LNBF/switch provide all odd/even tpn together according selected polarity. "Carousel" is method of getting EPG data from any non dedicated tpn.


So guide data which would normally come from an even transponder such as tpn. 2 at 101 for Network 0, guide data for Net. 0 can also be acquired from odd transponders at 101 if the receiver happens to be receiving only that set on its tuner(s) perhaps through this "carousel" method as you seem to imply?

#19 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,843 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 23 September 2012 - 06:45 PM

Yeah, there are other non-fast non-dedicated PIDs spread over many tpns, what's carry more then one net with very low speed/bitrate.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...