Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

WHDVR connection issues


  • Please log in to reply
92 replies to this topic

#21 OFFLINE   irish1811

irish1811

    Mentor

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 44 posts
Joined: Sep 16, 2012

Posted 16 September 2012 - 04:58 PM

The lights on the DECA on the H21s are all green, will do the test in a little bit.

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#22 OFFLINE   irish1811

irish1811

    Mentor

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 44 posts
Joined: Sep 16, 2012

Posted 16 September 2012 - 07:06 PM

Dropped session count is 0

#23 OFFLINE   irish1811

irish1811

    Mentor

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 44 posts
Joined: Sep 16, 2012

Posted 16 September 2012 - 07:14 PM

if u disc the cckw, and resetting didnt work try goin to the network setup and restoring defaults that should take it back to static ip address.
to check the ip address menu-settings-info an test- more system info- network
i would check to make sure that they are all on the same ip adress.

im assuming that the cckw was using the coax connection and not the ethernet cable?


my DVR has a different IP than my other receivers?

#24 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,981 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 16 September 2012 - 07:14 PM

Dropped session count is 0

And what is shown on the rest of the screen?
A.K.A VOS

#25 OFFLINE   irish1811

irish1811

    Mentor

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 44 posts
Joined: Sep 16, 2012

Posted 16 September 2012 - 07:32 PM

Node Ids Friendly Names MAC Addresses Phy Levels
0 NODE-FFFFFFF90A4DEFD66E9 FFFFFFF90A4DEF... -30
1 FAMILY ROOM 00166BCD6E85 N/A
3 NODE-FFFFFFF90A4DEFD66F0 FFFFFFF90A4DEF... -30
4 NODE-FFFFFFFD0E54DBAB508 FFFFFFFD0E54DB... -30
5 NODE-30144A66D45D 30144A66D45D -13

#26 OFFLINE   irish1811

irish1811

    Mentor

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 44 posts
Joined: Sep 16, 2012

Posted 16 September 2012 - 07:57 PM

don't know if this means anything but in my system ifo screen ther is a little caution symbol next to the "STB Services Port" it says N/A (202)

#27 OFFLINE   viclovr

viclovr

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 65 posts
Joined: Aug 14, 2012

Posted 16 September 2012 - 08:10 PM

to me the numbers look good. personally i would recomend to go ahead and connect the cckw back via the coax cable of course and run net setup on each receiver.
I may not know as much as the experts but neither did the experts when they themselves were novices.

#28 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,981 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 16 September 2012 - 08:35 PM

don't know if this means anything but in my system ifo screen ther is a little caution symbol next to the "STB Services Port" it says N/A (202)

The STB service has nothing to do with this, so it's a red hearing.

Your losses are good, so "hardware wise" there doesn't seem to be a problem with your system.

You might check all the coax connections to make sure they're "snug" [very slightly "tight"].

Since you're having the problem without the WCCK, might as well connect it back as it doesn't look to be the problem.
A.K.A VOS

#29 OFFLINE   dielray

dielray

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 234 posts
Joined: Aug 05, 2009

Posted 17 September 2012 - 06:10 AM

Could I get you to run the system test on the DVR, and tell us if anything fails beyond the phone line?

Also, please do as VOS suggested and ensure the coax connections are snug. Look at the connections and see if any of the copper in the middle is shorter than the part that spins.

Edited by dielray, 17 September 2012 - 06:19 AM.

DirecTV Technician
My thoughts and opinions are my own, and do not necessarily represent those of DirecTV, my HSP, or anyone else.

#30 OFFLINE   irish1811

irish1811

    Mentor

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 44 posts
Joined: Sep 16, 2012

Posted 17 September 2012 - 12:07 PM

I did not run the sytem without the wireless, sorry, I misunderstood, I reconnected after a little bit. I will cut the power to the connection kit tonight and let it run a while to see what happens. I will also check all the connections, thanks all!

#31 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,981 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 17 September 2012 - 12:34 PM

I did not run the sytem without the wireless, sorry, I misunderstood, I reconnected after a little bit. I will cut the power to the connection kit tonight and let it run a while to see what happens. I will also check all the connections, thanks all!

I don't think whether the WCCK is on/connected or not will matter at this point.
The main reason to have had it out of the loop was to know if it or the router was having an affect, which it doesn't seem to have had.
A.K.A VOS

#32 OFFLINE   Laxguy

Laxguy

    Never say 'never'.

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 13,268 posts
  • LocationWinters, CA, between Napa and Sacramento
Joined: Dec 02, 2010

Posted 17 September 2012 - 02:33 PM

my DVR has a different IP than my other receivers?


It sure should be. Each box on your network needs a different IP address. The default is that they are assigned dynamically by the router.
I prefer to use fixed IP addresses for each of my receivers.
"Laxguy" means a guy who loves lacrosse.

#33 OFFLINE   irish1811

irish1811

    Mentor

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 44 posts
Joined: Sep 16, 2012

Posted 17 September 2012 - 06:41 PM

I have been watching since I unplugged the WCCK and have not seen the message! going to watch the game and will post results later, of the system, not the game.

#34 OFFLINE   The Merg

The Merg

    1*

  • Registered
  • 10,268 posts
  • LocationNorthern VA
Joined: Jun 24, 2007

Posted 17 September 2012 - 06:45 PM

I have been watching since I unplugged the WCCK and have not seen the message! going to watch the game and will post results later, of the system, not the game.


If it looks like using the internal IP address of the receivers is working without issue, we'll move on to the next step of reconnecting the WCCK, but setting you up with static IP addresses.

- Merg

Today's problems don't worry me, I haven't solved yesterday's yet.

SlimLine-3 Dish w/ SWM16 (HD Service / WHDVR) / Full Setup
HR34-700 / Panasonic TC-P50G25 HDTV / HDMI / Networked - DECA / Family Room
HR44-700 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom

HR24-100 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom


#35 OFFLINE   irish1811

irish1811

    Mentor

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 44 posts
Joined: Sep 16, 2012

Posted 17 September 2012 - 07:28 PM

Ok, I am not going to play with it tonight, still haven't got the message. I will tinker tomorrow night, thanks all!

#36 OFFLINE   irish1811

irish1811

    Mentor

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 44 posts
Joined: Sep 16, 2012

Posted 18 September 2012 - 04:21 PM

Ok, My son has a drum lesson at 7, when I get home I want to get the WCCK back up and running with the static IP, can some one give me directions?

FYI, my H21s can not see the playlist without the internet connected but my newer receivers can.

Edited by veryoldschool, 18 September 2012 - 04:36 PM.


#37 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,981 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 18 September 2012 - 04:36 PM

Ok, My son has a drum lesson at 7, when I get home I want to get the WCCK back up and running with the static IP, can some one give me directions?

FYI, my H21s can not see the playlist without the internet connected but my newer receivers can.

FYI: it has the wrong IP address, as it has nothing to do with the internet.
A.K.A VOS

#38 OFFLINE   irish1811

irish1811

    Mentor

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 44 posts
Joined: Sep 16, 2012

Posted 18 September 2012 - 05:19 PM

FYI: it has the wrong IP address, as it has nothing to do with the internet.


Ok, how do I fix it? Thanks.

#39 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,981 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 18 September 2012 - 05:37 PM

Ok, how do I fix it? Thanks.

It should "resolve itself" with a reboot.

Without a router connection the IPs should start with 169.xxx & a subnet of 255.255.0.0

"Commonly with a router" these start with 192.xxx & a subnet of 255.255.255.0
A.K.A VOS

#40 OFFLINE   irish1811

irish1811

    Mentor

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 44 posts
Joined: Sep 16, 2012

Posted 18 September 2012 - 06:25 PM

Negative, the IPs start with the 169 but no playlist and says it can't connect. How do I reconnect the WCCK with a static IP? This is getting old.....




Protected By... spam firewall...And...