Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk, like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community, but don't worry this is a simple free process that requires minimal information for you to signup. Be a part of DBSTalk by signing in or creating an account.
  • Start new topics and reply to others
  • Subscribe to topics and forums to get email updates
  • Get your own profile page and make new friends
  • Send personal messages to other members.
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

HR24's won't power on


  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   JerryMeeker

JerryMeeker

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 130 posts
Joined: Sep 20, 2007

Posted 16 September 2012 - 11:40 AM

On successive days this week (yesterday and today), first one, and then the other of my two HR24's would not power on. They were unresponsive to power on commands from the remote as well as to the front panel power on button. In both cases, power-cycling the DVR restored them to operation, and both passed a system test. Both DVR's are less than six months old.

Has anyone else experienced this issue?

Edit: I just noticed that the HR24 that was unresponsive this morning failed to record a program that was scheduled for 8am this morning, which means that the DVR was completely not functioning.

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 ONLINE   jimmie57

jimmie57

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,727 posts
  • LocationTexas City, TX
Joined: Jun 26, 2010

Posted 16 September 2012 - 12:11 PM

On successive days this week (yesterday and today), first one, and then the other of my two HR24's would not power on. They were unresponsive to power on commands from the remote as well as to the front panel power on button. In both cases, power-cycling the DVR restored them to operation, and both passed a system test. Both DVR's are less than six months old.

Has anyone else experienced this issue?

Edit: I just noticed that the HR24 that was unresponsive this morning failed to record a program that was scheduled for 8am this morning, which means that the DVR was completely not functioning.


Check Menu, Settings, Power Saving and see if they are set to OFF. If not, do this first and see if it helps.

DirecTV customer since 1996 - Current :Slimline 3 SWM,   HR24-100 HDMI to 32" Sharp LED,
HR24-100 Component cables to 46" Samsung LCD & Optical Cable to Yamaha AVR, H21-200 HDMI to Yamaha AVR & HDMI to 52" Mitsubishi LCD


#3 OFFLINE   JerryMeeker

JerryMeeker

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 130 posts
Joined: Sep 20, 2007

Posted 16 September 2012 - 01:10 PM

Check Menu, Settings, Power Saving and see if they are set to OFF. If not, do this first and see if it helps.


Both DVR's have power savings turned off since this feature was implemented, so this is not the cause. Besides, power savings doesn't make the DVR completely unresponsive.

#4 OFFLINE   BuLL

BuLL

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 28 posts
Joined: Apr 18, 2010

Posted 20 September 2012 - 09:19 AM

I had and continue to have this same problem with my HR24-200.
http://www.dbstalk.c...ad.php?t=205206
The fans also shut off when it locks up, so it tends to overheat and sometimes needs to be unplugged for 5-10 minutes. Otherwise a RBR brings it back to life.

If I schedule recordings every other hour overnight or while I am gone, then it won't lock up. After a couple days of constant recording, it will stop locking up even if recordings aren't scheduled. But if the unit is rebooted for any reason, then the lockups start once again.

#5 OFFLINE   harsh

harsh

    Beware the Attack Basset

  • Registered
  • 17,823 posts
  • LocationSalem, OR
Joined: Jun 14, 2003

Posted 20 September 2012 - 09:37 AM

Do those having this problem use IR mode?

If that's the case, I wonder if using RF mode won't change your fortunes.

Too often we enjoy the comfort of opinion without the discomfort of thought. -- JFK


#6 OFFLINE   BuLL

BuLL

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 28 posts
Joined: Apr 18, 2010

Posted 20 September 2012 - 09:50 AM

I have used both IR & RF and it doesn't make a difference.
For me the DVR only locks up after several hours of inactivity. In standby or powered on, doesn't seem to matter.

#7 OFFLINE   RGoldman

RGoldman

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 27 posts
Joined: Mar 29, 2007

Posted 20 September 2012 - 06:25 PM

I am going through something similar. See my post and the latest attempt at resolving it here: http://www.dbstalk.c...ad.php?t=208686

#8 OFFLINE   JerryMeeker

JerryMeeker

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 130 posts
Joined: Sep 20, 2007

Posted 20 September 2012 - 08:45 PM

It's interesting that others have seen this problem as well. It hasn't happened on my two HR24-500's since my first report. I am now in the habit of quickly powering on each DVR in the morning to make sure it isn't frozen.

I know it's not a temperature issue, because both DVR's are on their own shelf in an open rack. Both units were new this year, and both have over 80% HD capacity free. The only thing they have in common is both have been upgraded to 2TB hard drives (they are owned DVR's, of course).




spam firewall