Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

HR34: Version 0x0583 Issues/Discussion


  • Please log in to reply
45 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   Stuart Sweet

Stuart Sweet

    The Shadow Knows!

  • Super Moderators
  • 36,977 posts
Joined: Jun 18, 2006

Posted 18 September 2012 - 03:23 PM

This is the official Issues and Discussion thread for HR34, version 0x0583

Release notes: http://www.dbstalk.c...ad.php?t=208905

We ask that you keep polite and focused within this thread, and post as much detail as possible. If your receiver is set up for network issue reporting, please post the key generated by the receiver.

Being part of the DBSTalk community means working together to help each other document issues and come up with solutions. While everyone gets upset from time to time, this is not the appropriate place for vents or rants. All off-topic posts and discussion will be deleted.


Thanks!

Opinions expressed by me are my own and do not necessarily reflect
those of DBSTalk.com, DIRECTV, DISH, The Signal Group, or any other company.

...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#2 OFFLINE   BadeMillsap

BadeMillsap

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 13 posts
Joined: Jan 01, 2008

Posted 18 September 2012 - 03:28 PM

Well ... the guide response is definitely slower than the previous release and the not changing channel every time is still present ... not sure what this "fixed" ...

#3 OFFLINE   raromr

raromr

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 211 posts
Joined: Jun 24, 2010

Posted 18 September 2012 - 04:04 PM

And still issues with 30SKIP Resetting on any restart as well as the ubiquitous progress bar when you skip. Ugh.

#4 OFFLINE   MrLatte

MrLatte

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 210 posts
Joined: Aug 18, 2007

Posted 18 September 2012 - 05:14 PM

Is this a staggered release or all at once? I have a self-install scheduled for this Friday and would like to get the latest NR ASAP.

#5 OFFLINE   raott

raott

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,172 posts
Joined: Nov 23, 2005

Posted 18 September 2012 - 05:19 PM

VOD fixed? Hard to tell by wading through the incredibly detailed release notes put out by Directv.
SONY KDS-55A3000 and a couple of Vizios; SWM16; HR34 NR; HR22 NR; HR20-700 NR; H23-600 NR; R22 NR

#6 ONLINE   RunnerFL

RunnerFL

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 16,222 posts
Joined: Jan 04, 2006

Posted 18 September 2012 - 05:48 PM

Is this a staggered release or all at once? I have a self-install scheduled for this Friday and would like to get the latest NR ASAP.


The installer will download whatever the latest version is in the stream for you. That's part of the install process.
THIS SPACE FOR RENT

#7 OFFLINE   MrLatte

MrLatte

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 210 posts
Joined: Aug 18, 2007

Posted 18 September 2012 - 08:24 PM

I'm the installer - I guess I get what I get!

#8 OFFLINE   Strayshot

Strayshot

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 13 posts
Joined: Apr 25, 2012

Posted 18 September 2012 - 08:55 PM

Still can't see recordings on DirecTV2PC if they are in a folder. I know this is an old (more or less abandoned) program, but why did they have to break something so simple. It's almost like they intentionally hunt for things that work just so they can screw them up somehow.

#9 ONLINE   RunnerFL

RunnerFL

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 16,222 posts
Joined: Jan 04, 2006

Posted 18 September 2012 - 08:58 PM

I'm the installer - I guess I get what I get!


If it's not in the stream or your account isn't authorized for it then there's no way you can force it.
THIS SPACE FOR RENT

#10 OFFLINE   austen0316

austen0316

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 77 posts
  • LocationRobbinsville, NJ
Joined: Jun 21, 2006

Posted 18 September 2012 - 10:01 PM

So I got the update this morning and now the channel bar is messed up on the right side. Its like faded out. What's even weirder is that I have the same issue on my hr20 now. That got no update.

#11 OFFLINE   joshjr

joshjr

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,446 posts
  • LocationNE Oklahoma
Joined: Aug 02, 2008

Posted 18 September 2012 - 10:33 PM

When I came home tonight and turned on my TV and HR34, the HDMI port was not working. I swapped cables to no avail. I plugged in RCA cables and it worked fine. Then I rebooted the HR34 and the HDMI port seemed to be working again. There was no power surge, power outage, unhooking or rehooking of the HDMI cable today. The only thing i can see that happened is that this software update downloaded today. Anyone else have this issue?

Directv & Sunday Ticket Sub Since 8/19/2008
HR24-200 Leased, HR24-100 Owned, HR20-700 Owned (Not Active), R22-200 Owned, HR22-100 Owned, HR22-100 Owned, HR44-500 Owned. 5 LNB Setup W/SWM 16 Switch
Sony KDL-46HX800


#12 OFFLINE   bnwrx

bnwrx

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 1,008 posts
  • Locationcolorado, in the mountains.....
Joined: Dec 29, 2007

Posted 18 September 2012 - 10:39 PM

The FF3 and FF2 does not auto-correct, it actually advances. Very frustrating.

HR44-200 HDMI to Toshiba 42
HR24-100

Directv since 1996(the USSB,Pegasus days...)
...sometimes, there is no answer...
http://woodlandweather.org/


#13 OFFLINE   jimmie57

jimmie57

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,421 posts
  • LocationTexas City, TX
Joined: Jun 26, 2010

Posted 19 September 2012 - 06:18 AM

So I got the update this morning and now the channel bar is messed up on the right side. Its like faded out. What's even weirder is that I have the same issue on my hr20 now. That got no update.


It appears this happened to all model receivers. There is a thread about this particular problem. It happened to all 3 of my receivers yesterday.
A Menu Reset fixed them all.

http://www.dbstalk.c...ad.php?t=208904

Edited by jimmie57, 19 September 2012 - 06:27 AM.

DirecTV customer since 1996 - Current :Slimline 3 SWM, HR24-100 Component cables to 46" Samsung LCD & Optical Cable to Yamaha AVR, H21-200 HDMI to Yamaha AVR & HDMI to 52" Mitsubishi LCD


#14 OFFLINE   usnret

usnret

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 589 posts
Joined: Jan 16, 2009

Posted 19 September 2012 - 06:27 AM

joshjr - happened to me too. I switched to comp. cables for about 8 hrs then back to the HDMI input and everything was fine (so far). Happened once before and I did the same thing. It worked then too, after I tried several different HDMI cables and different HDMI inputs on my TV. After several hours on the comp. cables, I went back to the original HDMI input/cable and things were fine till this most recent update.
Life isn't about waiting for the storm to pass. It's about learning to dance in the rain.

#15 OFFLINE   codespy

codespy

    Go Pack Go!

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 737 posts
  • LocationWisconsin
Joined: Mar 29, 2006

Posted 19 September 2012 - 10:44 PM

The FF3 and FF2 does not auto-correct, it actually advances. Very frustrating.


+1.

It's pretty bad on my unit. Noticeably bad.

#16 OFFLINE   sriggins

sriggins

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 114 posts
Joined: Jul 01, 2010

Posted 19 September 2012 - 10:52 PM

Seems to have fixed our HDMI sync issue

#17 OFFLINE   wingrider01

wingrider01

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,764 posts
Joined: Sep 09, 2005

Posted 20 September 2012 - 04:56 AM

Mine is still at 582, is this a controlled rollout or a full rollout?

I look at system information and it state no upgrade scheduled

#18 OFFLINE   don s

don s

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 58 posts
Joined: Sep 04, 2011

Posted 20 September 2012 - 05:19 AM

I am still having continued Whole Home issues. I can't see or play recordings from other devices ( HR 24's). This has existed through the last 3 or 4 firmware updates. Resets, etc no avail ...

Really frustrating. DTV tech support advised they are aware, etc ...

#19 OFFLINE   RACJ2

RACJ2

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,854 posts
Joined: Aug 02, 2008

Posted 20 September 2012 - 06:55 AM

I am still having continued Whole Home issues. I can't see or play recordings from other devices ( HR 24's). This has existed through the last 3 or 4 firmware updates. Resets, etc no avail ...

Really frustrating. DTV tech support advised they are aware, etc ...

That's odd, I can see and play recordings on my HR22. Not sure why an HR24 would be any different. I am having one issue though. If I try to play a recording from my HR34 on my HR22. And the recording was made prior to the last update, I can't use "Select" to advance through the screens to make it play. The second screen displays, but looks odd and doesn't have the menu to select play. So instead, I have to hit play on the "List" screen and then it plays fine.
HR34-700, HR22-100

#20 OFFLINE   Carl Spock

Carl Spock

    Superfly

  • Registered
  • 4,567 posts
Joined: Sep 03, 2004

Posted 20 September 2012 - 07:09 AM

I waited two days after the new software loaded and rebooted the DVR once before posting this.

1) The Guide is back to breaking up. It settles down when you change the page.

2) Agreed on the FF issues, especially when playing a program recorded on another DVR in the system. Sometimes it backs up, sometimes it stops on the last image shown, and sometimes it even jumps forward a few minutes.

3) VOD takes forever to load (I only tired channel 1000). Once loaded, after you select a category and go into Search, there still is no alphabet on the left hand side of the screen. You can only search by direct access of the letters through the keypad on the remote, which is the way I normally do it, anyway, but the other can be useful, too.
hangin' with the bros at 40 Eridani A

#21 OFFLINE   BuLL

BuLL

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 28 posts
Joined: Apr 18, 2010

Posted 20 September 2012 - 09:38 AM

I'm watching a channel that's in Custom One, my normal FAVORITES list. Then I key into the remote a channel that's not in my favorites list. Fine. That channel appears. Then I press PREV to go back to the previous channel that is in the favorites list. Fine. The HR34 gos there. Then I press PREV again to go back the channel that's not in my favorites list. Not so fine. The HR34 goes to the top channel in my LAST FOUR list. The LAST FOUR list does not contain the non-favorites channel I keyed in. Seems like the LAST FOUR list and the PREV command don't like channels that are not in your favorites list.

I have this problem as well.

#22 OFFLINE   Carl Spock

Carl Spock

    Superfly

  • Registered
  • 4,567 posts
Joined: Sep 03, 2004

Posted 20 September 2012 - 08:54 PM

Tonight my HR34 became totally unresponsive using Double Play.

I wanted to watch the Giants/Ravens game on 212, the NFL Network, and a replay of the first round of the FedEx Tour Championship on the Golf Channel, 218. I set them up in Double Play. As a back-up measure, I started recording the golf match.

The final twosome of Tiger and Rory had yet to tee off so I stayed on the football game. It quickly became a blowout and I drifted to surfing around, watching other channels. I'd drop back into the golf match, not using Double Play but by just changing the channel, to check in. I got involved in another program and forgot about golf for a while.

The next time I tuned it in, I saw Tiger and Rory were on the fourth hole and Tiger was at -2. Whoa!. I was glad I had set up Double Play and had the golf match in record. I used Previous to go to a second channel and then hit the down arrow, expecting to find the golf match. Nothing. I hit it again and again. The DirecTV logo on the front of the HR34 would blink but nothing happened. Nothing would get Double Play to re-engage.

Other functions remained, abet sluggishly. It would begrudgingly changed channels, ignoring many remote commands. Again, the DirecTV logo blinked but nothing happened. It took maybe 10 seconds to call up QuickTune but eventually it started. The HR34 reminded me of my HR23 back three months ago, during the Time Of The Great Slow Down. It had something else on its mind other than changing channels and it absolutely didn't want to go into Double Play.

Eventually I entered in 2-1-8 and called up the golf match. At that point, Double Play started working again. The down arrow switched between the golf match and whatever other station I had selected. The DVR's speed of operation became normal again.

I didn't have to re-initialize Double Play. I didn't get the gray boxes with the prompts telling me how to start Double Play. It acted like it had never failed. But it had until I entered 2-1-8 and reminded the HR34 that it was supposed to have The Golf Channel on one half of Double Play.
hangin' with the bros at 40 Eridani A

#23 OFFLINE   jibberyerkibber

jibberyerkibber

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 217 posts
Joined: Mar 01, 2012

Posted 21 September 2012 - 05:45 AM

Still occasionally getting this GUIDE bug.

Attached Thumbnails

  • vlcsnap-2012-09-20-08h51m03s183.jpg


#24 OFFLINE   jibberyerkibber

jibberyerkibber

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 217 posts
Joined: Mar 01, 2012

Posted 21 September 2012 - 05:49 AM

I change channels and sometimes I get this.

Attached Thumbnails

  • vlcsnap-2012-09-20-15h54m33s81.png


#25 OFFLINE   jibberyerkibber

jibberyerkibber

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 217 posts
Joined: Mar 01, 2012

Posted 21 September 2012 - 06:16 AM

Hallelujah! ~ 0x0583 BACKSPACES now. Unfortunately, most of the time, it backspaces way too much. My preliminary data for my particular HR34 shows that on FFWD SPEED SETTING 2, it backspaces approximately 18 seconds. Even if I'm asleep at the switch, that's 10 seconds too much. On FFWD SPEED SETTING 3, it backspaces approximately 26 seconds. 12 seconds of backspace at that FFWD speed setting would be much better. Sometimes however, very occasionally, 0x0583 backspaces seemingly about the right amount, at least for me. That is it compensates for my recognition/reaction time and then gives me an additional 2 seconds of backspace, i.e it takes the video to a point 2 seconds before where I had intended to hit PLAY while in FFWD, if you get my drift.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...