Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

Dish cancelling my account?


  • Please log in to reply
63 replies to this topic

#51 OFFLINE   wyy183

wyy183

    AllStar

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 56 posts
Joined: Sep 19, 2012

Posted 21 September 2012 - 09:35 PM

Has DISH given a date when service will be terminated?


According to the letter that I received, the date has passed...

I guess they haven't been able to send a "hit" to it to shut it down yet. ;)

They are supposed to send box(es) for return. No box(es) have arrived yet.

According to My Account info on-line, I'm still active.

I'm dumping stuff from EHD's thru HD PVR to "reclaimed" EHD connected to computer, as fast as I can.

Edited by wyy183, 21 September 2012 - 10:23 PM.


...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#52 OFFLINE   wyy183

wyy183

    AllStar

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 56 posts
Joined: Sep 19, 2012

Posted 21 September 2012 - 09:38 PM

I have to say, your humor through this situation is admirable.


When it reaches a certain point, you have to laugh. This is one of the dumbest things I've seen in my life - for a variety of reasons.

#53 OFFLINE   wyy183

wyy183

    AllStar

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 56 posts
Joined: Sep 19, 2012

Posted 21 September 2012 - 10:21 PM

So I doubt you were on a "black list" Im pretty sure they just didnt care.


There was a young tech here back in February. He added in his call notes something like "customer is using equipment in a manner which it is not designed." This wasn't even a Dish person, but a dealer...

The "leaving it off" thing while a bit exaggerated actually has basis in truth. It is definitely recommended to atleast power down your receiver every now and again. Though for a minimum of 1 minute (for a full power down). Anything beyond that is over kill and makes no difference unless your wanting to let it cool off.
Theres a reason why front line CSR's always ask if you have powered it down recently, and thats because habitual powering down of Receivers can extend there lifetime greatly.


I always have the inactivity time set at 4 hours for standby. Occasionally, I have had something recording where it didn't do its 3:00am shutdown. Maybe even two days in a row a couple of times. It still goes into standby. I was told that going into standby wasn't the same as turning it off. I had 722 for nearly 4 years. The only time it was turned off was when I was moving the receiver for some reason (new TV stand, for example.)

Some comedy - with the third 922, I had turned it off when I went to be around Midnight. Update was scheduled for 3:00am. I had a movie scheduled to record from 5:00am - 7:00am. Later, there was a CMT show scheduled to record from 10:00am - 12:30pm. I don't always fire up my TV when I get up. I turned it on around 10:30am. Then I noticed that the CMT event wasn't recording. The timer had started, but the recording hadn't. While looking around, I noticed the movie was showing 5 instances. Yes, the receiver had rebooted five times during the movie. Interestingly enough, the movie was "Going Ape!"

ERT rep told me that my receiver would not reboot that many times, even though it showed STB reboot (Set Top Box) in the Daily Schedule for the movie. He said that the receiver wouldn't do that, and that I was looking at something wrong AND I had, obviously, not turned the receiver off as I thought that I had.

I guess what amazes me, is the they assume that I'm totally clueless. I've been in the IT world for over 30 years. I've worked in CSR role. I've worked in support for Fortune 500 companies. I've done system admin work for over 15 years. I've done a variety of programming. I can even set the time on most VCR's! :D

#54 OFFLINE   Jim5506

Jim5506

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,554 posts
Joined: Jun 07, 2004

Posted 21 September 2012 - 10:48 PM

I have 4 receivers and all are allowed to do their nightly reboot and download, then I have them wake up with an auto-tune timer and they are on the other 23 hours a day.

A lot of what you have been told is pure D BS., many people record 10+ hours a day with no repercussions.

It sounds like they were exasperated with your situation and did not know what to to, so they seized on the comment of an ignoramous and used it to terminate your account.

I hope you have better luck at DirecTV and I appreciate your attitude in this circumstance, I have seen other posters here go ballistic over 5% of what you've put up with.
Tuners: Hopper 2000; Hopper w/Sling; 3 Joeys; Samsung SIR-T351; Accurian 6000;2 X HD TiVo; 2 X TiVo Series 2 Stand alone; Panasonic Showstopper 2000
Dish 1000.2 @ 110, 119, 129; dish 500 @ 61.5
Antennas - CM4228; RS U75-R; coathanger; Funke PSP.1922 (stillin the box); paperclip
Displays: Sony VPH D50Q with HD Fury HDMI input; Hitachi 57F59; Sony Bravia LCD;Sanyo 32" LCD; Panasonic 42" plasma
Sony 80GB PS3; Toshiba HD-DVD

Give me a Finco colinear array and I'll rule the world - HA-HA-HA-HA!

#55 OFFLINE   wyy183

wyy183

    AllStar

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 56 posts
Joined: Sep 19, 2012

Posted 21 September 2012 - 11:36 PM

I have the HD PVR. I'm dumping what I can. I've gone thru and prioritized the top 100 recordings that I have, that I want to capture.

My PC is close to 10 years old. I've updated the RAM, HD, and have a dual-layer DVD burner. I'm trying to burn a test DVD at this time. Processor is running 100% with a single-session Firefox being the only other thing running. So for it has been running for about 2 hours, and is about 30% done. Maybe by morning? PC has a single-cord 2 GHz processor. I also killed all non-essential processes and halted anti-virus prior to this test. Just want to make sure that it actually works the way it is supposed to. I can live with it taking a day to create a DVD, if necessary (just do one a day for the next 14 years?) But, I want to have the things that I enjoy, and that won't be repeated - saved. If receiver is still active, I will start with some of my favorite movies and TV-series. Once I have things on EHD on PC, then I can burn DVD's as I desire.

Capturing doesn't seem to be an issue, CPU runs less than 10%. The process of creating a standard DVD from a HD capture seems to be working the hampsters fairly hard.

This might be a good excuse for me to get a more up-to-date computer? :)

#56 OFFLINE   wyy183

wyy183

    AllStar

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 56 posts
Joined: Sep 19, 2012

Posted 21 September 2012 - 11:43 PM

...A lot of what you have been told is pure D BS., many people record 10+ hours a day with no repercussions.

It sounds like they were exasperated with your situation and did not know what to to, so they seized on the comment of an ignoramous and used it to terminate your account.

I hope you have better luck at DirecTV and I appreciate your attitude in this circumstance, I have seen other posters here go ballistic over 5% of what you've put up with.


I appreciate your comments. I've been around long enough to recognize the BS, and to understand that some people just aren't comfortable with the truth. I can't change them, nor can I control their actions. I am responsible and accountable for my own actions. At the end of the day, when I look in the mirror, I hold myself accountable for my actions. Occasionally, there are a few knots on my forehead from beating my head against the wall; but those provide opportunities for learning and healing.

OK - enough of that! My head is spinning! :roundandr

#57 OFFLINE   Inkosaurus

Inkosaurus

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 678 posts
Joined: Jul 29, 2011

Posted 22 September 2012 - 07:31 AM

I have the HD PVR. I'm dumping what I can. I've gone thru and prioritized the top 100 recordings that I have, that I want to capture.

My PC is close to 10 years old. I've updated the RAM, HD, and have a dual-layer DVD burner. I'm trying to burn a test DVD at this time. Processor is running 100% with a single-session Firefox being the only other thing running. So for it has been running for about 2 hours, and is about 30% done. Maybe by morning? PC has a single-cord 2 GHz processor. I also killed all non-essential processes and halted anti-virus prior to this test. Just want to make sure that it actually works the way it is supposed to. I can live with it taking a day to create a DVD, if necessary (just do one a day for the next 14 years?) But, I want to have the things that I enjoy, and that won't be repeated - saved. If receiver is still active, I will start with some of my favorite movies and TV-series. Once I have things on EHD on PC, then I can burn DVD's as I desire.

Capturing doesn't seem to be an issue, CPU runs less than 10%. The process of creating a standard DVD from a HD capture seems to be working the hampsters fairly hard.

This might be a good excuse for me to get a more up-to-date computer? :)


I have a hauppauge 1212 that I use primarily for recording Battlefield 3 gaming on console for my blog and YT but some tips ;

Make sure your recording in M2TS.

Reboot the PVR about every 5 hours of continual use, Every now and again I get one recording that my PC thinks is like 5 hours long when its really 30 minutes. Scrubbing through on windows media player is a pain in the ass with these because if you go to say 5 minutes in, scrub forward, then back to 5 minutes , the scene at 5 minutes is completely different. The timeline seems to have repeats of the same recording over layed each other. Very wonky.

I havent tried burning one of those screwed up recordings, but they have caused some of video editing software to run incredibly slow. In fact to date the only software that managed to work well with it was Adobe Premier pro, it crashed Sony Vegas and Adobe After Effects when I tried to edit the glitched recording xD

#58 OFFLINE   wyy183

wyy183

    AllStar

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 56 posts
Joined: Sep 19, 2012

Posted 22 September 2012 - 12:01 PM

I have a hauppauge 1212 that I use primarily for recording Battlefield 3 gaming on console for my blog and YT but some tips ;

Make sure your recording in M2TS.

Reboot the PVR about every 5 hours of continual use, Every now and again I get one recording that my PC thinks is like 5 hours long when its really 30 minutes. Scrubbing through on windows media player is a pain in the ass with these because if you go to say 5 minutes in, scrub forward, then back to 5 minutes , the scene at 5 minutes is completely different. The timeline seems to have repeats of the same recording over layed each other. Very wonky.

I havent tried burning one of those screwed up recordings, but they have caused some of video editing software to run incredibly slow. In fact to date the only software that managed to work well with it was Adobe Premier pro, it crashed Sony Vegas and Adobe After Effects when I tried to edit the glitched recording xD


I'm currently recording in MP4, as I'm looking at getting a "Western Digital - WD TV Live Media Player," which I can hook my USB drive(s) directly to and play back movies and other recordings without needed to burn them to a disc. It doesn't list M2TS or TS as supported playback options.

#59 OFFLINE   Michael P

Michael P

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,965 posts
Joined: Oct 27, 2004

Posted 24 September 2012 - 03:42 PM

There was a young tech here back in February. He added in his call notes something like "customer is using equipment in a manner which it is not designed." This wasn't even a Dish person, but a dealer...

Did you happen to get his name? No way a dealer should impact you in this way. You clearly have a problem with your A/C service and this kid could not recognize the issue.

Personal opinions are not facts, this kid made an accusation that is unfounded. How were you using the equipment in a manor that it was not designed? I'd fight for my rights to maintain your account.

#60 OFFLINE   sregener

sregener

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 626 posts
Joined: Apr 17, 2012

Posted 25 September 2012 - 07:45 AM

Personal opinions are not facts, this kid made an accusation that is unfounded. How were you using the equipment in a manor that it was not designed? I'd fight for my rights to maintain your account.


You have no right to a Dish account. Check the terms and conditions and it clearly says Dish can terminate your account at any time for any reason. Yeah, the using equipment improperly comment was wrong, but if Dish wants to screw themselves out of a paying customer, that is their right. Now, you could call up and tell them you're filing a complaint with the BBB, which may or may not get you any action or resolution, but the fact is that Dish breaks no law in canceling your account.

Note that when Dish cancels your account, no ETF applies.

#61 OFFLINE   Inkosaurus

Inkosaurus

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 678 posts
Joined: Jul 29, 2011

Posted 26 September 2012 - 01:54 PM

. Now, you could call up and tell them you're filing a complaint with the BBB, which may or may not get you any action or resolution,


lol.

This will accomplish one of two things.
Him speaking to a CSR that doesnt care, will put him on mute and laugh/chuckle.

Or,
That CSR will just transfer him to the ERT department again.

Something to keep in mind, if you keep speaking to ERT you can get flagged as a trouble customer and then all of your calls will always be instantly transfered to ERT.

#62 OFFLINE   runner861

runner861

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 859 posts
Joined: Mar 19, 2010

Posted 26 September 2012 - 03:14 PM

Where is the DIRT team in all of this?

#63 OFFLINE   Inkosaurus

Inkosaurus

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 678 posts
Joined: Jul 29, 2011

Posted 26 September 2012 - 05:59 PM

Why would they get involved ERT is handling it.

#64 OFFLINE   wyy183

wyy183

    AllStar

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 56 posts
Joined: Sep 19, 2012

Posted 08 October 2012 - 01:54 PM

Thought I would post some updates - I will be asking additional questions in the appropriate forums at a later time.

E* cancelled me on 9/24. I have until 10/24 to return my 922 receiver. After a call, I have been credited for the $17 shipping cost of the receiver. Receiver is disconnected from satellite and network, and still functions. Which is good, as I'm dumping 7-10 movies/events to PVR. Approximately 80 events to go at this moment. Shouldn't be a problem getting it back on time.

I signed up with D* about two weeks ago. HR34/700, H25-500. AM21 was connected this morning. All seems to be working just fine. I just ordered AV-cable for H25 from Amazon a while ago. That will go to PVR when I finish with the 922.

I got Choice Xtra, had a referral, so my rate is about half of what I was paying with E*.

I've had one issue with my HR34, and that was taken care of when a software update arrived the next morning. They have followed up multiple times to make sure that all is working the way that I want.

So far, I'm happy with the D* system.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...