Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk, like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community, but don't worry this is a simple free process that requires minimal information for you to signup. Be a part of DBSTalk by signing in or creating an account.
  • Start new topics and reply to others
  • Subscribe to topics and forums to get email updates
  • Get your own profile page and make new friends
  • Send personal messages to other members.
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

EPG Information for Lost Locals


  • Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   festivus

festivus

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 187 posts
Joined: Nov 09, 2008

Posted 20 September 2012 - 11:52 AM

Not sure if this belongs, here, OTA, or 622...

My local CBS station in Columbus (WBNS ch 10) has been off dish for a couple of weeks now. I have two 622's and an antenna in the attic that feeds both. The EPG information is gone when you view the guide (for WBNS) but the existing timers still seem to be setting recordings. Anyone else notice this?

Of course, the scheduled recordings that I have for the 10-00 channel I have to skip and create one on 10-01. Then anything at the same time on any other *-01 channel I have to skip and move to *-00. It's all doable but I have to be on my toes.

It's just really strange to me that the timers still seem to be recognizing the shows to record even though they don't show up in the guide.
Panasonic TCP50S1 50 inch plasma in great room, Dish VIP622, Pioneer Surround System

Sanyo PLV-Z5 Projector in basement, 106 inch gray screen, 2nd Dish VIP622. LG Surround System

db2 antennna in attic for both VIP622s

Time Warner Roadrunner

We live in a society exquisitely dependent on science and technology, in which hardly anyone knows anything about science and technology. ~Carl Sagan

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   boba

boba

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,580 posts
Joined: May 23, 2003

Posted 20 September 2012 - 12:50 PM

I think the existing timers are acting like manual timers.

#3 OFFLINE   festivus

festivus

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 187 posts
Joined: Nov 09, 2008

Posted 21 September 2012 - 06:00 AM

But how? If the information in the guide simply denotes "Important..." how do the timers know these are the shows that they are set to record? Seems like the timers are getting it right regarding whether or not the show is new as well.

Not complaining, that's for sure.
Panasonic TCP50S1 50 inch plasma in great room, Dish VIP622, Pioneer Surround System

Sanyo PLV-Z5 Projector in basement, 106 inch gray screen, 2nd Dish VIP622. LG Surround System

db2 antennna in attic for both VIP622s

Time Warner Roadrunner

We live in a society exquisitely dependent on science and technology, in which hardly anyone knows anything about science and technology. ~Carl Sagan

#4 OFFLINE   James Long

James Long

    Ready for Uplink!

  • Super Moderators
  • 38,670 posts
Joined: Apr 17, 2003

Posted 21 September 2012 - 04:18 PM

I wonder if DISH wiped out the name of the show but left the internal show numbering information? The timers could be tracking the show numbers instead of the names.




spam firewall