Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk, like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community, but don't worry this is a simple free process that requires minimal information for you to signup. Be a part of DBSTalk by signing in or creating an account.
  • Start new topics and reply to others
  • Subscribe to topics and forums to get email updates
  • Get your own profile page and make new friends
  • Send personal messages to other members.
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Autotune


  • Please log in to reply
26 replies to this topic

#21 OFFLINE   pappasbike

pappasbike

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 407 posts
Joined: Sep 19, 2006

Posted 09 January 2013 - 07:53 AM

Can't bring back what was never there.

Why add yet another feature that will slow the unit down more when you can just set a recording??

It wasn't an HD dvr but my first device with DTV 11 years ago was an Ultimate TV dvr that had auto tune which we used extensively and have missed ever since. If it could have been done 11 years ago and is desired by many what's the problem with having it now?

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#22 OFFLINE   pandafish

pandafish

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 20 posts
Joined: Apr 20, 2012

Posted 09 January 2013 - 08:10 AM

With Dish Network I had a DVR that had auto tune and it is handy when you don't necessarily need to record but want to have it come on

#23 OFFLINE   RunnerFL

RunnerFL

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 15,496 posts
Joined: Jan 04, 2006

Posted 09 January 2013 - 08:12 AM

It wasn't an HD dvr but my first device with DTV 11 years ago was an Ultimate TV dvr that had auto tune which we used extensively and have missed ever since. If it could have been done 11 years ago and is desired by many what's the problem with having it now?


Where did I say it was a problem? Autotune is already there and it comes with the added benefit of having a recording of what you wanted to tune to.
THIS SPACE FOR RENT

#24 OFFLINE   pappasbike

pappasbike

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 407 posts
Joined: Sep 19, 2006

Posted 09 January 2013 - 09:32 AM

" yet another feature that will slow the unit down more when you can just set a recording??"

That sounded like a problem to me :)

#25 OFFLINE   Karen

Karen

    Godfather

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 307 posts
Joined: Oct 04, 2007

Posted 09 January 2013 - 11:17 AM

Where did I say it was a problem? Autotune is already there and it comes with the added benefit of having a recording of what you wanted to tune to.

Yeah, but it doesn't necessarily show it on the TV when it starts recording... That's what I want to happen.

#26 OFFLINE   RunnerFL

RunnerFL

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 15,496 posts
Joined: Jan 04, 2006

Posted 09 January 2013 - 12:10 PM

Yeah, but it doesn't necessarily show it on the TV when it starts recording... That's what I want to happen.


The problem there is with a DVR you have multiple tuners and I'm pretty sure the DVR has no way to select which tuner is being output to your TV, thus no autotune on a DVR. With a non-DVR there's only one tuner and it's obviously the one being output so autotune is possible.
THIS SPACE FOR RENT

#27 OFFLINE   pappasbike

pappasbike

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 407 posts
Joined: Sep 19, 2006

Posted 09 January 2013 - 01:05 PM

My 11 year old ago dvr was the first dual tuner one. Even before TiVo and it did autotune just fine. When I don't want to record but do want to watch this is very useful.




spam firewall